Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 14 (14 total).

Keith J. n.d.. Family-Focused Strategy for Reducing Premature and Unprotected Sexual Activity Among Minority Youth in School-Based Health Clinics [Final report]. Dallas, TX: Dallas County Hospital District, 26 pp.

Annotation: The purpose of this project was to develop and demonstrate effective intervention strategies for the 10–15 year age group that can be carried out within a school-based comprehensive health care system to reduce the occurrence of premature and unprotected sexual intercourse in adolescents. More than 300 10-year-old children and their parents enrolled to receive annual health maintenance evaluations and a series of activities to enhance parent-child communication, parental knowledge of adolescent social and sexual development, and problem-solving and decision-making skills. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, U.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB99-133977.

Keywords: Adolescents, Blacks, Decision Making Skills, Healthy Tomorrows Partnership for Children, Hispanics, Minority Groups, Parent Child Interaction, Parent Child Relationship, Preventive Health Care Education, School Dropouts, School Health Programs, School Health Services, Sexual Activity, Sexually Transmitted Diseases

Hynes M. 2014. Don't call them dropouts: Understanding the experiences of young people who leave high school before graduation. Washington, DC: America's Promise Alliance, 71 pp.

Annotation: This report presents findings from interviews and surveys of young people across the United States about what leads to leaving school before graduation. Contents include findings on the relationship between interrupted enrollment and family violence and abuse; school safety; violence in the neighborhood; personal and family health challenges; unsupportive or unresponsive school policies; family abandonment (death, incarceration, other events); family absence; instability of place (residential mobility, school mobility, homelessness); school salience; peer influence and support; and school and community support.

Contact: America's Promise Alliance, 1101 Vermont Avenue, N.W., Suite 900, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 657-0600 Fax: (202) 657-0601 E-mail: info@americaspromise.org Web Site: http://www.americaspromise.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Academic achievement, Adolescents, Adverse effects, Educational attainment, Graduation, Life course, National surveys, Resilience, Risk factors, School attendance, School dropouts, School failure, Social support, Supported employment

Weiss E. 2011. Paying later: The high costs of failing to invest in young children. Washington, DC: Pew Center on the States and Partnership for America's Economic Success, 6 pp. (Issue brief)

Annotation: This policy brief is intended to help policymakers and the public evaluate the consequences of funding decisions that relate to supporting healthy early childhood development. The brief also estimates resources that our nation could redirect to more cost-effective policies in the future. The brief outlines the average lifetime costs of poor outcomes such as child abuse, adolescent pregnancy, dropping out of school, and substance and alcohol abuse; compares the costs of investing in young children now vs paying for problems that occur later; and discusses costs and benefits from a public policy perspective.

Contact: Partnership for America's Economic Success, 1025 F Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20004, Telephone: (202) 552-2000 E-mail: info@partnershipforsuccess.org Web Site: http://www.PartnershipforSuccess.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Alcohol abuse, Child abuse, Costs, Crime, Early childhood development, Financing, Prevention, Public policy, School dropouts, Substance abuse

Home Visiting Needs Assessment Workgroup. 2010. State of Oregon supplemental information request: Statewide needs assessment. Portland, OR: Oregon Department of Human Services, 66 pp.

Annotation: This report provides statewide data for Oregon in the following categories: premature birth, low-birthweight infants, infant mortality, poverty, crime, domestic violence, school dropout rates, substance abuse, unemployment, child maltreatment, and other indicators of at-risk prenatal, maternal, newborn, or child health. County-level data for the same categories is also provided, and information on the selection process of a unit of analysis is offered. The report also includes information about the quality and capacity of Oregon's existing home-visiting programs and the state's capacity for providing substance abuse treatment. A narrative summary of needs-assessment results concludes the report.

Contact: Oregon Department of Human Services, Maternal and Child Health Section, 800 N.E. Oregon Street, Suite 825, Portland, OR 97232, Telephone: (971) 673-0252 Secondary Telephone: (971) 673-0372 Fax: (971) 673-0240 E-mail: dhs.info@state.or.us Web Site: http://public.health.oregon.gov/PHD/Directory/Pages/program.aspx?pid=25 Available from the website.

Keywords: Child health, Child maltreatment, Crime, Domestic violence, High risk groups, Home visiting, Infant health, Infant mortality, Low birthweight infants, Needs assessment, Oregon Preterm birth, Poverty, Reproductive health, School dropouts, State programs, Statistical data, Substance abuse, Treatment, Unemployment, Women's health

National Women's Law Center. 2009. Access to education for pregnant and parenting students. Washington, DC: National Women's Law Center,

Annotation: This site hosts links to resources that discuss the provisions of Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972 that affirm the rights of pregnant and parenting students and guide schools in their services to that group. It also links to three dropout prevention programs, and links to promising practices. It hosts a video in which an attorney explains the access to education rights of parenting and pregnant students.

Contact: National Women's Law Center, 11 Dupont Circle. N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 588-5180 Fax: (202) 588-5185 E-mail: info@nwlc.org Web Site: http://www.nwlc.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent parents, Federal legislation, Pregnant adolescents, School attendance, School dropouts, School role

Llewelyn L, Herrndorf A, Curtis M. 2007. The Adolescent Family Life Program: Program overview and profile of clients. [Sacramento, CA]: Maternal, Child, and Adolescent Health, California Department of Human Services, 33 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information about the Adolescent Family Life Program (AFLP), a California program that strives to (1) promote the health and well-being of pregnant and parenting adolescents and their infants by maximizing the use of existing services and (2) save public funds by preventing the problems associated with preterm births and low birthweight and by reducing long-term welfare dependency resulting from school failure and dropouts. The report, which includes an executive summary, provides client stores, a program history and description, data sources and methodology, information about providers and funding, a profile of female clients, process and outcome indicators, and a conclusion. The report includes one appendix: list of AFLP agenices.

Contact: California Department of Public Health, Maternal, Child and Adolescent Health Program, MS 8305, P.O. Box 997420, Sacramento, CA 95899-7420, Telephone: (866) 241-0395 Fax: (916) 650-0305 E-mail: mchinet@cdph.ca.gov Web Site: http://www.cdph.ca.gov/programs/MCAH/Pages/default.aspx Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent parents, California, Costs, Families, Financing, Health services delivery, Infant health, Low birthweight, Low income groups, Pregnant adolescents, Preterm birth, School dropouts, School failure, State programs

National Women's Law Center. 2007. How to keep pregnant and parenting students from dropping out: A primer for schools. Washington, DC: National Women's Law Center, 2 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet describes school responsibilities under Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972 for pregnant and parenting students related to access to school, extracurricular activities, absences, and specialized support.

Contact: National Women's Law Center, 11 Dupont Circle. N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 588-5180 Fax: (202) 588-5185 E-mail: info@nwlc.org Web Site: http://www.nwlc.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent parents, Federal legislation, Pregnant adolescents, School attendance, School dropouts, School role

Beels J, ed. 1994. Kids' voices count: Illuminating the statistics. Washington, DC: Children's Express Foundation, 72 pp.

Annotation: This report provides personal accounts of children and adolescents illustrating the statistics presented in the 1994 edition of "Kids Count." The accounts cover three topics: the difficult situations in which some children and adolescents live, their ability or inability to stay in school, and problems they encounter as adolescent parents. Side bars on each page cite relevant statistics derived from the "Kids Count" data, but the actual interviews are used to provide a human account of those statistics.

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent parents, Child development, Personal narratives, Poverty, School dropouts, Socioeconomic status

U.S. General Accounting Office. 1991. Teenage drug use: Uncertain linkages with either pregnancy or school dropout. Washington, DC: U.S. General Accounting Office, 51 pp.

Annotation: This congressional briefing report provides recent information on the relationship between adolescent drug use and either pregnancy or dropping out of school. The report describes data on trends for each of the three problems, and presents research related to how they may be linked. The report emphasizes that efforts to strengthen family relationships may be especially important. Implications for drug education and research are presented.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: contact@gao.gov Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO/PEMD-91-3.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Pregnancy, School dropouts, Substance abuse

Feliciano C. 1990 (ca.). Pilot Project for the Establishment of a Health Services System for Llorens Torres High-Risk Youth [Final report]. Santurce, PR: Municipality of San Juan, 46 pp.

Annotation: The overall goal of this project was to develop strategies which improved the physical, emotional, and mental health of Llorens Torres high-risk adolescents in San Juan and which can be replicated in other metropolitan areas in Puerto Rico and the United States. The overall objective was to establish an adolescent health promotion, disease prevention, and risk reduction program for Llorens Torres adolescents. Activities included the development of a multiservice, community-based health services system and the establishment of a multidisciplinary health team for the screening, evaluation, and treatment of youth enrolled in the project. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, U.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB96-181524.

Keywords: Adolescents, Adolescents and Preventive Health, Community-Based Health Services, Counseling, Data Collection, Health Promotion, High risk adolescents, High risk groups, Interdisciplinary Teams, Minorities, Puerto Ricans, School Dropouts, Schools

Sheffield A, Frankel B, eds. 1989. When I was young I loved school: Dropping out and hanging in. New York, NY: Children's Express Foundation, 217 pp.

Annotation: This book presents verbatim transcripts of adolescents talking about why they dropped out or chose to remain in school. In 1987, thirteen adolescent editors of Children's Express, the news service reported and edited by young people, traveled to five cities—Newark, Boston, Kansas City, Dallas, and Oakland—to interview youth in school and out. The book presents interviews with twenty-three young people. Also included are interviews of two adults, one a high school principal who was himself a dropout, and one teacher on a crusade to give high-risk kids from dropping out of school.

Contact: Children's Express Foundation, 245 Seventh Avenue, New York, NY 10001, Available in libraries.

Keywords: Adolescents, Interviews, School dropouts

Ginzberg E, Berliner HS, Ostow M. 1988. Young people at risk: Is prevention possible?. Boulder, CO: Westview Press, 140 pp. (Conservation of human resources studies in health policy)

Annotation: This book examines four main areas of adolescent malfunctioning: drunk driving, adolescent pregnancy, drug use, and dropping out of school. The relationship between these problem areas, prevention strategies, and public policy is explored. The final chapter discusses directions for policy.

Contact: Westview Press, 2465 Central Avenue, Boulder, CO 80301, Contact Phone: (303) 444-3541 Fax: (720) 406-7336 Web Site: http://www.perseusbooksgroup.com/Westview/index.jsp Available in libraries.

Keywords: Adolescent parents, Adolescent pregnancy, Alcohol abuse, Alcohol consumption behavior, Drug abuse, Drug usage behavior, Motor vehicle crashes, Prevention, Public policy, School dropouts

Denton WT, ed. 1987. Dropouts, pushouts and other casualties. Bloomington, IN: Phi Delta Kappa, 239 pp.

Annotation: This volume presents 13 articles which represent a sampling of recent research and information on the topic of school dropouts. The following topics are addressed: How large urban school districts classify students as dropouts; how to measure the dropout rate accurately; attributes related to dropping out; dropout prevention or intervention programs; and school reforms.

Contact: Phi Delta Kappa International, , 408 North Union, P.O. Box 789, Bloomington, IN 47405-3800, Telephone: (800) 766-1156 Secondary Telephone: (812) 339-1156 Fax: (812) 339-0018 E-mail: customerservice@pdkintl.org Web Site: http://www.pdkintl.org

Keywords: Adolescents, School age children, School dropouts

Solomon N. 1986. Parents too soon: 1986 teen leadership conferences final report. Springfield, IL: Illinois Department of Public Health, 29 pp.

Annotation: This report describes a series of conferences that were set up to enhance adolescent leadership skills and increase adolescents' awareness of preventive behaviors, such as pregnancy prevention, substance abuse prevention, and drop-out prevention. The conferences were planned by adolescents in conjunction with the schools and social service providers within each community.

Contact: Parents Too Soon, 535 West Jefferson Street, Springfield, IL 62761, Telephone: (217) 782-0554 Price unknown.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Communication, Decision making, Leadership, Networking, Prevention programs, School dropouts, Substance abuse

   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.