Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: These three brochures contain information on SIDS prevention. The first brochure, for parents, defines SIDS, provides tips on how to reduce the chance that an infant will die from SIDS, and presents facts about SIDS. The second brochure provides similar information but geared toward child care providers, and the third provides similar information but geared toward grandparents.

Contact: Iowa Department of Public Health, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319-0075, Telephone: (515) 281-7689 Secondary Telephone: (866) 227-9878 E-mail: https://www.idph.iowa.gov/Contact-Us Web Site: https://hhs.iowa.gov/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Passive smoking, Prevention, SIDS. Infant death, Safety, Sleep position, Smoking, Smoking while pregnant

Annotation: This public awareness campaign provides information and resources for health professionals, families, and other caregivers on how to put infants to sleep safely to reduce the risk of sudden unexpected infant death (including deaths attributed to overlaying, accidental suffocation, wedging, and sudden infant death syndrome). Contents include a tip sheet, brochure, and poster in English and Spanish. Additional resources include a sample safe sleep policy for child care facilities; a safe sleep quiz for parents and other caregivers; a bookmark with tips on comforting a crying infant; and a flyer, poster, insert, and billboard about suffocation.

Contact: Baby Blossoms Collaborative, Douglas County Health Department, 1111 South 41st Street, Omaha, NE 68105, Telephone: (402) 444-7471 E-mail: http://babyblossomsomaha.org/about-bbc/contact-us Web Site: http://babyblossomsomaha.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Blacks, Campaigns, Crying, Infant death, Local initiatives, Primary prevention, SIDS, Safety, Sleep position, Spanish language materials, Suffocation, Unintentional injuries

Annotation: These resources provide guidance for parents and other caregivers on creating a safe sleep environment for infants including bassinet, crib, and play yard safety. Resources include posters (Bare is Best and Keep Baby Safe in Play Yard Space), a safety guide (A Safer Generation of Cribs: New Federal Requirements), a 4-minute video (Learn How to Put Your Baby to Sleep Safely), and a 12-minute video (Safe Sleep for Babies). Links to guidance for businesses, news videos, recalls, a blog, and regulations are also provided.

Contact: Consumer Product Safety Commission, 4330 East-West Highway, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (301) 504-7923 Secondary Telephone: (800) 638-2772 Fax: (301) 504-0124 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cpsc.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Campaigns, Federal initiatives, Infant equipment, Multimedia, Safety, Sleep position

Annotation: This chart lists the highest-rated strategies and change ideas from the first cohort of hospitals on the National Action Partnership to Promote Safe Sleep (NAPPSS-IIN). Categories include active endorsement of American Academy of Pediatric guidelines for infant safe sleep; knowledge, skills and self-efficacy of infant caregivers to practice safe sleep for every sleep; and activated community champions.

Contact: National Institute for Children's Health Quality, 30 Winter Street, Sixth Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 391-2700 Secondary Telephone: (866) 787-0832 Fax: (617) 391-2701 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nichq.org

• Link

Keywords: Infants, Model programs, Prevention, Safety, Sleep position

Annotation: This resource highlights practices identified by research NICHQ conducted to inform the Missouri Safe Sleep Coalition’s Strategic Plan to reduce infant unsafe sleep fatalities in Missouri.

Contact: National Institute for Children's Health Quality, 30 Winter Street, Sixth Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 391-2700 Secondary Telephone: (866) 787-0832 Fax: (617) 391-2701 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nichq.org

• Link

Keywords: Infants, Model programs, Safety, Sleep position

Annotation: This toolkit from the American Academy of Pediatrics provides a comprehensive collection of educational and promotional materials for healthcare providers and organizations to communicate safe sleep practices for infants. It includes videos ranging from 15 seconds to 2.5 minutes, downloadable posters, social media graphics, infographics, and articles addressing various aspects of safe sleep environments and practices. The materials are designed to support conversations with parents and caregivers about preventing Sudden Unexpected Infant Death (SUID) and making safe infant sleep the norm. Many resources are available in multiple languages, and the toolkit incorporates findings from parent and grandparent focus groups to ensure messaging resonates with families.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org

• Link

Keywords: Campaigns, Child safety, Mass media, SIDS, Safe sleep, Sleep position

Annotation: This toolkit for health providers and infant caregivers outlines activities and resources for Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS) Awareness Month in October. It provides social media content, guidance on addressing unsafe sleep images, and access to digital and print materials from Safe to Sleep program partners. The toolkit includes planning webinar recordings and presentations, describes the #ClearTheCrib Challenge campaign, and connects to related national health observances such as National Breastfeeding Month and Baby Safety Month.

Contact: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, P.O. Box 3006, Rockville, MD 20847, Telephone: (800) 370-2943 Secondary Telephone: (888) 320-6942 Fax: (866) 760-5947 Web Site: https://www.nichd.nih.gov/Pages/index.aspx

• Link

Keywords: SIDS, Safe sleep, Sleep position

Annotation: This fact sheet for families lists several steps that caregivers and parents can follow to minimize the risk of sudden infant death syndrome. The steps include guidance about sleep environment, smoking, breastfeeding, pacifier use, visiting the doctor, and tummy time.

Contact: University of California, San Francisco School of Nursing, California Childcare Health Program, San Francisco, CA 94143, Telephone: (415) 476-4695 Web Site: http://www.ucsfchildcarehealth.org Available from the website.

• English
• English, Spanish, And Chinese Translations

Keywords: Breastfeeding promotion, Consumer education materials, Infant death, Infant development, Infant health, Non English language materials, Prevention, SIDS, Safety, Sleep position

Annotation: This national campaign website presents information and resources about ways to reduce the risk for sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS) and other sleep-related causes of infant death such as suffocation. Topics include answers to common questions about SIDS, the importance of sharing safe sleep messages with everyone who cares for infants under age 1, and crib-safety guidelines. Contents include a video; a general outreach brochure (in English and Spanish); brochures for outreach to African Americans, American Indians, and Alaska Natives; and a handout that illustrates a safe infant sleep environment. The website covers safe infant sleep basics,printable and shareable resources, research, and activities and initiatives.

Contact: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, P.O. Box 3006, Rockville, MD 20847, Telephone: (800) 370-2943 Secondary Telephone: (888) 320-6942 Fax: (866) 760-5947 Web Site: https://www.nichd.nih.gov/Pages/index.aspx Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Alaska Natives, American Indians, Blacks, Campaigns, Infant death, National initiatives, Primary prevention, SIDS, Safety, Sleep position, Spanish language materials, Unintentional injuries

Annotation: This technical report summarizes research findings on infant sleep safety, risk reduction, and trends in sleep-related infant deaths and postneonatal mortality. The report defines the terminology and diagnostic issues related to sudden infant death; explores the risk factors associated with sleep-related infant death, and recommends preventive measures based on scientific evidence The report also examines the racial and ethnic disparities that place some populations at higher risk.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Guidelines , Injury prevention, Risk factors, SIDS, Safety, Sleep, Sleep position

Annotation: [This online resource describes the ABCs of safe sleep-- baby sleeps safest Alone, on their Back, and in a Crib-- and provides a variety of tools and materials to help reduce the risk of sleep-related infant deaths. Included are screening tools for hospitals; model policies for licensed child care centers, maternity units, and pediatric hospitals; training materials for health professionals, and educational materials for parents and caregivers. Also provided are flyers, brochures, posters, and a Safe Sleep video in multiple languages, including Spanish, Arabic, French, Nepali, Burmese, Chinese, Mandarin, Swahili, Karen, Pashto, Marshallese, and Kinyarwanda,

• Link

Keywords: Non English language materials, Prevention, Public health, Risk factors, SIDS, Safety, Sleep position

Annotation: This pamphlet, which is geared toward American Indian/Alaska Native (AI/AN) parents, provides information about how to prevent sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS), especially among AI/AN infants, among whom the incidence of death from SIDS is particularly high. The brochure offers tips on sleep position, sleep surfaces, and other factors that can affect the risk for SIDS, and explains the reasoning behind each recommendation.

Contact: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, P.O. Box 3006, Rockville, MD 20847, Telephone: (800) 370-2943 Secondary Telephone: (888) 320-6942 Fax: (866) 760-5947 Web Site: https://www.nichd.nih.gov/Pages/index.aspx Available from the website.

• 2020 Edition
• 2009 Edition

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Alaska Natives, American Indians, High risk infants, Infant health, Prevention, Risk factors, SIDS, Safety, Sleep position

Annotation: This fact sheet explains what parents can do to help reduce the risk of SIDS/SUIDS and encourage safe sleep. It also includes recommendations for expectant mothers, as well as how to provide "tummy time" for an infant during its waking hours.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org

• Link

Keywords: Asphyxia, Risk prevention (Risk reduction?), SIDS, Safe sleep, Sleep position, Strangulation, Suffocation

Annotation: This study involved 27 hospitals in Connecticut that provided information/instruction to improve safe sleeping environments for newborns to their patients, as required by state legislation passed in 2015. Although the materials provided by 26/27 (96%) of hospitals was consistent with the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) Guidelines, the rates of positional asphyxia did not decrease after legislation was passed.

Contact: Springer Publishing Company, 11 West 42nd Street, 15th Floor, New York, NY 10036, Telephone: (877) 687-7476 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.springerpub.com/

• Link

Keywords: Asphyxia, Connecticut, Educational materials for parents, Hospital programs, SIDS, Safe sleep, State legislation, Suffocation

Annotation: This review examines and compiles literature and analyses of current evidence-based safe sleep practice guidelines, policies and initiatives that provide health care provider training and modeling, increase infant caregiver knowledge and education, and promote safe sleep polices at the local, state and federal level. This review includes: current Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS) and Sudden Unexpected Infant Death (SUID) U.S. and Missouri data; evidence-based guidelines, specifically from the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP); examples of evidence-based or evidence-informed interventions and educational programs; and, of importance, specific evidence regarding the impact of poverty, race and ethnicity on SIDS, SUID and infant mortality.

Contact: National Institute for Children's Health Quality, 30 Winter Street, Sixth Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 391-2700 Secondary Telephone: (866) 787-0832 Fax: (617) 391-2701 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nichq.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Evidence, Literature reviews, Missouri, Prevention, SIDS, Safety, Sleep position, State data

Annotation: This document describes promising practices for improving infant safe sleep and reducing infant mortality caused by Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS) and Sudden Unexplained Infant Death (SUID) in these areas: (1) active endorsements of American Academy of Pediatrics guidelines; (2) infant caregiver knowledge, skills, and self-efficacy; (3) community champions; and (4) supportive policies for safe sleep practices.

Contact: National Institute for Children's Health Quality, 30 Winter Street, Sixth Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 391-2700 Secondary Telephone: (866) 787-0832 Fax: (617) 391-2701 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nichq.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Related Reports

Keywords: Infant mortality, Missouri, Model programs, Prevention, SIDS, Safety, Sleep position, State programs

Annotation: This research article examines the prevalence of four key safe infant sleep practices and factors affecting their implementation, based on 2016 Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System data from 29 states. It analyzes maternal reports of back sleep position, separate approved sleep surfaces, room-sharing without bed-sharing, and avoidance of soft bedding, along with healthcare provider advice about these practices. The study reveals significant variations in adherence to safe sleep recommendations across demographic groups and states, with back sleep position being the most commonly followed practice (78%) and use of separate approved sleep surfaces the least common (31.8%). The findings highlight that healthcare provider advice is associated with increased adoption of safe sleep practices, suggesting an important pathway for improving infant sleep safety.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org

• Link
• Link

Keywords: Infants, Prevention, Risk factors, SIDS, Safety, Sleep position

Annotation: This infographic describes the dangers of SUIDS, environmental factors that can lead to it, and tips on how to lower the risks. Using graphs and illustrations, it displays statistics on unsafe sleep practices according to the race/ethnicity and age of the mother, and gives tips to parents and caregivers on sleep safety.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention , 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: 1-800-CDC-INFO (232-4636 Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov

• Link

Keywords: Asphyxia, Best practices, Federal initiatives, Safe sleep, Suffocation

Annotation: This fact sheet provides recommended strategies and a selection of resources and evidence-based practices to aid Healthy Start grantee organizations, partners and their staff in promoting safe infant sleep practices among the women and families they serve. It includes individual and family level strategies, and community level strategies. Its declared benchmark is to increase the proportion of Healthy Start women participants who engage in safe sleep practices to 80%.

Contact: National Institute for Children's Health Quality, 30 Winter Street, Sixth Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 391-2700 Secondary Telephone: (866) 787-0832 Fax: (617) 391-2701 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nichq.org

• PDF

Keywords: Asphyxia, Information resources, SIDS, Safe sleep, Suffocation

Annotation: This brief identifies evidence-informed strategies for state Title V programs to consider to increase the number of infants placed to sleep on their backs. Contents include information about the evidence continuum and the approach to the review, including examples of each type of intervention and its evidence rating; key findings; and implications. The full review is also available. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center, 615 North Wolfe Street, Room E4143, Baltimore, MD 21205, Telephone: (410) 502-5450 Fax: (410) 502-5831 Web Site: http://www.jhsph.edu/wchpc Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Block grants, Caregivers, Education, Evidence-based practice, Infants, Intervention, Literature reviews, Mass media, Measures, Model programs, Policy development, Primary prevention, Program planning, Resources for professionals, Safety, Sleep position, State MCH programs, Title V programs