Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (12,954 total).

Share Pregnancy and Infant Loss Support. n.d. . Perinatal bereavement resource catalog. St. Charles, MO: Share Pregnancy and Infant Loss Support, 27 pp.

Annotation: This booklet lists resources about perinatal bereavement that are available from SHARE. For each one, there is a brief description and a cover photo. Special sections include Spanish-language resources and specialty items that can be shared (such as stickers, brochures, and bracelets). Ordering information is included.

Contact: Share Pregnancy and Infant Loss Support, 402 Jackson Street, St. Charles, MO 63301, Telephone: (636) 947-6164 Secondary Telephone: (800) 821-6819 Fax: (636) 947-7486 E-mail: info@nationalshare.org Web Site: http://www.nationalshare.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Infant death, Perinatal bereavement, Resource materials, SIDS, Spanish language materials

American Academy of Pediatrics. n.d. . Tips to promote social-emotional health among young children. Elk Grove Village, IL: American Academy of Pediatrics, 4 pp.

Annotation: This tip sheet provides advice to help promote the social and emotional health of young children. It includes separate tips for parents, pediatricians, and early education and child care providers. Links to additional resources produced by the American Academy of Pediatrics are also provided.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child mental health, Emotional development, Health supervision, Social interaction, Young children

American Academy of Pediatrics. n.d. . Tips to promote social-emotional health among teens. Elk Grove Village, IL: American Academy of Pediatrics, 4 pp.

Annotation: This tip sheet provides advice to help promote social and emotional health among adolescents. It includes separate tips for teenagers, parents, schools, and pediatricians. Links to additional resources produced by the American Academy of Pediatrics are also provided.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent mental health, Emotional development, Health supervision, Social interaction

National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health. n.d.. Nutrition: Selected SPRANS abstracts FY 1988. Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, 173 pp.

Annotation: This publication provides information about the nutrition component of 107 projects supported by the Office of Maternal and Child Health, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services during 1988. Subjects of the project include prenatal care and risk reduction, systems development, breastfeeding, infant health, child health, adolescent health, chronic illness and disabling conditions, community based, comprehensive services, and training programs. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Out of print; available for loan.

Keywords: Nutrition, SPRANS

Magrab P, Elder J, Kazuk E, Pelosi J, Wiegerink R. n.d.. Developing a community team: A companion to the community workbook for collaborative services to preschool handicapped children. Washington, DC: American Association of University Affiliated Programs for the Developmentally Disabled, 39 pp. (Workbook series for providing services to children with handicaps and their families)

Annotation: This book explains the steps needed to plan and implement collaboration between community programs, agencies and individuals who provides services to children with disabilities and their families. This book was reprinted by the Georgetown University Child Development Center as a part of the Workbook Series for Providing Services to Children with Handicaps and Their Families.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Collaboration, Community based services, Interagency cooperation

St. Denis GC, Jaros KJ, eds. n.d.. Public health social work and primary health care: A case management approach—Proceedings. Pittsburgh, PA: University of Pittsburgh, Public Health Social Work Training Program, 103 pp.

Annotation: This report presents the proceedings of the annual Public Health Social Work Maternal and Child Health Institute held in April 1989, in Pittsburgh. Presentations covered issues and directions for case management, case management in specific situations (multiply diagnosed children, pediatric AIDS in Belle Glade, Florida, prenatal care, and primary care), quality assurance, management information systems, training in case management, and a community development approach to case management in Pittsburgh. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Case management, Conference proceedings, Primary care, Social work

Pennsylvania Department of Health. n.d.. Local governance leads to strong families and strong communities. Harrisburg, PA: Pennsylvania Department of Health, 20 pp.

Annotation: This report looks at the philosophy of Pennsylvania's "Strong Families/Strong Communities" campaign, which stresses the importance of local governance and community strategies to state initiatives designed to preserve families and strengthen communities. It provides descriptions of state strategies and programs that involve community action designed to improve child and family outcomes.

Contact: Pennsylvania Department of Health, Health and Welfare Building, 625 Forster Street, Eighth Floor West, Harrisburg, PA 17120, Telephone: (877) 724-3258 Web Site: http://www.health.pa.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Child advocacy, Community based services, Community programs, Families, Family preservation programs, Local initiatives, Outreach

Oregon Department of Human Resources, State Health Division, Emergency Medical Services Section, Oregon Emergency Medical Services for Children Project. n.d.. How to handle a child's medical emergency: Caring means preparing. Portland, OR: Oregon Department of Human Resources, 1 booklet (37 pp.), 1 brochure, 1 brochure original.

Teitelbaum M, Goplerud E, eds. n.d.. Pregnant and postpartum women and their infants. Rockville, MD: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office for Substance Abuse Prevention, 11 pp.

Annotation: This report highlights innovative efforts that are underway to address the treatment and prevention needs of substance using pregnant women, mothers, and their drug affected infants. It also presents a summary of the 1989 annual conference of the National Association for Perinatal Addiction Research and Education and lists information resources including organizations and publications.

Contact: U.S. Alcohol, Drug Abuse, and Mental Health Administration, Office for Substance Abuse Prevention, 1 Choke Cherry Road , Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (800) 694-4747 ext. 4820 Fax: (240) 747-5453 Available from the website.

Keywords: Drug affected infants, Postpartum women, Pregnant women, Substance abuse, Treatment

U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission. n.d.. The safe nursery: A booklet to help avoid injuries from nursery furniture and equipment. Washington, DC: U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission, 17 pp.

Annotation: This booklet describes for parents the safety criteria they should look for when choosing furniture, equipment, and toys for infants. Detailed drawings and texts provide information on how to judge the safety of cribs, gates, high chairs, playpens, toys, walkers, carriers, carrier seats, changing tables, diaper pails, hook-on chairs, pacifiers, strollers, and carriages. Tips for the safe use of such items and for general household safety are also included, as is a checklist of safety features for each item.

Contact: Consumer Product Safety Commission, 4330 East-West Highway, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (301) 504-7923 Secondary Telephone: (800) 638-2772 Fax: (301) 504-0124 E-mail: info@cpsc.gov Web Site: http://www.cpsc.gov Price unknown.

Keywords: Guidelines, Infant equipment, Infants, Injury prevention, Product safety, Safety, Toys

National Center for Clinical Infant Programs. n.d.. Meeting the medical bills. Washington, DC: National Center for Clinical Infant Programs, 1 p., 1 videotape (VHS).

Annotation: This brochure describes a videotape by the same title that gives excerpts of a talk by Julie Beckett of Iowa on strategies for financing the health care needed by families of chronically ill children, and includes a glossary of terms used in the videotape. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: ZERO TO THREE: National Center for Infants, Toddlers and Families, 1255 23rd Street, N.W., Suite 350, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 638-1144 Contact Phone: (202) 638-0840 Fax: (202) 638-0851 Web Site: http://www.zerotothree.org Brochure available at no charge; videotape $10.95 from National Information Center for Handicapped Children and Youth, P.O. Box 1492, Washington, DC 20013.

Keywords: Child health, Children with special health care needs, Health care financing

Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, Department of Pediatrics. n.d.. Model program and curriculum in alcohol and other drug abuse for pediatric medical students, residents, and faculty: Instructor's guide. Baltimore, MD: Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine,, 193 pp.

Annotation: The purpose of this Instructor's Manual is to assist individuals interested in conducting alcohol and other drug teaching sessions with pediatric medical students, residents, and/or faculty. The content are based on the work with medical students, residents, and faculty within The Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine. The Instructor's Manual contains six major sections: (1) Introduction; (2) The John Hopkins Pediatric Substance Abuse Curriculum (PSAC); (3) Developing the Program at Your Institution; (4) Teaching Strategies; (5) Substance Abuse Education Modules; and (6) Substance Abuse Educational Resources. Also provided are educational resources that can provide materials or resources to assist in conducing alcohol and other drug teaching sessions.

Keywords: Curricula, Manuals, Substance abuse

Dating Violence Intervention Project. n.d.. Peer leader training manual. Boston, MA: Dating Violence Intervention Project, 31 pp.

Annotation: This manual is designed to help peer leaders address date violence as peer counselors, classroom presenters, or public speakers. The manual includes an overview of the problem of dating violence, three recommended activities, guidelines for talking to adolescents about physical and sexual abuse, a checklist for peer leaders, an evaluation form, and educational handouts. The materials are appropriate for presentations to grades 8–12.

Contact: Dating Violence Intervention Project, 649 Massachusetts Ave, Suite 6, Cambridge, MA 02139, Telephone: (617) 868-1650 Fax: (617) 868-1651 E-mail: dvip@transitionhouse.org $10 plus 20% for mailing charge.

Keywords: Adolescents, Dating, Sexual assault, Violence

MetroHealth Medical Center, Pediatric Service Coordination Program. n.d.. Working with your health insurance. Cleveland, OH: MetroHealth Medical Center, Pediatric Service Coordination Program, 16 pp.

Annotation: This booklet provides information and forms to help families work with their health insurance companies. It includes questions to ask the insurance company and billing office, tips for keeping records of bills and claims, and who to talk with for assistance. A glossary of terms and list of publications on health insurance are included. Resource organizations in Cuyahoga County and the state of Ohio are also listed. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Family centered, community based care, Health care financing, Insurance, Medical records

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, Food and Drug Administration. n.d.. Classroom help from the Food and Drug Administration. Rockville, MD: U.S. Food and Drug Administration, 1 p.

Annotation: This publication list highlights the free educational materials available from the Food and Drug Administration for use in the classroom. The materials cover related health and nutrition issues, such as acne, anabolic steroids, snacking, and weight loss. A teacher's kit on health fraud with five lesson plans also is listed.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Single photocopies available at no charge.

Keywords: Eating disorders, Health promotion, Reyes syndrome, Scoliosis, Septic shock, Skin diseases

National Maternal and Child Health Resource Center. n.d.. A national goal: Building service delivery systems for children with special health care needs and their families—Family centered community based coordinated care. Iowa City, IA: National Maternal and Child Health Resource Center, 9 pp.

Annotation: This document describes the elements of a family-centered, community-based system for delivering health care for children with special health needs. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available for loan. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHF061.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Family centered community based care

National Center for Clinical Infant Programs. n.d.. Infancy in the eighties: Social policy and the earliest years of life. Washington, DC: National Center for Clinical Infant Programs, 20 pp.

Annotation: This small pamphlet summarizes new knowledge about infant and toddler development and its impact on public policy. New research findings and clinical experience can be used to increase the effectiveness of legislation affecting children and families, programs for health screening, disease prevention and related issues for families, and public and private policies toward parents in the workplace.

Contact: ZERO TO THREE: National Center for Infants, Toddlers and Families, 1255 23rd Street, N.W., Suite 350, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 638-1144 Contact Phone: (202) 638-0840 Fax: (202) 638-0851 Web Site: http://www.zerotothree.org

Keywords: Family support services, Health policy, Infant health services, Policy development

Bronheim S, Fiel S, Schidlow D, MagrabP, Boczar K, Dillon C. n.d.. Crossings: A manual for transition of chronically ill youth to adult health care. Harrisburg, PA: Pennsylvania Department of Health, 52 pp.

Annotation: This manual is intended as a guide for health professionals to establish a new health care delivery system for transitioning adolescents with chronic illness to adult health care. Health professionals learn about eight objectives: exploring one's commitment to transition, identification of initial partners; securing institutional support; assuring economic feasibility, developing a structure, developing a successful partnership, and achieving a successful transfer of patients. A self-assessment form is included.

Contact: Georgetown University Center for Child and Human Development, Box 571485, Washington, DC 20057-1485, Telephone: (202) 687-5503 Secondary Telephone: (202) 687-5000 Fax: (202) 687-8899 E-mail: gucdc@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://gucchd.georgetown.edu Price unknown.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents with special health care needs, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Health services, Special health care needs, Transition planning, Transitions, Young adults

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Administration for Children and Families. n.d.. Bringing it together: Head Start-state collaboration projects. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Administration for Children and Families, 67 pp.

Annotation: This report provides an introduction to the Head Start-State Collaboration Projects, which involve Head Start in state planning and policy making efforts that affect low income children and families. It includes some fact sheets on the Collaboration Projects, project profiles and contact list, legislation regarding Head Start-State Collaboration Projects, and an excerpt from the report of the Advisory Committee on Head Start Quality and Expansion.

Contact: U.S. Administration for Children and Families, 370 L'Enfant Promenade, S.W., Washington, DC 20447, Telephone: (202) 401-9215 Secondary Telephone: (800) 422-4453 Web Site: http://www.acf.hhs.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Collaboration, Early childhood education, Family support, Head Start, Low income groups, Policy development, Program descriptions, Public private partnerships, State initiatives, Statewide planning

n.d.. Posters. No place: No publisher, 9 posters.

Annotation: Each poster in this collection was prepared by an insurance company or a state agency. They direct attention to various issues in child safety. A poster by American Re-Insurance Company shows a child with his head bandaged, and cites the statistic on injuries when bike helmets are not worn. A second poster by American Re-Insurance Company repeats the statistic, but illustrates it with an overturned bike. The New York State Health Department poster shows a cross section of a house in which a hazardous activity is pictured in each room. The viewer is told that these hazards number forty, and is asked to identify them. The reverse side of the poster shows the answers. The remaining posters are by Massachusetts health and safety agencies. One shows a baby in a car seat and points out safety features of the seat. Another shows two gallon jugs: one of milk and one of bleach. The viewer is made to realize that a two year old would not know the difference. Three posters reinforce the "buckle up" message, and there is one on playground safety. Both English and Spanish are used in the posters.

Contact: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Injury Prevention and Control Program, 250 Washington Street, Fourth Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 624-5557 Contact Phone: (617) 727-1246 Price unknown.

Keywords: Bicycles, Car seats, Helmets, Poisoning, Posters, Residential injuries, Seat belts, Spanish language materials

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.