Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Sign up for MCHalert eNewsletter

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 13 (13 total).

Soni A. 2014. The five most costly children's conditions, 2011: Estimates for the U.S. civilian noninstitutionalized children, ages 0-17. Rockville, MD: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 6 pp. (MEPS statistical brief; no. 434)

Annotation: This statistical brief presents data from the Household Component of the Medical Expenditure Panel Survey on medical expenditures associated with the five most costly conditions for children ages 0–17 in 2011. Topics include mental disorders, asthma/chronic obstructive pulmonary disease, trauma-related disorders, acute bronchitis and upper respiratory infections, and otitis media.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Acute diseases, Adolescents, Asthma, Bronchitis, Children, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Costs, Infants, Mental disorders, Otitis media, Pediatric care, Pulmonary disorders, Respiratory diseases, Statistics, Trauma

Healthy Schools Network. 2012. Molds at school. Albany, NY: Healthy Schools Network, 6 pp.

Annotation: This brief provides information about molds and the potential impact of molds on children's health. Topics include types of mold; symptoms of exposure to mold in children; allergies, asthma, and mold; monitoring, prevention, and cleanup tips; and tips on remediation for school officials, parents, and school personnel.

Contact: Healthy Schools Network, 773 Madison Avenue, Albany, NY 12208, Telephone: (518) 462-0632 Fax: (518) 462-0433 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthyschools.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Allergies, Asthma, Environmental exposure, Environmental health, Environmental pollution, Hazards, Respiratory diseases, Risk factors, School age children, Schools, Testing, Toxic disorders

National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Office on Smoking and Health. 2004. The 2004 Surgeon General's report: The health consequences of smoking—What it means to you. Atlanta, GA: National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Office on Smoking and Health, 32 pp.

Annotation: This report for consumers discusses findings from the Surgeon General's 2004 report on the health consequences of smoking and what they mean to the consumer. The topics covered include cancer, cardiovascular diseases, respiratory diseases, reproductive effects, and other effects. The report also discusses the benefits of quitting, the physiological effects of quitting, the difficulties associated with quitting, and tips for quitting.

Contact: National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Office on Smoking and Health, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/tobacco Available at no charge; also available from the website.

Keywords: Cancer, Cardiovascular diseases, Consumer education materials, Health, Reproduction, Respiratory diseases, Smoking, Smoking cessation, Smoking cessation

U.S. Office of the Surgeon General. 2004. The health consequences of smoking: A report of the Surgeon General. Rockville, MD: U.S. Office of the Surgeon General, 941 pp., exec. summ. (20 pp.).

Annotation: This report focuses on the health effects of active smoking and on diseases related to active smoking. The report, which includes an executive summary, covers major groups of the many diseases associated with smoking: cancers, cardiovascular diseases, respiratory diseases, reproductive effects, and other adverse health consequences. The report also discusses the impact of smoking on disease and the benefits of smoking reduction. A vision for the future is included, as well. Each chapter includes a reference list. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables throughout the report. One appendix lists recent studies that represent major additions to the literature. The report concludes with a list of abbreviations, a list of tables and figures, and an index.

Contact: U.S. Office of the Surgeon General, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Ave., SW, Humphrey Bldg., Suite 701H, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (240) 276-8853 Fax: (202) 401-7529 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.surgeongeneral.gov/index.html Available from the website.

Keywords: Cancer, Cardiovascular diseases, Health, Health behavior, Reproductive hazards, Reproductive health, Respiratory diseases, Smoking, Smoking cessation

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Office of Children's Health Protection. 2000. The EPA children's environmental health yearbook supplement. Washington, DC: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Office of Children's Health Protection, 217 pp.

Annotation: This supplement provides a summary of new projects undertaken by the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) since the publication of The EPA Children's Environmental Health Yearbook in June 1998 and updates descriptions of ongoing projects. It includes sections on asthma and respiratory effects, childhood cancer, developmental and neurological toxicity, health effects of pesticides, and potential risks from contaminated surface water and ground water. Additional chapters describe improvements in predicting health risks to children, highlights in international activities to protect children, environmental education programs addressing issues of children's health, and the Environmental Protection Agency's expansion of individuals' and families' right to know about environmental hazards. Also provided are a glossary, a listing of acronym and abbreviation definitions, and an index of environmental justice projects, EPA program offices, and EPA regions. The summary also includes an updated list of children's health resources for further information.

Contact: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Office of Children's Health Protection, Room 2512 Ariel Rios North, 1200 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W., Mail Code 1107-T, Washington, DC 20004, Telephone: (202) 564-2188 Fax: (202) 564-2733 Web Site: http://www2.epa.gov/children Available from the website. Document Number: EPA 100-R-00-0018.

Keywords: Asthma, Cancer, Children, Environmental exposure, Environmental health, Federal initiatives, Pesticides, Prevention programs, Prevention programs, Respiratory diseases

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Office of Children's Health Protection. 1998. The EPA children's environmental health yearbook. Washington, DC: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Office of Children's Health Protection, 223 pp.

Annotation: This yearbook reviews current actions by the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) to protect children from environmental hazards that present a danger to children's health. It includes sections on asthma and respiratory effects, childhood cancer, developmental and neurological toxicity, health effects of pesticides, and potential risks from contaminated surface water and ground water. Additional chapters describe improvements in predicting health risks to children, highlights in international activities to protect children, environmental education programs addressing issues of children's health, and the EPA's expansion of individuals' and families' right to know about environmental hazards. Also provided are a glossary, a listing of acronym and abbreviation definitions, and an index of environmental justice projects, EPA program offices, and EPA regions.

Contact: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Office of Children's Health Protection, Room 2512 Ariel Rios North, 1200 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W., Mail Code 1107-T, Washington, DC 20004, Telephone: (202) 564-2188 Fax: (202) 564-2733 Web Site: http://www2.epa.gov/children Available from the website. Document Number: EPA 100-R-98-100.

Keywords: Asthma, Cancer, Children, Environmental exposure, Environmental health, Federal initiatives, Pesticides, Prevention programs, Prevention programs, Respiratory diseases

Rosenfeld JA, Alley N, Acheson LS, Admire JB , eds. 1997. Women's health in primary care. Baltimore, MD: Williams and Wilkins, 921 pp.

Annotation: This book has been developed for all primary health care providers and discusses women's diseases, beginning with adolescence, and how they differ from the study and treatment of men's diseases. The inadequacy of women's health research is discussed. Topics such as women's health promotion and concerns, and traditional medical, psychological and social concerns throughout the life cycle are included. The book contains extensive charts, graphs, and tables throughout. Appendices include recommendations on preventive services and an age chart for examinations. The book concludes with an index.

Contact: Wolters Kluwer Health, Lippincott Williams and Wilkins, P.O. Box 1620, Hagerstown, MD 21741, Telephone: (800) 638-3030 Secondary Telephone: (301) 223-23000 Fax: (301) 223-2400 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.lww.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-683-07366-4.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Breast care, Cardiovascular diseases, Contraception, Endocrine diseases, Gastrointestinal diseases, Gynecological diseases, Health promotion, Lactation, Life cycle, Mental health, Pregnancy, Primary care, Psychosocial factors, Respiratory diseases, Sexuality, Sexually transmitted diseases, Urologic diseases, Violence, Women', s health

Quilligan EJ. 1983. Pregnancy, birth, and the infant. Bethesda, MD: National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, 69 pp. (Child health and human development: An evaluation and assessment of the state of the science; v. II)

Annotation: This report discusses maternal medical disorders during pregnancy, adolescent pregnancy, environmental risk factors in pregnancy, evaluation of fetal status, normal and premature labor, fetal distress and hypoxic birth injury, respiratory distress syndrome, neonatal infections, erythroblastosis fetalis and bilirubin encephalopathy, extreme prematurity, intracranial hemorrhage, persistent fetal circulation, necrotizing enterocolitis, metabolic disorders in the infant, and neonatal pharmacology. Research recommendations are provided.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Birth injuries, Environmental exposure, Fetal erythroblastosis, Infants, Labor, Metabolic diseases, Neonatal diseases, Persistent fetal circulation syndrome, Pharmacology, Pregnancy, Premature labor, Prematurity, Research, Respiratory distress syndrome

U.S. Department of Health, Education, and Welfare, Public Health Service, Center for Disease Control, . 1970. Influenza-respiratory disease surveillance . Atlanta, GA: Center for Disease Control , 22 pp. (Report No. 86)

Annotation: This surveillance report summarizes the occurrence and spread of influenza in the United States for the 1969-1970 season. Included are statistics on cases of influenza/upper respiratory illnesses and pneumonia and influenza mortality rates from reporting states. A supplementary report on the Hong Kong influenza outbreak in Anchorage, Alaska in a church-supported residence for children is also included.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Office of Minority Health and Health Equity, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/minorityhealth/OMHHE.html Available from the website.

Keywords: Influenza, Population surveillance, Respiratory diseases, Statistics, Surveys

Davison WC, Levinthal JD. 1969. The compleat pediatrician: Practical, diagnostic,therapeutic and preventive pediatrics for the use of general practitioners, pediatricians, interns, and medical students. (9th ed.). Durham, NC: Duke University Press, ca. 300 pp.

Annotation: This book describes a wide range of pediatric conditions and other issues related to pediatric care, including respiratory conditions, nutritional and abdominal conditions; skin, contagious, and exanthem conditions; circulatory, metabolic, and glandular conditions; urogenital conditions; bone, joint, and muscle conditions; laboratory tests, feeding, diets, nursing, and therapy; growth and development; history, and physical exam; and chemotherapy and drugs.

Keywords: Bone diseases, Breastfeeding, Cardiovascular diseases, Child development, Child health, Communicable disease, Diet, Drug therapy, Feeding, Growth monitoring, Joint diseases, Medicine, Metabolic diseases, Muscular diseases, Nutrition, Pediatric care, Pediatrics, Physical examination, Respiratory disorders, Skin diseases, Tests, Urogenital diseases

Karelitz S. 1969. When your child is ill: A guide to infectious diseases in childhood [Rev. ed.]. New York, NY: Random House, 568 pp.

Annotation: This manual is designed to alert lay people to conditions in children that necessitate prompt medical attention and to answer many common questions parents have about children's communicable disease. The manual is divided into eight main parts: (1) about causes, symptoms, and prevention, (2) common childhood diseases, (3) respiratory diseases and related conditions, (4) diseases of the nervous system, (5) intestinal diseases, (6) diseases of the mouth and eyes, (7) skin conditions, and (8) venereal diseases. Each section includes common questions and their answers.

Keywords: Child health, Communicable diseases, Eye diseases, Intestinal diseases, Mouth diseases, Nervous system diseases, Parents, Prevention, Respiratory diseases, Sexually transmitted diseases, Skin diseases

U.S. Department of Health, Education, and Welfare, Public Health Service, Surgeon General's Advisory Committee on Smoking and Health. 1964. Smoking and health: Report of the Advisory Committee to the Surgeon General of the Public Health Service. Princeton, NJ: D. Van Nostrand, 387 pp.

Annotation: This report describes a study of the relationship between smoking and health. Part one discusses the history of the subject, how the study was conducted, including the chief criteria used in making judgments, and a brief overview of the entire report with its conclusions. Part two presents in detail the evidence of the relationship of smoking to health, from the technical characteristics of tobacco and nicotine to evidence on smoking in relationship to cancer, certain respiratory and cardiovascular diseases, and other health conditions. A discussion of the psycho-social aspects of smoking and a characterization of the tobacco habit are also included.

Keywords: Cancer, Cardiovascular diseases, Health, History, Nicotine, Psychosocial factors, Respiratory diseases, Smoking, Studies, Tobacco

Biennial conference: Association of State Maternal and Child Health and Crippled Children's Directors (1962: Evergreen CO). 1962. A report of the biennial conference: Association of State Maternal and Child Health and Crippled Children's Directors—Scientific program: Evergreen Colorado, June 12-14, 1962. No place: Association of State Maternal and Child Health and Crippled Children's Directors, 45 pp.

Annotation: These proceedings discuss child health, neonatal research, prematurity, histopathologic changes in induced complications of pregnancy in the experimental animal, antepartum amniotic fluid, hypoglycemia metabolism in the newborn, respiratory distress syndrome, maternal fetal relationships and the development of the respiratory distress syndrome, maternal respiratory and metabolic acidosis in the rabbit fetus utero, adrenalin metabolism in the newborn, the effect of hypertonic and hypotonic solutions on the maternal and fetal rabbit, congenital heart disease, phenylketonuria, coagulation in premature infants, electroencephalograms on infants whose oxygen and acid-base gradients were measured at birth, neuropathology of prematurity, and progesterone tissue distribution and storage.

Keywords: Amniotic fluid, Animals, Child health, Conferences, Congenital heart defects, Hypoglycemia, Metabolism, Neonatal diseases, Phenylketonuria, Premature infants, Research, Respiratory distress syndrome
   

The MCH Digital Library is one of six special collections at Geogetown University, the nation's oldest Jesuit institution of higher education. It is supported in part by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under award number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy with an award of $700,000/year. The library is also supported through foundation and univerity funding. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.