Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This systematic review provides the results of an analysis of the evidence base for care interventions, implementation strategies, and between-provider communication tools among children with special health care needs who are making the transition from pediatric to adult medical care services. Several databases were searched to identify studies published through September 2021; gray literature searches were also conducted in order to identify additional resources relevant to the topic. The publication is divided into 12 chapters and includes tables, figures, and appendixes.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Literature reviews, Research reviews, Special health care needs, Transition planning, Transition to independent living, Transitions, Young adults

Annotation: This review examines the research evidence on the benefits and harms of screening, accuracy of screening, and benefits and harms of treatment for suicide risk, anxiety, and depression in children and adolescents. Intended to help healthcare decision makers (patients and clinicians, health system leaders, policy makers, and others) make well-informed decisions, the review is based on research conducted by the RTI International--University of North Carolina Evidence-based Practice Center under contract by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality AHRQ).

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Anxiety, Children, Depression, Mental health, Quality assurance , Research reviews, Screening, Suicide

Annotation: This manual provides a comprehensive overview of the Community Guide systematic review methods that serve as the basis for Community Preventive Services Task Force (CPSTF) recommendations and findings. The manual was developed to broadly explain how the CPSTF and the Community Guide Office conduct the Community Guide reviews. The manual is divided into two parts that include links to sample materials and full-text publications for more information. Part one describes the ten steps in the effectiveness review process; part two outlines the nine steps in the economic review process.

Contact: Community Preventive Services Task Force, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Community Guide Branch, 1600 Clifton Road, N.E., MSE69, Atlanta, GA 30329, Telephone: (404) 498-6595 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.thecommunityguide.org/task-force/community-preventive-services-task-force-members

• PDF

Keywords: Community based services, Community programs, Evaluation methods, Model programs, Program evaluation, Research reviews

Annotation: This handbook is the official guide that describes in detail the process of preparing and maintaining Cochrane systematic reviews on the effects of healthcare interventions. It provides guidance on the standard methods applicable to every review (planning a review, searching and selecting studies, data collection, risk of bias assessment, statistical analysis, GRADE and interpreting results), as well as more specialised topics (non-randomized studies, adverse effects, complex interventions, equity, economics, patient-reported outcomes, individual patient data, prospective meta-analysis, and qualitative research).

• Link

Keywords: Evidence, Handbooks, Literature reviews, Research reviews

Annotation: This document for public health practitioners provides guidance on how to interpret and use insufficient evidence (IE) findings based on systematic reviews of peer-reviewed literature for intervention approaches that aim to improve behaviors, services, programs, or policies. Topics include understanding the question posed in the review, considering why the systematic review of evidence resulted in an IE finding, examining individual studies in the review, and making decisions based on the evidence. An example from the field is included. Guidance for public health funders and researchers are also available.

Contact: Community Preventive Services Task Force, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Community Guide Branch, 1600 Clifton Road, N.E., MSE69, Atlanta, GA 30329, Telephone: (404) 498-6595 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.thecommunityguide.org/task-force/community-preventive-services-task-force-members Available from the website.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: Decision making, Evaluation methods, Research methodology, Research reviews

Annotation: This resource presents recommendations for interventions during pregnancy and after birth to promote and support breastfeeding. Contents include the recommendation statement, evidence review and summary, a clinical summary, and related information for health professionals.

Contact: U.S. Preventive Services Task Force, 540 Gaither Road, Rockville, MD 20850, Telephone: (301) 427-1584 Web Site: http://www.uspreventiveservicestaskforce.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Counseling, Literature reviews, MCH research, Perinatal care, Pregnant women

Annotation: This document synthesizes peer-reviewed systematic reviews of measures that can be used to screen children enrolled in Medicaid for adverse childhood experiences (ACEs), defined as stressful or traumatic events including abuse, neglect, and household dysfunction. Contents include the policy context, supporting evidence, and limitations. The appendices contain definitions of terms; search terms and databases used in the review; a table of selected measures including the measure name, type, ACEs, strengths, limitations, and other considerations; and systematic reviews included in the evidence review.

Contact: AcademyHealth, 1150 17th Street, N.W., Suite 600, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 292-6700 Fax: (202) 292-6800 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.academyhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Evaluation methods, Evidence based medicine, Low income groups, Measures, Medicaid, Public policy, Research reviews, Screening, Stress, Trauma

Annotation: This document synthesizes peer-reviewed systematic reviews on the effectiveness of interventions that help to mitigate parental and familial factors that may contribute to adverse childhood experiences among children. Contents include the policy context, supporting evidence, and limitations. Topics include parent education programs (conducted outside the home), home visit programs, dual treatment programs for substance abuse, and trauma-informed care. The appendices contain definitions of terms; search terms and databases used in the review; and a table that describes the systematic reviews included in the review.

Contact: AcademyHealth, 1150 17th Street, N.W., Suite 600, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 292-6700 Fax: (202) 292-6800 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.academyhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Evaluation methods, Evidence based medicine, Home visiting, Intervention, Low income groups, Medicaid, Parent education, Public policy, Research reviews, Stress, Substance abuse treatment, Trauma, Trauma care

Annotation: This document synthesizes peer-reviewed systematic reviews on adverse childhood experiences (ACEs) associated with higher health care costs among adults. Contents include the policy context, supporting evidence, and limitations. Collectively, the studies included in the review report costs for three of 10 major ACEs: physical abuse, sexual abuse, and physical neglect. The appendices contain definitions of terms, search terms and databases used in the review, and a description of systematic reviews and relevant primary research studies included in the review.

Contact: AcademyHealth, 1150 17th Street, N.W., Suite 600, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 292-6700 Fax: (202) 292-6800 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.academyhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adults, Child abuse, Child neglect, Child sexual abuse, Costs, Evaluation methods, Life course, Low income groups, Medicaid, Public policy, Research reviews, Stress, Trauma, Women

Annotation: This website provides information and resources from an ongoing independent systematic review of the adolescent pregnancy prevention research to identify programs with evidence of effectiveness in reducing adolescent pregnancy, sexually transmitted infections, and associated sexual risk behaviors. The website includes information on study quality and program models that have demonstrated positive impacts on sexual risk behavior and sexual health outcomes. Contents include a searchable database of studies included in the review, information about the review process and how the review is conducted, publications written by the review team, answers to frequently asked questions, and contact information for the study team.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation, Hubert H. Humphrey Building, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Room 415 F, Washington, DC 20201, Web Site: http://aspe.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents, Health behavior, Literature reviews, Prevention programs, Program models, Research methodology, Risk factors, Sexual health, Sexually transmitted diseases

Annotation: This book provides a way to review and organize research literature. It is intended for people with a variety of backgrounds in the health sciences. The book is organized into three parts. The first section covers fundamentals of literature review and includes an introductory chapter and a chapter on basic concepts. The second section covers the matrix method and has chapters on searching the literature, reviewing documents, abstracting literature, and using a review matrix to write a synthesis. The third section deals with applications using the matrix method and has chapters on a library of literature review books, the matrix indexing system, and matrix applications by health science professionals. The appendix lists useful resources for literature reviews.

Contact: Aspen Publishers, 76 Ninth Avenue, Seventh Floor, New York, NY 10011, Telephone: (800) 234-1660 Secondary Telephone: (212) 771-0600 Fax: (212) 771-0885 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.aspenpublishers.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-8342-1223-4.

Keywords: Health sciences, Indexes, Literature reviews, Research skills

Annotation: This web site provides the current recommendation, evidence reports, clinical summaries, consumer fact sheet, and comparative effectiveness review for screening asymptomatic pregnant women after 24 weeks for gestational diabetes mellitus.

Contact: U.S. Preventive Services Task Force, 540 Gaither Road, Rockville, MD 20850, Telephone: (301) 427-1584 Web Site: http://www.uspreventiveservicestaskforce.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Consumer Fact Sheet

Keywords: Diabetes mellitus, Gestational diabetes, Literature reviews, MCH research, Pregnant women, Screening

Annotation: This guide for parents and other caregivers describes research about the possible benefits and negative side effects of therapies for children ages 2 through 12 who have an autism spectrum disorder (ASD). The guide explains what ASDs are and summarizes the research on programs that treat ASD symptoms. Topics include behavior and development programs, education and learning programs, medications, and other treatments and therapies. Guidelines to help parents and caregivers choose the best therapy and programs for their child are included.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website. Document Number: AHRQ Pub. No. 14-EHC036-A.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Autism, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Families, Research reviews

Contact: Future of Children, Princeton School of Public and International Affairs, Princeton University, 267 Wallace Hall, Princeton, NJ 08544, Telephone: (609) 258-5894 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://futureofchildren.princeton.edu/ Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-9857863-2-8.

• Link

Keywords: Child development, Children, Family health, Intergenerational programs, Parents, Program evaluation, Program improvement, Research reviews

Annotation: This report presents findings from a Congressionally-mandated review of the design of the National Children's Main Study. Topics include the national probability sample's overall sample size and design, the use of hospitals and birthing centers as the primary sampling unit, relative size of the prenatal and birth strata in the probability sample, the size of the supplemental convenience sample, optimal use of sibling births, use of health care providers to refer prospective participants, proposed study visit schedule with emphasis on more frequent data collection in pregnancy and early childhood, proposed approach to assess health and developmental phenotypes, and proposed approach to define and characterize health disparities. Conclusions and recommendations, including information on logistical and resource constraints, are also provided.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Longitudinal studies, MCH research, National initiatives, Research methodology, Research reviews

Annotation: This guide is designed to help policymakers with varying levels of experience understand and use comparative effectiveness research (CER) and patient-centered outcomes research (PCOR). Contents include a legend to orient those new to CER and PCOR and steps for using this research in state policymaking. Topics include identifying when CER and PCOR can inform policymaking, finding research and other relevant resources, evaluating the evidence, using the evidence to design program or policy, communicating and disseminating the decision, and monitoring and evaluating new research as it becomes available. Case studies and sample applications for each step are included. The appendices contain additional sources of research, guides, and tools; a list of suggested reading on CER, PCOR, and evidence-based decision-making; and an overview on conducting a systematic review.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Comparative analysis, Decision making, Policy development, Program development, Public policy, Research methodology, Research reviews, Treatment outcome

Annotation: This article, the second in a series on evidence-based dentistry (EBD), describes how to frame questions that support the search for evidence to inform clinical decision-making. The article also identifies EBD resources and how to search for relevant evidence by translating questions into effective search terms.

Contact: American Dental Association, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Fax: (312) 440-7494 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ada.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Comparison groups, Decision making, Literature reviews, Oral health, Research methodology

Annotation: This report describes the results of a 2004-2012 literature search that evaluated the performance of screening instruments for postpartum depression, potential benefits and harms of screening, and impact on appropriate postscreening actions. Report contents include an introduction to postpartum depression and its adverse outcomes, screening, clinical and socioeconomic factors affecting risk; chapters on the study methods and results; a discussion of the findings; and conclusions and references. Appendices provide further detail into how the study was performed.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website. Document Number: AHRQ Publication No. 13-EHC064-EF.

• Link

Keywords: Literature reviews, MCH research, Maternal mental health, Mother child relations, Postpartum depression, Research methodology, Screening

Annotation: This report describes research conducted by the Johns Hopkins University Evidence-based Practice Center (EPC) on the effectiveness of childhood obesity prevention programs by reviewing all interventional studies that aimed to improve diet, physical activity, or both and that were conducted in schools, homes, primary care clinics, childcare settings, the community, or combinations of these settings in high-income countries. Topics include optimal setting for childhood obesity prevention interventions, benefits and unwanted consequences of the study, and comparisons to what is already known. An executive summary, research protocol, slide presentation, continuing medical education activity, and summaries for clinicians and consumers (English and Spanish) are also available.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website. Document Number: AHRQ Pub. No.13-EHC081-EF.

• Full Report

Keywords: , Child health, Children, Obesity, Research reviews, School based programs, Weight management

Annotation: This policy brief presents a review of the literature on the oral health status of rural America and provides recommendations for meeting rural America’s oral health care needs. Topics include increasing access to oral health care, service reimbursement, training programs and recruitment, and research.

Contact: National Rural Health Association, 521 East 63rd Street, Kansas City, MO 64110, Telephone: (816) 756-3140 Fax: (816) 756-3144 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ruralhealth.us Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Health status, Literature reviews, Needs assessment, Oral health, Policy, Reimbursement, Research, Rural environment, Rural health, Training