Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report explores the science of child development, particularly looking at implications for the professionals who work with children. It also examines the current capacities and practices of the work force, the settings in which they work, the policies and infrastructure that set qualifications and provide professional learning, and the government agencies and other funders who support and oversee these systems. Contents include recommendations to improve the quality of professional practice and the practice environment for care and education professionals. These detailed recommendations create a blueprint for action that builds on a unifying foundation of child development and early learning, shared knowledge and competencies for care and education professionals, and principles for effective professional learning.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-309-32485-4 .

• Download Requires Email And Password
• Link

Keywords: Child care, Child care workers, Child development, Competence, Competency based education, Early childhood education, Financing, Infants, Learning, Paraprofessional personnel, Program development, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Research, Teachers, Toddlers, Training, Work force, Young children

Annotation: This report summarizes information from focus groups conducted by the Home Visiting Forum training group. Participants of the focus groups were supervisors in national home visiting programs. The report discusses supervisor needs and home visitor needs in the areas of supportive management, training and professional development, coherent program design, supervisor experience, community linkages, structure and communication, salary and compensation, facilities and support, evaluation, and access to mental health services for clients in the programs.

Contact: Parents as Teachers, 2228 Ball Drive, St. Louis, MO 63146, Telephone: (314) 432-4330 Secondary Telephone: (866) 728-4968 Fax: (314) 432-8963 Web Site: http://www.parentsasteachers.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Collaboration, Home visiting, Personnel management, Research, Supervision

Annotation: This final report describes a national program to promote fair, timely, and cost-effective methods of preventing and resolving conflicts in obtaining needed health care services between children with special health care needs (CSHCN) and their families, service providers, and managed care organizations. The project is designed to help CSHCN obtain services that are community-based, comprehensive, coordinated, family-centered, and culturally competent. The report sections include the purpose of the project, goals and objectives, methodology, evaluation, results and outcomes, publications and products, dissemination and utilization, future plans and follow-up, and type and amount of support and resources needed to replicate the project. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Health Law and Policy Resource Center, University of Iowa, 412 Boyd Law Building, Melrose and Byington Streets, Iowa City, IA 52242-1113, Telephone: (319) 335-9067 Fax: (319) 335-9098 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://blogs.law.uiowa.edu/nhlp

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Community based services, Cultural competence, Cultural sensitivity, Dispute resolution, Families, Family centered services, Final reports, Health personnel, MCH research, Managed care, Mediation, Service integration

Annotation: This report summarizes and analyzes information from a study conducted to determine whether health professionals in Hennepin County, Minnesota, discuss alcohol use with women of childbearing age. The report includes the following sections: (1) a model for clinical prevention and intervention, (2) phase one: provider prenatal alcohol screening survey, (3) phase two: provider focus group research, (3) summary, and (4) a call to action. A reference list is also included. Four appendices include the prenatal alcohol screening survey, selected survey results, coding schemes for variables in multiple regression analyses, and a prenatal care provider focus group discussion guide.

Contact: Hennepin County Human Services and Public Health Department, 525 Portland Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55415, Telephone: (612) 348-4111 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://hennepin.us/hsphd Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Alcohol use during pregnancy, Fetal alcohol effects, Fetal alcohol syndrome, Focus groups, Health personnel, Intervention, Minnesota, Pregnancy, Questionnaires, Research, Substance abusing pregnant women, Surveys

Annotation: This guide is intended for use as an aid to help genetic service providers better understand their client populations and reduce barriers to the provision of genetic services. The guide is geared for health professionals both with and without experience caring for Mexican Americans. The guide is divided into eight main sections: (1) who are Mexican Americans, (2) cultural values and beliefs and their relationship to health behaviors, (3) what is curanderismo, (4) Mexican American folk beliefs regarding genetic and other conditions, (5) client perceptions of genetic services and barriers to care, (6) cultural competence and genetic practice, (7) tool kit, and (8) supplement. The guide also includes a bibliography. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, 7703 Floyd Curl Drive, San Antonio, TX 78229, Telephone: (210) 567-7000 Web Site: http://www.uthscsa.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Cultural barriers, Cultural beliefs, Cultural factors, Cultural sensitivity, Culturally competent services, Genetic services, Health behavior, Health personnel, Hispanics, MCH research, Mexican Americans, Resource materials

Annotation: This directory contains approximately 300 discretionary projects addressing the early childhood provisions of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act. The directory was compiled from the following four volumes published by the ERIC/OSEP Special Project: (1) research, innovation, and evolution, (2) personnel preparation, (3) technical assistance, dissemination, parent training information, and state improvement, and (4) technology and media services. It was published annually from 2001 to 2006.

Contact: Early Childhood Technical Assistance Center, Campus Box 8040, UNC-CH, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-8040, Telephone: (919) 962-2001 Secondary Telephone: (919) 843-3269 Fax: 919.966.7463 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://ectacenter.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Directories, Disabilities, Evaluation, Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, Information dissemination, Multimedia, Parents, Personnel, Research, Technical assistance, Technology, Training

Annotation: This report reviews research and training in child and adolescent mental health and offers recommendations in three broad interdisciplinary research areas: (1) development of interventions; (2) training; and (3) program development. Chapter topics include a review of past intervention research, current emphases and future prospects; infrastructure and training; and future directions for child and adolescent mental health research. A section of figures presents charts and tables illustrating research grants issued from 1999-2000 by the National Institutes of Mental Health. Appendices include national estimates of mental health utilization and expenditures for children in 1998; a clinical case study of childhood-onset depression; respondents and training recommendations from major professional associations; and the members of the National Advisory Mental Health Council. The final section of the report contains references.

Contact: National Institute of Mental Health, 6001 Executive Boulevard, Bethesda, MD 20892-9663, Telephone: (866) 615-6464 Secondary Telephone: (301) 443-8431 Fax: (301) 443-4279 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nimh.nih.gov Available at no charge; also available from the website. Document Number: NIH 01-4985.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent mental health, Child mental health, Intervention, Personnel, Professional training, Program development, Research reviews

Annotation: A two-year study at the Johns Hopkins School of Medicine, assessed the effectiveness of early home visitation in promoting effective parenting by fathers, via expanded continuation of an ongoing 5-year randomized trial (RCT) of Hawaii's Healthy Start Program (HSP). The HSP model is the most widely replicated early home visitation program for environmentally at-risk families. It comprises: 1) community-based screening to identify at-risk families of newborn, and 2) intensive, long-term home visiting by trained paraprofessionals whose direct services and linkage to community resources aim to promote healthy family functioning and maximize child health, development and school readiness. Phase II aims: 1) To expand Year 3 data collection in three ways: a) Expand process data collection to measure paternal engagement in the HSP, b) Initiate paternal interviews to measure directly fathers' parenting behavior and other aspects of functioning, and c) Expand maternal interviews to measure maternal perceptions of the father's parenting attributes. 2) To analyze new and existing study data to a) identify factors influencing fathers' engagement in the HSP; b) measure effects of home visitation on the father, and c) relate paternal engagement in home visiting to program effects for the mother, child, and family as a whole. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 Contact Fax: xxx E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB2002-101953.

Keywords: Child Abuse, Child Neglect, Early Childhood Development, Families, Family Environment, Final reports, Home Visiting Programs, Home Visiting Services, Infants, MCH Research, Outreach, Paraprofessional Personnel, Research

Annotation: The goal of the study was to evaluate MOMS (Mothers Offering Mothers Support), an intervention program that uses a peer support team consisting of a case management nurse, a paid health advocate, and volunteer mothers. The peer support network maintains weekly contact with low-income pregnant women at clinics, in homes, and in a variety of community locations. The study compared women who received the current standard of care provided by prenatal and maternal support services with women who received care through MOMS. Data on stress, depression, social support, life course development, health risk behavior, self-esteem, parenting and infant development, and mastery were collected for 500 women at 4 different clinic sites. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB2002-107488.

Keywords: Community Health Aides, Community Health workers, Community Integrated Service System program, Health Education, MCH Research, Paraprofessional Personnel, Paraprofessional Personnel, Peer Support Programs, Pregnant Women, Pregnant Women, Research, Support Groups

Annotation: This book, which is aimed at academics, people with disabilities, and those interested in forming social welfare policies, focuses on issues and debated framing disability studies and places the studies in a historical and cultural context. The book is divided into three sections, each representing an overarching theme: the shaping of disability studies as a field (Part 1), experiencing disability (Part 2), and disability in context (part 3). The parts are divided into chapters, each of which includes an overview, a conclusion, notes, and references. The book also includes an author index, a subject index, and an about the contributors section.

Contact: Sage Publications, 2455 Teller Road, Thousand Oaks, CA 91320-2218, Telephone: (805) 499-9774 Secondary Telephone: (800)818-7243 Fax: (805) 499-0871 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sagepub.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-7619-2874-X.

Keywords: Advocacy, Cultural factors, Disabilities, Education, Health personnel, History, Human rights, Public health, Public policy, Research, Social conditions, Social support, Trends

Annotation: This special issue of the journal Pediatrics is a report from the Newborn Screening Task Force convened in Washington, DC in May, 1999. It includes an executive summary and a chapter on each of the four key recommendations. The recommendations cover public health infrastructure, professional and public involvement, surveillance and research, and the economics of screening. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

• Link

Keywords: Economic factors, Neonatal screening, Population surveillance, Professional personnel, Public health infrastructure, Research programs, Task forces

Annotation: Emergency department physicians should have a low threshold for screening for urinary tract infection (UTI) since it is often present and its sequelae are severe. While there is little consistent information about the prevalence of UTI among febrile pediatric patients in the emergency department, there is much debate about the most appropriate clinical and laboratory criteria for diagnosis. Screening is uncomfortable for patients and its costs are significant. A prospective study of febrile infants < 1 year of age and febrile girls ages 1–4 years in a high-volume urban pediatric emergency department was conducted to determine the prevalence of UTI; (2) determine the usefulness of rapid screening tests for UTI, and (3) identify clinical predictors and develop clinical prediction models to stratify children at high risk for UTI. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB99-144685.

Keywords: Cost Effectiveness, Emergency Room Personnel, MCH Research, Research, Screening, Urban Population, Urban Population, Urinary Tract Infections

Annotation: This report of case studies of women's health centers is divided into three sections. The first section discusses commonalties including women centered missions, women providers, and leadership. The second section discusses crosscutting issues including adapting to managed care, the safety net for women, and abortion politics. The last section discusses conclusions and implications for policy and research. Appendix A provides the case study methods. Appendix B is one-page summaries of the case study reports describing the centers as they were observed in 1995.

Contact: Commonwealth Fund, One East 75th Street, New York, NY 10021, Telephone: (212) 606-3800 Contact Phone: (800) 777-2744 Fax: (212) 606-3500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.commonwealthfund.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Abortion, Case studies, Health personnel, Leadership, Managed care, Policy development, Program descriptions, Program descriptions, Research, Research methodology, Welfare programs, Women, Women', s health services

Annotation: This book addresses alcohol use and abuse among women. The chapters discuss patterns and trends in women's drinking, the inheritance of alcoholism, research issues in the prevention of fetal alcohol syndrome and alcohol-related birth defects, gender differences in alcohol involvement in children and adolescents, parenting interventions to prevent alcohol and other drug use among children, women's drinking practices and problems from a life span perspective, drinking and driving among women, women's alcohol use and their violent victimization, occupational culture and drinking in women, the effects of alcoholism on the labor market, alcohol consumption and female sexuality, and future directions for psychosocial and prevention research on women and alcohol.

Contact: National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism, , 5635 Fishers Lane, MSC 9304, Bethesda, MD 20892-9304, Telephone: (301) 443-3860 Fax: (301) 780-1726 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.niaaa.nih.gov Available at no charge. Document Number: NIH 96-3817.

• Link

Keywords: Alcohol abuse, Alcohol consumption behavior, Alcohol use during pregnancy, Alcoholism, Congenital abnormalities, Fetal alcohol effects, Fetal alcohol syndrome, Impaired driving, Personnel, Prevention, Research, Sexuality, Women

Annotation: This book discusses dental education from the perspectives of its background and evolution, oral health objectives, mission, research mission, patient care mission, the relationship of dental schools to universities and the public, and a dental workforce for the future.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Contact Phone: (800) 624-6242 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-309-05195-9.

• Link

Keywords: Dental care, Dental education, Dental schools, Health personnel, Oral health, Research, Universities

Annotation: This document begins by defining family centered care and discussing its benefits. It goes on to explain the components of a family centered hospital care program: committed hospital leadership, personnel policies and practices, supportive architecture and design, professional communication with families, family-to-family support and networking, linking families with community resources, educating family-centered professionals, research design, and family involvement in hospital decisions. The concluding chapters offer practical tips for hospital personnel starting a family centered care program and strategies for family involvement in the process. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Institute for Patient and Family-Centered Care, 7900 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 405, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (301) 652-0281, ext. 16 Contact Phone: (301) 320-2686 Fax: (301) 652-0186 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.familycenteredcare.org Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-9642014-0-2.

Keywords: Child health services, Collaboration, Community programs, Ethics, Facility design and construction, Family centered care, Family support services, Health personnel, Hospital services, Parent participation, Parents, Policy development, Professional education, Program development, Research design

Annotation: This report examines research on the quantity and quality of training in nutrition and nutrition education needed by intermediaries (professionals and paraprofessionals with primary responsibilities in health, education, and food service who include nutrition education in their activities) in order for them to achieve appropriate nutritional goals, with emphasis on the continuing education or inservice training needs of these intermediaries. It examines literature pertaining to elementary and secondary school teachers, school food service, and nutrition and health paraprofessionals and professionals.

Contact: U.S. Department of Agriculture, Office of Analysis and Evaluation, 3101 Park Center Drive, Alexandria, VA 22302 , Telephone: (703) 305-2017 E-mail: [email protected] Out of print.

Keywords: Health personnel, Nutrition education, Nutrition research, Research reviews, Training

Annotation: This book is intended to provide an analysis of laws related to medical genetics for people who work in the medical genetics field and related health care fields, including researchers, clinicians, paraprofessionals, and public health officials. It presents an overview of the laws affecting the following areas: medical genetics and legal responsibility, the social and policy framework, regulations of genetic research in humans, concerns in embryo and fetal research, provision of genetic services, genetic counseling, organ transplantation, confidentiality of genetic information, and mandatory screening, diagnosis, and treatment. Appendices contain the Nuremberg code of ethics in medical research and the National Institutes of Health's points to consider in the design and submission of human somatic-cell gene therapy protocols. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Administrative personnel, Confidentiality, Genetic counseling, Genetics, Legal issues, Legal responsibility, Medical research, Paraprofessional personnel, Public health programs, Reports, Research personnel, Social policy

Annotation: This document describes the federal program in international human nutrition research, critical issues in international nutrition research and education, and recommendations. It is the second of three reports to be developed by the subcommittee.

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB82-231739.

Keywords: Federal programs, International programs, Nutrition education, Nutrition personnel, Nutrition research, Professional education

Annotation: The purpose of this research is to investigate empirically the determinants of children's health with particular reference to home and local environmental variables such as family income; parents' schooling; preventive medical care; race differences; preventive medical care; cognitive development; the choice of diet for young children; and health manpower availability.

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 Contact Phone: (703) 487-4650 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Available in libraries.

Keywords: Child health, Cognitive development, Diet, Educational attainment, Family income, Health personnel, Preventive medicine, Research