Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This document provides sampling guidelines for state and territorial health agencies and other jurisdictions planning to conduct a school-based oral health survey. Topics include appropriate sampling designs, steps for and examples of the sampling process, what to do if a school refuses to participate, and information about specialized data-analysis software.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Oral health, Research methodology, Schools, Surveys

Annotation: This document for public health practitioners provides guidance on how to interpret and use insufficient evidence (IE) findings based on systematic reviews of peer-reviewed literature for intervention approaches that aim to improve behaviors, services, programs, or policies. Topics include understanding the question posed in the review, considering why the systematic review of evidence resulted in an IE finding, examining individual studies in the review, and making decisions based on the evidence. An example from the field is included. Guidance for public health funders and researchers are also available.

Contact: Community Preventive Services Task Force, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Community Guide Branch, 1600 Clifton Road, N.E., MSE69, Atlanta, GA 30329, Telephone: (404) 498-6595 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.thecommunityguide.org/task-force/community-preventive-services-task-force-members Available from the website.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: Decision making, Evaluation methods, Research methodology, Research reviews

Annotation: This report presents findings from a review of studies on the use of emergency departments for nontraumatic oral health conditions and oral health care. The report discusses variations in target populations, outcomes of interest, predictive factors, data sources, and research methods. Recommendations for future research are included.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

• Report
• Appendices

Keywords: Dental care, Emergency room data, Health care utilization, Hospital emergency services, Oral health, Research methodology, Utilization review

Annotation: This document describes the Healthy People 2020 methodology for measuring progress toward target attainment and the elimination of health disparities, with a particular focus on methodological considerations for the interpretation of findings. The Healthy People 2020 measurement practices are contrasted with those in place for the Healthy People 2010.

Contact: National Center for Health Statistics, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 3311 Toledo Road, Room 5419, Hyattsville, MD 20782, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (301) 458-4020 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nchs Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Health disparities, Healthy People 2020, Measures, Population surveillance, Research methodology, Statistical data

Annotation: This document outlines a strategic plan to identify critical human nutrition research gaps and foster a coordinated approach to address knowledge gaps, accelerate innovations, and strengthen the capacity of the interdisciplinary workforce required to bring the innovations to fruition. Topics include how to better understand and define eating patterns to improve and sustain health, what can be done to help people choose healthy eating patterns, and how to develop and engage innovative methods and systems to accelerate discoveries in human nutrition.

Contact: Interagency Committee on Human Nutrition Research, U.S. Department of Agriculture, 1400 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20250, Telephone: (202) 720-2791 Web Site: https://fnic.nal.usda.gov/surveys-reports-and-research/interagency-committee-human-nutrition-research Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Eating behavior, Interdisciplinary approach, Nutrition, Research methodology, Strategic plans, Systems development, Work force

Annotation: This report provides information about validation testing for pediatric oral health performance measures. Topics include tooth mortality and treatment following dental sealant placement. Contents include background, data sources, and key testing findings.

Contact: American Dental Association, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Fax: (312) 440-7494 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ada.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Dental care, Dental sealants, Dentistry, Health services delivery, Measures, Oral health, Outcome and process assessment, Pediatric care, Quality assurance, Research design, Research methodology

Annotation: This report presents an analysis of children's population health needs and resources in Philadelphia. Contents include findings from statistical and spatial (mapping) analyses to better understand the effects of modifiable neighborhood characteristics on mental health and a proposed method for using population-level risk factors to assess service need and adequacy of community resources.

Contact: Thomas Scattergood Behavioral Health Foundation at Friends Center, 1501 Cherry Street, Philadelphia, PA 19102, Web Site: http://www.scattergoodfoundation.org Out of print.

• Full Report

Keywords: Access to care, Children, Cultural sensitivity, Geographic factors, Health care utilization, Health services delivery, Labeling, Mental disorders, Mental health, Neighborhoods, Protective factors, Research methodology, Risk factors, Social support, Trust

Annotation: This report presents findings from a study to examine naturalistic data from crashes that involved adolescent drivers. Topics include characteristics of drivers and passengers, roadway and environment, crashes, vehicle-to-vehicle crashes, and single-vehicle crashes; and driver and passenger behaviors. Contents include a detailed description of the study methodology and the coding sheet with variable definitions.

Contact: AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety, 607 14th Street, N.W., Suite 201, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 638-5944 Fax: (202) 638-5943 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aaafoundation.org/home/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Behavior, Data analysis, Environment, External cause of injury codes, Motor vehicle crashes, Research methodology, Risk factors, Risk taking, Safety, Transportation injuries, Unintentional injuries

Annotation: This website provides information and resources from an ongoing independent systematic review of the adolescent pregnancy prevention research to identify programs with evidence of effectiveness in reducing adolescent pregnancy, sexually transmitted infections, and associated sexual risk behaviors. The website includes information on study quality and program models that have demonstrated positive impacts on sexual risk behavior and sexual health outcomes. Contents include a searchable database of studies included in the review, information about the review process and how the review is conducted, publications written by the review team, answers to frequently asked questions, and contact information for the study team.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation, Hubert H. Humphrey Building, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Room 415 F, Washington, DC 20201, Web Site: http://aspe.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents, Health behavior, Literature reviews, Prevention programs, Program models, Research methodology, Risk factors, Sexual health, Sexually transmitted diseases

Annotation: This report presents findings from a Congressionally-mandated review of the design of the National Children's Main Study. Topics include the national probability sample's overall sample size and design, the use of hospitals and birthing centers as the primary sampling unit, relative size of the prenatal and birth strata in the probability sample, the size of the supplemental convenience sample, optimal use of sibling births, use of health care providers to refer prospective participants, proposed study visit schedule with emphasis on more frequent data collection in pregnancy and early childhood, proposed approach to assess health and developmental phenotypes, and proposed approach to define and characterize health disparities. Conclusions and recommendations, including information on logistical and resource constraints, are also provided.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Longitudinal studies, MCH research, National initiatives, Research methodology, Research reviews

Annotation: This guide is designed to help policymakers with varying levels of experience understand and use comparative effectiveness research (CER) and patient-centered outcomes research (PCOR). Contents include a legend to orient those new to CER and PCOR and steps for using this research in state policymaking. Topics include identifying when CER and PCOR can inform policymaking, finding research and other relevant resources, evaluating the evidence, using the evidence to design program or policy, communicating and disseminating the decision, and monitoring and evaluating new research as it becomes available. Case studies and sample applications for each step are included. The appendices contain additional sources of research, guides, and tools; a list of suggested reading on CER, PCOR, and evidence-based decision-making; and an overview on conducting a systematic review.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Comparative analysis, Decision making, Policy development, Program development, Public policy, Research methodology, Research reviews, Treatment outcome

Annotation: This article, the second in a series on evidence-based dentistry (EBD), describes how to frame questions that support the search for evidence to inform clinical decision-making. The article also identifies EBD resources and how to search for relevant evidence by translating questions into effective search terms.

Contact: American Dental Association, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Fax: (312) 440-7494 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ada.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Comparison groups, Decision making, Literature reviews, Oral health, Research methodology

Annotation: This manual provides guidelines for assessing the oral health status of a population and determining need for oral health intervention. The manual aims to encourage national oral health survey planners to standardize measurements of oral diseases and conditions that are important for planning and evaluating oral health programs, as well as to ensure the comparability of data collected in a wide range of environments. The manual advocates applying the World Health Organization (WHO) global approach to chronic-disease-surveillance to an operational model for the integration of oral health into chronic disease surveillance systems. Topics include basic principles of oral health surveys, oral health self-assessment, and obtaining assistance from WHO.

Contact: World Health Organization, 20, Avenue Appia, Geneva, Switzerland , Telephone: (+ 41 22) 791 21 11 Fax: (+ 41 22) 791 3111 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.who.int/en Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 9789241548649.

• PDF

Keywords: Data analysis, Data collection, International health, Oral health, Research design, Research methodology, Surveys, World Health Organization

Annotation: This book for students and practicing clinicians presents a step-by-step approach to thoughtful and critical reading of health research literature utilizing scenarios, checklists, and exercises. Section one focuses on study evaluation including design, assessment, analysis, interpretation, extrapolation, randomized trials, cohort studies, and meta-analysis. The second section discusses tests with topics in variability, reference interval, definitions, test comparisons, and screening. Section three covers rate sampling, standardization, sources, and compilation. The fourth section considers costs and evaluating effectiveness by study design, assessment, analysis, interpretation, and extrapolation. Section five gives an overview of basic principles of statistics, univariable, bivariable, and multivariable analyses, along with a flowchart summary. Each section concludes with a review/question summary. The book concludes with a glossary and index. A CD-ROM is included with interactive questions and answers that parallel each of the first four sections of the text.

Contact: Wolters Kluwer Health, Lippincott Williams and Wilkins, P.O. Box 1620, Hagerstown, MD 21741, Telephone: (800) 638-3030 Secondary Telephone: (301) 223-23000 Fax: (301) 223-2400 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.lww.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-7817-1860-0.

Keywords: Assessment, Audiovisual materials, CD-ROMs, Data analysis, Evaluation, Evaluation methods, Health services, Interactive media, Medicine, Research methodology, Statistics

Annotation: This report describes the results of a 2004-2012 literature search that evaluated the performance of screening instruments for postpartum depression, potential benefits and harms of screening, and impact on appropriate postscreening actions. Report contents include an introduction to postpartum depression and its adverse outcomes, screening, clinical and socioeconomic factors affecting risk; chapters on the study methods and results; a discussion of the findings; and conclusions and references. Appendices provide further detail into how the study was performed.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website. Document Number: AHRQ Publication No. 13-EHC064-EF.

• Link

Keywords: Literature reviews, MCH research, Maternal mental health, Mother child relations, Postpartum depression, Research methodology, Screening

Annotation: This toolkit is designed to provide clinical and administrative staff at community health centers with the essentials needed to build a primary care research infrastructure. Organized into eight stand-alone audio-recorded modules, the toolkit helps health center clinicians and staff find information on: (1) introduction to quality improvement and research, (2) building primary care research infrastructure, (3) data: access and utilization, (4) study design and methods overview, (5) dissemination and action, (6) funding research, (7) partnerships for research, and (8) ethics and the Institutional Review Board. Appendices are included after each module to provide access to sample agreements, forms, policies, slides, and worksheets.

Contact: Harvard University, T.H. Chan School of Public Health, 677 Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA 02115, Telephone: (617) 495-1000 Web Site: https://www.hsph.harvard.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Community health centers, Data collection, Data sources, Ethics, Fundraising, Primary care, Qualitative evaluation, Research, Research design, Research methodology

Annotation: This report summarizes a workshop convened to update a 1982 report on the assessment of childbirth settings in the United States. Topics include birth and birth setting trends and statistics; assessment of risk in pregnancy; health outcomes associated with birth setting; work force issues related to birth setting; data systems and measurement; and cost, value, and reimbursement issues.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available free from the website; print copies $44.00.

• Link

Keywords: Alternative birth styles, Birthing centers, Childbirth, Delivery rooms, MCH research, Maternal health services, Research methodology, Trends

Annotation: This report describes key methodological aspects and issues to consider when using the 2007 National Health Interview Survey (NHIS) data files and the linked file of the 2007 NHIS and the 2008 Medical Expenditure Panel Survey to evaluate use and impact of complementary and alternative medicine among children in the United States. Topics include weighting, sample size and limits of the linked data sets, validity evaluation, and variable construction using currently available population-based data files. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Data Resource Center for Child and Adolescent Health, Child and Adolescent Health Measurement Initiative, The Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, 615 North Wolfe Street, Baltimore, MD 21205, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://childhealthdata.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Alternative medicine, Child health, Data, National surveys, Research methodology, Treatment effectiveness evaluation, Utilization review

Annotation: This report describes the Healthcare Horizon Scanning System as a systematic process to identify and monitor target technologies and innovations in health care and to create an inventory of target technologies that have the highest potential for impact on clinical care, the health care system, patient outcomes, and costs. It also describes its role as a tool for the public to identify and find information on new health care technologies and interventions. This report discusses two topics, the Preconception Care System for improving health outcomes in pregnancy (Gabby) and the use of vending machine dispensers for emergency oral contraceptive (Plan B One-Step) to prevent pregnancy.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Contraceptive use, Medical technology, Medical technology, Oral contraception, Pregnancy, Preterm birth, Research methodology

Annotation: This document presents the agenda of the Home Visiting Research Network established as part of the Maternal, Infant, and Early Childhood Home Visiting (MIECHV) program. Topics include how the agenda was developed and ten research priorities including the rationale for each priority, what is known about each priority, and what is needed to advance the field of home visiting. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Home Visiting Research Network, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Department of Population, Family and Reproductive Health, 615 N. Wolfe Street, Room E4150, Baltimore, MD 21205, Telephone: (410) 502-0545 Web Site: http://www.hvrn.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Health services delivery, Home visiting, MCH research, Research methodology