Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: ]

Contact: U.S. Preventive Services Task Force, 540 Gaither Road, Rockville, MD 20850, Telephone: (301) 427-1584 Web Site: http://www.uspreventiveservicestaskforce.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Consumer Fact Sheet

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Adults, Behavior modification, Counseling, Guidelines, Intervention, Prevention, Reproductive health, Sexually transmitted diseases

Annotation: This guide aims to help health professionals, advocates, and educators in the field of sexual and reproductive health and rights better understand and use evidence on adolescents' knowledge and behaviors. The guide provides demographic and socioeconomic information about adolescents as well as measures of their access to, need for, and use of sexual and reproductive health information and services. Presenting data for 30 countries, the guide explains the meaning of the data and how to use it to help those working with young people bring about change. The guide is available in English, French, and Spanish.

Contact: Guttmacher Institute, 125 Maiden Lane, New York, NY 10038, Telephone: (212) 248-1111 Secondary Telephone: (800) 355-0244 Fax: (212) 248-1951; Washington, D.C. Office (202) 223-5756 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.guttmacher.org Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent health, Adolescent sexuality, Health services, International health, Non English language materials, Reproductive health, Spanish language materials, Statistical data

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about programs that work and do not work to improve outcomes for adolescent parents with low incomes and their children. The fact sheet reviews 20 parenting programs that are geared toward enhancing parents' development, educating them about effective parenting methods, or both. The fact sheet introduces the issue and reports findings for programs in six outcome areas: child outcomes: health; child outcomes: behaviors and development; parent outcomes: reproductive health; parent outcomes: mental health and behaviors; parent outcomes: education, employment, and income; and parenting outcomes. Promising approaches and future research needs are also discussed.

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behaviors, Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Adolescent parents, Child development Parent support programs, Child health, Education, Employment, Family income, High risk groups, Low income groups, Mental health, Parent support services, Parenting skills, Reproductive health, Research

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about sexual and reproductive health for transgender people.Topics include preventive health screenings, HIV and other sexually transmitted infections, unintended pregnancy, physical and sexual abuse, sexual and reproductive health care-seeking behavior, and access to health information. Recommendations to improve transgender sexual and reproductive health care are included.

Contact: National Center for Transgender Equality, 1325 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Suite 700, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 903-0112 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.TransEquality.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Gender discrimination, Health behavior, Health care delivery, Health care utilization, Policy development, Program improvement, Reproductive health, Sexual health

Annotation: This paper summarizes the lectures and workshop sessions on themes of reproductive science and medicine that took place during the Scientific Vision Workshop on Reproduction hosted by the Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD) in January 2011. The paper lists the crosscutting themes and highlights the scientific opportunities that emerged during the workshop. These include (1) the need to understand the effects of pre/peri-conceptual physical, environmental, and psychological health in females and males in pregnancy establishment and outcome; (2) the improved understanding of the risk factors associated with unintended pregnancy and the behaviors that contribute to the correct and consistent use of contraceptive methods; (3) the developmental impacts on later-in-life reproductive and overall health; (4) the need for fundamental discovery research, prognostics, diagnostics, therapeutics and companion diagnostics and treatments for improvement in reproductive health; (5) the importance of considering Quality of Life (QOL), including reproductive and sexual function, in all research and clinical care; and (6) the importance of considering reproductive health as a window to overall health. The paper also describes how scientific opportunities in reproductive health with help advance the mission of NICHD and affect public global health.

Contact: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, P.O. Box 3006, Rockville, MD 20847, Telephone: (800) 370-2943 Secondary Telephone: (888) 320-6942 Fax: (866) 760-5947 Web Site: https://www.nichd.nih.gov/Pages/index.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child development, Collaboration, Federal initiatives, Meetings, Planning, Public health, Reproductive behavior, Reproductive health

Annotation: This paper examines cost-recovery and cost-reduction strategies and provides recommendations to increase the availability of reproductive health services (sexuality education, behavioral risk assessment, counseling, pregnancy testing, contraception or referral for contraception, and the diagnosis and treatment of sexually transmitted infection) in Colorado school-based health centers.

Contact: Colorado Association for School-Based Health Care, 1801 Wiliams Street, Suite 400, Denver, CO 80218, Telephone: (303) 399-6380 Fax: (303) 350-4296 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.casbhc.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent health, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Colorado, Contraception, Costs, Counseling, Diagnosis, Pregnancy tests, Referrals, Reproductive health, Risk factors, School health services, Sexuality education, Sexually transmitted diseases, State programs, Treatment

Annotation: This bibliography provides a compilation of articles devoted to describing the impact of health care provided in a school setting. Topics include student health and academic performance, active management of asthma and obesity, providing behavioral and reproductive services, and dental care and vaccinations in school settings. Additional topics include finance and student health and economic benefits.

Contact: Colorado Association for School-Based Health Care, 1801 Wiliams Street, Suite 400, Denver, CO 80218, Telephone: (303) 399-6380 Fax: (303) 350-4296 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.casbhc.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Asthma, Obesity, Behavior, Bibliographies, Dental care, Immunizations, Oral health, Reproductive health, School age children, School based clinics, School health services, Vaccines, Weight management

Annotation: This report provides policy, research, and practice recommendations related to paternal involvement in pregnancy outcomes, with the goal of offering best and promising practices to address policy barriers and increase the involvement of men and expectant fathers in family planning, preconception health and care, reproductive health, maternal and child health research, and clinical practice.

Contact: Joint Center for Political and Economic Studies, 805 15th Street, 2nd Floor, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 789-3500 Fax: (202) 789-6390 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.jointcenter.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Families, Family planning, Fathers, Paternal behavior, Preconception care, Pregnancy, Public policy, Reproductive health, Research

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about contraceptive use in the United States. Topics include (1) who needs contraceptives, (2) who uses contraceptives, (3) which methods do women use, (4) adolescent contraceptive use, (5) trends in contraceptive use, and (6) who pays for contraception.

Contact: Guttmacher Institute, 125 Maiden Lane, New York, NY 10038, Telephone: (212) 248-1111 Secondary Telephone: (800) 355-0244 Fax: (212) 248-1951; Washington, D.C. Office (202) 223-5756 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.guttmacher.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent sexuality, Contraceptive use, Costs, Reproductive heath, Trends, Women', s health

Annotation: This report presents information from a study on pregnancies, births, sexual history and behavior, contraceptive use, non-voluntary sex, and unintended pregnancy among urban American Indian/Alaska Native (AI/AN) women nationwide.

Contact: Urban Indian Health Institute, Seattle Indian Health Board, P.O. Box 3364, Seattle, WA 98114, Telephone: (206) 812-3030 Fax: (206) 812-3044 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.uihi.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Alaska natives, American Indians, Childbirth, Pregnancy, Reproductive health, Research, Sexual abuse, Sexual behavior, Sexual intercourse, Unwanted pregnancy, Urban population, Women, Women', s health

Annotation: This report discusses the impact of the economic downturn on women's fertility-related needs, behavior, and attitudes and also on their ability to obtain family planning services. It examines (1) how women feel the current economy has affected them; (2) changes in preferences concerning whether or when to have a child; (3) women's attitudes toward contraception; (4) patterns in contraceptive method choices and sources of payment for contraceptive prescriptions; (5) challenges women face in obtaining family planning services; and (6) connections that women see between the economy, their fertility, and their families' economic well-being. The data for the report comes from a national, online survey of 947 women aged 18-34 conducted by the Guttmacher Institute in 2009.

Contact: Guttmacher Institute, 125 Maiden Lane, New York, NY 10038, Telephone: (212) 248-1111 Secondary Telephone: (800) 355-0244 Fax: (212) 248-1951; Washington, D.C. Office (202) 223-5756 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.guttmacher.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Attitude change, Contraceptive use, Economic factors, Family planning, Reproductive behavior, Women', Women', s health, s health services

Annotation: This fact sheet for health professionals provides information about counseling women regarding nutrition and exercise during the 4- or 6-week postpartum visit. The fact sheet discusses dietary recommendations based on The Dietary Guidelines for Americans, including information about fish consumption, alcohol, and caffeine. Also included are guidelines for postpartum weight loss and excercise, including guidelines for women who had a cesarean delivery.

Contact: Association of Reproductive Health Professionals, 1901 L Street, N.W., Suite 300, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 466-3825 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.arhp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Alcohol consumption behavior, Caffeine, Counseling, Nutrition, Physical activity, Postnatal care, Reproductive health, Weight loss, Women', s health

Annotation: This report outlines five key barriers to contraceptive use among adolescents and young adults and provides action steps that the National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy could take to overcome these barriers. The information in the report is based on a literature review as well as on two advisory group meetings in which reproductive, pediatric, and family health professionals expored (1) barriers faced by health professionals and their clients related to preventing unintended pregnancy and using contraception consistently and (2) potential real-life solutions to overcome these barriers. The report provides background and current statistics and then presents information on the five barriers: (1) insufficient education for health professionals, (2) Insufficient opportunities for continuing education among health professionals, (3) high costs, difficulties with reimbursement, and lack of quality assurance, (4) Insufficient broad-based messages and information for consumers, and (5) confusion caused by shifting gender roles, coupled with limited access to reproductive health services for men. References are included for each section.

Contact: Association of Reproductive Health Professionals, 1901 L Street, N.W., Suite 300, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 466-3825 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.arhp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Barriers, Continuing education, Contraceptive use, Costs, Education, Health care services, Literature reviews, Prevention, Quality assurance, Reimbursement, Reproductive health, Young adults

Annotation: This fact sheet synthesizes findings from LINKS, the Child Trends database of experimental evaluations of social interventions for children and youth. The fact sheet focuses on programs that address adolescent reproductive health. This database includes more than 50 programs whose effects on reproductive health have been experimentally evaluated. The fact sheet identifies themes that recurr in programs that work, programs that don't work, and programs that have received mixed reviews. Much of the fact sheet consists of a table that divides programs by outcome area and then lists programs not proven to work, those found to work, and those with mixed findings. The electronic version of the report contains links to the Child Trends database so readers can see a fuller description and contact information for each program.

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent health, Adolescent sexuality, Evaluation, Programs, Reproductive health

Annotation: This report explores issues from a roundtable meeting of experts from a range of disciplines to discuss abstinence-only programs and their particular impact on women and girls. In addition, broader academic research and original research contributed to the report. Topics include reviews of abstinence-only funding and history; domestic abstinence-only programs in practice; specific harm to women and girls, such as reinforcing stereotypes, increasing health risks, and violating human rights; how exporting the abstinence-only agenda fails women and girls internationally; and issues in looking ahead.

Contact: Legal Momentum, 395 Hudson Street, New York, NY 10014, Telephone: (212) 925-6635 Web Site: http://www.legalmomentum.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Abstinence, Federal initiatives, Female children, Reproductive health, Sexual behavior, Sexual health, Sexuality education, Women', Women', s health, s rights

Annotation: This report describes a comprehensive, interdisciplinary model of physical, behavioral, and reproductive health care that operates in different health care settings – a hospital-based adolescent medicine clinic, a private practice, and a federally qualified community health center. It describes how Mount Sinai Adolescent Health Center (NYC), Wake Teen Medical Services (Raleigh, NC), and Erie Teen Health Center (Chicago) tailor their services to adolescents' unique needs through multidisciplinary staffing, team-based approaches, staff sensitivity, teen-friendly environments, and a focus on positive youth development. This report also describes the financing challenges associated with providing integrated care and the strategies all three programs pursued to obtain additional funding support.

Contact: National Alliance to Advance Adolescent Health, 1615 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-1500 Fax: (202) 429-3557 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.thenationalalliance.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent health, Case studies, Community programs, Health care financing, Health services delivery, Models, Reproductive health

Annotation: This paper examines the impact of recent state-level Medicaid policy changes that expanded eligibility for family planning services to higher-income women and to Medicaid clients whose benefits would expire otherwise. The paper begins by establishing that the income-based policy change led to a substantial increase in the number of program recipients. The paper then goes on to examine vital statistics birth data from 1990 to 2003. State-level analyses are supplemented with an investigation of individual-level data from the 1988, 1995, and 2002 National Surveys on Family Growth to examine the impact of these policies on sexual behavior and contraceptive use. Statistical data are presented in tables and figures at the end of the report. A conclusion and references are included.

Contact: National Poverty Center, University of Michigan, Joan and Sanford Weill Hall, Suite 5100, 735 South State Street, Ann Arbor, MI 48109-3091, Telephone: (734) 615-5312 Fax: (734) 615-8047 Web Site: http://npc.umich.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Contraceptive use, Eligibility, Family planning, Income factors, Medicaid, Public policy, Reproductive health, Sexual behavior, Statistical data, Women', s health

Annotation: This research brief seeks to provide a broad understanding of the sexual, contraceptive, and relationship behaviors of Hispanic adolescents to help program providers and others address this population's needs more effectively. The brief presents data from several sources, combining findings from recently collected data with new analyses of data from the 1990s, to draw a picture of the reproductive behaviors and outcomes of Hispanic adolescents. The brief discusses pregnancies and births and sex, relationships, and contraception. A summary, a discussion, and a conclusion are also included. Statistical information is presented in figures throughout the brief. The brief includes endnotes.

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent health, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Contraceptive use, Hispanic Americans, Relationships, Reproductive health

Annotation: This book, which is geared toward health professionals and educators on nutrition and adolescent pregnancy, focuses on the biological, psychosocial, and cognitive changes that begin during puberty and continue through adolescence, which directly affect nutritional status and nutrient needs. Topics include adolescent growth and development; understanding adolescent eating behaviors; nutrition needs of adolescents; nutrition, screening, and intervention; nutrition education and counseling; promoting healthy eating and physical activity behaviors; the overweight adolescent; the underweight adolescent; iron deficiency anemia; hyperlipidemia; hypertension; eating disorders; body image and adolescents; diabetes mellitus: type 1 and type 2; reproductive health issues; sports nutrition; vegetarian eating patterns; and adolescents with special health care needs. Some of the information is presented in tables. One appendix containing a list of food sources of vitamins and minerals is included.

Contact: University of Minnesota School of Public Health, Division of Epidemiology and Community Health, West Bank Office Building, 1300 S. Second Street, Suite 300, Minneapolis, MN 55454-1015, Telephone: (612) 624-1818 Fax: (612) 624-0315 Web Site: http://sph.umn.edu/epi Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Adolescent nutrition, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents with special health care needs, Body image, Diabetes mellitus, Eating disorders, Food habits, Health promotion, Hyperlipidemia, Hypertension, Intervention, Iron deficiency anemia, Nutrition counseling, Nutrition education, Nutritional requirements, Nutritional status, Obesity, Physical activity, Puberty, Reproductive health, Screening, Sports, Underweight, Vegetarianism

Annotation: This report focuses on the health effects of active smoking and on diseases related to active smoking. The report, which includes an executive summary, covers major groups of the many diseases associated with smoking: cancers, cardiovascular diseases, respiratory diseases, reproductive effects, and other adverse health consequences. The report also discusses the impact of smoking on disease and the benefits of smoking reduction. A vision for the future is included, as well. Each chapter includes a reference list. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables throughout the report. One appendix lists recent studies that represent major additions to the literature. The report concludes with a list of abbreviations, a list of tables and figures, and an index.

Contact: U.S. Office of the Surgeon General, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Ave., SW, Humphrey Bldg., Suite 701H, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (240) 276-8853 Fax: (202) 401-7529 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.surgeongeneral.gov/index.html Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Cancer, Cardiovascular diseases, Health, Health behavior, Reproductive hazards, Reproductive health, Respiratory diseases, Smoking, Smoking cessation