Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Sign up for MCHalert eNewsletter

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 12 (12 total).

Giovannelli J, Lucia KW, Corlette S. 2014. Implementing the Affordable Care Act: Revisiting the ACA's essential health benefits requirements. New York, NY: Commonwealth Fund, 10 pp.

Annotation: This brief examines how states have exercised their options under the initial federal essential health benefits (EHB) framework. Topics include the Affordable Care Act's 10 EHB categories and state approaches to selection of an EHB benchmark plan, regulation of EHB substitution, defining coverage for habilitative services, and coverage for pediatric dental services.

Contact: Commonwealth Fund, One East 75th Street, New York, NY 10021, Telephone: (212) 606-3800 Fax: (212) 606-3500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.commonwealthfund.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Benchmarking, Health care reform, Health insurance, Health services, Oral health, Oral health care, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Pediatric care, Regulations, Rehabilitation, State programs

Schulzinger R. 2000. State Title V rehabilitation services: The federal law and how states implement it. Gainesville, FL: Institute for Child Health Policy, Center for Policy and Partnerships, 20 pp. (Healthy and Ready to Work policy brief)

Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Division of Services for Children with Special Health Needs. 1998. Implementing Title V CSHCN programs: A resource manual for state programs. [Rockville, MD]: Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Division of Services for Children with Special Health Needs, ca. 200 pp.

Annotation: This resource manual for state Title V Children with Special Health Needs (CSHCN) Programs contains materials that support the efforts of program leadership to carry out their legislated responsibilities. These materials include four annotated bibliographies of key documents and resources; a brief legislative history of Title V of the Society Security Act and Maternal and Child Health Services Block Grant Program; a discussion of the MCH Block Grant Performance Measures within the context of both the national agenda for CSHCN and the core CSHCN Program functions; an overview of the Division's current programmatic, product development, and technical assistance activities; and selected resource materials from other related initiatives. The annotated bibliographies are organized under four topical areas: rehabilitation services for Social Security beneficiaries, providing services to CSHCN, development of community systems of services, and family centered care. These bibliographies include citations to policy briefs, briefing books, federal agency documents, project reports, training materials, legislation, journal articles, and books. Each listing provides information about the document, including a brief summary and where to obtain it. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Institute for Child Health Policy, University of Florida, 1329 SW 16th Street, Room 5130 , Gainesville, FL 32608, Telephone: (352) 265-7220 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (352) 265-7221 Contact E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://ichp.ufl.edu Available from the website.

Keywords: Bibliographies, Block grants, Children with special health care needs, Community programs, Family centered care, History, Legislation, MCH services, Manuals, Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Rehabilitation programs, Social Security Act, Special health care services, State CSHCN programs, Title V, Title V programs

Brooks CS, Rice KF. 1997. Families in recovery: Coming full circle. Baltimore, MD: Paul H. Brookes Publishing Company, 333 p.

Annotation: This book discusses the effects of substance abuse on the family of the chemically dependent person and how it affects the family's functioning. It considers the incidence of substance abuse, how addictions affects child development, and why the predisposition to substance abuse can become cyclical. It also examines special topics such as exposure to substances in utero and HIV and the effects of violence and trauma. It then introduces a family-centered treatment model that helps substance abusers recover from their addiction.

Contact: Brookes Publishing, P.O. Box 10624, Baltimore, MD 21285-0624, Telephone: (800) 638-3775 Secondary Telephone: (410) 337-9580 Fax: (410) 337-8539 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.brookespublishing.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 1-55766-264-9.

Keywords: Children, Children of alcoholics, Drug use during pregnancy, Family centered care, Family relations, Recovering addicts, Recovering alcoholics, Rehabilitation, Substance abuse treatment programs, Substance abusing mothers

Camp JM, Finkelstein N. 1995. Fostering effective parenting skills and healthy child development within residential substance abuse treatment settings. Cambridge, MA: Coalition on Addiction, Pregnancy and Parenting, 173 pp.

Annotation: This report presents the findings on the effects of parent training programs in two Massachusetts urban residential treatment centers for substance-abusing pregnant women. The programs included training and multiple services for the women and their infants while they were in treatment and after their discharge. The report describes the women, changes in their parenting skills and self-esteem, their assessment of the program, the infant's development, follow-up data on a sample of the women, factors that predict program retention, and implications of the findings. The program is one of a group focusing on pregnant and postpartum women and infants (PPWI). [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau and the Center for Substance Abuse Prevention]

Contact: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Bureau of Substance Abuse Services, 250 Washington Street, Boston, MA 02108 , Telephone: (800) 327-5050 Secondary Telephone: (617) 536-5872 Web Site: http://www.mass.gov/?pageID=eohhs2terminal&L=5&L0=Home&L1=Government&L2=Departments+and+Divisions&L3=Department+of+Public+Health&L4=Programs+and+Services+K+-+S&sid=Eeohhs2&b=terminalcontent&f=dph_substance_abuse_g_about&csid=Eeohhs2 Available in libraries.

Keywords: Children of alcoholics, Children with special health care needs, Detoxification, Drug affected children, High risk children, Massachusetts, Parent education, Parent support services, Parenting, Rehabilitation, Residential programs, Substance abusing pregnant women

Roberts N, Schoeller K, Shapland C, Goldberg P, Goldberg M. 1993. Living your own life: A handbook for teenagers by young people and adults with chronic illness or disabilities. Minneapolis, MN: PACER Center, 91 pp.

Annotation: This handbook provides adolescents and young adults who have chronic conditions or disabilities information on how they can make the transition to independent living; it shares the personal narratives of those who have special health needs. Topics covered include learning self assurance, dealing with feelings about health and medicine, making plans based upon an honest assessment of the special health condition, using communication skills, advocating for civil rights, responding to the need for love and affection, and pursuing opportunities in education and employment. Appendices list federal, state, and local resources that can provide assistance to adolescents, young adults, and their families. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Advocacy, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Civil rights, Education, Emotional development, Employment, Federal programs, Life skills, Local programs, Personal narratives, Psychosexual development, Resource materials, Self esteem, Special health care needs, State programs, Transition to independent living, Vocational rehabilitation, Young adults

Reiss JG, Siderits PJ, eds. 1991. Supplemental security income handbook. Gainesville, FL: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, National Center for Policy Coordination in Maternal and Child Health, ca. 500 pp.

Annotation: This handbook assists staff of the Title V Programs for Children with Special Health Care Needs in implementing the recent changes to the Supplemental Security Income Program for children. The handbook provides information on the history of the SSI Program, current statutory and regulatory roles, structure and processes, administration of State Title V services, and program implementation strategies. Appendices provide disability information, examples of reports, documents and agreements, and case management information. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available for loan. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHF085.

Keywords: Case management, Children with special health care needs, Disability benefits, Federal programs, Program development, Rehabilitation, Supplemental Security Income, Title V programs

President's Committee on Mental Retardation. 1974. MR 73: The goal is freedom. Washington, DC: President's Committee on Mental Retardation, 41 pp.

Annotation: The first section of this report is based on individual children and adults diagnosed as mentally retarded who have grown and developed as a result of a goal-oriented, personalized concept of service. The report is also concerned with other kinds of programs that can aid in avoiding dependency and promoting optimum development with an emphasis on prevention. The second section contains material related to research on prevention and early intervention. It is based on presentations given at a four-state forum held in Kansas City, Missouri in the Fall of 1973. Areas covered include prenatal research into the causes of handicapping conditions, methods of transporting high-risk infants, early childhood programs for children with developmental disabilities, and treatment to prevent long-term institutionalization.

Keywords: Children with developmental disabilities, Early intervention services, High risk infants, Institutionalization, Mental retardation, Prenatal care, Prevention programs, Rehabilitation, Reports, Transportation of patients, United States

Wallace H. 1973. Social and economic aspects of handicapping conditions of fetal and perinatal origin. Berkeley, CA: University of California at Berkeley, Maternal and Child Health Program, 46 pp.

Annotation: This statistical summary includes commentary on the social and psychological aspects of children with disabilities of fetal and perinatal origin and their families, and on the costs of care for these children. Statistical data on various aspects of costs and expenditures for children and adults with disabilities are provided. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Congenital abnormalities, Data analysis, Developmental disabilities, Disabilities, Federal programs, Infants with special health care needs, Rehabilitation, Special health care needs, Statistics

Wallace H, Goldstein H, Oglesby AC. 1972. The health and medical care of children under Title 19 (Medicaid). Berkeley, CA: University of California at Berkeley, Maternal and Child Health Program, 23 pp. (Hiscock Collection; related)

Annotation: This paper, presented at the 1972 annual meeting of the American Public Health Association, examines the extent to which federal regulations pertaining to early and periodic screening, diagnosis, and treatment of individuals under 21 years of age provided for by a state plan for medical assistance under Title 19 have been implemented; designates areas of care where considerable progress has been made; and identifies those areas of care requiring additional emphasis. The data for this study was provided by a survey form sent to state commissioners of welfare, state directors of maternal and child health, and Crippled Children's Programs. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Child health services, Children with developmental disabilities, Children with special health care needs, Disabilities, EPSDT, Federal government, Government financing, Immunization, Legislation, Medicaid, National surveys, Program management, Rehabilitation, Standards, State MCH programs

Thursz D. 1969. Consumer involvement in rehabilitation. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health, Education, and Welfare, Social and Rehabilitation Service; for sale by U.S. Government Printing Office, 50 pp.

Annotation: This is one of a series of papers prepared for the use of delegates to the National Citizens Conference on the Disabled and Disadvantaged held June 24-27, 1969. The paper discusses the bases for citizen participation in rehabilitation, citizen participation models, organizing consumer action groups for community action, how to organize, engaging the system, and statutory provisions for consumer participation.

Keywords: Conferences, Disabilities, Rehabilitation, Welfare programs

American Medical Association. 1967. Proceedings of Rehabilitation Conference. Chicago, IL: American Medical Association, 95 pp.

   

The MCH Digital Library is one of six special collections at Geogetown University, the nation's oldest Jesuit institution of higher education. The library is supported through foundation, univerity, state, and federal funding. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by the U.S. Government. Note: web pages whose development was supported by federal government grants are being reviewed to comply with applicable Executive Orders.