Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This fact sheet presents information about the use of silver diamine fluoride (SDF) for managing carious lesions. Topics include what SDF is, what it does, and indications for its use; strength of evidence for the use of SDF; whether SDF is approved by the Food and Drug Administration; and contraindications for SDF use. Also discussed are other consideration for the use of SDF, recommended protocols, whether SDF can be used with fluoride varnish, other professionally applied fluorides, and dental sealants; the number of states in which Medicaid reimburses for SDF use, and who can apply SDF.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Dental caries, Disease management, Older adults, Oral health, Protocols, Regulations, Special health care needs, Therapeutics

Annotation: This report provides a guide to telehealth-related policies, laws, and regulations for all states and the District of Columbia. The report contains information about Medicaid policy trends, including common telehealth Medicaid policy expansions. Also discussed are professional practice standards, private payer reimbursement, online prescribing, and consent laws and requirements. Information about licensure requirements by state for health professionals providing telehealth is incuded.

Contact: Center for Connected Health Policy, 2520 Venture Oaks Way, Suite 180, Sacramento, CA 95833, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.cchpca.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Legislation, Managed care, Medicaid, Oral health, Public policy, Regulations, Telemedicine

Annotation: This report provides guidance for developing and implementing a school-based or school-linked mobile or portable oral health program. It discusses challenges and strategies for overcoming these challenges. Selected challenges discussed include workforce considerations; state dental practice acts, legislation, and other regulations limiting the provision of oral health care; community opposition; infrastructure issues; and infection-control issues. Strategies include program planning, developing policies and procedures, community engagement and education, care coordination, developing business plans and budgets, and implementing quality measures and evaluation.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Budgets, Health programs, Infection control, Legislation, Oral health, Prevention programs, Program planning, Quality assurance, Regulations, School health, Service coordination

Annotation: This report highlights the high rate of e-cigarette use among gay, lesbian, and bisexual (LGB) youth; explains how the tobacco industry targets sexual and gender minorities; and calls for action to be taken to help eliminate disparities and reduce the rate of vaping among this group of young people. Recommendations include evaluating tobacco control policies, improving data collection, conducting additional research, addressing mental health concerns, and ensuring access to cessation services for the LGBT community.

Contact: Truth Initiative, 900 G Street, N.W., Fourth Floor, Washington, DC 20001, Web Site: http://truthinitiative.org

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Health disparities, Mental health, Nicotine, Prevention, Regulations, Smoking cessation, Tobacco use, Trends, Youth

Annotation: These best practices are a compilation of regulations, guidance, and practice tips related to infection control in dental clinics during the COVID-19 pandemic. Part I discusses preparing the dental clinic before patient appointments. Part 2 discusses delivering safe patient care. Selected topics included policies and procedures, dental team preparation and screening, dental operatory procedures for patient care, personal protective equipment, and infection control. A checklist for preparing the dental clinic for patients and staff is included.

Contact: Organization for Safety, Asepsis, and Prevention, One Glenlake Parkway, NE, Suite 1200, Atlanta, GA 30328, Telephone: (410) 571-0003 Secondary Telephone: (800) 298-6727 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.osap.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: COVID-19, Disease transmission, Guidelines, Infection control, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Regulations, Virus diseases

Annotation: This chart provides a list of states in which dental hygienists may provide services in medical settings such as hospitals and medical offices, as well as in public health clinics. For each state, a link to the relevant statute or rule is provided, and a description of the provision is presented.

Contact: American Dental Hygienists' Association, 444 North Michigan Avenue, Suite 3400, Chicago, IL 60611, Telephone: (312) 440-8900 Fax: (312) 440-1806 Web Site: https://www.adha.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental hygienists, Health services, Oral health, Regulations, State legislation

Annotation: This manual is intended for health professionals interested in integrating a dental hygienist into a medical care team. It discusses billing, contracting, rules and regulations, and scope of dental hygiene practice specific to North Dakota. It also provides information related to workflow, patient data, and education relevant to health professionals outside North Dakota. The manual discusses scheduling a visit, the oral health screening process, integrating a dental hygienist into the workflow, electronic medical and dental records, care coordination, charging and billing services, rules and regulations, and medical resident and clinical staff evaluation.

Contact: North Dakota Department of Health and Human Services, Oral Health Program, 600 East Boulevard Avenue, Department 310, Bismarck, ND 58505-0250, Telephone: (800) 472-2286 Secondary Telephone: (701) 328-2356 Fax: (701) 328-1412 Web Site: https://www.hhs.nd.gov/health/oral-health-program Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: , Care coordination, Health education, North Dakota, Oral health, Pediatricians, Primary care, Regulations, Service integration, State programs

Annotation: This chart presents a comparison of state teledentistry and telehealth policies to provide a reference to whether a state’s laws and regulations address these topics. The report is intended as a companion to compilations of teledentistry state status and regulations.

Contact: American Dental Education Association, 655 K Steet, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 289-7201 Fax: (202) 289-7204 Web Site: http://www.adea.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Public policy, Regulations, State legislation, Teledentistry, Telehealth

Annotation: This report describes how young people often turn to nicotine products to alleviate stress, anxiety, and depression, and yet these products may actually make them feel worse. It highlights research studies connecting nicotine use with increased anxiety and depression are describes action steps that mental health professionals, policy makers, and regulators can take to help alleviate the problem.

Contact: Truth Initiative, 900 G Street, N.W., Fourth Floor, Washington, DC 20001, Web Site: http://truthinitiative.org

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Depression, Mental health, Nicotine, Policy development, Prevention, Regulations, Substance abuse, Youth

Annotation: This resource describes how electronic cigarettes (e-cigarettes) work, how e-cigarettes compare to conventional cigarettes, the use of e-cigarettes by youth, and the lack of evidence on the effectiveness of e-cigarettes as smoking-cessation aids.

Contact: National Institute on Drug Abuse, 6001 Executive Boulevard, Room 5213, MSC 9561, Bethesda, MD 20892-9561, Telephone: (301) 443-1124 Secondary Telephone: Fax: Web Site: http://www.nida.nih.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Drug administration routes, Nicotine, Regulations, Research, Smoking, Young adults

Annotation: This resource describes types, ingredients, and components of electronic nicotine delivery systems (ENDS) including vaporizers, vape pens, hookah pens, electronic cigarettes (e-cigarettes), and e-pipes. Additional topics include what ENDS look like; statistics about ENDS use; FDA regulation of ENDS; manufacturing ENDS and e-liquids; nicotine warning statement; retail sales of ENDS, e-liquids, or their components or parts made or derived from tobacco; vape shops that mix e-liquids or modify products; importing ENDS and e-liquids; and reporting adverse experiences and product violations.

Contact: U.S. Food and Drug Administration, Office of Consumer Affairs, , 5600 Fishers Lane , Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (888) 463-6332 Fax: (301) 443-9767 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.fda.gov/consumer/default.htm Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adverse effects, Consumer protection, Drug administration routes, Federal agencies, Nicotine, Public health, Regulations, Smoking

Annotation: This resource provides information on states with laws on e-cigarettes about these topics: definitions, taxation, product packaging, youth access, and licensing for retail sales. An interactive state map is included.

Contact: Tobacco Control Legal Consortium, 875 Summit Avenue, St. Paul, MN 55105-3076, Telephone: (651) 290-7506 Web Site: http://www.publichealthlawcenter.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Air pollution, Licensing, Marketing, Regulations, Smoking, State legislation, Taxes, Tobacco

Annotation: This report provides information to increase awareness about the role law and policy play in improving oral health and focuses on state, tribal, and local settings. Topics include financing oral health care, the government’s role in the oral health workforce, challenges in accessing available oral health care, recommendations for additional research, and emerging trends and issues.

Contact: U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL100, Rockville, MD 20852, Fax: (240) 453-8280 E-mail: https://odphp.health.gov/about-odphp/contact-us#socialmedia-email Web Site: https://odphp.health.gov/ Available from the website.

• PDF
• Background Information On Report

Keywords: Government role, Laws, Local government, Oral health, Public policy, Regulations, State legislation

Annotation: This survey provides a summary of the statutes and regulations related to water fluoridation in each U.S. state and select jurisdictions. For each state, the names of the statute and regulation (where available) are included.

Contact: Network for Public Health Law, 875 Summit Avenue, St. Paul, MN 55105, Telephone: (651) 695-7749 Fax: (651) 695-7749 Web Site: https://www.networkforphl.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Fluoride, Oral health, Regulation, State legislation

Annotation: This checklist is designed to help multiple audiences assess whether a child care program complies with national health and safety standards. Topics include staffing; program activities and healthy development; health promotion and protection; nutrition and food service; safe sleep; facilities supplies, equipment, and environmental health; play areas, playgrounds, and transportation; infectious disease; policies; and licensing and community action. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Resource Center for Health and Safety in Child Care and Early Education, University of Colorado Denver, 13120 East 19th Avenue, Mail Stop F541, P.O. Box 6511, Aurora, CO 80045, Telephone: (800) 598-5437 (598-KIDS) Fax: (303) 724-0960 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nrckids.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child care facilities, Child health, Guideline adherence, Health policy, Regulations, Safety, Standards

Annotation: This resource provides information about actions taken to regulate the sale and use of electronic vaporizing products. Contents include a summary of policies from states and territories that prohibit sales of electronic cigarettes or vaping/alternative tobacco products to minors. Information from states that have passed legislation but are waiting for governor's action is also provided. The content is updated as new laws are adopted.

Contact: National Conference of State Legislatures, 7700 East First Place, Denver, CO 80230, Telephone: (303) 364-7700 Fax: (303) 364-7800 Web Site: http://www.ncsl.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer protection, Nicotine, Public policy, Regulation, Smoking, State initiatives

Annotation: This tip sheet outline seven key non-reimbursement policy considerations for organizations implementing telehealth programs. The areas covered include: licensing requirements and state compacts for healthcare providers; licensing board guidelines; credentialing and privileging procedures, including CMS's (The Center for Medicare and Medicaid Services) proxy credentialing option; etc. For each topic, the document provides detailed guidance on regulatory compliance, emphasizing that policies vary by state and that organizations must navigate both federal and state requirements. Particular attention is given to the complexities of cross-state practice, controlled substance prescribing under the Ryan Haight Act, and the varying roles FQHCs (Federally Qualified Health Clinics) and RHCs (Rural Health Clinics) can play in telehealth delivery depending on Medicare and state Medicaid policies.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Telemedicine, Title V programs, Regulations, Policies

Annotation: This advisory warns of the e-cigarette epidemic among youth. The document explains the different types of e-cigarettes and offers information for parents, teachers, health professionals, and states, communities, tribes, and territories. There are links to relevant studies and publications.

Contact: U.S. Office of the Surgeon General, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Ave., SW, Humphrey Bldg., Suite 701H, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (240) 276-8853 Fax: (202) 401-7529 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.surgeongeneral.gov/index.html

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Adverse effects, Disease prevention, Drug administration routes, Federal agencies, Nicotine, Prevention, Regulations, Risk factors, Smoking, Substance abuse, Substance use behaviors, Tobacco, Young adults

Annotation: This presentation by Mario Guttierez, Executive Director of the Center for Connected Health Policy (CCHP), focuses on telehealth reimbursement and its evolving landscape, particularly in relation to Medicare and state policies. The discussion highlights the role of telehealth in enhancing healthcare delivery, public health, and health education using digital telecommunication technologies, with the aim of improving health outcomes and equitable access to quality, affordable care.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Presentation Slides

Keywords: Telemedicine, Reimbursement, Health policy, Public policy, Regulations

Annotation: This report discusses the role of Medicaid managed care in serving children and youth with special health care needs (CYSHCN), highlighting the fact that over 40 states now enroll at least some CYSHCN in managed care plans as they seek to control costs and improve care quality. The document examines how four states (Texas, Virginia, Michigan, and Maryland) use specific contract language and management strategies to ensure managed care organizations (MCOs) effectively serve CYSHCN populations. Also discussed are key provisions around identification/assessment, access to care, medical homes, care coordination, and quality assurance, with detailed examples from each state's contracts. The document emphasizes that both strong contract language and active contract management are essential for ensuring MCOs meet the unique needs of CYSHCN, who comprise about 15% of U.S. children and require more frequent provider access, increased hospitalizations, and multiple medications compared to typical children.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Title V programs, CHSCN programs, Medical home, Medicaid, Managed care, Children', s Health, Regulations, Texas, Maryland, Virginia, Michigan