Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 12 (12 total).

Schachter A, Sabharwal R, Rein S. 2014. Spotlight on kids: Beacon community efforts to improve pediatric prevention, care, and outcomes. Washington, DC: U.S. Office of the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology, 14 pp. (Issue brief)

Annotation: This issue brief provides examples of how health information technology (IT)-enabled strategies, partnerships, and tools have been used to improve health care quality and outcomes for children, adolescents, families, and communities. The brief describes community-based strategies aimed at improving pediatric immunization rates, asthma management, public health surveillance, and health promotion and education. The efforts make use of tools and functions such as health information exchange, school portals for shared care plans, immunization and asthma registries, and mobile health programs. The brief concludes with a discussion of policy implications.

Keywords: Adolescents, Asthma, Children, Communities, Families, Health promotion, Health status, Immunization, Mobile health units, Policy development, Population surveillance, Program improvement, Registries, Schools, Technology

University of Colorado Boulder, Center for the Study and Prevention of Violence. 2012–. Blueprints for healthy youth development. Boulder, CO: University of Colorado Boulder, Center for the Study and Prevention of Violence, multiple items.

Annotation: This registry provides information about evidence-based positive youth development programs designed to promote the health and well-being of children and adolescents. Contents include surveys for matching children's strengths and needs to specific programs based on outcome areas, risk and protective factors, and developmental stage; the program review criteria fact sheet, checklist, and standard; a searchable database that provides each program's name, target population, financing strategies, rating (promising or model program), benefits and costs, impact, and summary; instructions for nominating a program; related publications; and other resources.

Contact: University of Colorado Boulder, Center for the Study and Prevention of Violence, 483 UCB, Boulder, CO 80309-4083, Telephone: (303) 492-1032 Fax: (303) 492-2151 E-mail: blueprints@colorado.edu Web Site: https://cspv.colorado.edu/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescents, Behavior problems, Certification, Child development, Children, Databases, Developmental stages, Health promotion, Information sources, Mental health, Model programs, Needs assessment, Prevention programs, Program planning, Protective factors, Registries, Research, Resources for professionals, Risk factors, Surveys, Violence prevention

National Center for HIV/AIDS, Viral Hepatits, STD, and TB Prevention, Division of Adolescent and School Health. 2012-. Registries of programs effective in reducing youth risk behaviors. Atlanta, GA: National Center for HIV/AIDS, Viral Hepatits, STD, and TB Prevention, Division of Adolescent and School Health,

Annotation: This resource identifies registries of child- and adolescent-related programs recommended by federal agencies on the basis of expert opinion or a review of design and research evidence. The programs focus on different health topics, risk behaviors, and settings. Some, but not all, of the programs have shown evidence in reducing youth risk behaviors.

Contact: National Center for HIV/AIDS, Viral Hepatits, STD, and TB Prevention, Division of Adolescent and School Health, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 4770 Buford Highway, N.E., Mailstop K-29, Atlanta, GA 30341-3724, Telephone: 800-232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: cdcinfo@cdc.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/healthyyouth Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Cost effectiveness, Evidence based health care, Health behavior, Intervention, Model programs, Prevention programs, Registries, School age children, Treatment effectiveness evaluation

U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality. 2010–. United States Health Information Knowledgebase. Rockville, MD: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, multiple items.

Annotation: This registry and repository contains health-care-related metadata, specifications, and standards. Topics include health information technology standards, common formats, meaningful use, all-payer claims, and children's electronic health record format. Draft quality measures that are available to the public for feedback are also included.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Child health, Claims, Data, Databases, Diffusion of innovation, Federal initiatives, Integrated information sources, Measures, Medical records, Public private partnerships, Quality assurance, Registries, Resources for professionals, Standards, Technology transfer, Third party payers

Pew Environmental Health Commission. [1999]. Healthy from the start: Why America needs a better system to track and understand birth defects and the environment. Baltimore, MD: Pew Environmental Health Commission, 86 pp.

Annotation: This report examines the need for a comprehensive, modern tracking system to identify environmental and other preventable factors that contribute to birth defects and other disabilities and preventable diseases. The first section of the report discusses the connection between environmental exposures and birth defects, preterm and low birthweight, cerebral palsy, mental retardation and autism. The second section analyzes existing information from the National Center for Health Statistics and state birth defects registries to understand the rates and time trends of infant mortality, low birthweight, preterm birth, and birth defects and the geographic variability of birth defects in the United States. The third section of the report examines the adequacy, comprehensiveness, and quality of state birth defects surveillance systems.

Keywords: Child health, Congenital abnormalities, Data analysis, Environmental exposure, Environmental health, Environmental pollution, Population surveillance, Public health, Registries, Risk assessment

All Kids Count. 1999-. Snap shots. Decatur, GA: All Kids Count, monthly.

Annotation: This monthly newsletter highlights the progress, best practices, and accomplishments of immunization registries across the country. It is available in print and via electronic mail.

Contact: All Kids Count, 750 Commerce Drive, Suite 400***DEFUNCT***, Decatur, GA 30030, Telephone: (800) 874-4338 Fax: (800) 765-7520 E-mail: info@allkidscount.org Contact E-mail: snapshots@allkidscount.org Available at no charge.

Keywords: Immunization, Newsletters, Registries

National Vaccine Advisory Committee. 1999. Development of community- and state-based immunization registries. Atlanta, GA: National Immunization Program, ca. 100 pp., exec. summ.(7 pp.).

U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration. 1997–. National Registry of Evidence-based Programs and Practices (NREPP). Rockville, MD: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration,

Annotation: This evidence-based repository and review system is designed to provide the public with reliable information about mental health and substance abuse interventions. All interventions in the registry have met minimum requirements for review and the programs' effects on individual outcomes have been independently rated by certified reviewers. Users can search for interventions by selecting specific criteria including keyword, program type, age, outcome category, race/ethnicity, special populations, gender, geographic location, setting, implementation/dissemination, and/or outcome rating. Links related to planning, evaluating, implementing, and sustaining evidence-based programs and other evidence-based repositories are included.

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, One Choke Cherry Road, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.samhsa.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Intervention, Mental health, Model programs, Programs, Registries, Resource materials, Substance abuse prevention

Damiano PC, Kanellis MJ, Willard JC, Momany ET. 1996. A report on the Iowa Title XIX Dental Program. Iowa City, IA: University of Iowa, Public Policy Center and College of Dentistry, 74 pp. (Hiscock Collection; related)

Annotation: This report describes a project to (1) assist the Iowa Department of Human Services in providing access to dental care for Title XIX recipients, (2) evaluate aspects of the Title XIX dental program in Iowa, and (3) develop a series of policy options for improving the program. The report includes a detailed discussion of the Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic and Treatment (EPSDT) Dental Registry of Title XIX participating dentists, and information on educating Iowa dentists and physicians about the oral health component of the EPSDT Care for Kids program; the utilization of dental services by Title XIX–enrolled children ages 5 years and under; attitudes about and participation of Iowa dentists in the Title XIX program and factors affecting their participation; fees reimbursed by the Title XIX program compared to fees of Iowa private practice dentists; and policy options for improving the Title XIX dental program.

Contact: University of Iowa, 2222 Old Hwy 218 S #178 MBSB, Iowa City, IA 52242-1602, Telephone: (319) 335-3500 Web Site: http://www.uiowa.edu Available from the website.

Keywords: Dental care, Dental care, Dental fees, EPSDT, Iowa, Oral health, Policy development, Registries, Reports, Social Security Act, Title XIX

Indiana State Board of Health, Bureau of Policy Development. 1989. Study design: Traumatic injury registry pilot study—A study of severely injured patients needing emergency department treatment. (Draft). Indianapolis, IN: Indiana State Board of Health, 32 pp.

Annotation: In 1989 the Indiana General Assembly passed legislation that requires the Indiana State Board of Health to establish a traumatic injury registry on a pilot basis. This draft study design describes the establishment of the registry. The report provides the background information regarding the Indiana legislation, provides a rationale for the required data elements in the regulation, and details the conditions of participation in the two-year pilot study.

Keywords: Data collection, Injuries, Injury prevention, Pilot projects, Registries

Telleen S, ed. 1987. Adverse pregnancy outcomes in Illinois: A report and recommendations for monitoring. Chicago, IL: University of Illinois at Chicago, 2 v.

Annotation: This report examines adverse pregnancy outcomes which can be used as potential measures of environmental hazards. In part one, factors known to influence these outcomes are summarized. Examples of analyses controlling for these correlates illustrate how epidemiologic studies can identify areas with high rates of adverse pregnancy outcomes not otherwise explained and which might therefore be related to an environmental exposure. Existing Illinois and national databases are described and compared, producing analyses of trends and the current status of the pregnancy outcomes of interest in Illinois. Recommendations for adverse pregnancy outcome data collection for the purposes of the registry are the final product of this volume. Part two gives data on adjusted rates of pregnancy outcome by county and Chicago community area. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Data collection, Environmental influences, Epidemiology, Illinois, Pregnancy outcome, Registries, Statistics

National Committee for Adoption. 1982. An act to establish a mutual consent voluntary adoption registry and to provide for the transmission of nonidentifying information on the health history and the genetic and social history of adoptees. Washington, DC: National Committee for Adoption, 15 pp.

   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.