Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This website explains how Perinatal Quality Collaboratives (PQCs) work to improve the quality of healthcare for mothers and babies. PCQs are networks of perinatal health care providers that include hospitals, clinicians, and public health professionals working to improve pregnancy outcomes through quality improvement initiatives and use of best available evidence-based strategies. The site includes a video introduction to PQCs; a webinar series; a guide to help states developed PQCs, success stories, journal articles, and links to additional resources.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov

• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Infant health, Maternal health, Model programs, Perinatal care, Perinatal services, Quality assurance, Regional programs, State initiatives

Annotation: The Provider and Staff Survey (<https://www.mchoralhealth.org/PDFs/nohi-romonoh-patient-engagement-provider-and-staff-survey.pdf>) and the Tiny Teeth Baseline and Followup Surveys (<https://www.mchoralhealth.org/PDFs/nohi-romonoh-patient-engagement-tiny-teeth-baseline-and-follow-up-surveys.pdf >) are intended for use with medical providers and staff at community health centers (CHCs) participating in the Rocky Mountain Network of Oral Health Integration, part of the Networks for Oral Health Integration (NOHI) Within the Maternal and Child Health Safety Net, as well as for parents or caregivers of CHC participants. The survey for providers and staff is to be administered after they have participated in the Brush, Book, Bed patient-engagement activity, to assess their perspective on the activity. The Tiny Teeth baseline and follow-up surveys are to be completed by parents or caregivers as part of the activity. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• PDF

Keywords: Regional programs, Community health centers, Infant health, Learning activities, Oral health, Surveys, Young children

Annotation: This flyer provides information for medical providers at community health centers (CHCs) participating in the Rocky Mountain Network of Oral Health Integration project, part of the federally funded Networks for Oral Health Integration (NOHI) Within the Maternal and Child Health Safety Net program. The flyer is intended for use with the parents or other caregivers of CHC patients to help ensure that parents or other caregivers meet goals related to brushing their child’s teeth with fluoridated toothpaste, giving their child fluoridated water to drink and healthy snacks to eat, and getting oral health care for their child. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Community health centers, Consumer education materials, Dental hygiene, Fluoride, Health care utilization, Nutrition, Oral health, Regional programs, Snacks, Water intake, Young children

Annotation: The Coaching Change Package (<https://www.mchoralhealth.org/PDFs/nohi-romonoh-coaching-tools-change-package.pdf>) is for guiding coaching activities with participating CHCs. The Community Health Center Site Monthly Field Note (<https://www.mchoralhealth.org/PDFs/nohi-romonoh-coaching-tools-chc-field-note.pdf>) is a template to inform project leads about coaching work during the month. The Learning Network Field Note (<https://www.mchoralhealth.org/PDFs/nohi-romonoh-coaching-tools-learning-network-field-note.pdf >) is a template for recording coaching notes from learning network calls with CHCs in the state. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Change Package
• Site Field Note Template

Keywords: Community health centers, Infant heath, Ora health, Pregnant women, Regional programs, Service integration, Young children

Annotation: This report provides information about the Networks for Oral Health Integration (NOHI) Within the Maternal and Child Health Safety Net projects. The goal of the initiative is to improve access to and utilization of comprehensive, high-quality oral health care in community health centers for pregnant women, infants and children from birth to age 40 months, and children ages 6–11 at high risk for oral disease. The report includes a profile of each of the three projects: Midwest Network for Oral Health Integration; Rocky Mountain Network; and Transforming Oral Health for Families. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Health care utilization, High risk groups, Oral health, Pregnant women, Regional programs, Service integration

Annotation: This set of five modules is intended for use by medical providers and staff at community health centers participating in the Rocky Mountain Network of Oral Health Integration project, part of the federally funded Networks for Oral Health Integration (NOHI) Within the Maternal and Child Health Safety Net program. The modules include information about oral health integration, clinical skills, oral health communication and education, interprofessional collaboration, and perinatal oral health. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus, CUeLearning, Aurora, CO 80045, Web Site: https://cuelearning.org/ Available from the website.

• Instructions For Accessing 5 Learning Modules.

Keywords: Collaboration, Communication skills, Community health centers, Health education, Infant health, Oral health, Perinatal health, Pregnant women, Regional programs, Service integration, Young children

Annotation: The customizabl Key Informant Interview Guide (<https://www.mchoralhealth.org/PDFs/nohi-romonoh-chc-assessment-key-informant-interview-guide.pdf>) and Community Health Center Baselline Survey (<https://www.mchoralhealth.org/PDFs/nohi-romonoh-chc-assessment-baseline-survey.pdf >) are intended for use with community health centers (CHCs) participating in the Rocky Mountain Network of Oral Health Integration project, part of the Networks for Oral Health Integration (NOHI) Within the Maternal and Child Health Safety Net. The interview guide can be used in interviews with participating CHCs to learn about factors that might impact the successful implementation of the project. The survey includes questions about dental referrals, fluorides, oral health care for young children and pregnant women, anticipatory guidance, and participant characteristics. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• PDF

Keywords: Anticipatory guidance, Community health centers, Fluoride, Infant health, Interviews, Oral health, Pregnant women, Referrals, Regional programs, Service integration, Surveys, Young children

Annotation: This oral health needs and capacity assessment is intended for community health centers (CHCs) participating in the Rocky Mountain Network of Oral Health Integration (RoMoNOH) project, part of the federally funded Networks for Oral Health Integration (NOHI) Within the Maternal and Child Health Safety Net program. It provides RoMoNOH with information about the CHC site, providers, and population served. Both the needs assessment and the capacity assessment sections include questions for CHC staff to answer to help RoMoNOH determine which model of oral health care integration best meets each CHC’s needs and its capacity to participate in the project. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Community health centers, Infant health, Oral health, Pregnant women, Regional programs, Service integration, Young children

Annotation: This brief identifies evidence-informed strategies that state Title V programs may consider implementing to increase the percentage of very low birth weight (<1500 gm) infants born in hospitals with a level III or higher neonatal intensive care unit. Contents include information about the methods and results of the evidence review, key findings, and implications. The full review is also available. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center, 615 North Wolfe Street, Room E4143, Baltimore, MD 21205, Telephone: (410) 502-5450 Fax: (410) 502-5831 Web Site: http://www.jhsph.edu/wchpc Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Block grants, Childbirth, Evidence-based practice, High risk pregnancy, Hospitals, Infant mortality, Intervention, Literature reviews, Low birthweight, Measures, Model programs, Neonatal intensive care units, Newborn infants, Perinatal care, Policy development, Program planning, Protective factors, Regional medical centers, Regional planning, Resources for professionals, State MCH programs, Systems development, Title V programs

Annotation: These resources are designed to help individuals and families, states, and communities establish, maintain, or enhance a school environmental health program. Topics include how school environments can impact child performance and health, opting for environmentally-friendly transportation, assessing and improving air and water quality, reducing chemical exposures, and improving the performance of school buildings. Contents include information on student curricula; national programs; and regional, tribal, state, and local resources for engaging communities in activities to improve children's health and safety. Additional contents include law, regulation, and policy resources; guidelines; and a software tool for conducting assessments, and tracking and managing health issues.

Contact: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Office of Children's Health Protection, Room 2512 Ariel Rios North, 1200 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W., Mail Code 1107-T, Washington, DC 20004, Telephone: (202) 564-2188 Fax: (202) 564-2733 Web Site: http://www2.epa.gov/children Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Community participation, Consumer education materials, Curricula, Environmental health, Model programs, Multimedia, Regional planning, Resources for professionals, School age children, School health, School health programs, Students

Annotation: This environmental scan identifies collections of strategies to advance performance for NPM #3: Perinatal Regionalization--percent of very low birth weight (VLBW) infants born in a hospital with a Level III+ neonatal intensive care unit (NICU). It includes a list of reviews and compilations on the topic; frameworks and landmark initiatives; databases and related search terms; and inclusion and exclusion criteria. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center, 615 North Wolfe Street, Room E4143, Baltimore, MD 21205, Telephone: (410) 502-5450 Fax: (410) 502-5831 Web Site: http://www.jhsph.edu/wchpc Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Block grants, Evidence-based practice, Hospitals, Literature reviews, Low birthweight infants, Measures, Model programs, Neonatal intensive care units, Perinatal care, Policy development, Program planning, Regional planning, Resources for professionals, State MCH programs, Title V programs

Annotation: This initiative provides resources that can help prenatal care health professionals, primary care health professionals, and oral health professionals improve infants’ and young children’s oral health by integrating preventive oral health care into primary care well-child visits. The initiative is located in New England (Connecticut, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Maine, Rhode Island, and Vermont). Information for parents and other caregivers about promoting oral health and obtaining oral health care is also included, along with information for community organizations.

Contact: From the First Tooth / Before the First Tooth, c/o MaineHealth, 110 Free Street, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 662-6296 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.fromthefirsttooth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Community based services, Dental care, Dental caries, Disease prevention, Fluorides, Health promotion, Infants, New England, Oral health, Pediatric care, Preventive health services, Primary care, Public private partnerships, Regional programs, Reimbursement, Risk assessment, Service integration, State initiatives, Training, Young children

Annotation: This issue brief focuses on efforts to reduce non-medically indicated deliveries before 39 weeks gestation and methods that state Title V maternal and child health (MCH) programs are using to improve birth outcomes. Topics include national and state initiatives to make lowering the number of non-medically indicated deliveries before 39 weeks a priority; the role of state Title V MCH programs in implementing quality improvement programs and payment reforms; and examples from California, North Carolina, and Texas. The appendix contains a matrix of national and regional initiatives to improve birth outcomes including a description, geographic scope, funding, and partners for each initiative.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Childbirth, National initiatives, Prematurity, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Regional programs, Reimbursement, State MCH programs, Treatment outcome

Annotation: This primer describes a structured system of care to ensure that all seriously ill and injured children receive the care they need, regardless of the local availability of health care resources. Topics include its evolution, components, and models, as well as unique considerations for systems development. Contents include general information about regionalization and pediatric specialty care; hospital regulations, mandates, and standards; and a summary, footnotes, and glossary. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Emergency Medical Services for Children (EMSC) National Resource Center, 801 Roeder Road, Suite 600, Silver Spring, MD 20910, Telephone: (301) 244-6300 Fax: (301) 244-6301 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.emscnrc.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Link

Keywords: Emergency medical services for children, Health care systems, Regional planning, Regional programs, Systems development

Contact: D.C. Children and Youth Investment Trust Corporation, 1400 16th Street, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 347-4441 Web Site: http://cyitc.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Academic achievement, Adolescent development, After school programs, Blacks, Data, District of Columbia, Male children, Regional programs, Research, Risk factors, School linked programs, Surveys, Young adults, Youth

Annotation: This set of slides describes the Collaborative Improvement & Innovation Network (CoIIN) to Reduce Infant Mortality, including its aims, strategies, and measures, including reducing early elective delivery and smoking rates among pregnant women, increasing safe sleep practices and mothers delivering infants at the appropriate level of care, and changing Medicaid policies to increase the number of women who receive interconception care. It provides data showing trends from 2011 to 2013 and other accomplishments and the secrets of its success. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Secretary's Advisory Committee on Infant Mortality, U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Parklawn Building, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov/advisorycommittees/mchbadvisory/InfantMortality/index.html Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Childbirth, Infant mortality, Perinatal care, Preconception care, Prevention programs, Regional programs, Smoking, Women', s health

Annotation: This website describes Upstate Cribs for Kids -- a regional program in South Carolina that aims to reduce the number of infant deaths due to unsafe sleeping environments. The site provides safe sleep education and materials to help families and caregivers avoid putting their children at risk due to unsafe sleep practices. Also included is a link to the online safe sleep video, Room to Breathe.

Contact: Safe Kids Upstate, 255 Enterprise Boulevard, Suite 110, Greenville, SC Telephone: (864) 454-1100 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.safekidsupstate.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Infant death, Prevention, Regional programs, Risk factors, SIDS, Sleep position, South Carolina, State programs

Annotation: This report reviews the adequacy of current knowledge, identifies substantial research gaps, and considers data availability of economic, health, social, cultural, demographic, and other factors that contribute to childhood hunger or food insecurity. It also considers the geographic distribution of childhood hunger and food insecurity; the extent to which existing federal assistance programs reduce childhood hunger and food insecurity; childhood hunger and food insecurity persistence, and the extent to which it is due to gaps in program coverage; and the inability of potential participants to access programs, or the insufficiency of program benefits or services.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-309-29284-9.

• Link

Keywords: Barriers, Children, Economic factors, Federal programs, Food consumption, Geographic factors, Hunger, Regional factors, Statistical data

Annotation: This report presents a comprehensive, baseline assessment of the status of children, adolescents, and young adults (from birth to age 24) in the National Capital Region (NCR), which includes the District of Columbia, two independent cities and four counties in Virginia, and two counties in Maryland, The report is organized in the following indicator sections: demographic characteristics; pregnancy and birth outcomes; infant, child, and adolescent health and safety; economic well-being; child welfare; and education. For each indicator, the report cites differences evident among the various jurisdictions of the NCR, as well as notable disparities along lines of gender, race and Hispanic origin, or age. The evidence on what works to improve conditions for youth is also summarized for many of the indicators. The report concludes with a summary of knowledge gaps and comments about interpretation.

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Cities, County programs, District of Columbia, Health planning, Health status, Maryland, Needs assessment, Regional planning, Statistical data, Virginia

Annotation: This compilation of 12 papers examines the distinct needs of children in the southwestern United States (Arizona, California, Colorado, Nevada, New Mexico) and provides ideas for meeting those needs. Topics include changing demographics; inclusive, culturally relevant, and family-focused policy solutions; successful programs; and establishing common-ground for addressing challenges facing children in the Southwest.

Contact: First Focus, 1400 Eye Street, N.W., Suite 650, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 657-0670 Fax: (202) 657-0671 Web Site: http://www.firstfocus.net Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Culturally competent services, Family centered care, Language, Model programs, Policy development, Regional factors, Sociocultural factors, Trends