Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (23 total).

Payne E, Garcia S, Minkovitz C, Grason H, Strobino D. 2017. Strengthen the evidence base for maternal and child health programs: NPM 3–Risk-appropriate perinatal care [NPM 3 brief]. Baltimore, MD: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center, 3 pp.

Annotation: This brief identifies evidence-informed strategies that state Title V programs may consider implementing to increase the percentage of very low birth weight (<1500 gm) infants born in hospitals with a level III or higher neonatal intensive care unit. Contents include information about the methods and results of the evidence review, key findings, and implications. The full review is also available. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center, 615 North Wolfe Street, Room E4143, Baltimore, MD 21205, Telephone: (410) 502-5450 Fax: (410) 502-5831 Web Site: http://www.jhsph.edu/wchpc Available from the website.

Keywords: Block grants, Childbirth, Evidence-based practice, High risk pregnancy, Hospitals, Infant mortality, Intervention, Literature reviews, Low birthweight, Measures, Model programs, Neonatal intensive care units, Newborn infants, Perinatal care, Policy development, Program planning, Protective factors, Regional medical centers, Regional planning, Resources for professionals, State MCH programs, Systems development, Title V programs

Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center. 2015. Strengthen the evidence for MCH programs: Environmental scan of strategies National Performance Measure (NPM) #3: Perinatal regionalization. Baltimore, MD: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center, 6 pp.

Annotation: This environmental scan identifies collections of strategies to advance performance for NPM #3: Perinatal Regionalization--percent of very low birth weight (VLBW) infants born in a hospital with a Level III+ neonatal intensive care unit (NICU). It includes a list of reviews and compilations on the topic; frameworks and landmark initiatives; databases and related search terms; and inclusion and exclusion criteria. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center, 615 North Wolfe Street, Room E4143, Baltimore, MD 21205, Telephone: (410) 502-5450 Fax: (410) 502-5831 Web Site: http://www.jhsph.edu/wchpc Available from the website.

Keywords: Block grants, Evidence-based practice, Hospitals, Literature reviews, Low birthweight infants, Measures, Model programs, Neonatal intensive care units, Perinatal care, Policy development, Program planning, Regional planning, Resources for professionals, State MCH programs, Title V programs

U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau. 2013. Region V Infant Mortality Summit. Rockville, MD: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, 70 items.

Annotation: This website provides information about the 2013 Region V Infant Mortality Summit, held March 21-22, 2013 in Chicago, IL. Summit topics include coordinating, planning, implementing, and sharing cross state and regional efforts directed at reducing infant mortality; identifying similarities and differences across states to better understand data trends and reporting, health status of at-risk populations, contributing factors, and interventions that show promising results; identifying opportunities for leveraging resources and maximizing investments; identifying needs and provide technical assistance to state maternal and child health (MCH) and children with special health care needs (CSHCN) programs; and defining an organization framework for continued collaboration and successful program replication. The website provides links to the summit agenda, materials from sessions, summit goals and objectives, summaries and team updates, videorecordings from plenary sessions, and provides links to background and state infant and infant mortality resources.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Child health, Collaboration, Conference proceedings, Illinois, Indiana, Infant health, Infant mortality, Initiatives, Low income groups, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio, Prevention, Region V, Resource materials, State programs, Wisconsin

Vermont Department of Health. 2013. Burden of oral disease in Vermont. [Burlington, VT]: Vermont Department of Health, 65 pp.

Annotation: This report summarizes information about the oral disease burden of people in Vermont. It also highlights groups and regions that are at highest risk for oral health problems and discusses strategies to prevent these problems and improve access to oral health care. Comparisons are made with national data whenever possible and to Healthy People 2020 objectives.

Contact: Vermont Department of Health, Office of Oral Health, 108 Cherry Street, Burlington, VT 05402, Telephone: (802) 863-7497 Secondary Telephone: (800) 464-4343 Fax: (802) 865-7554 Web Site: http://healthvermont.gov/family/dental/services.aspx Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Disease prevention, Health care disparities, Health disparities, Health services delivery, Health status, Oral health, Population surveillance, Prevalence, Protective factors, Regional factors, Risk factors, State surveys, Statistical data, Vermont

U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau. 2012. COIIN conference webcast: Collaborative Improvement and Innovation Network (COIIN) to reduce infant mortality. [Rockville, MD]: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, 2 videos (3 min., 22 sec.).

Annotation: This webinar describes efforts to build on the success of the Infant Mortality Summit held in January 2012, at which the 13 states in Public Health Regions IV and VI developed plans to reduce infant mortality through five common priority strategies and the development of the Collaborative Improvement & Innovation Network (COIN). This network's objective is to facilitate collaborative learning and adoption of proven quality improvement principles and practices across 13 states to reduce infant mortality and improve birth outcomes. The network includes the Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB), the Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs (AMCHP), the Association of State and Territorial Health Officials (ASTHO), CityMatCH, the March of Dimes, and other federal partners including the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS). [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Collaboration, Federal initiatives, Infant mortality, Program improvement, Region IV, Region VI, Strategic plans, Video conferences

Murphey D, Redd Z, Moodie S, Knewstub D, Humble J, Bell K, Cooper M. 2012. Assessing the status and needs of children and youth in the national capital region (rev. ed.). Washington, DC: Child Trends, 165 pp.

Annotation: This report presents a comprehensive, baseline assessment of the status of children, adolescents, and young adults (from birth to age 24) in the National Capital Region (NCR), which includes the District of Columbia, two independent cities and four counties in Virginia, and two counties in Maryland, The report is organized in the following indicator sections: demographic characteristics; pregnancy and birth outcomes; infant, child, and adolescent health and safety; economic well-being; child welfare; and education. For each indicator, the report cites differences evident among the various jurisdictions of the NCR, as well as notable disparities along lines of gender, race and Hispanic origin, or age. The evidence on what works to improve conditions for youth is also summarized for many of the indicators. The report concludes with a summary of knowledge gaps and comments about interpretation.

Contact: Child Trends, 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Cities, County programs, District of Columbia, Health planning, Health status, Maryland, Needs assessment, Regional planning, Statistical data, Virginia

California HealthCare Foundation. 2011. Elective childbirth procedures in California: A close-up of geographic variation. Oakland, CA: California HealthCare Foundation, 12 pp.

Annotation: This report is part of a series that examine the rates at which 13 elective procedures are delivered in different communities across the state of California. The report examines the geographic variation in elective childbirth procedures, including elective induction, cesarian sections (C-sections), and vaginal birth after cesarian (VBAC). Each procedure is defined, and the risks and benefits are addressed. Comparative statistics on the rate and type of elective procedures performed in each of the state's hospital service areas (HSAs) is presented in table format. The data is from the period 2005-2009 and is based on the patients’ place of residence.

Contact: California HealthCare Foundation, 1438 Webster Street, Suite 400, Oakland, CA 94612, Telephone: (510) 238-1040 Fax: (510) 238-1388 Web Site: http://www.chcf.org Available from the website.

Keywords: California, Cesarian section, Childbirth, Geographic regions, Induced labor, Infant health, Reproductive health, State surveys, Vaginal birth after Cesarian section, Women's health

Hopewell A. 2006. Maternal and Child Health Oral Health Institute: Region VIII. Washington, DC: Health Systems Research, 60 pp.

Annotation: This report summarizes the Region VIII oral health institute held on November 2-3, 2005, in Denver, Colorado, focusing on developing and sustaining partnerships that improve oral health outcomes for the Maternal and Child Health Bureau's target populations: children, children with special health care needs, pregnant women, and mothers. Plenary session topics include integrating oral health into overall health; using Medicaid and the State Children's Health Insurance Program to fund oral health services; developing social marketing campaigns to promote oral health; building collaborative partnerships with state dental associations, primary care associations, and rural Native American communities; and meeting the work force challenge through specific outreach initiatives with general dentists, pediatricians, and other non-oral-health professionals in child care and education settings. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: OHRCinfo@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Children, Children with special health care needs, Conferences, EPSDT, Families, Health care delivery, Health care financing, Infants, MCH services, Medicaid, Oral health, Pregnant women, Pregnant women, Program planning, Region VIII, State Children's Health Insurance Program, State initiatives

McCoy M, Silva S, Steffensen J. 2005. Enhancing partnerships for Head Start and oral health: Report for Region V forum. Washington, DC: Health Systems Research; San Antonio, TX: University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, Department of Community Dentistry, 43 pp.

Annotation: This report describes the region V forum held on July 13, 2005, in Chicago, Illinois, to determine how organizations and agencies at a regional level could work together to improve the oral health of children and families enrolled in Early Head Start (EHS) and Head Start (HS). Topics include assessing access to care; oral health education, prevention, and clinical services available to EHS and HS populations; identifying promising state-based models for enhancing oral health; developing strategies that include assessment of oral health issues and key roles of regional agencies and other entities for future action; and contributing to the development of a national strategic plan to improve the oral health of children and pregnant women in EHS and HS. Report contents are arranged into sections including an executive summary, introductions at the forum, plenary sessions, a summary of small group discussions, and responses and closing remarks. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: OHRCinfo@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Collaboration, Conferences, Early Head Start, Head Start, Oral health, Region V, Young children

Steffensen J. 2002. Enhancing Partnerships for Head Start and Oral Health: Report for Region VI Forum—Dallas, Texas, February 20-21, 2002. [Washington, DC]: Health Systems Research, 19 pp., plus appendices.

Annotation: This report describes the activities of the Region VI oral health forum held on February 20–21, 2002, in Dallas, Texas. The purpose of the forum was to determine how organizations and agencies could work together at a regional level to improve the oral health status of children enrolled in Head Start. The report includes background information on previous forums; summaries of the plenary sessions; summaries of the group discussions on access to oral health care, education, and prevention; and a discussion of next steps. Appendices provide the forum's goals, an agenda, and a participant list. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: OHRCinfo@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Conferences, Head Start, Oral health, Program coordination, Program evaluation, Region VI, Regional planning, Young Children

Steffensen J. 2002. Enhancing Partnerships for Head Start and Oral Health: Report for Region VII Forum—Kansas City, Missouri, December 4-5, 2001. [Washington, DC]: Health Systems Research, 25 pp., exec. summ. (4 pp.).

Annotation: This report describes the activities of the region VII oral health forum held on December 4–5, 2001, in Kansas City, Missouri. The purpose of the forum was to determine how organizations and agencies could work together at a regional level to improve the oral health status of children enrolled in Head Start. The report includes information on previous forums, summaries of the plenary sessions, summaries of small group discussions of key issues and challenges, an outline of promising practices and strategies, and a discussion of next steps. Appendices provide the forum's goals, an agenda, and a participant list. An executive summary is also included. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: OHRCinfo@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Conferences, Families, Head Start, Oral health, Program coordination, Program evaluation, Region VII, Regional planning, Young children

Steffensen J. 2002. Enhancing Partnerships for Head Start and Oral Health: Report for Region VIII Forum—Denver, Colorado, May 14-15, 2002. [Washington, DC]: Health Systems Research, 44 pp., exec. summ. (3 pp.).

Annotation: This report describes the activities of the region VIII oral health forum held on May 14–15, 2002, in Denver, Colorado. The purpose of the forum was to determine how organizations and agencies could work together at a regional level to improve the oral health status of children enrolled in Head Start. The report includes background information on previous forums; summaries of the plenary sessions; summaries of small group discussions on access to oral health care, education, and prevention; and a discussion of next steps. Appendices provide a list of the Department of Health and Human Services regions, a discussion of the forum's goals, an agenda, and a participant list. An executive summary is also included. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: OHRCinfo@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Conferences, Families, Head Start, Oral health, Program coordination, Program evaluation, Region VIII, Regional planning, Young children

Halcon L, Beuhring T, Blum RW. 2000. A portrait of adolescent health in the Caribbean, 2000. Washington, DC: Pan America Health Organization, 38 pp.

Annotation: This report presents epidemiological data about health behaviors among adolescents in the Caribbean and the multisectoral efforts made by governments, researchers, and programmers in favor of adolescent development. It also highlights adolescent needs as stated by the adolescents themselves, as well as adolescent-led projects. The report is a synthesis of survey data from nine countries: Antigua, Bahamas, British Virgin Islands, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Jamaica, and St. Lucia.

Contact: Pan American Health Organization, 525 23rd Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 974-3000 Fax: (202) 974-3663 Web Site: http://new.paho.org Available at no charge; also available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Caribbean region, International health, Surveys, Virgin Islands

Declercq ER, comp. [1995]. Final report: 1994-95 region 1 continuing education needs assessment. Boston, MA: Boston University, School of Public Health, Maternal and Child Health Program, 24 pp.

Annotation: This report provides charts with the results of the 1994-95 survey to determine the need for continuing MCH training and education in Region I. Statistics are given for both Region I and the states within it. Those states are Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont. The questionnaire used in the survey is also included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Boston University School of Public Health, Maternal and Child Health Program, 715 Albany Street, Talbot Building, Boston, MA 02118, Telephone: (617) 638-5375 Fax: (617) 638-5370 E-mail: askmch@bu.edu Web Site: http://sph.bu.edu/Degree-Programs-and-ConcentrationsSub-Pages/master-of-public-health-concentration-in-maternal-a-child-health/menu-id-617114.html Available from the website.

Keywords: Connecticut, Continuing education, MCH training programs, Maine, Massachusetts, Needs assessment, New Hampshire, Questionnaires, Region I, Reports, Rhode Island, Statistics, Surveys, Vermont

Huertas A Jr, Sullivan C. 1995. Safe schools within safe communities: A regional summit in the heartland. Oak Brook, IL: North Central Regional Educational Laboratory, 19 pp. (Policy briefs: Special report; October 1995)

Annotation: This report documents a seminar where information was shared about existing violence prevention policies, legislation, resources, success stories, and state initiatives. Those attending developed a long-range, coordinated state policy agenda and action plan for safe schools. The keynote speech, Minnesota's plan of action, selected community examples, and the summaries of the attending states' action planning session are included in this report.

Keywords: Budgeting, Budgets, Iowa, Juvenile delinquents, Juvenile justice, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, Regional programs, School safety, South Dakota, Violence prevention

Fickling JA, ed. 1994. Social problems with health consequences: A Pound of Prevention, an Ounce of Cure; [and] Prevention as a Social Work Intervention. Columbia, SC: University of South Carolina, College of Social Work, 135 pp.

Annotation: These proceedings summarize two Bi-Regional Conferences for Public Health Social Workers in Regions IV and VI, conducted in 1991 and 1992 by the University of South Carolina College of Social Work. The two conferences had related themes—to promote prevention as intervention. The papers presented at the 1991 conference focused on frameworks for prevention; those at the 1992 conference examined successful prevention programs. Topics covered a range of prevention issues, including training and education in prevention for social workers; prevention research; prevention of childhood injuries; prevention of domestic violence; issues relating to children with special needs and developmental disabilities; migrant health and prevention; and strategies for incorporating public health social work into national health care. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHH116.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Intervention, Maternal health, Prevention, Public health, Region IV, Region VI, Social problems, Social work

Fickling JA, ed. 1993. Social problems with health consequences: Program design, implementation, and evaluation. Columbia, SC: University of South Carolina, College of Social Work, 124 pp.

Annotation: This publication contains the proceedings of the Bi-Regional Conference for Public Health Social Workers in Regions IV and VI, conducted by the University of South Carolina College of Social Work on May 30–June 2, 1990. The publication's three focus topics cover social work in maternal and child health; program design, implementation, and evaluation; and social work practice with rural and culturally diverse populations, particularly in New Mexico. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: University of South Carolina, College of Social Work, Columbia, SC 29208, Telephone: (803) 777-7814 Fax: (803) 777-0421 E-mail: monsma@sc.edu Web Site: http://www.cosw.sc.edu/ Available from the website. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHD023, MCHH115.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Cultural sensitivity, Program development, Program evaluation, Public health, Region IV, Region VI, Rural population, Social problems, Social work

Tluczek A, Sondel S. 1991. Project SPOON: Special program of oral nutrition for children with special needs. Madison, WI: University of Wisconsin Children's Hospital, 31 pp.

Annotation: This report describes a transdisciplinary model of comprehensive services designed to meet the special feeding needs of infants and children with chronic medical conditions. This model promotes collaboration and coordination of services across multiple disciplines, and was designed to be functional across all environments: home, school, community, hospital, and clinic. Included in the report are assessment tools based on characteristics of the child and of the care provider; principles of intervention; intervention considerations; case studies; and a resource list. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Family centered, community based care, Infants with special health care needs, Nutrition, Region V, Research, SPRANS

Hickey C. 1988 (ca.). C.E. in Nutrition for Chronically Ill/Handicapped Children [Final report]. Dallas, TX: Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas, 135 pp.

Annotation: This project, which resulted from the recognition of the importance of nutritional care as a critical component in the provision of family centered, community based, coordinated care for children with special health care needs, involved the completion of a series of state, regional and biregional training activities. These activities resulted in the formation and continuation of interdisciplinary/ interagency state working groups in each of the 13 states in Regions IV and VI. The project methodology included two repeating annual cycles of biregional planning committee meetings, biregional workshops and workshop follow-up evaluations. These activities were supplemented by two mini-workshops and two additional regional workshops. Workshop foci included needs assessment, screening and referral, the promotion of comprehensive health care, national nutrition initiatives, financing, standards of care, networking, interagency collaboration, new Federal initiatives/legislation, strategic planning, nutrition payment systems, and community-tertiary linkages. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Children with Special Health care Needs, Nutrition Services, Region IV, Region VI, Training

Lutz RM. 1988. The effects of confidentiality and related laws on the ability to link health and social service data bases. Baltimore, MD: Johns Hopkins University, 88 pp.

Annotation: The purpose of this report is to review and assess the extent to which constitutional provisions, confidentiality statutes and regulations, informed consent laws, and court decisions applicable to jurisdictions in Region III of the United States Department of Health and Human Services inhibit or restrict the integration and linkage of Title V Program databases and other health and social service data files. The focus of this report is to provide the Title V offices with information useful in their efforts to develop database linkages both among their individual programs and with other databases maintained by state and local governmental offices and agencies within their respective jurisdictions. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Department of Population, Family, and Reproductive Health, 615 North Wolfe Street, Room E4527, Baltimore, MD 21205, Telephone: (410) 955-3384 Fax: (410) 955-2303 E-mail: pmartin@jhsph.edu Web Site: http://www.jhsph.edu/dept/pfrh/index.html Available from the website. Document Number: PIC-III TRS 88-09.

Keywords: Confidentiality, Data linkage, Databases, Legislation, Title V programs, Region III

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.