Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This curriculum is designed to help elementary-, middle-, and high-school-educators and recreation professionals teach safe bicycling to children. The two-part curriculum is aligned with the National Standards for K-12 Physical Education and includes lessons and assessments for the skills and knowledge students need to enjoy safe bicycling. It also contains a guide for parents on ways they can support safe bicycling, including guidance on selecting an appropriate bicycle and helmet for their child.

Contact: SHAPE America–Society of Health and Physical Educators, 1900 Association Drive, Reston, VA 20191-1598, Telephone: (800) 213-7193 Fax: (703) 476-9527 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.shapeamerica.org Available from the website.

• Curriculum Part 1
• Curriculum Part 2

Keywords: Bicycle helmets, Bicycle safety, Consumer education materials, Curricula, Injury prevention, Recreational safety, School age children, Schools, Transportation injuries

Annotation: This report presents findings from a survey of athletes in grades 7-10, coaches of athletes in grades 7-10, and parents with children who play sports in grades 1-10 about sports injuries and what is being done to keep young athletes safe while playing sports. The report provides information on sports injuries in children, players who play injured, injuries resulting from foul play, and opportunities to improve coaches' knowledge and skills. Tips on sports safety are also included.

Contact: Safe Kids Worldwide, 1301 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W., Suite 1000, Washington, DC 20004-1707, Telephone: (202) 662-0600 Fax: (202) 393-2072 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.safekids.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Athletes, Child safety, Children, Injury prevention, International health, International programs, Program improvement, Recreational safety, Risk taking, Safety programs, Sports equipment, Sports injuries, Team sports

Annotation: This research brief examines the relationship between physical exercise and neighborhood characteristics among children and adolescents, using data from the 2011-2012 National Survey of Children's Health. The authors examine, in each state, the average number of days children ages 6 to 17 exercised in the past week. They also look at the frequency within each state of selected neighborhood characteristics: whether the child's neighborhood included a playground or recreation center, whether it had dilapidated housing, and whether parents felt their child was "usually" or "always" safe there. The brief also examines which of these characteristics were associated with a higher average number of days of exercise, when other factors affecting exercise frequency are taken into account.

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Household safety, Neighborhoods, Physical activity, Playground safety, Recreational safety

Annotation: This toolkit contains information and resources to help health professionals and others reduce the number of child deaths and injuries caused by all terrain vehicle (ATV)-related crashes and to raise awareness about safe riding practices. Contents include a video titled A Trip Unplanned about the risks of ATV use, a guide to facilitate discussion of key points for ATV riders, four posters to reinforce safety messages; a safety tips brochure, a fact sheet in English and Spanish, and training presentation slides. A fact sheet and public service announcements are also available from the website. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Arkansas Children's Hospital, Injury Prevention Center, 1 Children's Way, Little Rock, AR 72202-3591, Telephone: (501) 364-3400 Secondary Telephone: (866) 611-3445 Fax: (866) 611-3445 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.archildrens.org/Services/Injury-Prevention-Center.aspx Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: All terrain vehicles, Children, Injury prevention, Public awareness materials, Recreational safety, Spanish language materials, Training

Annotation: This policy brief focuses on neighborhood characteristics that influence whether and how much adolescents engage in physical activity, based on data from the 2003 California Health Interview Survey. The brief discusses (1) lower levels of physical activity among urban adolescents and low-income adolescents, and how access to parks helps, (2) adolescent physical activity related to type of housing and access to parks, and (3) relationship between adolescent physical activity and perceptions of neighborhood safety. Conclusions and policy recommendations are included. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables throughout the report.

Contact: UCLA Center for Health Policy Research, 10960 Wilshire Boulevard, Suite 1550, Los Angeles, CA 90024, Telephone: (310) 794-0909 Fax: (310) 794-2686 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthpolicy.ucla.edu Available at no charge; also available from the website. Document Number: PB2005-10.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, California, Housing, Low income groups, Neighborhoods, Physical activity, Recreational facilities, Recreational safety, Urban population

Annotation: This report provides a brief introduction to issues addressed by a DC Family Policy Seminar in July 1995 that focused on recreation and leisure activities for families. Volume 1 (written by Kerry Whitacre and Mark Rom) provides an introduction and background on what is meant by recreation and leisure, details the benefits of recreation for families and communities, and outlines the challenges communities face in providing family-centered recreation during times of fiscal constraint. It also includes an annotated list of recreation and leisure activities for children and families in the District of Columbia. Volume 2 provides highlights of the seminar's discussions. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Series Archives

Keywords: Community centers, Directories, District of Columbia, Families, Family centered services, Recreation programs, Recreation services, Recreational safety

Annotation: This videotape and manual are designed to help public recreation departments train their employees to assess and maintain playground equipment to manage risk. The videotape contains two sections; the first covers maintenance inspections, and the second reviews how to evaluate playground equipment to determine if it complies with the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission guidelines. The manual includes a copy of the Commission's "Handbook for Public Playground Safety, " sample checklists and maintenance schedules, suggestions on the use of the materials, sources of information, and bibliographical references.

Contact: Information Exchange, P.O. 1528, Fair Oaks, CA 95628, Telephone: (916) 966-2375 Fax: (916) 967-1877 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.theinfoexchange.org/ $129.95 plus $6.50 shipping and handling; no shipping and handling if prepaid; discounts available for bulk orders.

Keywords: Children, Educational materials, Federal government, Injury prevention, Local government, Playground safety, Product safety, Public policy, Recreational equipment, Risk assessment, Risk management, Standards, Training

Annotation: This data book and a related set of slides present information on the nature and incidence of unintentional and intentional injuries among U.S. children and adolescents ages 1–19. The book is divided into five sections: (1) Overview—comparisons between injury and diseases, international comparisons; (2) mortality—major causes of injury by developmental stage, mortality data compared to morbidity data; (3) unintentional injury—motor vehicles, pedestrians, bicycles, drowning and near drowning, fires and burns, unintentional firearms, poisoning, falls, occupational injuries, farm injuries, sports, toys and recreational equipment; (4) violence—homicide, assault, suicide, child abuse and neglect, rape; and (5) interventions—chart by age group, the cost of injury, suggestions for ways to prevent child and adolescent injury. An appendix presents 1988 injury mortality rates for children ages 1–4, 5–9, 10–14, and 15–19, for 11 major injury categories. Federal agencies contributing data include the National Center for Health Statistics, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, Consumer Product Safety Commission, Department of Justice, and National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHE049; MCHF098 (slides), MCHF108 (brochure); book ERIC ED 342 152.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Advocacy, Audiovisual materials, Child development, Child health, Children, Costs, Data, Firearm injuries, Infants, Injuries, Integration, Morbidity, Mortality, Occupational injuries, Planning, Preschool children, Recreational injuries, Residential injuries, Safety equipment, Schools, Slides, Suicide, Toddlers, Transportation injuries, Violence