Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This implementation guide informs public health officials and parks and recreation professionals how to increase physical activity and the use of parks, trails, and greenways by combining essential infrastructure improvements with activities like community engagement, programming, and public awareness. With color illustrations and links to other resources, the guide enumerates the steps that can be taken to increase access to public spaces and address health inequities and disparaties. Case studies demonstrate how communities throughout the US have increased physical activity and the use of their parks.

Contact: National Recreation and Park Association , 22377 Belmont Ridge Road, Ashburn, VA 20148, Telephone: (800) 626-6772 Fax: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nrpa.org

• PDF

Keywords: Community coordination, Health disparities, Physical activity, Physical fitness, Recreational facilities

Annotation: This toolkit for public health advocates and local health departments demonstrates how the activities contained within it can increase physical activity and improve health equity for young people. It contains guiding principles and policy recommendations that address problems in health equity. Case studies from cities throughout the United States demonstrate how access to recreational space and art projects have tackled issues such as chronic disease, depression and violent crime. [Grant funding was provided by the NEA and the Kresge Foundation.]

Contact: Trust for Public Land , 101 Montgomery Street, #900, San Francisco, CA 94104, Web Site: www.tpl.org

• PDF

Keywords: Community coordination, Community engagement, Green spaces, Health equity, Physical activity, Public health, Recreational services, Recreational spaces, Social determinants of health

Annotation: This breif is designed to help families find websites and learn more about physical activity and kids and teens. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Bibliographies, Children, Electronic publications, Exercise, Families, Physical activity, Physical education, Physical fitness, Recreation, Special health care needs

Annotation: This resource describes a national infant mortality awareness initiative that provides park activities to empower women of reproductive age and new mothers to take charge of their health and the health of their children through activities on eating right, making time for exercise, and other topics for Healthy Start families. The site provides a toolkit to help communities plan a similar event, with resources on getting started, recruiting sponsors, and other steps, along with sample documents and campaign materials.

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, Office of Minority Health, The Tower Building , 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite 600, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (240) 453-2882 Secondary Telephone: (800)444-6472 Fax: (301)251-2160 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://minorityhealth.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Public awareness campaign, Children, Community participation, Community programs, Families, Health fairs, Health promotion, Infant mortality, Prevention programs, Recreational programs, Women

Contact: U.S. Preventive Services Task Force, 540 Gaither Road, Rockville, MD 20850, Telephone: (301) 427-1584 Web Site: http://www.uspreventiveservicestaskforce.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Consumer Guide

Keywords: Adolescents, Behavior modification, Children, Interventions, Prescription drugs, Primary care, Recreational drug use, Substance abuse

Annotation: This curriculum is designed to help elementary-, middle-, and high-school-educators and recreation professionals teach safe bicycling to children. The two-part curriculum is aligned with the National Standards for K-12 Physical Education and includes lessons and assessments for the skills and knowledge students need to enjoy safe bicycling. It also contains a guide for parents on ways they can support safe bicycling, including guidance on selecting an appropriate bicycle and helmet for their child.

Contact: SHAPE America–Society of Health and Physical Educators, 1900 Association Drive, Reston, VA 20191-1598, Telephone: (800) 213-7193 Fax: (703) 476-9527 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.shapeamerica.org Available from the website.

• Curriculum Part 1
• Curriculum Part 2

Keywords: Bicycle helmets, Bicycle safety, Consumer education materials, Curricula, Injury prevention, Recreational safety, School age children, Schools, Transportation injuries

Annotation: This report presents findings from a survey of athletes in grades 7-10, coaches of athletes in grades 7-10, and parents with children who play sports in grades 1-10 about sports injuries and what is being done to keep young athletes safe while playing sports. The report provides information on sports injuries in children, players who play injured, injuries resulting from foul play, and opportunities to improve coaches' knowledge and skills. Tips on sports safety are also included.

Contact: Safe Kids Worldwide, 1301 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W., Suite 1000, Washington, DC 20004-1707, Telephone: (202) 662-0600 Fax: (202) 393-2072 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.safekids.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Athletes, Child safety, Children, Injury prevention, International health, International programs, Program improvement, Recreational safety, Risk taking, Safety programs, Sports equipment, Sports injuries, Team sports

Annotation: This research brief examines the relationship between physical exercise and neighborhood characteristics among children and adolescents, using data from the 2011-2012 National Survey of Children's Health. The authors examine, in each state, the average number of days children ages 6 to 17 exercised in the past week. They also look at the frequency within each state of selected neighborhood characteristics: whether the child's neighborhood included a playground or recreation center, whether it had dilapidated housing, and whether parents felt their child was "usually" or "always" safe there. The brief also examines which of these characteristics were associated with a higher average number of days of exercise, when other factors affecting exercise frequency are taken into account.

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Household safety, Neighborhoods, Physical activity, Playground safety, Recreational safety

Annotation: This policy brief examines park access and park use by adolescents in California as a way to meet the recommendation that young people engage in 60 minutes of physical activity at least five days a week. The brief provides statistics on the number of California teens who fail to meet the physical activity guidelines, highlighting differences in behavior based on income and proximity to park facilities. The authors provide policy recommendations to invest in amenities and recreational programming at existing parks; develop agreements that allow community use of school grounds during off-hours, especially in low income neighborhoods; and target efforts to improve access and safety in low-income neighborhoods where there are few if any parks.

Contact: UCLA Center for Health Policy Research, 10960 Wilshire Boulevard, Suite 1550, Los Angeles, CA 90024, Telephone: (310) 794-0909 Fax: (310) 794-2686 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthpolicy.ucla.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, California, Guidelines, Physical activity, Policy development, Program improvement, Recreational facilities, Recreational services, State surveys

Annotation: This report provides information about state injury prevention policies and about recommendations for evidence-based strategies to reduce injuries in the United States. It focuses on a series of 10 injury-prevention indicators across each state that, collectively, offer an overview of areas of strength and weakness in the state's injury-prevention policies. Topics include vehicle injuries; violence-related injuries; falls; drowning; sports- and recreation-related injuries; injuries from poisoning; research tools for reducing injuries; and fire-related injuries.

Contact: Trust for America's Health, 1730 M Street, N.W., Suite 900, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-9870 Fax: (202) 223-9871 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://healthyamericans.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Burns, Drowning, Falls, Injuries, Injury prevention, Poisoning, Recreational injuries, Research, Sports injuries, State initiatives, Transportation injuries, Violence

Annotation: This toolkit contains information and resources to help health professionals and others reduce the number of child deaths and injuries caused by all terrain vehicle (ATV)-related crashes and to raise awareness about safe riding practices. Contents include a video titled A Trip Unplanned about the risks of ATV use, a guide to facilitate discussion of key points for ATV riders, four posters to reinforce safety messages; a safety tips brochure, a fact sheet in English and Spanish, and training presentation slides. A fact sheet and public service announcements are also available from the website. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Arkansas Children's Hospital, Injury Prevention Center, 1 Children's Way, Little Rock, AR 72202-3591, Telephone: (501) 364-3400 Secondary Telephone: (866) 611-3445 Fax: (866) 611-3445 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.archildrens.org/Services/Injury-Prevention-Center.aspx Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: All terrain vehicles, Children, Injury prevention, Public awareness materials, Recreational safety, Spanish language materials, Training

Annotation: This document describes the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's research agenda, 2009-2018, which focuses on answering questions that will have a relatively rapid impact on how we prevent injuries and reduce their consequences. Topics include cross-cutting priorities for injury research, injury response; unintentional injury prevention at home and in the community, preventing injuries in sports, recreation, and exercise, (4) preventing transportation injuries; preventing child maltreatment, sexual violence and intimate partner violence, preventing suicidal behavior, and preventing youth violence.

Contact: National Center for Injury Prevention and Control, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 4770 Buford Highway, N.E., Mailstop F-63, Atlanta, GA 30341-3717, Telephone: (800) CDC-INFO Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (770) 488-4760 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/injury/index.html Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Podcast

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Child abuse, Communities, Disabilities, Domestic violence, Injuries, Injury prevention, Motor vehicle injuries, Recreational injuries, Rehabilitation, Research, Residential injuries, Sports injuries, Suicide prevention, Violence, Violence prevention

Annotation: The third in a series of reports from a three year study of the role Boys & Girls Clubs play in the lives of the youth they serve, this report examines how club participation is related to youth's development in good character and citizenship, academic success, and healthy lifestyles. Conclusions support aspects of the clubs involvement in youths' health and implicate areas for improvement. The report includes appendices charting data analyzed in the report and other supplements to the study.

Contact: Public/Private Ventures, 2000 Market Street, Suite 600, Philadelphia, PA 19103, Telephone: (215) 557-4400 Secondary Telephone: (215) 557-4411 Fax: (215) 557-4469 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ppv.org Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Executive Summary

Keywords: Academic achievement, Adolescent development, Adolescents, Community programs, Low income groups, Model programs, Program evaluation, Recreational programs, Youth

Annotation: This report discusses the physiological, psychological, and sociological dimensions and impact of physical activity in the lives of young girls. It summarizes an original report addressing the same topic created 10 years prior to this, and provides an overview of the research and implications of this report's key findings. The report concludes with recommendations for best practices.

Contact: Tucker Center for Research on Girls and Women in Sport, University of Minnesota, 203 Cooke Hall, 1900 University Avenue, S.E., Minneapolis, MN 55455, Telephone: (612) 625-7327 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://education.umn.edu/tuckercenter/default.html Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Female children, Physical activity, Physical fitness, Recreation

Annotation: This policy brief focuses on neighborhood characteristics that influence whether and how much adolescents engage in physical activity, based on data from the 2003 California Health Interview Survey. The brief discusses (1) lower levels of physical activity among urban adolescents and low-income adolescents, and how access to parks helps, (2) adolescent physical activity related to type of housing and access to parks, and (3) relationship between adolescent physical activity and perceptions of neighborhood safety. Conclusions and policy recommendations are included. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables throughout the report.

Contact: UCLA Center for Health Policy Research, 10960 Wilshire Boulevard, Suite 1550, Los Angeles, CA 90024, Telephone: (310) 794-0909 Fax: (310) 794-2686 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthpolicy.ucla.edu Available at no charge; also available from the website. Document Number: PB2005-10.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, California, Housing, Low income groups, Neighborhoods, Physical activity, Recreational facilities, Recreational safety, Urban population

Annotation: This notebook is a resource on transition from adolescence to young adulthood for young adults with special health care needs and disabilities.The notebook is geared toward families, students, school personnel, community agency workers, health professionals, and other groups working with adolescents and young adults in Washington State. The notebook is organized into the following sections: (1) transition overview, (2) the student, (3) school, (4) post-secondary education, (5) work, volunteering, community participation, (6) division of vocational rehabilitation, (7) community resources, (8) recreation, (9) legal matters, (10) Division of Developmental Disabilities, (11) Supplemental Security Income, (12) health, and (13) transition stories. The notebook contains one appendix that includes information on multicultural and translated resources, acronyms and definition, health insurance terms and definitions, sample forms, information on educational resources, and a transition guide for Washington State.

Contact: Washington State Department of Health, Office of Maternal and Child Health, Children with Special Health Care Needs Program, P.O. Box 47835, Olympia, WA 98504-7835, Telephone: (360) 236-3571 E-mail: [email protected] Available from the website.

• PDF Format
• Overview

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Community participation, Developmental disabilities, Education, Health, Legislation, Recreation, School to work transition, Schools, Students, Supplemental security income, Transition to independent living, Vocational rehabilitation, Volunteers, Washington, Young adults, Youth

Annotation: This report discusses the fiscal year budget for the District of Columbia, emphasizing the funding available for programs to benefit children, youth, and families. The report begins with background information including a historical timeline on the budget process. It explains how to advocate for children, youth, and families. Subsequent chapters provide detailed information on programs and budget in the following areas: welfare and other government benefit programs, child welfare, early childhood development, juvenile delinquency and crime prevention, homelessness, recreation, maternal and child health, mental health, the Children and Youth Investment Fund, and the Tobacco Settlement Trust Fund. A glossary, a list of city government officials and agencies, and a list of other important addresses and phone numbers are included at the end.

Contact: DC Action for Children, 1616 P Street, N.W., Suite 420, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 234-9404 Fax: (202) 234-9108 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.dcactionforchildren.org/ Price unknown.

• PDF

Keywords: Advocacy, Budgets, Budgets, Child health, Child welfare, Children, City agencies, District of Columbia, Early childhood development, Families, Homelessness, Juvenile delinquency, Maternal health, Mental health, Prevention, Program evaluation, Recreation, Tobacco, Welfare programs, Youth

Annotation: This information package presents information about all-terrain vehicle (ATV) safety and injury prevention for children and adolescents. It includes a cover letter describing the intent of the package; reprints of policy statements from the American Academy of Pediatrics; and fact sheets on ATV safety, injury prevention strategies, national ATV organizations, ATV safety education programs, and state requirements concerning ATVs. The information package also includes a booklet and pamphlet that provide safety suggestions for parents and their children and a combined evaluation and order form. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Adolescents, All terrain vehicles, Children, Injury prevention, Recreational injuries, Risk factors

Annotation: This report presents the results of focus groups on community problems and needs in ten predominantly rural Alaska communities. The report describes selection of the communities, participants, topics, and the major findings; the nature and causes of major community health problems across Alaska; building healthy communities; and strategies for change. For each community it presents community concerns, strengths, and opportunities. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Alaska Department of Health and Social Services, Section of Women's, Children's, and Family Health, 3601 C Street, Suite 322, Anchorage, AK 99503-5923, Telephone: (907) 269-3400 Secondary Telephone: (800) 799-7570 Contact Phone: (800) 799-7570 Fax: (907) 269-3465 Web Site: http://dhss.alaska.gov/dph/wcfh/Pages/default.aspx Available in libraries.

Keywords: Alaska, Alaska natives, Child abuse, Child neglect, Community participation, Community surveys, Domestic violence, Focus groups, Interviews, Parenting, Recreational facilities, Recreational programs, Rural environment, Substance abuse

Annotation: This report provides a brief introduction to issues addressed by a DC Family Policy Seminar in July 1995 that focused on recreation and leisure activities for families. Volume 1 (written by Kerry Whitacre and Mark Rom) provides an introduction and background on what is meant by recreation and leisure, details the benefits of recreation for families and communities, and outlines the challenges communities face in providing family-centered recreation during times of fiscal constraint. It also includes an annotated list of recreation and leisure activities for children and families in the District of Columbia. Volume 2 provides highlights of the seminar's discussions. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Series Archives

Keywords: Community centers, Directories, District of Columbia, Families, Family centered services, Recreation programs, Recreation services, Recreational safety