Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 17 (17 total).

Byrne J. 2017. Perinatal and infant oral health community of practice: Quality improvement toolkit. Sacramento, CA: California Department of Public Health, Oral Health Program, multiple items. (Version 3: April 10, 2017)

Annotation: This toolkit provides guidance on assessing the effectiveness of a project to improve the delivery of oral health care services provided to pregnant women, infants, and young children by integrating oral health care into primary care. Contents include worksheets and guides for identifying, planning, implementing, and interpreting the effectiveness of a quality-improvement project. Topics include plan, do, study, act cycles and process mapping. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: California Department of Public Health, Oral Health Program, MS Code 8305, P.O. Box 997377, MS 0500, Sacramento, CA 95899-7377, Telephone: (916) 558-1784 E-mail: mchinet@cdph.ca.gov Web Site: https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Programs/CCDPHP/DCDIC/CDCB/Pages/OralHealthProgram/OralHealthProgram.aspx

Keywords: Organizational change, Data collection, Forms, Infant health, Infants, Oral health, Perinatal health, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Program improvement, Qualitative evaluation, Quality assurance, Quantitative evaluation, Records management

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Division of Oral Health. 2017. CDC DentalCheck: Infection prevention & control checklist application. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Division of Oral Health, 1 v.

Annotation: This checklist is a companion to Summary of Infection Prevention Practices in Dental Settings: Basic Expectations for Safe Care. The checklist is divided into two categories: (1) policies and practices and (2) direct observation of personnel and patient-care practices. Each category is broken into subcategories, and each subcategory includes checkboxes to indicate whether an assessment has been done and space to record notes and areas for improvement.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Division of Oral Health, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: cdcinfo@cdc.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/OralHealth Available from the website.

Keywords: Clinic administration, Disease prevention, Health facilities, Health service delivery, Infection control, Injury prevention, Mobile applications, Oral health, Patient care, Policy development, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Records management, Safety

Byrne J. 2017. Perinatal and infant oral health community of practice: Quality improvement toolkit. Sacramento, CA: California Department of Public Health, Oral Health Program, multiple items. (Version 3: April 10, 2017)

Annotation: [in process]

Contact: California Department of Public Health, Oral Health Program, MS Code 8305, P.O. Box 997377, MS 0500, Sacramento, CA 95899-7377, Telephone: (916) 558-1784 E-mail: mchinet@cdph.ca.gov Web Site: https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Programs/CCDPHP/DCDIC/CDCB/Pages/OralHealthProgram/OralHealthProgram.aspx

Keywords: Organizational change, Data collection, Forms, Infant health, Infants, Oral health, Perinatal health, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Program improvement, Qualitative evaluation, Quality assurance, Quantitative evaluation, Records management

National Academy for State Health Policy. 2015. Bridging medical and oral health care: Case studies. Portland, ME: National Academy for State Health Policy, 2 v.

Annotation: These resources comprise two case studies of initiatives to train health professionals to assess oral health conditions, implement an integrated medical and dental electronic record system, and incorporate oral health into system reforms. Links to resources that describe technological, financial, and educational approaches to bridging oral health and the health care system are included.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: info@nashp.org Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Assessment, Case studies, Electronic communications, Health care reform, Interdisciplinary approach, Medical records, Oral health, Records management, Resources for professionals, Service integration, Systems development, Training

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. 2014. Vaccine storage and handling toolkit. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 109 pp.

Annotation: This toolkit describes best practices for vaccine storage and handling. Topics include the vaccine cold chain; storage and handling plans; staff and training; storage and temperature monitoring equipment, troubleshooting; inventory management; and vaccine deliveries, transport, preparation, and disposal. Additional resources such as a poster, worksheets, a checklist, a sample stock record and tally sheet, shipping labels, and manufacturer/distributor contact information are included.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: cdcinfo@cdc.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Manuals, Planning, Records management, Risk management, Training, Vaccines

United States Breastfeeding Committee. 2014. Best practices guide for implementation of newborn exclusive breast milk feeding in electronic health records. Washington, DC: United States Breastfeeding Committee, 40 pp.

Annotation: This guide provides an overview of the factors, programs, and regulations supporting exclusive breast milk feeding data documentation, measurement, and reporting in electronic health records (EHRs) during the birth of a newborn. The guide is designed for software designers, analysts, developers, and implementers, as well as clinicians implementing standards-based EHRs. Topics include the health potential of exclusive breast milk feeding; regulations driving quality measurement using health information technology; implementation guidance including scope, assumptions, and key concepts; breast milk feeding reporting and/or designation programs; future areas of development; and breast milk and breastfeeding resources.

Contact: United States Breastfeeding Committee, 2025 M Street, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 367-1132 Fax: (202) 367-2132 E-mail: office@usbreastfeeding.org Web Site: http://www.usbreastfeeding.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Data collection, Electronic communications, Measures, Medical records, Model programs, Quality assurance, Recordkeeping, Records management, Resources for professionals, Standards, Technology transfer

Daniel S, Malvin J, Jasik CB, Brindis CD. 2014. Sensitive health care services in the era of electronic health records: Challenges and opportunities in protecting confidentiality for adolescents and young adults. San Francisco, CA: University of California, San Francisco, Philip R. Lee Institute for Health Policy Studies, 8 pp.

Annotation: This brief identifies key issues affecting access to sensitive services for young people in California under health reform, summarizes current federal and state confidentiality guidelines with special attention to the role of electronic health records (EHR), and highlights EHR challenges and opportunities to protect confidentiality while providing sensitive services.

Contact: University of California, San Francisco, Philip R. Lee Institute for Health Policy Studies, 513 Parnassus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94143-0410, Telephone: (415) 476-5255 Web Site: http://healthpolicy.ucsf.edu Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, California, Confidentiality, Consumer protection, Guidelines, Health care reform, Medical records management, Policy development, Young adults

From the First Tooth. 2014. From the First Tooth practice questionnaire. Portland, ME: From the First Tooth, 2 pp. (From the First Tooth)

Annotation: This practice observation form is designed for use by health clinic staff to help them assess clinic workflow and documentation processes. Questions are divided into the following categories: pre-visit, role, tasks, documentation, education, and post-visit/referral. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: From the First Tooth / Before the First Tooth, c/o MaineHealth, 110 Free Street, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 662-6296 E-mail: info@fromthefirsttooth.org Contact E-mail: COTES4@mainehealth.org Web Site: http://www.fromthefirsttooth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Clinic administration, Clinics, Forms, Oral health, Patient care management, Personnel, Program improvement, Program management, Quality assurance, Records management, Referrals, Role

American Academy of Pediatrics, Section on Oral Health. 2013. Key elements to incorporate oral health in the pediatric electronic health record. Elk Grove Village, IL: American Academy of Pediatrics, Section on Oral Health, 2 pp.

Annotation: This chart lists required oral-health-risk-assessment items as well as other elements for inclusion in pediatric electronic health records. Items include risk assessment for dental caries and information on referral, fluoride, and dental insurance status. Additional elements on environmental, biological, psychosocial, and pragmatic issues are suggested. Resources on oral health education, access to care, and preventive services are also provided.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, Children's Oral Health Initiative, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (866) 843-2271 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4779 E-mail: oralhealth@aap.org Web Site: https://www.aap.org/en-us/advocacy-and-policy/aap-health-initiatives/Oral-Health/Pages/Oral-Health.aspx Available from the website.

Keywords: Medical records, Oral health, Patient care management, Pediatrics, Screening

Casnoff CA, Rosenberger L, Kwon N, Scherer H. 2011. Quality oral health care in Medicaid through health IT: Final report. Bethesda, MD: NORC at the University of Chicago; Rockville, MD: Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 40 pp.

Annotation: This report explores the potential for health information technology (health IT) to increase access to oral health care among vulnerable populations. Specifically, the authors report on whether and how health IT and the Medicaid electronic health record incentive program can be used as tools to improve access to high-quality oral health care for children enrolled in Medicaid and the Children’s Health Insurance Program. The appendix contains a background report that synthesizes the literature and provides foundational context.

Contact: NORC at the University of Chicago, 4350 East West Highway, Eighth Floor, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (301) 634-9300 Fax: (301) 634-9301 Web Site: http://www.norc.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Children, Children's Health Insurance Program, Medicaid, Oral health, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Records management, Technology

Barzel R, Holt K, Siegal M. 2008. Clinical operations for safety net dental clinics. Washington, DC: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, 1 v.

Annotation: This curriculum is designed to help safety net dental clinic staff improve efficiency and quality of care, meet patients' needs, and set up an infrastructure that is conducive to these activities. The series of six modules provide detailed guidelines for developing a policies and procedures manual, developing a staff handbook, and recruiting and retaining staff. The modules also present information on the importance of health records, including their vital role in malpractice cases, and on how to efficiently purchase, stock, and track supplies. In addition, the modules contain detailed information on effective appointment scheduling and on how to handle hazardous substances and plan for emergencies in the clinic setting. The modules include both national information and information specific to Ohio.

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9771 E-mail: OHRCinfo@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Curricula, Dental clinics, Distance education, Fees and charges, Medical records, Medical records management, Ohio, Oral health, Patient care management, Personnel, Work force

Rosenthal M. 2006–. Dr. Rosenthal's toolkit: Clinical and management tools for effective school-based dental programs. Washington, DC: The Center for Health and Health Care in Schools,

Annotation: This resource contains materials for school-based health center leaders to use in organizing and managing a successful oral health practice. Topics include appointment procedures, clinical processes and protocols, billing and data collection, problem-oriented dental records, dental quality assurance, and management information systems. Various forms, slips, checklists, and reviews are provided.

Contact: Center for Health and Health Care in Schools, George Washington University Milken Institute School of Public Health, 2175 K Street, N.W., Suite 200, Room 213, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 994-4895 E-mail: chhcs@gwu.edu Web Site: http://www.healthinschools.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Children, Dental education, Dentistry, Oral health, Records management, Resources for professionals, School based programs

Markus A, Rosenbaum S, Stewart A, Cox M. 2005. How medical claims simplification can impede delivery of child developmental services. New York, NY: Commonwealth Fund, 42 pp.

Annotation: This report examines the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 (HIPPA) administrative standardization and the process of modifying the standardized codes for children with Medicaid coverage found to be at-risk for developmental problems. Implications of HIPAA standardization for payment of Medicaid-covered early childhood preventive and developmental services are assessed, drawing on findings from a 50-state, point-in-time review of readily available state HIPAA compliance documents conducted in December 2004. Topics include a early child health care; insurance coverage; claims reimbursement; a definition of preventive and developmental services; a review of the relationship between coverage, payment, and quality of care; reimbursement; HIPAA; and a review of the study methodology. Examples from several states are used to illustrate reductions or potential reductions in coverage, maintenance of similar levels of coverage, and expansions in coverage. Notes and and an appendix containing a coding taxonomy conclude the report.

Contact: Commonwealth Fund, One East 75th Street, New York, NY 10021, Telephone: (212) 606-3800 Fax: (212) 606-3500 E-mail: info@cmwf.org Web Site: http://www.commonwealthfund.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child development services, Child health, Confidentiality, Health services delivery, Medicaid, Medical records, Records management, Reimbursement

U. S. General Accounting Office. 2002. Information management: Challenges in managing and preserving electronic records. Washington, DC: U.S. General Accounting Office, 83 pp.

Annotation: This report reviews the National Archives and Records Administration's (NARA) response to the difficulties of managing, preserving, and providing access to federal agencies' electronic records. Also reviewed are NARA's efforts to acquire an advanced electronic records archiving system, which will be based on new technologies that are still the subject of research. The report includes the following sections: results in brief; conclusions; recommendations for executive action; agency comments, and a glossary. The appendices provide information on the report's objectives, scope, and methodology; an evaluation of approaches to archiving electronic records; a review of agencies managing large volumes of important electronic records; and comments from NARA.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: contact@gao.gov Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO-02-586.

Keywords: Electronic publications, Federal agencies, Government records, Information systems, Process evaluation, Records management

Donaldson MS, Lohr KN, eds., and National Academy of Sciences, Institute of Medicine, Division of Health Care Services, Committee on Regional Health Data Networks. 1994. Health data in the information age: Use, disclosure, and privacy. Washington, DC: National Academy Press, 257 pp.

Annotation: This book reviews the exchange of medical records in the computer era and considers issues such as the quality of the data exchanged in information systems and the privacy of patient records. Health data organizations (HDOs) are becoming more common with an increased ability to access and share these records. This book provides an overview of HDOs, defines key concepts, and considers what types of data should be collected and how they should be stored and shared. It suggests guidelines for collecting and using data about health providers and practitioners, and it reviews issues relating to the privacy, confidentiality, and security of personal data.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Contact Phone: (800) 624-6242 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: customer_service@nap.edu Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 0-309-04885-4.

Keywords: Confidentiality, Information systems, Medical records, Records management

Golden G. 1990. The Delta Project: A Model Program Designed to Promote Regional Otologic Health Care [Final report]. Memphis, TN: University of Tennessee at Memphis, 32 pp.

Annotation: This goal of this project was to develop a model referral network and regionalized health care delivery system for children at high risk for hearing, speech, and language disorders resulting from otologic diseases. Project objectives were to: (1) Develop staff in the tri-State area of Arkansas, Mississippi, and Tennessee and create and maintain a tri-State referral network; (2) identify contributing factors which inhibit health care delivery to infants and children with otologic problems who live among rural, remote, economically disadvantaged, and culturally diverse population groups; (3) remove barriers to care for infants and children with otologic health care problems; and (4) identify infants and children with hearing disorders living among rural and remote, economically disadvantaged, and culturally diverse population groups. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, U.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-161917.

Keywords: Computerized Medial Records, Audiology, Case Management, Computerized Medical Billing, Computers, Coordination of Health Care, Deaf, Hearing Disorders, Indigent Patients, Indigent Patients, Language Disorders, Low income groups, Medicaid, Otology, Regionalized Care, Rural Population, Speech Disorders

U.S. Health Services and Mental Health Administration, Maternal and Child Health Service, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology. 1970. Recommendations and participant lists of the National Conference of Maternity and Infant Care Projects, January 5, 6, 7, 1970, Washington, D.C.. [Rockville, MD]: Maternal and Child Health Service, U.S. Department of Health, Education, 42 pp.

Annotation: These proceedings discuss Maternity and Infant Care projects from the standpoint of administrative structure and responsibility, professional health and community health personnel, records and reporting, program evaluation, responsibilities of departments of obstetrics and pediatrics to community and health departments, delivery of prenatal and dental services, patient education delivery, family planning, obstetric anesthesia, fetal intensive care, neonatal intensive care, relationships between obstetrics and pediatrics, pediatric responsibility for the at-risk and non at-risk infant, and pregnant adolescents. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Maternity and Infant Care Projects, Anesthesia, Conferences, Dental care, Family planning, Federal MCH programs, High risk infants, Infant care, Infants, Medical personnel, Medical records, Neonatal intensive care, Obstetrical care, Obstetrics, Patient education, Pediatrics, Pregnant adolescents, Prenatal care, Professional personnel, Program evaluation, Program management

   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.