Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This snapshot provides information on how states can increase access to oral health care by supporting, strengthening, and expanding their oral health workforce. The snapshot presents five things to know about access to oral health care and the oral health workforce. It also presents opportunities for states to consider to strengthen their oral health workforce.

Contact: National Conference of State Legislatures, 7700 East First Place, Denver, CO 80230, Telephone: (303) 364-7700 Fax: (303) 364-7800 Web Site: http://www.ncsl.org

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Low income groups, Oral health, Racial and ethnic factors, State information, Work force

Annotation: This issue brief presents the Racial Equity and Policy (REAP) framework for systematically assessing health policy through the lens of racial equity. The framework considers three themes: disproportionality, decentralization, and voice.

Contact: Commonwealth Fund, One East 75th Street, New York, NY 10021, Telephone: (212) 606-3800 Fax: (212) 606-3500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.commonwealthfund.org

• Link

Keywords: Ethnic groups, Health care disparities, Health status disparities, Measures, Medicaid, Race, Racial groups

Annotation: This report provides information from a study that examined Arizona Health Care Cost Containment System health claims data to determine patterns of use of well-child medical visits and dental services in Arizona children enrolled in Medicaid from April 2016 to March 2020. The report introduces the issue and discusses methods. Results are presented on the following topics: demographic data of the study sample, days since the last dental or well child visit benefit was used, distance traveled to health care visit, procedure groupings by age group, access points to dental care by race, and a care-utilization model with presence of 1+ claims as the outcome variable.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Age factors, Arizona, Health insurance, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Racial factors, State information, Statistical data

Annotation: The annual National Healthcare Quality and Disparities Report summarizes the status of health and healthcare delivery in the United States. The 2022 version reports on more than 440 measures of quality and examines data in three sections: Portrait of American Healthcare; Special Emphasis Topics (maternal health, child and adolescent mental health, substance use disorders, oral health); Quality and Disparities Tables.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent mental health, Child health, Child mental health, Ethnic groups, Health care disparities, Health status disparities, Low income groups, Maternal health, Measures, Minority groups, Policy development, Poverty, Racial factors, Social factors, Socioeconomic factors, Socioeconomic status

Annotation: This tool was designed to help stakeholders analyze policies and focus oral-health-agenda setting on the principles of equity and community engagement. The tool includes (1) questions, discussion prompts, and resources to inform policy-agenda setting; (2) questions focused on how populations and marginalized groups will be affected by a policy, how inequities might be addressed, and how advocacy efforts can follow the lead of impacted populations and groups; (3) links to additional policy analysis tools; and (4) a follow-up survey.

Contact: Community Catalyst, Dental Access Project, 30 Winter Street, 10th Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 338-6035 Fax: (617) 451-5838 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://communitycatalyst.org/work/projects/dental-access-project/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: , Advocacy, Ethnic factors, Low income groups, Oral health, Public policy, Racial factors

Annotation: This paper affirms the National WIC Association’s support of the Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants and Children’s (WIC’s) commitment to promote oral health to program participants. Topics include oral health in young children, oral health in women, and racial and ethnic disparities in oral health. For each topic, ways that WIC staff can help are presented. Promoting oral health in the WIC program is also discussed.

Contact: National WIC Association, 2001 S Street, N.W., Suite 580, Washington, DC 20009, Telephone: (202) 232-5492 Fax: (202) 387-5281 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nwica.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Ethnic factors, Federal programs, Health promotion, Infant health, Low income groups, Nutrition programs, Oral health, Racial factors, Women', Young children, s health

Annotation: This tool can be used by all health care stake holders to achieve health equity for racial and ethnic minorities, people with disabilities, sexual and gender minorities, individuals with limited English proficiency, and rural populations. The worksheet has five steps: identify health disparities and priority populations, define goals, establish health equity strategy, determine needs to implement strategy, monitor and evaluate progress.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Discrimination, Ethnic groups, Health care disparities, Health status disparities, Measures, Minority groups, Program evaluation, Race, Racial groups, Rural populations

Annotation: This report evaluates health equity across race and ethnicity, both within and between states, to demonstrate how health systems perform for Black, white, Latinx/Hispanic, American Indian/Alaska Native (AIAN), and Asian American, Native Hawaiian, and Pacific Islander (AANHPI) populations. The report displays data using multiple charts and figures; the data can also be displayed by individual race/ethnic group on its own. The report also recommends policy changes to address disparities in access to health care.

Contact: Commonwealth Fund, One East 75th Street, New York, NY 10021, Telephone: (212) 606-3800 Fax: (212) 606-3500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.commonwealthfund.org

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Ethnic groups, Health care disparities, Health status disparities, Legislation, Measures, Policy development, Race, Racial groups, State programs

Annotation: This document provides background on the annual National Healthcare Quality and Disparities Report (NHQDR) and modifications that have occurred over time. This Introduction and Methods document also includes an overview of the methods used to generate estimates, measure trends, and examine disparities. The full report tracks over 200 healthcare process, outcome, and access measures, covering a wide variety of conditions and settings. Most of the analyses presented in the full report include data from 2000-2002 to 2013-2019.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Health care disparities, Health status disparities, Low income groups, Measures, Minority groups, Policy development, Poverty, Racial factors, Social factors, Socioeconomic factors, Socioeconomic status

Annotation: This report summarizes the status of health and healthcare delivery in the United States. The 2021 report is organized in sections that provide an overview of the healthcare system and summarize access, quality, and disparity measures. In addition, the Quality and Disparity sections are divided into domain-specific chapters that highlight key healthcare trends or gaps in care. Appendixes include a list of data sources, definitions and abbreviations, and measures used in summary maps. The full report tracks over 200 healthcare process, outcome, and access measures, covering a wide variety of conditions and settings. Most of the analyses presented in the full report include data from 2000-2002 to 2013-2019.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Ethnic groups, Health care disparities, Health status disparities, Low income groups, Measures, Minority groups, Policy development, Poverty, Racial factors, Social factors, Socioeconomic factors, Socioeconomic status

Annotation: This infographic provides information about benefits of and barriers to receiving preventive dental visits for children and adolescents. It emphasizes the importance of these visits to reduce oral health problems and promote overall health throughout life. It discusses integration of oral health care into primary care, the cost savings that early intervention can confer, and disparities in oral health status and in access to oral health services. The infographic is available in English and in Spanish. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Access to health care, Early intervention, Income factors, Low income groups, Medicaid, Non English language materials, Oral health, Prevention, Racial factors, Service integration, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This tool provides steps for advancing racial equity and inclusion. The tool uses a grid to guide teams through questions and helps leaders develop and then implement strategies that can close equity gaps.

Contact: Annie E. Casey Foundation, 701 Saint Paul Street, Baltimore, MD 21202, Telephone: (410) 547-6600 Fax: (410) 547-6624 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aecf.org

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Ethnic groups, Legislation, Measures, Policy development, Race, Racial groups

Annotation: This brief presents resources for finding care, services and support and websites about health and health care for all families. Resources about the health of specific population groups are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, American Indians, Barriers, Bibliographies, Blacks, Cultural barriers, Electronic publications, Ethnic factors, Families, Health care disparities, Health status disparities, Hispanic Americans, Hotlines, Minority groups, Racial factors, Women

Annotation: This case study examines the role of culture in informing and enhancing efforts to provide equity for children of color. Readers will learn how organizations are applying evidence-based practices in culturally relevant ways and how local programs are adopting nontraditional approaches to successfully serve communities of color. Case studies of successful programs include Strong African American Families, an evidence-based program that helps rural African American families strengthen family relationships, improve parenting skills, and develop youth competencies, and Con Mi Madre, which helps young Latinas and their mothers achieve goals for higher education.

Contact: Annie E. Casey Foundation, 701 Saint Paul Street, Baltimore, MD 21202, Telephone: (410) 547-6600 Fax: (410) 547-6624 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aecf.org

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Children, Education, Ethnic groups, Evidence-based programs, Family support, Infants, Measures, Neighborhoods, Policy development, Race, Racial groups, Work force, Young children, Youth

Annotation: This report highlights five demographic trends that illustrate challenges and opportunities for children. Topics include a declining federal investment in children, a growing difference between the share of the population younger than 18 that is a racial or ethnic minority compared to those who are 65 and older, a growing child population in geographic regions with the poorest outcomes in child well-being, growth in minority voters who are highly supportive of children's programs, and changing gender roles and growing support among younger men for children's issues.

Contact: First Focus, 1400 Eye Street, N.W., Suite 650, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 657-0670 Fax: (202) 657-0671 Web Site: http://www.firstfocus.net Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Age factors, Barriers, Child health, Children, Equal opportunities, Federal aid, Geographic factors, Health disparities, Minority groups, Population growth, Racial factors, Role, Trends

Annotation: This report presents the results of a statewide oral health screening of students in third and sixth grades in public elementary and middle schools in Kentucky and compares them to earlier results. Topics include percentages of students in need of early or urgent oral health care, those with untreated tooth decay, and those with and without dental sealants by race and ethnicity. Additional topics include percentages of students eligible for free or reduced-price school lunch who have experienced a toothache or tooth decay and those who visited the dentist in the past year.

Contact: Kentucky Youth Advocates, 11001 Bluegrass Parkway, Suite 100, Jeffersontown, KY 40299, Telephone: (502) 895-9767 Secondary Telephone: (888) 825-5592 Fax: (502) 895-8225 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.kyyouth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Ethnic groups, Kentucky, Low income groups, Oral health, Racial factors, Screening, State surveys, Statistical data, Trends

Annotation: This case study discusses using racial equity assessment tools to measure the impact of proposed legislation on populations of color. The document looks at how two cities, Minneapolis and Seattle, used Racial Equity Impact Assessment (REIA) tools to promote equity for communities of color. In addition, this report includes resources to help foster the use of REIA tools.

Contact: Annie E. Casey Foundation, 701 Saint Paul Street, Baltimore, MD 21202, Telephone: (410) 547-6600 Fax: (410) 547-6624 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aecf.org

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Ethnic groups, Legislation, Measures, Neighborhoods, Policy development, Race, Racial groups

Annotation: This publication features an inside look at how two organizations, the W. Haywood Burns Institute and the Kirwan Institute for the Study of Race and Social Policy, use disaggregated data on race and ethnicity to improve the lives of children and communities of color. The report includes a section on lessons learned, which provides readers with action steps and resources for using data on race to advocate for impacted communities.

Contact: Annie E. Casey Foundation, 701 Saint Paul Street, Baltimore, MD 21202, Telephone: (410) 547-6600 Fax: (410) 547-6624 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aecf.org

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Communities, Data, Data analysis, Ethnic groups, Legislation, Measures, Neighborhoods, Policy development, Race, Racial groups

Annotation: The Government Alliance on Race and Equity (GARE) is a national network of government working to achieve racial equity and advance opportunities for all. This toolkit is designed to help local governments and community-based organizations integrate considerations of racial equity into all aspects of decision-making, including policies, practices, programs, and budgets. The toolkit provides examples of racial equity tools used in Seattle, Multnomah County in Oregon, and Madison, Wisconsin.

Contact: Government Alliance on Race and Equity, Race Forward, 145 East 57th Street, 4th Floor, New York, NY 10022, Telephone: 212-513-7925 Fax: 212-513-1367 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.racialequityalliance.org/

• PDF

Keywords: Community programs, Disparities, Ethnic groups, Measures, Policy development, Race, Racial groups, State programs

Annotation: This document for stakeholders in the private, public, academic, or non-profit sectors outlines a strategic plan to address the infant mortality problem in Minnesota, particularly persistent racial and ethnic disparities in poor birth outcomes. Contents include background and key findings on the sources of long-standing disparities in infant mortality, particularly among American Indians and African Americans, and perspectives on what changes could be made in systems, policies, and practices to improve birth outcomes. Additional contents include broad recommendations to further reduce infant mortality in the state; vision, goals, and objectives; and a call to action.

Contact: Minnesota Department of Health, Maternal and Child Health Section, P.O. Box 64882, St. Paul, MN 55164-0882, Telephone: (651) 201-3760 Fax: (651) 201-3590 Web Site: http://www.health.state.mn.us/divs/cfh/program/mch/index.cfm Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: American Indians, Barriers, Blacks, Community action, Ethnic groups, Health care disparities, Infant mortality, Minnesota, Racial discrimination, Statewide planning, Strategic plans