Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report provides information about oral health status and dental visits among children in grades K through 12 and pregnant women in North Dakota. Topics include students in kindergarten, students in third grade, students in grades through 12 participating in SEALIND, medical-dental integration in a family medical center, and pregnancy.

Contact: North Dakota Department of Health and Human Services, 600 East Boulevard Avenue, Bismarck, ND 58505, Telephone: (701) 328-2372 Fax: (701) 328-4727 Web Site: https://www.hhs.nd.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Health care utilization, North Dakota, Oral health, Pregnant women, Racial factors, School health, School-age children, Service integration, State information, State programs, Toothbrushing

Annotation: This fact sheet for consumers provides information about oral health among pregnant women in Texas. Data presented is from the Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System (PRAMS). The fact sheet explains why taking care of teeth and gums during pregnancy is safe and important. It also provides the percentage of pregnant women in the state who did not visit a dentist during pregnancy because the did not think it was safe to do so; the percentage who had a dental cleaning during pregnancy; and the likelihood of receiving a dental cleaning for white, black and Hispanic pregnant women. The fact sheet is written in simple language.

Contact: Texas Department of State Health Services, 1100 West 49th Street, Austin, TX 78756, Telephone: (512) 458-7111 Secondary Telephone: (512) 458-7708 Fax: (512) 458-7750 Web Site: http://www.dshs.state.tx.us Available from the website. Document Number: OHIP-112.

• PDF

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Data, Health care utilization, Oral health, Pregnant women, Racial factors, Safety, State information, Texas

Annotation: This annual report applies a model of health to rank states across multiple measures related to the health and well-being of women of reproductive age, infants, and children. The 2023 report highlights several trends in mortality among women of reproductive age and children, including rising rates of maternal mortality, drug deaths among women and injury deaths among women and children. The 2023 report also highlights several changes that occurred during the COVID-19 pandemic, including a a drop in the percentage of 3- and 4-year-olds enrolled in early childhood education and decrease in the prevalence of electronic vapor product use among high- school students.

Contact: United Health Foundation, 9900 Bren Road East, Minnetonka, MN 55343, Telephone: (952) 936-3068 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.unitedhealthfoundation.org Available from the website.

• 2023 Full Report
• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Child health, Environmental influences, Health behavior, Health care disparities, Health disparities, Health status, Infant health, Measures, Public policy, Racial factors, Trends, Women', s health

Annotation: This public health spotlight describes state and local legislative trends to incorporate health equity and antiracism policies; collect health disparity data; and improve rural healthcare access.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org

• PDF

Keywords: Health equity, Policy development, Public health, Racial factors, Racism, State legislation, Trends

Annotation: This website provides tools for framing and understanding racial and ethnic health disparities; conversation starters and hidden bias tests; free online trainings; information databases; reports on health disparities in North Carolina; and examples of promising interventions aimed at closing the gap in health disparities.

Contact: University of North Carolina , Collaborative for Maternal and Infant Health , Room 216 MacNider, Campus Box 7181, Charep Hill, NC 27599-7181, E-mail: [email protected].

• Link

Keywords: Ethnic factors, Health care disparities, Health equity, Infant mortality, Maternal health, Perinatal care, Racial factors

Annotation: This snapshot provides information on how states can increase access to oral health care by supporting, strengthening, and expanding their oral health workforce. The snapshot presents five things to know about access to oral health care and the oral health workforce. It also presents opportunities for states to consider to strengthen their oral health workforce.

Contact: National Conference of State Legislatures, 7700 East First Place, Denver, CO 80230, Telephone: (303) 364-7700 Fax: (303) 364-7800 Web Site: http://www.ncsl.org

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Low income groups, Oral health, Racial and ethnic factors, State information, Work force

Annotation: This brief provides information on oral hygiene home care practices in the United States. It presents the results of a survey of adults conducted to learn about oral hygiene habits, lifestyle choices, and socioeconomic factors that may affect oral health. The brief discusses brushing and flossing frequency; influences of food- and beverage-related behaviors and tobacco use on oral hygiene practices at home; and the influence of dental insurance type on brushing and flossing behaviors. Statistical information is presented according to age group, gender, and race and ethnicity.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adult health, Age factors, Dental insurance, Ethnic factors, Gender, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Racial factors, Socioeconomic factors, Statistical data, Surveys, Tobacco use

Annotation: This electronic resource defines the term "equity" and provides links to the following tools to promote and advance health equity in underserved communities: (1) Equity assessment tip sheet; (2) In-depth equity assessment guide; (3) Guide to advancing equity through quantitative analysis; (4) Guide on advancing equity by incorporating intersectionality in research and analysis; (5) Tips on equitable communication; (6) Tips on engaging diverse groups of external partners; and 7) Practices for meaningfully engaging people with lived experience. The target audience includes state and local governments, tribal governments, and other private or nonprofit organizations focused on programs and policies relating to health and human services.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation, Room 415F, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (202) 690-6445 Secondary Telephone: (202) 690-7858 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://aspe.hhs.gov/

• Link

Keywords: Assessment, Ethnic factors, Evaluation, Facilitated communication , Health equity, Program planning, Racial factors, Underserved communities

Annotation: This policy statement provides information on social determinants of health (SDoH) and what can be done to improve oral health equity. It discusses the problem of health disparities and inequities and presents steps toward a solution, including identifying SDoH in a community, mapping available community resources and mobilizing them through partnerships, selecting approaches for action, and evaluating implementation and impact. A description of the Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors’ support for strategies to address SDoH is included.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Communities, Community health, Economic factors, Ethnic factors, Oral health, Oral health equity, Racial factors, Social factors

Annotation: This report presents information about the Dietary Guidelines for Americans and offers information about race and culture as they relate to the guidelines. Topic include a history of the guidelines, the guidelines' purpose, the development process, addressing claims of racism within the guidelines, cultural awareness within the guidelines, and adapting recommendations within the guidelines to various cultural contexts.

Contact: Association of State Public Health Nutritionists, P.O. Box 37094, Tucscon, AZ 85740-7094, Telephone: (814) 255-2829 Secondary Telephone: Fax: Web Site: http://www.asphn.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Cultural factors, Guidelines, Nutrition, Racial factors, Racism

Annotation: This issue brief provides analysis of racial and ethnic disparities across selected measures of maternal and infant health, discusses the factors that drive these disparities, and provides an overview of recent efforts to address them. Statistics from federal data sets are included.

Contact: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 2400 Sand Hill Road, Menlo Park, CA 94025, Telephone: (650) 854-9400 Secondary Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (650) 854-4800 Web Site: http://www.kff.org

• Link

Keywords: Barriers, Access to health care, Alaska natives, Blacks, Data, Ethnic factors, Health equity, Native Americans, Racial factors, Statistical analysis

Annotation: This road map outlines how data can be used as a tool to help end structural racism. It consists of a collection of guiding questions, tools, and resources to assist programs in taking concrete steps to better identify, understand, and act to address racial inequities. The road map contains seven sections: (1) Looking at health issues with a focus on the impact of racism; (2) Determining if a program is ready to use data to address racism; (3) Understanding what the data says about differences in health outcomes by race and ethnicity; (4) Using other sources of data to uncover causes of the differences; (5) Making plans to act on differences that are unjust or avoidable; (6) Presenting data in ways that help people make sense of the numbers; and (7) Moving from data to action.

Contact: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Office of Health Equity, 250 Washington St., 5th Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 624-5590 Web Site: https://www.mass.gov/orgs/office-of-health-equity

• Link
• Overview

Keywords: Data, Data analysis, Data collection, Data sources, Ethnic factors, Health equity, Outcome evaluation, Racial factors, Racism, State initiatives

Annotation: This report presents a framework intended to guide the activities of individuals and organizations in Colorado in the pursuit of advancing oral health equity in the state. The report presents background on the framework and on the oral health status of Colorado residents. It discusses factors related to oral health inequities, efforts to improve oral health in Colorado, and development of the framework. The four framework goals are also presented, along with next steps.

Contact: Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment, 4300 Cherry Creek Drive, South, Denver, CO 80246, Telephone: (303) 692-2000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 886-7689 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://cdphe.colorado.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Colorado, Dental caries, Ethnic factors, Socioeconomic factors, Oral health, Oral health equity, Racial factors, State information

Annotation: This report provides results from an assessment conducted to gather information on the status of oral health of children in kindergarten in North Carolina, by region and race/ethnicity. The report comprises charts with information on the percentage of children who received oral health screenings, with treated and untreated tooth decay, who have never had a cavity or filling, who have at least one dental sealant on a permanent molar tooth, and who have urgent oral health care needs.

Contact: North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health, Oral Health Section, 2001 Mail Service Center, 5505 Six Forks Road, Raleigh, NC 27699-2001, Telephone: (919) 855-4800 Fax: (919) 870-4805 Web Site: https://www.dph.ncdhhs.gov/oral-health Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Data, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Geographic factors, Health screenings, North Carolina, Oral health, Racial factors, State information

Annotation: This report provides data for Rhode Island public middle and high school students (grades 6–12) on self-reported oral health concerns and receipt of dental care. Data is from the 2021 Rhode Island Youth Risk Behavior Survey. Survey questions are presented. Topics include students who teeth or mouth has been sore once or more during the past 12 months, students who were self-conscious or embarrassed because of their teeth or mouth during the past 12 months, and students who visited a dentist during the past 12 months. Results are stratified by sex, age group, race/ethnicity, and current tobacco use.

Contact: Rhode Island Department of Health, Oral Health Program, 3 Capitol Hill, Providence, RI 02908, Telephone: (401) 222-5960 Fax: (401) 222-4415 Web Site: http://www.health.ri.gov/programs/oralhealth/index.php Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Age factors, Data, Dental caries, Ethnic factors, Health care utilization, Oral health, Oral health equity, Racial factors, Rhode Island, State information, Surveys, Tobacco use

Annotation: This report provides information on the oral health of children in Rhode Island. Data and analysis are based on results fromf a 2021–2022 statewide oral health basic screening survey and from 2019–2020 and 2022–2022 statewide oral health surveys of children in kindergarten and third grade enrolled in Rhode Island’s public elementary schools, both conducted by the Rhode Island Department of Health’s Oral Health Program. The report describes survey methods and presents results. Other topics include oral health outcomes (tooth decay, untreated decay, dental sealants among children in third grade, rampant decay, and early or urgent oral health care), the impact of race/ethnicity and socioeconomic status on oral health, and a comparison of results to results from a 2013–2014 survey on children in third grade.

Contact: Rhode Island Department of Health, Oral Health Program, 3 Capitol Hill, Providence, RI 02908, Telephone: (401) 222-5960 Fax: (401) 222-4415 Web Site: http://www.health.ri.gov/programs/oralhealth/index.php Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Data, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Ethnic factors, Oral health, Racial factors, Rhode Island, School age children, State information, Surveys

Annotation: This brief provides information about the role of oral health in maternal mortality and preterm birth. It includes statistics on the number pregnant women who died of pregnancy-related causes and on the percentage of infants born prematurely in 2019 and in 2020. Background information on both issues is presented, and comparisons by race and ethnicity and educational attainment are offered.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Educational factors, Ethnic factors, Oral health, Pregnancy outcome, Pregnant women, Preterm birth, Racial factors

Annotation: This report provides information from a study that examined Arizona Health Care Cost Containment System health claims data to determine patterns of use of well-child medical visits and dental services in Arizona children enrolled in Medicaid from April 2016 to March 2020. The report introduces the issue and discusses methods. Results are presented on the following topics: demographic data of the study sample, days since the last dental or well child visit benefit was used, distance traveled to health care visit, procedure groupings by age group, access points to dental care by race, and a care-utilization model with presence of 1+ claims as the outcome variable.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Age factors, Arizona, Health insurance, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Racial factors, State information, Statistical data

Annotation: This report examines racial and ethnic inequities in children's access to developmental services through California's Department of Developmental Services (DDS). It quantifies and evaluates inequities in service access and expenditures and examines the effectiveness of the set of measures developed by DDS to monitor and prevent inequities related to race, culture, and primary language spoken. A summary of findings is provided along with recommendations for legislative improvements that could help eliminate disparities to services for children with developmental disabilities in the state of California.

Contact: Public Counsel , 610 South Ardmore Avenue , Los Angeles, CA 90005, Telephone: (213) 385-2977 Fax: (213) 385-9089 Web Site: https://publiccounsel.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, California, Children with developmental disabilities, Cultural factors, Ethnic factors, Racial factors, State legislation

Annotation: This report to Congress describes 1) available federal data and what it reveals about maternal and neonatal outcomes and disparities during the COVID-19 pandemic, and 2) efforts by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) during the pandemic to address maternal health outcomes and disparities. The data is from CDC’s National Center for Health Statistics’ (NCHS) National Vital Statistics System and its Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System, a state-level surveillance system of survey-based data on maternal behaviors, attitudes, and experiences before, during, and shortly after pregnancy.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Data, Ethnic factors, Federal initiatives , Infectious diseases, Low birthweight, Maternal health, Maternal mortality, Neonatal morbidity, Prenancy complications, Preterm birth, Racial factors, Statistics, Virus diseases