Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (444 total).

National Quality Measures Clearinghouse. n.d.. Tutorials on quality measures. Rockville, MD: National Quality Measures Clearinghouse, multiple items.

Annotation: These tutorials provide an introduction to the field of quality measurement and how best to use resources available from the National Quality Measures Clearinghouse. Topics include quality care measures related to health care delivery and to population health; desired attributes, uses, selection, and validity of clinical quality measures; and finding care-coordination measures.

Contact: National Quality Measures Clearinghouse , Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality , 540 Gaither Road, Suite 2000 , Rockville, MD 20850, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.qualitymeasures.ahrq.gov/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Health care delivery, Measures, Public health, Quality assurance, Service coordination, Training

Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs. n.d.. Adolescent health system capacity assessment tool. Washington, DC: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 98 pp.

National Network of Public Health Institutes. n.d.. Quality improvement. New Orleans, LA: National Network of Public Health Institutes,

Annotation: This toolkit features a variety of resources and tools -- including presentations, samples, and guides -- on the topic of quality improvement (QI). The items are grouped into the following categories: Introduction to QI, QI plans, QI leadership, managing QI collaboratives, building QI cultures, data and measurement, and QI tools and frameworks,

Contact: National Network of Public Health Institutes, 1515 Poydras Street, Suite 1200, New Orleans, LA 70112, Telephone: (888)996-6744 Secondary Telephone: (504)301-9820 Fax: (504) 301-9820 Web Site: http://www.nnphi.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Program improvement, Public health, Quality assurance

Center for Oral Health Systems Integration and Improvement Quality Indicator Advisory Team, Dental Quality Alliance, and National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center. 2019. Identifying and implementing oral health quality indicators for the maternal and child health population: 2018–2019 report. Washington, DC: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center; Chicago, IL: Dental Quality Alliance, 28 pp.

Annotation: This report is the second in a series of reports that provides results from the Center for Oral Health Systems Integration and Improvement’s Quality Indicators Advisory Team’s (QIAT’s) efforts to establish a set of maternal and child oral health quality indicators to monitor oral health services delivered in public health programs and systems of care. The report describes Year 1 and Year 2 QIAT activities; provides updated sets of indicators for women of child-bearing age and pregnant women and for children, as well as a user guide; and discusses implementation strategies, indicator limitations, and challenges in obtaining data. Next steps are also discussed.

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9771 E-mail: OHRCinfo@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: , Data collection, Oral health, Pregnant women, Program development, Public health services, Quality assurance, Young children

Center for Oral Health Systems Integration and Improvement Quality Indicator Advisory Team, Dental Quality Alliance, and National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center. 2019. Oral health quality indicators for the maternal and child health population. Washington, DC: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center; Chicago, IL: Dental Quality Alliance, 2 pp.

Annotation: This handout outlines a set of maternal and child health quality indicators identified by the Center for Oral Health Systems Integration and Improvement Quality Indicator Advisory Team to monitor oral health services delivered in public health programs and systems of care. Indicators for women of childbearing age and pregnant women are broken into three categories: access, utilization, and outcomes. Indicators for children are broken into four categories: access, utilization, process, and outcomes. A link to obtain more detailed information about the indicators is provided.

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9771 E-mail: OHRCinfo@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: , Data collection, Oral health, Pregnant women, Program development, Public health services, Quality assurance, Young children

Center for Oral Health Systems Integration and Improvement Quality Indicator Advisory Team, Dental Quality Alliance, and National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center. 2019. Oral health quality indicators for the maternal and child health population: Technical specifications and user guide for 2019 reporting. Washington, DC: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center; Chicago, IL: Dental Quality Alliance, 66 pp.

Annotation: The purpose of this user guide is to provide guidance on implementing oral health quality indicators for the maternal and child health population. This guide provides guidance for reporting on indicators during 2019. The guide is divided into the following sections: feasibility assessment; general guidelines for data collection, preparation, and reporting; technical specifications: oral health quality indicators for women of child-bearing age and pregnant women; and technical specifications: oral health quality indicators for children. A feasibility assessment tool is included.

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9771 E-mail: OHRCinfo@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: , Data collection, Oral health, Pregnant women, Program development, Public health services, Quality assurance, Young children

Children's Dental Health Project. 2018. Introducing quality improvement methodology: Learning for action. Washington: DC: Children's Dental Health Project, 27 pp.

Annotation: This document presents findings of the Perinatal and Infant Oral Health Quality Improvement National Learning Network to enhance the evidence base for improving access to and quality of oral health care for pregnant women and infants. The document discusses project activities, the rationale for the quality-improvement processes, and preliminary results of the collaborative. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Children's Dental Health Project, 1020 19th Street, N.W., Suite 400, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 833-8288 Fax: (202) 331-1432 E-mail: info@cdhp.org Web Site: https://www.cdhp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: , Access to health care, Infants, Oral heath, Pregnant women, Quality assurance

Center for Oral Health Systems Integration and Improvement Quality Indicator Advisory Team, Dental Quality Alliance, and National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center. 2018. Oral health quality improvement for the maternal and child health population: Identifying a set of quality indicators. Washington, DC: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center; Chicago, IL: Dental Quality Alliance, 51 pp.

Annotation: This report identifies a preliminary set of oral health quality indicators that can be used to monitor services for the maternal and child health (MCH) population delivered in public health programs and systems of care. Topics include identifying a framework for oral health quality performance measurement and improvement, identifying existing indicators applicable to the MCH population, a recommended set of indicators for near-term implementation, limitations of the initial set of quality indicators, and next steps. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9771 E-mail: OHRCinfo@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Health services delivery, Oral health, Public health, Quality assurance, Service delivery systems, Title V programs

Texas Statewide Health Coordinating Council. 2018. 2019-2020 update to the Texas state health plan. Austin, TX: Texas Statewide Health Coordinating Council, 58 pp.

Annotation: This update to the Texas state health plan, which provides guidance on how to achieve a high-quality, efficient health system that serves the needs of all Texans, focuses on health literacy, availability of clinical training sites, oral health, and trauma care. Each section of the update discusses improving access to health care, ensuring quality in the health care system, and strengthening the system by ensuring a robust health care work force.

Contact: Texas Statewide Health Coordinating Council, Texas Department of State Health Services, P.O Box 149347, Austin, TX 78714-9347, Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Health literacy, Oral health, Quality assurance, State programs, Texas

Kilpatrick SJ, Papile LA, Macones GA eds. 2017. Guidelines for perinatal care (8th ed.). Elk Grove Village, IL: American Academy of Pediatrics; Washington, DC: American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 691 pp.

Annotation: This guide for personnel involved in the care of pregnant women, their fetuses, and their neonates in community programs, hospitals, and medical centers provides information on obstetric and neonatal care. Topics include the organization of perinatal health care, inpatient perinatal care services, quality improvement and patient safety, maternal and neonatal interhospital transfer, preconception and antepartum care, intrapartum and postpartum care, obstetric and medical complications, care of the newborn, neonatal complications and management of high-risk infants, perinatal infections, and infection control. The guide is a companion document to Guidelines for Women's Health Care.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available in libraries.

Keywords: Guidelines, Infant health, Infection control, Maternal health, Newborn infants, Patient care management, Perinatal care, Postpartum care, Prenatal care, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Resources for professionals, Safety

Byrne J. 2017. Perinatal and infant oral health community of practice: Quality improvement toolkit. Sacramento, CA: California Department of Public Health, Oral Health Program, multiple items. (Version 3: April 10, 2017)

Annotation: This toolkit provides guidance on assessing the effectiveness of a project to improve the delivery of oral health care services provided to pregnant women, infants, and young children by integrating oral health care into primary care. Contents include worksheets and guides for identifying, planning, implementing, and interpreting the effectiveness of a quality-improvement project. Topics include plan, do, study, act cycles and process mapping. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: California Department of Public Health, Oral Health Program, MS Code 8305, P.O. Box 997377, MS 0500, Sacramento, CA 95899-7377, Telephone: (916) 558-1784 E-mail: mchinet@cdph.ca.gov Web Site: https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Programs/CCDPHP/DCDIC/CDCB/Pages/OralHealthProgram/OralHealthProgram.aspx

Keywords: Organizational change, Data collection, Forms, Infant health, Infants, Oral health, Perinatal health, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Program improvement, Qualitative evaluation, Quality assurance, Quantitative evaluation, Records management

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Division of Oral Health. 2017. CDC DentalCheck: Infection prevention & control checklist application. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Division of Oral Health, 1 v.

Annotation: This checklist is a companion to Summary of Infection Prevention Practices in Dental Settings: Basic Expectations for Safe Care. The checklist is divided into two categories: (1) policies and practices and (2) direct observation of personnel and patient-care practices. Each category is broken into subcategories, and each subcategory includes checkboxes to indicate whether an assessment has been done and space to record notes and areas for improvement.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Division of Oral Health, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: cdcinfo@cdc.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/OralHealth Available from the website.

Keywords: Clinic administration, Disease prevention, Health facilities, Health service delivery, Infection control, Injury prevention, Mobile applications, Oral health, Patient care, Policy development, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Records management, Safety

Hall E. 2017. Identifying a school quality/student success indicator for ESSA: Requirements and considerations. Washington, DC: Council of Chief State School Officers, 12 pp.

Annotation: This brief describes the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) requirements for the inclusion of a school quality or student success indicator (referred to as the "5th indicator), including requirements to ensure that the indicator contributes to a state's system of school and district accountability. Highlights include key factors to consider when identifying, evaluating, and implementing a school quality or student success indicator for inclusion in a state's accountability system. Examples of school quality and student success indicators and research supporting those indicators are included.

Contact: Council of Chief State School Officers, One Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Suite 700, Washington, DC 20001-1431, Telephone: (202) 336-7000 Fax: (202) 408-8072 E-mail: info@ccsso.org Web Site: http://www.ccsso.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Accountability, Evaluation, Limited English speakers, Measures, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Regulations, School districts, Schools, Students, Systems development

Erikson C. 2017. Health workforce research centers: Key findings 2013–2016. Washington, DC: George Washington University, Health Workforce Institute, 32 pp.

Annotation: This report provides an overview of how the collective work of six health work force research centers has contributed to a better understanding of critical health work force challenges. The report describes the establishment of the centers, the evolving health work force configuration, job growth and career paths in middle- and low-skill health occupations, and work force strategies to increase access to quality health care. Topics include the effect of system-level transformations on team roles and human resources, emerging occupations, expanded roles, supply and demand, training needs, career pathways, team models and staffing arrangements, the role of technology in improving access to health care, and the relationship between training location and other factors influencing supply and utilization.

Contact: George Washington University, Health Workforce Institute, 2176 K Street, N.W., Suite 500, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 994-3423 Web Site: http://www.gwhwi.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Careers, Educational change, Evolution, Health occupations, Models, Policy development, Professional education, Professional training, Quality assurance, Research, Role, Teamwork, Technology, Work force

National Center on Early Childhood Development, Teaching, and Learning. 2017. Framework for effective practice: Supporting school readiness for all children. Seattle, WA: National Center on Early Childhood Development, Teaching, and Learning, 2 pp.

Annotation: This document describes a framework to support school readiness for all children. The framework comprises elements that foster children's learning and development, including teacher-child interactions that are emotionally and instructionally supportive and a well-organized classroom that maximizes learning opportunities; evidence-based curriculum and teaching strategies linked with ongoing assessment of child progress; and highly individualized teaching and learning practices that are required for some skills or for some children to access, participate, and thrive in the preschool classroom.

Contact: National Center on Early Childhood Development, Teaching, and Learning, Telephone: (844) 261-3752 E-mail: ecdtl@ecetta.info Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov/hslc/tta-system/teaching Available from the website.

Keywords: Assessment, Child development, Curriculum development, Emotional development, Learning, Quality assurance, School readiness, Spanish language materials, Teaching, Young children

Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs. 2017. National Title V children and youth with special health care needs program profile. Washington, DC: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 15 pp.

Annotation: This report provides a snapshot of Title V Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs (CYSHCN) programs across the United States. Contents include background and history of CYSHCN programs, recent changes affecting CYSHCN programs, and methods and results from an electronic survey of Title V CYSHCN directors to assess key characteristics of each state's CYSHCN program. Topics include program structure and strengths, roles in systems of care, CYSHCN program partnerships, financing of care for CYSHCN populations and emerging issues for CYSHCN programs.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: info@amchp.org Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Advocacy, Children with special health care needs, Community based services, Consultation, Cultural competency, Data, Family centered care, Financing, Health care delivery, Health care reform, Health care systems, Health insurance, Leadership, Medicaid managed care, Models, Networking, Pediatric care, Policy development, Program coordination, Program development, Public health infrastructure, Public private partnerships, Quality assurance, Reimbursement, Role, Standards, State MCH programs, Title V programs

Harwood C, McManus M, White P. 2017. Incorporating pedatric-to-adult transition into NCQA patient-centered medical home recognition. Washington, DC: Got Transition™/Center for Health Care Transition Improvement, 11 pp. (Practice resource, no. 4)

Annotation: This resource is intended to facilitate the application of nationally-recognized transition tools to address specific criteria developed by the National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA) in their 2017 Patient-Centered Medical Home standards. Contents include NCQA criteria and guidance cross-walked with relevant sample tools. Topics include team-based care and practice organization, knowing and managing patients, patient-centered access and continuity, care management and support, care coordination and care transitions, and performance measurement and quality improvement. Descriptions of the tools are also provided. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Got Transition™/Center for Health Care Transition Improvement, National Alliance to Advance Adolescent Health, 1615 M Street, N.W., Suite 290, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-1500 Fax: (202) 429-3957 E-mail: info@GotTransition.org Web Site: http://gottransition.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Children, Measures, Medical home, Patient care management, Patient care teams, Program coordination, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Special health care needs, Standards, Transitions, Youth

Provost L, Lloyd R, Murray S. 2017. How to improve with the model for improvement. Cambridge, MA: Institute for Healthcare Improvement; Chicago, IL: Dental Quality Alliance,

Annotation: This course provides oral health professionals with information on how to use qualitative and quantitative feedback to evaluate and monitor the quality of clinical and operational service in their practices, identify key areas for improvement, and move toward meaningful change. Through a series of lessons, users learn to use Model for Improvement techniques and plan-do-study-act cycles to effect improvements.

Contact: Institute for Healthcare Improvement , 20 University Road, Seventh Floor , Cambridge , MA 02138, Telephone: (617) 301-4800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 787-0831 Fax: (617) 301-4830 E-mail: info@ihi.org Web Site: http://www.ihi.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Health services, Oral health, Professional education, Program development, Quality assurance

VanLandeghem K, Sloyer P, Gabor V, Helms V. 2017. Standards for systems of care for children and youth with special health care needs version 2.0. [Washington, DC]: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs; [Palo Alto, CA]: Lucile Packard Foundation for Children's Health, 32 pp.

Annotation: This revision of the National Standards for Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs has been created to increase the readability and ease of use of the first version of the National Standards while also maintaining their integrity and essential content. It builds upon the critical domains, elements, and standards from the original National Standards work (Version 1.0), while streamlining content for easier use by states and stakeholders. It covers Family Professional Partnerships and Insurance and Financing as foundational standards that should exist in any system that serves CYSHCN, and is divided into eight domains: (1) identification, screening, assessment, and referral; (2) eligibility and enrollment in health coverage; (3) access to care; (4) medical home; (5) community-based services and supports; (6) transition to adulthood; (7) health information technology; and (8) quality assurance and improvement.

Contact: Lucile Packard Foundation for Children's Health, 400 Hamilton Avenue, Suite 340, Palo Alto, CA 94301, Telephone: (650) 497-8365 E-mail: info@lpfch.org Web Site: http://www.lpfch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, EPSDT, Health care systems, Measures, National initiatives, Quality assurance, Special health care needs, Standards: Children, Young adults

Byrne J. 2017. Perinatal and infant oral health community of practice: Quality improvement toolkit. Sacramento, CA: California Department of Public Health, Oral Health Program, multiple items. (Version 3: April 10, 2017)

Annotation: [in process]

Contact: California Department of Public Health, Oral Health Program, MS Code 8305, P.O. Box 997377, MS 0500, Sacramento, CA 95899-7377, Telephone: (916) 558-1784 E-mail: mchinet@cdph.ca.gov Web Site: https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Programs/CCDPHP/DCDIC/CDCB/Pages/OralHealthProgram/OralHealthProgram.aspx

Keywords: Organizational change, Data collection, Forms, Infant health, Infants, Oral health, Perinatal health, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Program improvement, Qualitative evaluation, Quality assurance, Quantitative evaluation, Records management

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.