Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report summarizes qualitative survey data on midwifery practice icollected from a variety of key stakeholders in New York state, including individuals working in public hospital midwifery departments and academic midwifery programs; private practice midwives working in all settings, health service providers; public health professionals; obstetricians and family physicians; hospital administrators; and childbearing women who have given birth in all settings. The report highlights the value of the midwifery model, including the reduced risk of cesarean delivery and other interventions; the improvement in the childbirth experience; and the reduction in cost. The report discusses the historical and current climate of midwifery care in New York, addresses barriers to midwifery practice, and offers recommendations to maximize midwifery to further improve maternal and infant outcomes.

Contact: Choices in Childbirth, 601 W. 26th St, #325-246, New York, NY 10001, Telephone: (212) 983-4122 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://en.choicesinchildbirth.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Childbirth, Maternal health services, Maternal mortality, Midwifery, New York, Prevention, Qualitative evaluation , Social support, Surveys

Annotation: This toolkit provides guidance on assessing the effectiveness of a project to improve the delivery of oral health care services provided to pregnant women, infants, and young children by integrating oral health care into primary care. Contents include worksheets and guides for identifying, planning, implementing, and interpreting the effectiveness of a quality-improvement project. Topics include plan, do, study, act cycles and process mapping. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: California Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health, MS Code 8305, P.O. Box 997377, MS 0500, Sacramento, CA 95899-7377, Telephone: (916) 558-1784 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Programs/CCDPHP/DCDIC/CDCB/Pages/OralHealthProgram/OralHealthProgram.aspx

• Link

Keywords: Organizational change, Data collection, Forms, Infant health, Infants, Oral health, Perinatal health, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Program improvement, Qualitative evaluation, Quality assurance, Quantitative evaluation, Records management

Annotation: This booklet is one of three in a series that presents step-by-step planning and evaluation methods for community-based outreach. The booklet focuses on collecting and analyzing evaluation data and discusses both qualitative and quantitative methods. Take-home messages, references, a case study, and worksheets to assist with outreach planning are included. The booklet also includes three appendices: (1) design your data collection methods, (2) ways to improve response rates for electronic surveys, and (3) examples of commonly used qualitative methods. The booklets are designed to supplement Measuring the Difference: Guide to Planning and Evaluating Health Information Outreach and to support evaluation workshops.

Contact: National Network of Libraries of Medicine, Pacific Northwest Region, University of Washington, Health Sciences Bldg, Rm T227, 1949 NE Pacific Avenue, Box 357155, Seattle, WA 98195-7155, Telephone: (206) 543-8262 Secondary Telephone: (800) 338-7657* Fax: (206) 543-2469 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://nnlm.gov/pnr Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Community based services, Evaluation, Health education, Outreach, Planning, Qualitative evaluation, Quantitative evaluation, Statistical data

Annotation: This toolkit is designed to provide clinical and administrative staff at community health centers with the essentials needed to build a primary care research infrastructure. Organized into eight stand-alone audio-recorded modules, the toolkit helps health center clinicians and staff find information on: (1) introduction to quality improvement and research, (2) building primary care research infrastructure, (3) data: access and utilization, (4) study design and methods overview, (5) dissemination and action, (6) funding research, (7) partnerships for research, and (8) ethics and the Institutional Review Board. Appendices are included after each module to provide access to sample agreements, forms, policies, slides, and worksheets.

Contact: Harvard University, T.H. Chan School of Public Health, 677 Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA 02115, Telephone: (617) 495-1000 Web Site: https://www.hsph.harvard.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Community health centers, Data collection, Data sources, Ethics, Fundraising, Primary care, Qualitative evaluation, Research, Research design, Research methodology

Annotation: This website comprises materials developed by the Healthy Child Care America train-the-trainer program to address the needs of child care health consultants. Contents include modules and toolkits on topics such as consulting, curriculum development, caring for children who are ill, child maltreatment, children with special health needs, environmental health (including lead), the field of child care, infectious disease, injury prevention, mental health, nutrition and physical activity, oral health, quality in child care, and staff health. Evaluation forms, templates, and a training checklist are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child care, Child care workers, Child maltreatment, Children with special health care needs, Communicable diseases, Curriculum development, Environmental health, Infections, Injury prevention, Lead, Mental health, Nutrition, Oral health, Out of home care, Physical activity, Qualitative evaluation, Training

Annotation: This report presents a set of pediatric oral health measure concepts, including broad descriptions of what should be measured and basic information on numerators and denominators for different aspects of care. Topics include uses for the measure concept set, associated definitions, and evidence to support clinical process/performance measures. Additional topics include using the measures to study variations in care and adjusting for the influence of client or population factors when measuring outcomes or results of care.

Contact: American Dental Association, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Fax: (312) 440-7494 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ada.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Data, Dental care, Evaluation, Health care delivery, Oral health, Qualitative analysis, Research

Annotation: This online assessment tool is designed to effectively measure the quality of parenting behaviors during free play with a young child. The tool assesses 12 interactive behaviors, such as encouragement, sensitivity of responses and involvement in children's activities. It is intended to help family service programs tailor their services to individual families, track parenting progress, and document program outcomes. Components of the online Keys to Interactive Parenting Scale (KIPS) training tool include a training workbook, scoring forms in English and Spanish, and access to the KIPS Library containing a searchable collection of play videos for practice and supervision.

Contact: Comfort Consults, P.O. Box 82, Cheyney, PA 19319, Telephone: (610) 455-1463 Fax: (866) 511-0766 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://comfortconsults.com Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Assessment, Audiovisual materials, Early intervention, Evaluation, Home visiting, Measures, Parenting skills, Qualitative surveys

Annotation: This paper outlines access and quality issues in EPSDT (Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic, and Treatment) Program requirements for children enrolled in Medicaid managed care programs. It provides an overview of the current situation, a statement of the problem of children receiving appropriate care and how best to monitor care, and how to ensure data are comparable across states. Also discussed are EPSDT periodicity inconsistencies between visits and between states, how best to capture data in a central repository, incentives for providers, and how t best to measure plan performance. Recommendations are provided for each of the topics as well as recommended policies.

Contact: Medicaid Health Plans of America, 1140 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 505, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 857-5720 Fax: (202) 857-5731 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mhpa.org/index.cfm?fuseAction=section&pSectionID=174 Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, EPSDT, Medicaid managed care, Program evaluation, Public private partnerships, Qualitative evaluation, Quality assurance

Annotation: This paper addresses efforts to make health care attainable to children who gain health insurance under the State Children's Health Insurance Program. It proposes a comprehensive, continuum model of outreach and a checklist of related enabling strategies, to give decision makers a visual and practical tool for planning, developing, and evaluating an effective mix of methods to ensure better enrollment and access to care. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Child health programs, Child health services, Children, Outreach, Planning, Qualitative evaluation, State health insurance programs

Annotation: This book, intended for librarians, information specialists, and database reviewers, provides a systematic approach to evaluating the content of databases. The book describes and illustrates content characteristics of databases. Book chapters include: (1) database products, producers, and publishers; (2) database content evaluation criteria; (3) database subject scope; (4) database dimensions; (5) database source coverage; (6) record content; (7) accuracy; (8) format and content consistency; (9) completeness; (10) quality of subject indexing; (11) quality of abstracts; and (12) cost considerations. Numerous charts, graphs, tables, and Web snapshots illustrate this book.

Keywords: CD-ROMs, Electronic databases, Qualitative evaluation, Resources for professionals, World Wide Web

Annotation: This book, written for clinicians, health plans, insurers, and health services researchers, describes QA Tools, a comprehensive, clinically based system for assessing care for women. The quality indicators that comprise these Tools cover 46 clinical areas and all 4 functions of medicine - screening, diagnosis, treatment, and follow-up. The introduction discusses how the clinical areas were selected, how the indicators were chosen, and what is included in the overall system. The rest of the volume is organized into chapters that summarize the results of the literature for one condition, provides a table of staff recommended indicators based on that review, and lists the cited studies in a references section. Appendix A provides definitions of terms used in the indicators tables. Appendix B contains the panel rating sheets for each condition. Appendix C contains a crosswalk table of original and final indicators. Tables and figures are used frequently throughout the chapters.

Contact: Rand Corporation, 1776 Main Street, Santa Monica, CA 90407-3208, Telephone: (310) 393-0411 Fax: 310-393-4818 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.rand.org Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-8330-2923-1.

Keywords: Literature reviews, Qualitative evaluation, Research design, Service delivery, Women', s health

Annotation: This report builds on an earlier report "Outreach to Children: Moving from Enrollment to Ensuring Access" in presenting best practices from ten established children's health care programs across the country that ensure continuing access to care. The report describes the programs' effective practices and common elements of success. It also illustrates how the programs collect and use data to plan and improve outreach strategies, improve day-to-day program operations, and evaluate whether their outreach efforts are making a difference in children's ability to gain access to the services they need. The paper concludes with ten recommendations drawn from the experiences of the highlighted programs that states can emulate as they implement their child health insurance programs. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from Hathitrust via participating libraries.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Child health programs, Child health services, Children, Outreach, Planning, Qualitative evaluation, State health insurance programs

Contact: New Directions for Policy, 1015 18th Street, N.W., Suite 210, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 833-8877 Contact Phone: (202) 686-5802 Fax: (202) 833-8932 Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Guidelines, Health services, Qualitative evaluation, Quality assurance, State Children', s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This report outlines a strategy for defining medical necessity that will promote high quality care for children, youth, and adults with developmental disabilities, mental retardation, serious emotional disorders, or other special health care needs. The report begins with background information including defining the population involved and its service needs. It explains why medical necessity determinations are important and gives key criteria including a recommended approach to defining medical necessity. Appendices include a list of contributors, medical necessity definitions by states and organizations, and an analysis of selected definitions of medical necessity. The executive summary presents a one page synopsis of specifications for defining medical necessity and includes one paragraph each on the problem, the goal, the report, and the audience. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

• Link
• Summary

Keywords: Access to health care, Affective disorders, Developmental disabilities, Mental retardation, Qualitative evaluation, Reports, Resource allocation, Special health care services

Annotation: This report explains the methodology and results of a study of the impact of Medicaid managed care on access to oral health care for children under the Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic and Treatment (EPSDT) program in Connecticut. The study sample included 87, 181 children. Results were evaluated both qualitatively and quantitatively. Statistical tables and references are included at the end of the report.

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Children, Connecticut, Dental care, EPSDT, Health surveys, Medicaid managed care, Oral health, Program evaluation, Qualitative evaluation, Quantitative evaluation, State surveys, Statistics

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available in libraries. Document Number: MMC 57.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Financing, Medicaid managed care, Qualitative evaluation, Quality assurance

Annotation: This report is the results of a study of eight states with different Medicaid managed care models which, using qualitative evaluation methods, examined the extent to which the alternative models supported effective, cross-system service integration for children with special health care needs (CSHCN). Volume I is the synthesis of study results and volume II contains case studies. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Altarum Institute, 3520 Green Court, Suite 300, Ann Arbor, MI 48105, Telephone: (734) 302-4600 Secondary Telephone: (800) 879-6505 Fax: (734) 302-4991 Web Site: http://www.altarum.org/contact Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Case studies, Children with special health care needs, Evaluation methods, Medicaid managed care, Qualitative evaluation, Service coordination, Service delivery

Annotation: This book presents the theory and practice of empowerment evaluation, with an emphasis on the arenas of human services and public health. The book contains essays which examine the basic theory, philosophical framework, and examples of the application of empowerment evaluation. The examples include activism in the African American community, collaboration between community organizations, women's services organizations, community health initiatives, quality issues, and technical assistance. Author and subject indexes are included.

Contact: Sage Publications, 2455 Teller Road, Thousand Oaks, CA 91320-2218, Telephone: (805) 499-9774 Secondary Telephone: (800)818-7243 Fax: (805) 499-0871 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sagepub.com $29.50 plus $3.50 shipping and handling for the first item and $1.00 for each additional item. Document Number: ISBN 0-7619-0025-X.

Keywords: Accountability, Assessment, Attitude change, Collaboration, Community based services, Community development, Evaluation, Public health, Qualitative evaluation

Annotation: This directory lists and evaluates software programs that are designed to perform qualitative data analysis. It briefly discusses computer-assisted analysis, methods for choosing software, and indicates software types and functions. It then reviews specific software packages within the following categories: text retrievers, text base managers, code-and-retrieve programs, code-based theory-builders, and conceptual network builders. Each review lists the system, indicates costs, and provides access information in addition to giving an overview of the software and indicating how it operates. It includes a discussion of future trends, a glossary, a bibliography, and tables comparing features of the different programs.

Contact: Sage Publications, 2455 Teller Road, Thousand Oaks, CA 91320-2218, Telephone: (805) 499-9774 Secondary Telephone: (800)818-7243 Fax: (805) 499-0871 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sagepub.com $29.95 plus $2.00 shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 0-8039-5537-5.

Keywords: Computer software, Data analysis, Directories, Qualitative evaluation, Social sciences

Annotation: This book provides detailed assistance in the use of analytic procedures commonly used in social sciences research. The book provides an introduction to the basic principles of data analysis, and then it considers the following topics: focusing and bounding the collection of data, early steps in analysis, procedures relating to within-case and cross-case displays, matrix displays, drawing and verifying conclusions, ethical issues in analysis, and producing reports. The book describes and illustrates more than sixty methods for displaying and analyzing data and includes practical suggestions for adapting and using them. An appendix includes information on choosing computer programs for qualitative data analysis. The book includes a bibliography and author and subject indexes.

Contact: Sage Publications, 2455 Teller Road, Thousand Oaks, CA 91320-2218, Telephone: (805) 499-9774 Secondary Telephone: (800)818-7243 Fax: (805) 499-0871 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sagepub.com $29.95, paper; $59.95, cloth; plus $2.00 shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 0-8039-5540-5, paper; 0-8039-4653-8, cloth.

Keywords: Data analysis, Qualitative evaluation, Research methodology