Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Sign up for MCHalert eNewsletter

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 3 (3 total).

Dental Quality Alliance. 2012. Pediatric oral health quality and performance measures concept set: Achieving standardization and alignment. Chicago, IL: American Dental Association, 30 pp.

Annotation: This report presents a set of pediatric oral health measure concepts, including broad descriptions of what should be measured and basic information on numerators and denominators for different aspects of care. Topics include uses for the measure concept set, associated definitions, and evidence to support clinical process/performance measures. Additional topics include using the measures to study variations in care and adjusting for the influence of client or population factors when measuring outcomes or results of care.

Contact: American Dental Association, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Fax: (312) 440-7494 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ada.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Data, Evaluation, Health care delivery, Oral health, Oral health care, Qualitative analysis, Research

Weitzman EA, Miles MB. 1995. Computer programs for qualitative data analysis: A software sourcebook. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications, 372 pp.

Annotation: This directory lists and evaluates software programs that are designed to perform qualitative data analysis. It briefly discusses computer-assisted analysis, methods for choosing software, and indicates software types and functions. It then reviews specific software packages within the following categories: text retrievers, text base managers, code-and-retrieve programs, code-based theory-builders, and conceptual network builders. Each review lists the system, indicates costs, and provides access information in addition to giving an overview of the software and indicating how it operates. It includes a discussion of future trends, a glossary, a bibliography, and tables comparing features of the different programs.

Contact: Sage Publications, 2455 Teller Road, Thousand Oaks, CA 91320-2218, Telephone: (805) 499-9774 Secondary Telephone: (800)818-7243 Fax: (805) 499-0871 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sagepub.com $29.95 plus $2.00 shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 0-8039-5537-5.

Keywords: Computer software, Data analysis, Directories, Qualitative evaluation, Social sciences

Miles MB, Huberman AM. 1994. Qualitative data analysis: An expanded sourcebook. (2nd ed.). Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications, 338 pp.

Annotation: This book provides detailed assistance in the use of analytic procedures commonly used in social sciences research. The book provides an introduction to the basic principles of data analysis, and then it considers the following topics: focusing and bounding the collection of data, early steps in analysis, procedures relating to within-case and cross-case displays, matrix displays, drawing and verifying conclusions, ethical issues in analysis, and producing reports. The book describes and illustrates more than sixty methods for displaying and analyzing data and includes practical suggestions for adapting and using them. An appendix includes information on choosing computer programs for qualitative data analysis. The book includes a bibliography and author and subject indexes.

Contact: Sage Publications, 2455 Teller Road, Thousand Oaks, CA 91320-2218, Telephone: (805) 499-9774 Secondary Telephone: (800)818-7243 Fax: (805) 499-0871 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sagepub.com $29.95, paper; $59.95, cloth; plus $2.00 shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 0-8039-5540-5, paper; 0-8039-4653-8, cloth.

Keywords: Data analysis, Qualitative evaluation, Research methodology
   

The MCH Digital Library is one of six special collections at Geogetown University, the nation's oldest Jesuit institution of higher education. It is supported in part by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under award number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy with an award of $700,000/year. The library is also supported through foundation and univerity funding. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.