Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This website presents resources from the National Education Association's (NEA's) campaign against bullying. Contents include a pledge form for parents and other caring adults willing to advocate for measures to stop bullying in their schools and communities. Additional content includes research and tools, tip sheets and stories, NEA's position and actions, prevention and intervention training, multimedia, and resources for education support professionals.

Contact: National Education Association, 1201 16th Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20036-3290, Telephone: (202) 833-4000 Fax: (202) 822-7974 Web Site: http://www.nea.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Bullying, Primary prevention, Public awareness campaigns, Public service announcements, School age children, School health, Training materials

Annotation: This toolkit is designed to help people learn about how to take good care of their oral health and about how oral health is connected to overall health and well-being. Tools include radio public service announcements; social media graphics; social media posts; posters; content to include in e-mails, newsletters, and other outreach materials; and educational materials. A webinar about opportunities for sharing oral health materials and integrating them into health-education efforts is also available.

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 464-4772 Fax: (301) 443-1246 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Oral health, Outreach, Posters, Public awareness campaigns, Public awareness materials, Public service announcements

Annotation: This website includes resources designed to help primary care health professionals and others understand the etiology of dental caries and caregivers’ role in preventing caries in infants, children, and adolescents from birth to age 21. Contents include a fluoride-application training course for clinics and supplemental materials, a book for children about toothbrushing, fluoride varnish printed materials, and a fluoride varnish video for caregivers. The resources are available in English and some are available in the following non-English languages: Cambodian, French, Karen, Hmong, Oromo, Portuguese, Russian, Somali, Spanish, and Vietnamese. Find the list of languages across the top of the landing page.

Contact: Minnesota Oral Health Project, c/o University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN 55455, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.minnesotaoralhealthproject.com Available from the website.

• English
• Vietnamese

Keywords: Advocacy, Community based services, Dental care, Fluorides, Health promotion, Infants, Local initiatives, Low income groups, Low literacy materials, Minnesota, Multimedia, Non English language materials, Nutrition, Oral health, Outreach, Preventive health services, Primary care, Public awareness campaigns, Public service announcements, Spanish language materials, Young children

Annotation: These resources are designed to help people understand that oral disease can be prevented and that good oral health is essential to overall health. Contents include how-to tips on topics such as toothbrushing, flossing, getting oral health checkups, smart snacking, questions to ask the dentist and physician, and finding and paying for oral health care. Additional resources include infographics, posters, a website widget and social media posts, and videos.

Contact: Washington Dental Service Foundation, P.O. Box 75983, Seattle, WA 98175-0983, Telephone: (206) 528-2373 Fax: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.kidsoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Program Website
• Presentation (2016)

Keywords: Disease prevention, Health promotion, Life course, Media campaigns, Nutrition, Oral health, Physical fitness, Public awareness campaigns, Public service announcements

Annotation: These resources aim to motivate parents to take action to reduce their child’s risk for oral disease. Contents include public service announcements (PSAs) that communicate the importance of brushing twice a day for 2 minutes each time. The PSAs also feature activities that children can do such as watching a video, singing, or playing a video game. Additional resources provide information for parents on teaching children how to brush, visiting a dentist, flossing every day, and using fluoride. A weekly toothbrushing checklist and mobile app are included. Content is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Partnership for Healthy Mouths Healthy Lives, Dental Trade Alliance, 4350 N. Fairfax Drive, Suite 220, Arlington, VA 22203, Telephone: (703) 379-7755 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthymouthshealthylives.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Health behavior, Health education, Motivation, Multimedia, Oral health, Parenting, Public awareness campaigns, Public service announcements, Spanish language materials

Annotation: These resources for parents and young children feature cartoon "monsters" Ginger Bite-Us, Tartar the Terrible, and Tooth D.K. and focus on ways to keep teeth healthy and "monster-free." Contents include tips on creating tooth fairy traditions, promoting oral health in children with special needs, weaning from the pacifier, preparing for common types of childhood tooth injuries, and encouraging healthy habits at the holidays. Videos and information about the role of pediatric dentists are also included. Some materials are available in English and Spanish.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 1600, Chicago, IL 60611-2637, Telephone: (312) 337-2169 Fax: (312) 337-6329 Web Site: http://www.aapd.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Disease prevention, Health promotion, Infants, Materials for children, Media campaigns, Oral health, Public awareness campaigns, Public service announcements, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This public service announcement video provides tips on safe sleep for infants to prevent infant deaths. The video shows an infant lying in a safe sleep environment and is narrated by a health professional explaining how to ensure that an infant's sleep environment is safe. Topics include sleep surface, temperature, clothing, smoking, sleeping alone, bedding and soft toys, and crib safety.

Contact: Columbus Public Health, 240 Parsons Avenue, Columbus, OH 43215, Telephone: (614) 645-7417 Web Site: http://publichealth.columbus.gov Available from the website.

• Link
• Link

Keywords: Infant death, Local initiatives, Media campaigns, Multimedia, Primary prevention, Public service announcements, SIDS, Safety, Sleep position, Smoking, Unintentional injuries

Annotation: This resource provides information to help health professionals, parents, and other caregivers create a safe infant sleep environment to reduce the risk for sudden infant death syndrome. Contents include a public service announcement, a brochure in English and Spanish, a video, and links to additional information.

Contact: Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services, 1730 East Elm, P.O. Box 570, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0570, Telephone: (573) 751-6400 Fax: (573) 751-6041 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.dhss.mo.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Campaigns, Infant death, Multimedia, Primary prevention, Public service announcements, SIDS: Sleep position, Safety, Spanish language materials, Unintentional injuries

Annotation: This public awareness campaign provides information and resources to help prevent injury and death among infants in West Virginia. Topics include ways to keep infants safe while sleeping, and how to cope with frustrations resulting from frequent, constant, or inconsolable infant crying. Contents include public service announcements, videos, a one-hour training webinar, a community partners resource guide, a slide presentation, posters and brochures, a pledge form, and an information form for barbershops and laundromats. Print brochures and posters, DVDs, and erasable white boards may also be ordered from the website for distribution to families and caregivers in West Virginia.

Contact: TEAM for West Virginia Children, P.O. Box 1653, 625 Fourth Avenue, Huntington, WV 25717, Telephone: (304) 523-9587 Fax: (304) 523-9595 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.teamwv.org Available at no charge from the website; print materials are also available at no charge for distribution to families and caregivers in West Virginia.

• Link

Keywords: Campaigns, Continuing education, Coping, Crying, Infant death, Infants, Injury prevention, Public service announcements, Sleep position, State initiatives, Training materials, Unintentional injuries, West Virginia

Annotation: This video for parents shows the importance of oral health for children and how Head Start programs can help parents find a dental home. It discusses the importance of baby teeth, how to keep teeth healthy, and shows a child on a typical visit to the dentist. It shows how to fill out the medical history form, the roles of the dental hygienist and dentist, taking radiographs, cleaning, oral hygiene education, and fluoride treatments, It explains how a dental home provides preventive, continuous care and is a source for dental information, and how a Head Start program can help make and keep appointments, get to the dentist, and fill out health and insurance forms. The content is also available in DVD or online formats.

Contact: Center for Media & Democracy, 294 North Winooski Avenue, Burlington, VT 05401, Telephone: (802) 862-3966 Fax: (802) 860-2370 Web Site: https://www.cctv.org Available from the website.

• RealAudio

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Children, DVDs, Dental hygiene, Head Start, Oral health, Public service announcements

Annotation: This tool kit contains information and materials for promoting National Public Health Week, April 4-11, 2004. The overview provides a general overview of public health and public health week, gives examples of community solutions, and suggests activities and approaches. The tools for planning events include tips for creating town hall meetings, press conferences, and arranging on-site visits. The section on media advocacy provides key messages and sample news releases and radio spots. Tools for legislative advocacy include sample letters, telephone scripts, talking points, and meeting pointers. Facts sheets are provided on general health disparities, cancer, diabetes, the environment, disparities by gender, health literacy, heart disease, HIV/AIDS, infant mortality, racial or ethnic disparities and rural area disparities. Additional resources and an evaluation are also included.

Contact: American Public Health Association, 800 I Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20001-3710, Telephone: (202) 777-2742 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (202) 777-2534 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.apha.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Community participation, Ethnic factors, Geographic factors, Health literacy, Health observances, Health promotion, Local initiatives, Mass media, Press releases, Public awareness campaigns, Public awareness materials, Public health, Public service announcements, Racial factors, Resource materials

Annotation: This book focuses on programs that involve some use of communication technology and have incorporated the transmission or exchange of messages within interventions designed to influence behavior to improve health among diverse populations. Using case studies in the areas of diabetes, mammography, and mass communication campaigns, this book examines the way messages can be adapted to the unique informational needs of their audiences to achieve maximum impact. Creative strategies and guidelines for reaching diverse audiences are presented. Additional topics include communications theory, new communication applications and technologies, and a new definition of diversity. Each chapter concludes with recommendations. The appendices include a list of consultants and biographical sketches of contributing authors. References and an index are also provided.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 0-309-07271-9.

• Link

Keywords: Case studies, Communication skills, Communications, Cultural diversity, Health promotion, Mass media, Media campaigns, Public service announcements

Annotation: This manual gives step-by-step guidance on how to use media effectively; it is intended for use either by organizations or individuals concerned with disseminating information about emergency medical services for children to the general public. The manual discusses locating the media in a community; making connections with them; and writing media advisories, press releases, pitch letters, and letters to the editor. It also describes how to set up press conferences and media events and how to make and use public service announcements. Appendices offer sample and model contact sheets, letters of introduction, media advisories, press releases, pitch letters, press conference checklists, letters to the editor, and scripts for public service announcements. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Emergency Medical Services for Children (EMSC) National Resource Center, 801 Roeder Road, Suite 600, Silver Spring, MD 20910, Telephone: (301) 244-6300 Fax: (301) 244-6301 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.emscnrc.org Contact for cost information.

Keywords: Emergency medical services for children, Information dissemination, Manuals, Mass media, Media campaigns, Press releases, Public service announcements

Annotation: This book of essays examines the theory and practice of health message design. The book considers several theories of communication and how those theories apply in health messages. Also included is information on audience centered strategies, use of databases, and recent developments in informing patients about their prescription drugs.

Contact: Sage Publications, 2455 Teller Road, Thousand Oaks, CA 91320-2218, Telephone: (805) 499-9774 Secondary Telephone: (800)818-7243 Fax: (805) 499-0871 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sagepub.com $24.50 plus $3.50 shipping and handling for the first item and $1.00 for each additional item. Document Number: ISBN 0-8039-5398-4.

Keywords: Advertising, Health promotion, Mass media, Media campaigns, Public service announcements

Annotation: This information package contains various sets of public service announcements (PSAs) promoting childhood immunizations. They were developed by the Advertising Council for the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services in cooperation with the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. There are videotapes for television stations and a CD-ROM for radio stations; these include 30 and 20 second PSAs which can be used as provided or localized. Press kits for magazines, newspapers, and businesses include camera-ready copy. Each set is accompanied by fliers indicating the significance of immunizations and including suggestions for the use of the materials.

Contact: Ad Council, Washington DC Office, 1203 19th Street, N.W., Fourth Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 331-9153 Web Site: http://www.adcouncil.org Price unknown.

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, CD-ROMs, Immunization, Media campaigns, Public service announcements, Videotapes

Annotation: This information package provides examples of promotional activities that can be initiated to reach the public. The first item is a reduced photocopy of a proclamation by Governor Tommy G. Thompson denoting May, 1992 as Breastfeeding Awareness Month in Wisconsin. The second item provides four scripts for public service announcements to be aired during that month. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: La Crosse County Health Department, Health and Human Services Building, Second floor, 300 Fourth Street, North, La Crosse, WI 54601, Telephone: (608) 785-9872 Web Site: http://www.co.la-crosse.wi.us/health/ Available at no charge.

Keywords: Breastfeeding promotion, Public service announcements, State initiatives, Wisconsin