Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (898 total).

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Administration for Children and Families. n.d.. Bringing it together: Head Start-state collaboration projects. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Administration for Children and Families, 67 pp.

Annotation: This report provides an introduction to the Head Start-State Collaboration Projects, which involve Head Start in state planning and policy making efforts that affect low income children and families. It includes some fact sheets on the Collaboration Projects, project profiles and contact list, legislation regarding Head Start-State Collaboration Projects, and an excerpt from the report of the Advisory Committee on Head Start Quality and Expansion.

Contact: U.S. Administration for Children and Families, 370 L'Enfant Promenade, S.W., Washington, DC 20447, Telephone: (202) 401-9215 Secondary Telephone: (800) 422-4453 Web Site: http://www.acf.hhs.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Collaboration, Early childhood education, Family support, Head Start, Low income groups, Policy development, Program descriptions, Public private partnerships, State initiatives, Statewide planning

Kumar N, Muñiz MA. 2022. What we have learned from community health workers throughout the pandemic: Recommendations for policymakers. Washington, DC: Families USA, 10 pp.

Annotation: This brief presents lessons learned and recommendations for maintaining and building on community health worker (CHW) deployment during the first 2 years of the COVID-19 pandemic. It discusses who CHWs are and what they do and provides information about the policy landscape, taking into consideration the American Rescue Plan Act’s allocation of funds for the public health workforce to support pandemic-relief efforts.

Contact: Families USA, 1225 New York Avenue, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 628-3030 Fax: (202) 347-2417 E-mail: info@familiesusa.org Web Site: http://www.familiesusa.org Available from the website.

Keywords: COVID-19, Community health centers, Disease transmission, Financing, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Public policy, Virus diseases

Community Catalyst. 2022. Policy change to advance oral health equity: An overview of key findings—Oral health in America. Boston, MA: Community Catalyst, 4 pp.

Annotation: This brief provides an overview of key findings from Oral Health in America: Advances and Challenges that focus on opportunities to effect policy change to help achieve oral health equity and racial justice. Topics include the relationship between oral health, social inequities, and structural racism; progress toward reducing oral disease; policy changes to help improve the oral health care system and advance health equity; and strategies to improve the oral health of Americans.

Contact: Community Catalyst, Dental Access Project, 30 Winter Street, 10th Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 338-6035 Fax: (617) 451-5838 E-mail: info@communitycatalyst.org Web Site: http://www.communitycatalyst.org/projects?id=0014 Available from the website.

Keywords: Health care disparities, Health care systems, Health equity, Oral health, Public policy, Racism

National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. 2022. Civic engagement and civic infrastructure to advance health equity: Proceedings of a workshop. Washington, DC: National Academies Press, 98 pp.

Annotation: These proceedings are from a workshop convened by the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine's roundtable on Population Health Improvement. The workshop explored the link between measures of civic engagement and quantitative and qualitative measure of health equity and the roles that civic infrastructure, narrative, and media play in shaping civic engagement. The document provides additional readings and resources.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: customer_service@nap.edu Web Site: http://www.nap.edu

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Health care disparities, Health equity, Health policy, Health status disparities, Policy analysis, Policy development, Public health infrastructure

Center for Science in the Public Interest. 2022. Healthy school meals for all: A toolkit for advocates. Washington DC: Center for Science in the Public Interest, 19 pp.

Annotation: This toolkit provides information and resources to help advocates to improve the quality of school meals. It discusses the history of school meals; school meals today; the Healthy, Hunger-Free Kids Act of 2010, and lawsuits over a 2018 U.S. Department of Agriculture rule that weakened sodium, whole grain, and flavored milk standards for school meals. Also discussed are the effect of the COVID-19 pandemic on the importance of school meals, the Center for Science in the Public Interest's vision for school meals, and what advocates can do to help realize this vision. Fact sheets on key priorities are included, along with information on state and local model legislation and policy, messaging guidance, and sample communication materials.

Contact: Center for Science in the Public Interest, 1220 L Street, N.W., Suite 300, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 332-9110 Fax: (202) 265-4954 E-mail: cspi@cspinet.org Web Site: http://www.cspinet.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Advocacy, Legislation, Nutrition, Public policy, School age children, School health

American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry. 2022. Policy on social determinants of children's oral health and health disparities (rev. ed.). Chicago, IL: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, 9 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information on the influence of factors including access to care, oral disease, behaviors, and oral health inequalities on children’s oral health. Methods and background are presented, and recommendations for oral health professionals and policymakers are offered. The report also includes a policy statement.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 1600, Chicago, IL 60611-2637, Telephone: (312) 337-2169 Fax: (312) 337-6329 Web Site: http://www.aapd.org Available from the website.

Keywords: zzz, Access to health care, Health equity, Oral health, Public policy, Tooth decay, Tooth diseases

Barzel R, Holt K, eds. 2022. Advancing oral health equity: A resource guide. Washington, DC: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, 23 pp.

Annotation: The guide provides an overview of oral health equity and is organized into two sections. The first section describes selected materials published from 2016 through 2022 that reflect current science and practice, as well as seminal materials published before 2016. The second section lists federal agencies, national professional associations, resource centers, and national coalitions that work to promote oral health equity and may serve as resources. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: OHRCinfo@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Health education, Health equity, Local programs, Oral health, Public policy, Resource materials, State programs, Statistical data, Surveys, Training

Arkansas Center for Health Improvement. 2022. Utilization of dental care among Arkansas children and adults. Little Rock, AR: Arkansas Center for Health Improvement, 49 pp.

Annotation: This report describes a study to inform policy decisions to improve access to and use of oral health care in Arkansas and to establish baseline measures for coverage and use indicators. Topics include data sources, key findings, study demographics and dental insurance coverage profile, use of care, fluoride varnish applications, dental sealant applications, use of oral health care in medical care settings, hospital emergency department use among uninsured individuals, population-to-active-dentist ratio profile, tooth-extraction-related opioid-prescribing profile, and future research.

Contact: Arkansas Center for Health Improvement, 1401 W. Capitol Avenue, Suite 300 (Victory Building), Little Rock, AR 72201, Telephone: (501) 526-2244 Web Site: https://achi.net/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Arkansas, Data, Dental sealants, Fluoride, Health care utilization, Health insurance, Oral health, Public policy, State information, Uninsured persons

Community Partners in Oral Health. 2022. Disconnect: The gap between patient experience and provider assumptions--An impact story. Glen Allen, VA: Virginia Health Catalyst, 13 pp.

Annotation: This impact story examines four barriers to accessing oral health in Richmond, Virginia, that the Community Partners in Oral Health (CPOH) identifed and presents specific community-driven strategies to overcome each barrier at the community, clinic, public health system, and policy levels. The barriers identified are cost of oral health care and dental insurance; availability of care; issues related to culture, language, and health; and health literacy and awareness about care. Information about the CPOH project is included.

Contact: Virginia Health Catalyst, 4200 Innslake Drive, Suite 103, Glen Allen, VA 23060, Telephone: (804) 269-8720 E-mail: info@vahealthcatalyst.org Web Site: https://vahealthcatalyst.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Costs, Health literacy, Oral health, Oral health equity, Public policy, State information, Virginia

White House. 2022. Biden-Harris Administration national strategy on hunger, nutrition, and health = White House national strategy on hunger, nutrition, and health. Washington, DC: White House, 44 pp.

Annotation: This report on a national strategy on hunger, nutrition, and health, including oral health, in the United States provides information about moving toward the goal of ending hunger in the country and increasing healthy eating and physical activity so that fewer Americans experience diet-related diseases. The report provides information about the current hunger, nutrition, and health landscape and details five pillars of the national strategy: (1) improve food access and affordability, (2) integrate nutrition and health, (3) empower everyone to make and have access to healthy choices, (4) support physical activity for all, and (5) enhance nutrition and food security research, including the interplay between nutrition, oral disease, and overall health.

Contact: White House, 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20500, Web Site: http://wh.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Hunger, Nutrition, Oral health, Physical activity, Public policy

National Network for Oral Health Access. [2021]. The role of dental providers in vaccine delivery and policy recommendations. Denver, CO: National Network for Oral Health Access, 19 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information on the role that oral health professionals can play in COVID-19 vaccine delivery and policy recommendations. It discusses the state policy landscape as it relates to oral health professionals administering COVID-19 vaccines, vaccine-delivery strategies developed by health center oral health programs, policy recommendations to increase the role of oral health professionals as vaccinators, and vaccine-specific policy recommendations.

Contact: National Network for Oral Health Access, 181 East 56th Avenue, Suite 501, Denver, CO 80216, Telephone: (866) 316-4995 Fax: (866) 316-4995 E-mail: info@nnoha.org Web Site: http://www.nnoha.org Available from the website.

Keywords: COVID-19, Disease transmission, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Public policy, Vaccination, Vaccines, Virus diseases

Community Catalyst. 2021 (ca.). Oral health policy equity tool. Boston, MA: Community Catalyst, multiple items.

Annotation: This tool was designed to help stakeholders analyze policies and focus oral-health-agenda setting on the principles of equity and community engagement. The tool includes (1) questions, discussion prompts, and resources to inform policy-agenda setting; (2) questions focused on how populations and marginalized groups will be affected by a policy, how inequities might be addressed, and how advocacy efforts can follow the lead of impacted populations and groups; (3) links to additional policy analysis tools; and (4) a follow-up survey.

Contact: Community Catalyst, Dental Access Project, 30 Winter Street, 10th Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 338-6035 Fax: (617) 451-5838 E-mail: info@communitycatalyst.org Web Site: http://www.communitycatalyst.org/projects?id=0014 Available from the website.

Keywords: , Advocacy, Ethnic factors, Low income groups, Oral health, Public policy, Racial factors

Khanal P. 2021. Improving maternal health outcomes: State policy actions and opportunities. Hamilton, NJ: Center for Health Care Strategies, 1 item. (Medicaid policy cheat sheet)

Annotation: This Medicaid Policy Cheat Sheet explores what states are doing to improve maternal health outcomes and what additional opportunities exist. Some strategies suggested include: extending postpartum coverage; enhancing benefits to cover evidence-based models, such as home visiting programs; developing value-based payment models that reward health outcomes and close racial and ethnic disparity gaps; and enhancing data collection on maternal mortality and morbidity. The document also provides examples of notable policies that have been implemented by states, such as payment reforms, models of care delivery, managed care organization data reporting requirements, midwifery-led care, doula services, postpartum coverage expansion, use of telemedicine, and provider bias training.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 200 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 119, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org

Keywords: Federal health insurance programs, Maternal health, Medicaid, Policy analysis, Public policy, State health insurance programs

Reynolds JC, Naavaal S. 2021. Dentist participation in Medicaid. Springfield, IL: Association of Public Health Dentistry, 5 pp. (AAPHD issue brief)

Annotation: This brief provides information about dentist participation in Medicaid. Topics include the importance of being able to find a dentist, barriers to accessing oral health care for Medicaid beneficiaries, and the degree to which dentists participate in Medicaid according to different measuring methods. Policy-related factors that play a role in dentists’ Medicaid participation are discussed, along with the likelihood of dentists participating in Medicaid, compared with physicians.

Contact: American Association of Public Health Dentistry, P.O. Box 7317, Springfield, IL 62791-7317, Telephone: (217) 529-6941 Fax: (217) 529-9120 E-mail: info@aaphd.org Web Site: http://www.aaphd.org Available from the website.

Keywords: , Access to health care, Dentists, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Public policy

Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors. 2021. Guidelines for state and territorial oral health programs (March 2021 revisions). Reno, NV: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 18 pp.

Annotation: These guidelines help health agency officials and public health administrators develop and operate oral health programs and promote integration of oral health activities into public health systems. Part I provides an overview of oral health disparities and strategies for prevention. It describes the diversity and uniqueness of oral health programs and efforts to increase infrastructure and capacity. Part II is a matrix of state oral health program roles for each of the 10 essential public health services. It includes examples of specific activities for each role and links to selected resources to help states accomplish the activities. An assessment tool is also available.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: info@astdd.org Web Site: http://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

Keywords: , Health promotion, Oral health, Public health, Public policy, State programs

Higgins E, Chhean E, Wilkness S, Tewarson H. 2021. Lessons for advancing and sustaining state community health worker partnerships. Portland, ME: National Academy for State Health Policy, 9 pp.

Annotation: This brief presents lessons learned that can help states build, sustain, or expand partnerships with community health workers (CHWs). It discusses engaging CHWs and other community-based stakeholders in policymaking to inform CHW programs and identify communities’ needs and strengths, leveraging experience from the COVID-19-pandemic response, and transitioning work with CHWs to advance other policies and financing approaches. It also discusses investing in CHWs to ensure sustainability, including through reimbursement of services, building career paths, and strengthening CHW networks.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: info@nashp.org Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, COVID-19, Community health, Disease transmission, Financing, Health services, Infectious diseases, Public policy, Reimbursement, Virus diseases

Mouradian WE, Kleinman D, Wilentz J. 2021. Santa Fe Group continuum on the benefits of integrating oral health into overall health. New York, NY: Santa Fe Group, 19 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information on a continuum undertaken to explore the benefits of integrating oral health into overall health. The continuum consisted of a series of webinars, background analyses, published papers, and a virtual salon. The report includes an overview of continuum components and discusses key themes from the continuum. A summary of sessions is included.

Contact: Santa Fe Group, 9 East 8th St., Suite 235, New York, NY 10003, Telephone: (505) 603-0804 Web Site: https://santafegroup.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Health systems, Oral health, Prevention, Public policy, Service integration

Singh AD, and Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, Dental Public Health Policy Committee . 2021. Policy statement: Reducing opioid prescribing by oral health professionals. Reno, NV: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 13 pp.

Annotation: This statement provides data related to reducing opioid prescribing by oral health professionals and highlights policies and strategies, including the introduction, adoption, and promotion of prescribing guidelines by the American Dental Association and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Also discussed are state requirements for dentist participation in prescription drug monitoring programs, continuing education for oral health professionals related to pain management, and inclusion of pain-management approaches in dental education. The statement also highlights how state oral health programs have identified and engaged in promising and effective approaches related to opioid prescription practices.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: info@astdd.org Web Site: http://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Dental education, Health policy, Narcotics, Oral health, Pain management, Prescription drugs, Public policy, State programs

American Dental Education Association. 2021. Comparison of state statutes and regulations that address requirements and permissible practices for teledentistry conducted by oral health practitioners. Washington, DC: American Dental Education Association, 7 pp.

Annotation: This chart presents a comparison of state teledentistry and telehealth policies to provide a reference to whether a state’s laws and regulations address these topics. The report is intended as a companion to compilations of teledentistry state status and regulations.

Contact: American Dental Education Association, 655 K Steet, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 289-7201 Fax: (202) 289-7204 Web Site: http://www.adea.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Public policy, Regulations, State legislation, Teledentistry, Telehealth

DeSalvo K, Hughes B, Bassett M, Benjamin G, Fraser M, Galea S, Garcia N, Howard J. 2021. Public health COVID-19 impact assessment: Lessons learned and compelling needs. Washington, DC: National Academy of Medicine, 29 pp. (Discussion paper)

Annotation: This discussion paper seeks to examine the public health sector's experience during COVID-19, exploring how legacy systems and policies shaped the sector's capacity to respond, highlighting health departments' key contributions and challenges during the pandemic, and identifying priority areas and policy considerations to enable the health care sector to be better prepared to meet population health needs in the 21st century.

Contact: National Academy of Medicine, 500 5th Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20001, E-mail: NAMedicine@nas.edu Web Site: http://nam.edu

Keywords: Access to health care, COVID-19, Community health, Disease transmission, Infectious diseases, Public policy, Virus diseases

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.