Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This toolkit contains information that details five high impact opportunities for states and local school districts to support communities through collaboration between the education and health sectors, highlighting best practices and key research in both areas. Contents include resources, programs, and services offered by non-governmental organizations.

Contact: U.S. Department of Education, 400 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20202, Telephone: (800) 872-5327 Secondary Telephone: (800) 437-0833 Web Site: http://www.ed.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Case management, Collaboration, Communities, Community action, Educational reform, Eligibility, Health care reform, Health education, Health insurance, Health services delivery, Hospitals, Medicaid managed care, Needs assessment, Nutrition, Physical activity, Public private partnerships, Reimbursement, Role, School districts, State government, Students

Annotation: This brief for state health departments highlights examples of school and hospital partnerships to improve children's health, and how state school health and nursing service personnel can support their collaboration. Topics include the importance of school and hospital partnership in managing chronic health conditions in schools, how health department involvement in a hospital community health needs assessment process can help to strengthen school and hospital partnership, and opportunities to strengthen school and hospital partnership through Medicaid. Additional contents include examples of school and hospital partnership in Massachusetts, Ohio, and Texas; and descriptions of key resources.

Contact: National Association of Chronic Disease Directors, 2200 Century Parkway, Suite 250, Atlanta, GA 30345, Telephone: (770) 458-7400 Web Site: https://chronicdisease.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Collaboration, Disease management, Hospitals, Medicaid, Needs assessment, Nursing, Public private partnerships, Reimbursement, Resources for professionals, School health services, Schools, State health agencies, State programs, Students

Annotation: This report examines community health needs assessments and implementation strategies of tax-exempt hospitals with a focus on how community has been defined; how community stakeholders have been engaged in assessment, planning, and implementation; how priorities have been set; and the content and geographic focus of implementation strategies.

Contact: National Network of Public Health Institutes, 1515 Poydras Street, Suite 1200, New Orleans, LA 70112, Telephone: (888)996-6744 Secondary Telephone: (504)301-9820 Fax: (504) 301-9820 Web Site: http://www.nnphi.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Accountability, Community participation, Decision making, Hospitals, Information systems, Needs assessment, Program improvement, Public health, Regional planning

Annotation: This document identifies seven guiding principles to consider during the implementation of community health needs assessments applicable to not-for-profit hospitals that seek federal tax-exempt status under the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (ACA). These principles address the importance of collaboration, community engagement, transparency, quality data, health disparities, evidence-based interventions, and evaluation to support all phases of community health improvement. The principles offer a pathway for hospitals, public health entities, and other interested parties to work collaboratively to address the health needs of their communities.

Contact: George Washington University Milken Institute School of Public Health, Department of Health Policy, 950 New Hampshire Avenue, N.W., Sixth Floor, Washington, DC 20052, Telephone: (202) 994-4100 Web Site: http://publichealth.gwu.edu/departments/health-policy Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Community coordination, Expanded eligibility, Health care reform, Health reform, Needs assessment, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Program improvement, Public health, Public hospitals

Annotation: This web page provides resources to help hospitals, public health agencies, and other stakeholders conduct community health needs assessments and develop community health improvement plans related to the revised community benefit obligations for public hospitals under the Affordable Care Act (ACA). It provides information related to the Community Health Needs Assessment (CHNA), including logic models, best practices, and Internal Revenue Service coding. Principles to consider to help guide the CHNA process, planning resources, and data tools are also provided.

• Link

Keywords: Community coordination, Expanded eligibility, Health care reform, Health reform, Needs assessment, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Program improvement, Public health, Public hospitals

Annotation: This document provides guidance for hospitals and parents on the importance of implementing a hepatitis B birth dose policy. Contents include case reports on reducing medical errors and materials to help hospitals address the problem, including a fact sheet and guidance and sample text for developing admission orders. The document also contains information statements, a handout, and childhood immunization record cards for parents. Contact information and additional resources are included. A related handout and 45-minute webinar are available from the Give Birth to the End of Hep B campaign website.

Contact: Immunization Action Coalition, , 1573 Selby Avenue, St. Paul, MN 55104, Telephone: (651) 647-9009 Fax: (651) 647-9131 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.immunize.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Campaign Website

Keywords: Case reports, Disease prevention, Health policy, Hepatitis B, Hospitals, Medical errors, Newborn infants, Parents, Postnatal care, Public awareness campaigns, Safety, Vaccines

Annotation: This report describes the Birth and Beyond California: Hospital Breastfeeding Quality Improvement and Staff Training Project (BBC), a demonstration project initiated by the Maternal, Child and Adolescent Health Division, California Department of Public Health. BBC was designed to increase exclusive in-hospital breastfeeding rates (i.e., feeding infants only human milk). The report discusses project development, evaluation findings, and lessons learned.

Contact: California Department of Public Health, Maternal, Child and Adolescent Health Program, MS 8305, P.O. Box 997420, Sacramento, CA 95899-7420, Telephone: (866) 241-0395 Fax: (916) 650-0305 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdph.ca.gov/programs/MCAH/Pages/default.aspx Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Breastfeeding promotion, California, Evaluation, Health promotion. Prevention, Hospitals, Infant health, Perinatal health, Public policy, State programs, Women', s health

Annotation: This white paper provides information about different types of children's hospitals and discusses the pros and cons of children's hospitals within general hospitals vs. freestanding children's hospitals. The paper discusses the pressure to choose which type of hospital to develop, children's hospital within a hospital genres, selecting an appropriate children's hospital genre, what every children's hospital must have, the four genres (freestanding look-alike, neonatal intensive care unit-centric, system consolidator, and community hospital) and the outlook for children's hospitals within hospitals.

Contact: Health Strategies and Solutions, 1628 John F. Kennedy Boulevard, Suite 500, Philadelphia, PA 19103, Telephone: (215) 363-3500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hss-inc.com/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Costs, Hospitals, Infant health, Neonatal intensive care units, Financing, Public policy

Annotation: This summary report assesses the state of America's health care safety net, a term that has come to refer broadly to public hospitals, community health centers, public health departments, faith-based clinics, and others who, either by mission or mandate, provide significant amounts of health care to people who are uninsured or underinsured and who cannot cover the costs of care from their own resources. Ten communities across the country were assessed: Memphis, TN; Detroit, MI; Phoenix, AZ; San Diego, CA; Lincoln, NE; Boston, MA; Queens, NY; Fairfax County, VA; San Antonio, TX; and Atlanta, GA. Chapter contents include descriptions of the following from the ten communities studied: structure and financing, availability of services for uninsured and underserved patients, results from focus group meetings with residents in the ten communities, care and use of emergency departments of hospitals in the areas studied, and key findings and strategies for strengthening the safety net. The report also contains an executive summary, end notes, and reports on the assessment including partners and contact information. Separate and detailed reports are provided for each of the ten communities. Statistical information is provided in charts, tables, and graphs throughout the summary and in each individual community report.

Contact: Urgent Matters, 2121 K Street, N. W., Suite 210, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 994-8642 Fax: (202) 973-1150 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.urgentmatters.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Arizona, California, Clinics, Georgia, Health agencies, Health care delivery, Health care systems, Health facilities, Health programs, Health services delivery, Massachusetts, Michigan, Nebraska, New York, Program evaluation, Public health programs, Public hospitals, Tennessee, Texas, Underserved communities, Uninsured persons, Virginia

Annotation: This paper addresses the effectiveness of in-hospital paternity establishment (a federal requirement since 1993) and whether paternity establishment is associated with father involvement (including formal and informal child support payments and father-child visitation). The paper introduces the issue, discusses previous literature on the evolution and effectiveness of paternity establishment policies, provides the conceptual framework and expected effects of covariates, describes the data and methods, and offers findings. References are included. Statistical information is presented in tables at the end of the paper.

Contact: Princeton University, Bendheim-Thoman Center for Research on Child Wellbeing, Wallace Hall, Princeton, NJ 08544, Telephone: (609) 258-5894 Fax: (609) 258-5804 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://crcw.princeton.edu Available from the website.

• Link
• Brief

Keywords: Child support, Father child relations, Fathers, Hospitals, Paternity, Paternity testing, Public policy, Research, Single parents

Annotation: This report summarizes the proceedings of a conference convened to explore (1) why the slow diffusion of many health care and medical innovations persists and (2) how to accelerate the adoption of clinical technologies and health service innovations that have been shown to improve the quality and/or cost effectiveness of health care. The report, which includes an executive summary, focuses on the following issues: (1) devices and drugs: obstacles to timely product uptake, (2) innovation in the hospital and at the bedside, (3) innovation in public health, prevention, and disease management, (4) the imperative of information technology and e-health, and (5) better quality through informed consumer choice. The report also includes synopses of three papers commissioned for the conference. Statistical information is presented in figures throughout the report. The appendix lists conference faculty with contact information.

Contact: National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation, 1225 19th Street, N.W., Suite 710, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 296-4426 Fax: (202) 296-4319 E-mail: http://www.nihcm.org/contact Web Site: http://www.nihcm.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Conference proceedings, Consumers, Cost effectiveness, Diffusion of innovation, Disease management, Disease prevention, Health care, Hospitals, Information systems, Internet, Management, Medical devices, Medical research, Prescription drugs, Prevention, Public health, Technology

Annotation: This textbook provides an introduction to the United States health care system and an overview of the professional, political, social, and economic forces that have shaped it and will continue to do so. It is intended to serve as a text for introductory courses on the organization of health care in the United States for students in all fields of health and allied health professional education. Chapter topics are: (1) an overview of health care, (2) benchmark developments in health care, (3) the history of hospitals, (4) the future of hospitals, (5) primary care, (6) medical education, (7) health personnel, (8) financing health care, (9) managed care, (10) long term care, (11) mental health services, (12) public health and the government role, (13) medical research, and (14) the future of health care.

Contact: Aspen Publishers, 76 Ninth Avenue, Seventh Floor, New York, NY 10011, Telephone: (800) 234-1660 Secondary Telephone: (212) 771-0600 Fax: (212) 771-0885 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.aspenpublishers.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-8342-1167-X.

Keywords: Allied health personnel, Benchmarking, Financing, Government role, Health education, Health personnel, Health services, Hospitals, Long term care, Managed care, Medical education, Mental health services, Primary care, Professional education, Public health, Textbooks, United States

Annotation: This report considers the access to primary and acute health care services in rural America. It studies problems related to the health and access to health care services for rural residents and the role of the federal government in rural health, and it reviews issues and options in providing health services. It also identifies various options for future congressional action.

Contact: U.S. Government Publishing Office, 732 North Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20401, Telephone: (202) 512-1800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 512-1800 Fax: (202) 512-2104 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gpo.gov Available from the website. Document Number: OTA-H-434, summary OTA-H-235.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to care, Federal government, Health care utilization, Health services, Physicians, Policy development, Public policy, Rural hospitals, Rural population, Statistics

Annotation: This paper, presented at the 97th annual meeting of the American Public Health Association in Philadelphia, focuses on the authorization in the Children and Youth Program to appropriate federal funds directly to medical schools and teaching hospitals as well as to health departments. This is part of a series to document and asses the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title V. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Adolescent health programs, Child health programs, Children and Youth Projects, Comprehensive health care, Hospitals, Interagency cooperation, Medical schools, Program evaluation, Public health agencies, Title V programs

Annotation: This program (formerly the N.C. Back to Sleep Campaign) is a public education and awareness initiative designed to increase understanding about both infant safe sleep and sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS), with the goal of reducing SIDS and infant sleep related deaths in North Carolina. The site describes several programs, including HOPES (a hospital initiative), Baby's Easy Safe Sleep Training (BESST, a workshop for health and human services professionals), and the Infant/Toddler Safe Sleep and SIDS Risk Reduction Childcare Project (ITS-SIDS). A catalog of free educational materials is provided.

Contact: North Carolina Healthy Start Foundation, 1300 St. Mary's Street, Suite 204, Raleigh, NC 27605, Telephone: (919) 828-1819 Fax: (919) 828-1446 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.NCHealthyStart.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child care, Healthy Start, Hospitals, Infant mortality, North Carolina, Prevention programs, Public awareness campaigns, Racial factors, SIDS, Sleep, State initiatives