Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This paper reports a Children and Youth Project conducted by combining the forces of a medical school and a health department, by maintaining role differentiation in respect to education and service, and by developing a Central Health Record and communication system to develop and increase comprehensive health services for children and youth residing in the target areas of poverty. This paper is produced as part of the documentation and assessment of the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title V. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Adolescent health programs, Child health programs, Children and Youth Projects, Communication, Comprehensive health services, Interagency cooperation, Medical records, Medical schools, Poverty, Program evaluation, Public health agencies, Title V programs

Annotation: This report demonstrates graphically how a combination of a health department and a medical school compress to the national average of all Children and Youth projects. This paper is produced as part of the documentation and assessment of the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title V. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Adolescent health programs Comprehensive health services, Child health programs, Children and Youth Projects, Communication, Interagency cooperation, Medical records, Medical schools, Poverty, Program evaluation, Public health agencies, Title V programs

Annotation: This document encourages families to partner with health professionals on getting preventive health services and to take a lead role in promoting health at home and where they live, work, and play. Topics include how information sharing between families and health professionals can promote child health, the Affordable Care Act's preventive health services for children, the Bright Futures initiative, and tips for a healthy lifestyle. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Family Voices, IMPACT, 3701 San Mateo Boulevard, N.E., Suite 103, Albuquerque, NM 87110, Telephone: (505) 872-4774 Secondary Telephone: (888) 835-5669 Fax: (505) 872-4780 Web Site: http://www.fv-impact.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Bright Futures, Child health, Children, Families, Family centered care, Health care reform, Health promotion, Parent professional relations, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Preventive health services, Public private partnerships, Special health care needs

Annotation: This handout outlines a set of maternal and child health quality indicators to monitor oral health services delivered in public health programs and systems of care. Indicators for women of childbearing age and pregnant women are broken into three categories: access, utilization, and outcomes. Indicators for children are broken into four categories: access, utilization, process, and outcomes.[Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: , Data collection, Oral health, Pregnant women, Program development, Public health services, Quality assurance, Young children

Annotation: This policy playbook provides policy and advocacy tools to help communities address and prevent the public health harms caused by the use of electronic nicotine delivery system (ENDS) products such as e-cigarettes. In addition to including new information on e-cigarette policies and legislation, the playbook features four case studies of effective policies that state or local communities across the country recently adopted to regulate e-cigarettes. The document is the result of a collaboration between Vaping Prevention Resource and the Public Health Law Center.

Contact: Public Health Law Center, Mitchell Hamline School of Law , University of Minnesota , 875 Summit Avenue, St. Paul, MN 55105, Telephone: (651) 290-7506 Fax: (651) 290-7515 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.publichealthlaw.org

• PDF

Keywords: Advocacy, Case studies, Community health services, Prevention, Public policy, Smoking Cessation

Annotation: In this webinar, subject matter experts present on 1) the Alliance for Innovation on Maternal Health’s (AIM) patient safety bundle for perinatal people with substance use disorders, and 2) the role of public health agencies, perinatal quality collaboratives, and community organizations in supporting the implementation of the AIM bundle in their state. Speakers include representatives from the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG), the Louisiana Department of Health, and the Florida Department of Health.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Guidelines, Perinatal care, Postpartum women, Pregnant women, Preventive health services, Public health , Quality assurance, Safety, State initiatives, Substance abusing pregnant women, Substance use disorders

Annotation: The Bright Futures Guidelines website provides theory-based and evidence-driven guidance for all preventive care screenings and health supervision visits. Bright Futures content can be incorporated into many public health programs such as home visiting, child care, school-based health clinics and many others. ​Tools and materials are meant for professionals in clinical practice, states and communties, and families, and contain information on topics such as healthy mental and emotional development, health equity, and food security, among others.[Supported by the US Department of Health and Human Services, Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA)​, Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB).]

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org

• Link

Keywords: Child development, Developmental screening, Education materials, Health screening, Preventive health services, Public health education

Annotation: This strategic plan provides a framework for health workforce improvements, focusing on four key goals: expanding supply, ensuring equitable distribution, improving quality, and enhancing the use of data and evidence to improve program outcomes. This plan is Section 3402 of the Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security (CARES) Act, enacted in March 2020, to address barriers to strengthening the health work force. The plan aligns with Presidential Executive Orders related to the Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) pandemic. The American Rescue Plan (ARP) of 2021 invests resources in the health care, public health, and mental health work force in alignment with the goals of this strategic plan.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (202) 619-0257 Secondary Telephone: (877) 696-6775 Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Community needs, Personnel, Public health, Public health services, Work force

Annotation: This brief presents lessons learned that can help states build, sustain, or expand partnerships with community health workers (CHWs). It discusses engaging CHWs and other community-based stakeholders in policymaking to inform CHW programs and identify communities’ needs and strengths, leveraging experience from the COVID-19-pandemic response, and transitioning work with CHWs to advance other policies and financing approaches. It also discusses investing in CHWs to ensure sustainability, including through reimbursement of services, building career paths, and strengthening CHW networks.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, COVID-19, Community Health Workers, Community health, Disease transmission, Financing, Health services, Infectious diseases, Public policy, Reimbursement, Virus diseases

Annotation: [in process]

Contact: U.S. Office of the Surgeon General, Tower Building, Plaza Level 1, Room 100, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (240) 276-8853 Fax: (240) 453-6141 Web Site: http://www.surgeongeneral.gov/index.html

• PDF

Keywords: Federal initiatives, Health policy, Mental health, National programs, Prevention services, Public policy, Strategic plans, Suicide, Suicide prevention

Annotation: This issue brief describes key characteristics of children with special health care needs and explores insurance affordability, adequacy of coverage, and benefits for children covered by Medicaid/CHIP compared to those with private insurance only. The brief provides a context for ongoing policy discussions around additional investments in Medicaid, including home and community-based services (HCBS), for children with special health care needs.

Contact: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 2400 Sand Hill Road, Menlo Park, CA 94025, Telephone: (650) 854-9400 Secondary Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (650) 854-4800 Web Site: http://www.kff.org

• Link

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Community based services, Health care costs, Health insurance, Home care, Medicaid, Public assistance, Special health care services, Statistics

Annotation: This resource povides information on breastfeeding barriers and support services centered on the needs of populations disproportionately impacted by structural barriers that lead to low rates of breastfeeding. The resource underscores the importance of breastfeeding support services that are continuous, accessible, and coordinated, and provides recommendations and strategies that are consistently supportive of chest/breastfeeding families. The targetedd audience is local-level organizations and individuals that interacts with pregnant and postpartum families.

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.naccho.org

• Link

Keywords: Barriers, Breast feeding promotion, Community based services, Lactation management, Public health

Annotation: This report explores how community-based maternal support services provided by community-based doulas and maternity community health workers can improve maternal health outcomes. It also highlights the results of a national environmental scan of organizations that are actively working toward eliminating maternal health disparities and building community connections through the community-based maternal support model. Common barriers to implementing this model are identified, and opportunities for Medicaid stakeholders to provide support and increased access to these services are highlighted.

Contact: Institute for Medicaid Innovation, 1150 18th Street, N.W., Suite 1010, Washington, DC 20036, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.medicaidinnovation.org

• PDF

Keywords: Barriers, Childbirth, Community based services, Community health workers, Doulas , Maternal health, Medicaid, Model programs, Public health, Risk factors, Social support, initiatives

Annotation: This issue brief provides a definition of equity in telehealth, describes four dimensions of equity in telehealth policy, and provides case study examples of how these dimensions can be applied when assessing the equity impacts of a given maternal and child health (MCH) telehealth policy solution.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Health care delivery, Health equity, MCH services, Policy, Public health, Telecommunications, Telehealth, Telemedicine

Annotation: This document requests input on a blueprint designed to inform programs and policy at the community, state, and federal levels on how systems of care for children and youth with special health care needs (CYSHCN) can be operationalized in the key areas of health equity, access to services and supports, family/child well-being and quality of life, and financing of services. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, Health care systems, Public health services, Service delivery systems

Annotation: This toolkit was created to help practitioners, public health departments, academia, and others to update content and educational materials to reflect the revised 10 Essential Public Health Services. It includes downloadable graphics, a glossary, videos, comparisons to other frameworks, PowerPoint presentations, an environmental scan, task force and liaisons, downloadable social media tools, and other resources. A fact sheet is available in Spanish and Arabic, in addition to English.

Contact: Public Health National Center for Innovations, 1600 Duke Street, Suite 200, Alexandria, VA 22314, Telephone: (703) 778-4549 Web Site: http://phnci.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Program descriptions, Adolescent health, Child health, Federal MCH programs, Foreign language materials, Health programs, Health services, Local MCH programs, Maternal health, Program development, Program development, Public health, Spanish language materials, State MCH programs

Annotation: This toolkit for public health advocates and local health departments demonstrates how the activities contained within it can increase physical activity and improve health equity for young people. It contains guiding principles and policy recommendations that address problems in health equity. Case studies from cities throughout the United States demonstrate how access to recreational space and art projects have tackled issues such as chronic disease, depression and violent crime. [Grant funding was provided by the NEA and the Kresge Foundation.]

Contact: Trust for Public Land , 101 Montgomery Street, #900, San Francisco, CA 94104, Web Site: www.tpl.org

• PDF

Keywords: Community coordination, Community engagement, Green spaces, Health equity, Physical activity, Public health, Recreational services, Recreational spaces, Social determinants of health

Annotation: The report summarizes proceedings from the public health event that took place in Washington, DC. in June 2019 that focused on improving material health care in rural communities. The "interactive conversation" was hosted by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services in collaboration with other agencies and nonprofit organizations. Included are summaries of forum speeches, panel discussions, and feedback from attendees and key stakeholders. The expert panel discussions focused on the current state of rural maternal healthcare in the United States; the advancement of systems of maternal healthcare in rural America; and the improvement of policies that impact rural maternal health. The objectives of the event were to (1) present an overview of the state of maternal healthcare in rural communities, with a focus on access to maternal health services before, during, and after pregnancy; (2) address disparities in maternal health outcomes and opportunities to achieve health equity; (3) share existing promising practices and areas of opportunity to improve access to maternal health services; and (4) develop priorities and next steps for a plan of action to inform options to reduce disparities and improve access to maternal health services, the quality of care provided, and maternal health outcomes in rural communities.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Interagency cooperation, Maternal health, Maternal health services, Meetings, Proceedings, Public health, Rural health, Service coordination

Annotation: This report provides information about the importance of oral health throughout the life-span, the economic costs of oral disease and oral health disparities, and efforts to improve access to preventive oral health services in Michigan. Topics include gains made in increasing access statewide through the expansion of Healthy Kids Dental, a public-private partnership between the Michigan Department of Community Health and Delta Dental; maintenance of dental benefits for adults enrolled in Medicaid; community water fluoridation; and dental sealants.

Contact: Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin, 6737 West Washington Street, Suite 1111, West Allis, WI 53214, Telephone: (414) 292-4000 Secondary Telephone: (414) 337-4561 Fax: (414) 231-4972 Web Site: https://www.chawisconsin.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Adults, Barriers, Children, Coalitions, Community action, Dental sealants, Fluorides, Health care disparities, Infants, Life course, Medicaid, Michigan, Older adults, Oral health, Policy development, Preventive health services, Public private partnerships, State programs, Statewide planning, Water, Wisconsin

Annotation: This glossary provides terms and definitions for acronyms used in the disability field.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, Dictionaries, Public health services, Rehabilitation, Special health care services