Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This videotape describes the Caring Program for Children and the Children's Health Insurance Program (Blue Cross/Blue Shield's BlueCHIP program) in Pennsylvania. It depicts the health care needs of children living in poverty and children of the uninsured working poor who do not qualify for Medicaid assistance, and explains the unique funding of this collaborative program. Appearances by Fred Rogers of "Mr. Rogers' Neighborhood" and by local medical and government officials underscore the need for this type of program, the reasons for its success, and the ways that public and private resources can join together to help ensure access to primary health care for children. The videotape concludes with a television clip describing the program on NBC's "America Close Up." [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Access to health care, Audiovisual materials, Child health, Corporate programs, Insurance, Local MCH programs, Medical assistance, Pennsylvania, Primary care, Public private partnerships, Videotapes

Annotation: This paper reports a Children and Youth Project conducted by combining the forces of a medical school and a health department, by maintaining role differentiation in respect to education and service, and by developing a Central Health Record and communication system to develop and increase comprehensive health services for children and youth residing in the target areas of poverty. This paper is produced as part of the documentation and assessment of the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title V. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Adolescent health programs, Child health programs, Children and Youth Projects, Communication, Comprehensive health services, Interagency cooperation, Medical records, Medical schools, Poverty, Program evaluation, Public health agencies, Title V programs

Annotation: This report demonstrates graphically how a combination of a health department and a medical school compress to the national average of all Children and Youth projects. This paper is produced as part of the documentation and assessment of the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title V. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Adolescent health programs Comprehensive health services, Child health programs, Children and Youth Projects, Communication, Interagency cooperation, Medical records, Medical schools, Poverty, Program evaluation, Public health agencies, Title V programs

Annotation: This two-part policy tool is designed to support a facilitated process for state oral health stakeholders to collectively make decisions about priorities based on suggested criteria. It also provides a planning checklist to move forward strategically. Part one assists state oral health programs in assessing opportunities for socio-political, policy, and systems change. It considers scientific data collection, professional judgment, community input, and feasibility in needs assessment and policy development to improve oral health resources and services. Part two focuses on developing policy actions or systems-development plans to take advantage of or create new opportunities to advance the public’s oral health. The guidebook contains a series of templates that can be reproduced and adapted to meet specific project needs. This tool was previously issued as "The policy tool guidebook: Steps for creating a successful oral health policy tool session" (2009).

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

• Word Document

Keywords: Children, Collaboration, Community coordination, Health policy, Manuals, Needs assessment, Oral health, Public health programs, Strategic plans

Annotation: This report provides information about why medical-dental integration (MDI), a model of care that emphasizes the connection between oral health and systemic health, is important. Topics include MDI efforts in Connecticut, emerging MDI-related trends outside Connecticut, barriers to MDI, and policy and program recommendations.

Contact: Connecticut Dental Health Partnership, 195 Scott Swamp Road, Farmington, CT 06032, Telephone: (860) 507-2302 Web Site: https://www.ctdhp.com/default.asp Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Connecticut, Oral health, Public policy, Service integration, State information, State programs, Trends

Annotation: This tip sheet discusses the reliance of oral health programs on health coalition members and community advocates to create and implement state plans, promote evidence-based prevention and public health approaches, and advocate for new policies and laws. It also provides 10 recommendations for what these coalition members and advocates can do to support state oral health infrastructure and capacity building.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Advocacy, Oral health, Public health infrastructure, Public policy, State legislation, State programs

Annotation: This brief provides information about what state oral health officials can do to support the 10 Essential Public Health Services to promote oral health. The brief also presents key messages about state oral health programs and state oral health infrastructure elements.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Health promotion, Oral health, Public health infrastructure, State programs

Annotation: These public-awareness-campaign materials are designed for use during Children’s Dental Health Month (February) to encourage good oral health for children of all ages. Contents include activity sheets; a guide for parents; a poster for displaying in an office waiting room; a certificate to present to children; tools for classroom educators (customizable letter and teacher’s guide); and classroom resources, including lesson plans, demos and videos, and frequently asked questions.

Contact: Procter and Gamble Company, Cincinnati, OH Telephone: (800) 543-2577 Web Site: http://www.dentalcare.com Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Consumer education materials, Curriculum development, Learning, Multimedia, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Prevention programs, Primary prevention, Program development, Program planning, Public awareness campaign materials, Teaching

Annotation: This report offers a description of state-based oral health surveillance systems and provides guidelines and recommendations related to these systems, research evidence, best practice criteria, and state practice examples. A summary of evidence supporting state-based oral health surveillance systems is included. Public health surveillance systems, the National Oral Health Surveillance System, building an oral health surveillance system, collecting and disseminating data, evaluating a public health surveillance system, initiatives and coordinated efforts, and future considerations are discussed.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Guidelines, Model programs, Oral health, Public health, Research, State programs, Surveillance

Annotation: This oral health plan for Ohio was designed to guide actions taken by policymakers, advocates, educators, providers, and funders in the state. The plan includes background on the issue, the plan’s purpose, and progress; information on taking action to achieve the plan’s vision; and key findings.

Contact: Oral Health Ohio, 720 E. Pete Rose Way, Suite 120, Cincinnati, OH 45202, Telephone: (513) 768-6137 Web Site: https://www.oralhealthohio.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Health care utilization, Ohio, Oral health, Prevention, Public policy, State information, State programs

Annotation: This report presents an overview of important elements to consider when incorporating social determinants of health (SDoH)--defined as the nonmedical factors that influence health outcomes--into a community health strategy. It describes SDoH factors, including education access, quality healthcare, strong neighborhood and built-environment, economic stability, and social and community context, and it explains how data provides an additional layer of valuable information. Principles for the ethical use of SDoH, importance of SDoH in identifying barriers to care, tracking the policy landscape, assessing SDoH programs, and common challenges are among the topics addressed.

Contact: Executives for Health Innovation, One Thomas Circle, NW, Suite 700, Washington , DC 20005, Telephone: 202-624-3270 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ehidc.org

• Link

Keywords: Community programs, Health equity, Initiatives, Model programs, Program development, Public health, Social factors

Annotation: This web page describes the child nutrition programs provided by the U.S. Department of Agriculture to help ensure that children receive nutritious meals and snacks that promote their health and educational readiness. The site describes how the pandemic affected USDA child food programs and provides links to annual reports that summarize the food and nutrition assistance program landscape. Information on the following child nutrition programs is included: National School Lunch Program, School Breakfast Program, Child and Adult Care Food Program, Summer Food Service Program, and After School Snacks and Meals.

Contact: U.S. Department of Agriculture, 1400 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20250, Telephone: (202) 720-2791 Fax: E-mail: Web Site: http://www.usda.gov

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Federal programs, Food insecurity, Nutrition and Food, Prevention, Public assistance, School based programs

Annotation: This section of the 2021-2026 Idaho Oral Health Improvement Plan comprises reports from partner organizations and individual oral health champions who have undertaken activities that align with the plan and are working to improve, support, or otherwise positively impact oral health for Idahoans. For each partner organization or individual, information on the geographic area served, the target population, and the oral-disease-prevention activities, activities to improve access to oral health care, and policy-related activities is provided.

Contact: Idaho Oral Health Alliance, P.O. Box 2309, Boise, ID 83701, Telephone: (208) 994-9058 Web Site: http://www.idahooralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Idaho, Oral health, Prevention, Public policy, State materials, State programs

Annotation: This report provides information about efforts of the Tennessee Department of Health, Oral Health Services' Section (OHS) to prevent and control oral disease through organized community efforts. The report introduces the issues; lists oral health services OHS provides, the number of people served, and the number of services provided; and describes the state's Nurse's Fluoride Varnish Program and School Based Dental Prevention Program. Also discussed are public health dental clinics in the state, the School Dental Transport program that transports children from schools to dental clinics, the Adult Dental Funding Program, and how OHS disseminates oral health information.

Contact: Tennessee Department of Health, Oral Health Services Section, 710 James Robertson Parkway, Andrew Johnson Tower, Nashville, TN 37243, Telephone: (615) 741-3111 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://tn.gov/health/section/oralhealth Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Adult health, Data, Dental clinics, Dental sealants, Fluoride varnish, Oral health, Prevention, Public health, School health, School-age children, State information, State programs, Tennessee

Annotation: This website describes Maine's childhood obesity prevention program to increase physical activity and healthy eating for children from birth to age 18 through policy and environmental change. The program strives to reinforce the importance of healthy eating and physical activity by reaching families where they live, learn, work, and play. Contents include toolkits for early childhood, K-5, middle and high school, and health care and work place programs. Resources for parents and Spanish translated materials are also provided.

Contact: Barbara Bush Children's Hospital at Maine Medical Center, 22 Bramhall Street, Portland, ME Telephone: (207) 662-0111 Web Site: http://www.bbch.org/Pages/Home.aspx Available from the website.

• Website
• 2012 Annual Report

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Environmental influences, Families, Health policy, Maine, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Prevention programs, Public private partnerships, Spanish language materials, State initiatives

Annotation: The guide provides an overview of oral health equity and is organized into two sections. The first section describes selected materials published from 2016 through 2022 that reflect current science and practice, as well as seminal materials published before 2016. The second section lists federal agencies, national professional associations, resource centers, and national coalitions that work to promote oral health equity and may serve as resources. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Health education, Health equity, Local programs, Oral health, Public policy, Resource materials, State programs, Statistical data, Surveys, Training

Annotation: This fact sheet explains how Title V maternal and child health (MCH) programs can actively engage state Medicaid agencies and work with state and local partners to ensure that Medicaid-eligible recipients continue to receive adequate health coverage once the COVID-19 federal public health emergency (PHE) funding ceases. The fact sheet focuses on the challenges posed by the required redetermination of Medicaid eligibility; the staff-intensive enrollment process; and the number of at-risk recipients whose job status changed during the pandemic.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to care, Communicable diseases, Emergencies, Enrollment, Federal programs, Health Insurance, Medicaid, Public health, Title V, Virus diseases

Annotation: This report provides information on Nevada’s state oral health plan. The report describes the Nevada Oral Health Program and offers information on the Advisory Committee on the State Program for Oral Health (AC4OH) and development of the oral health plan. The burdens of oral disease nationally and in Nevada are discussed, and key findings and priority areas (policy and infrastructure, prevention and screening, access to and quality of oral health care, and workforce capacity) are presented. The report also describes the process that AC4OH will use to implement plan objectives and measure progress toward them.

Contact: Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health, Oral Health Program, 4150 Technology Way, Carson City, NV 89706, Telephone: (775) 684-4200 Fax: (775) 684-4211 Web Site: http://dpbh.nv.gov/Programs/OH/OH-Home Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Health screening, Nevada, Oral health, Prevention, Public health infrastructure, Quality assurance, State materials, State programs, Strategic plans

Annotation: This report summarizes the results of the 2021 Synopses of State Dental Public Health Programs questionnaire, which the Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors distributes to the 50 states and the District of Columbia annually. The purpose of the questionnaire is to obtain current information from each state on demographic, infrastructure, workforce, and administrative factors that impact the state’s oral health program. Topics include demographics, infrastructure, workforce, administration, and state-funded oral health programs.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Children, Oral health, Program descriptions, Public health programs, State initiatives, Statistical data

Annotation: This Medicaid policy cheat sheet explores what states are doing to improve maternal health outcomes and what additional opportunities exist. Some strategies suggested include: extending postpartum coverage; enhancing benefits to cover evidence-based models, such as home visiting programs; developing value-based payment models that reward health outcomes and close racial and ethnic disparity gaps; and enhancing data collection on maternal mortality and morbidity. The document also provides examples of notable policies that have been implemented by states, such as payment reforms, models of care delivery, managed care organization data reporting requirements, midwifery-led care, doula services, postpartum coverage expansion, use of telemedicine, and provider bias training.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 200 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 119, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org

• Link

Keywords: Federal health insurance programs, Maternal health, Medicaid, Policy analysis, Public policy, State health insurance programs