Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This web page describes the child nutrition programs provided by the U.S. Department of Agriculture to help ensure that children receive nutritious meals and snacks that promote their health and educational readiness. The site describes how the pandemic affected USDA child food programs and provides links to annual reports that summarize the food and nutrition assistance program landscape. Information on the following child nutrition programs is included: National School Lunch Program, School Breakfast Program, Child and Adult Care Food Program, Summer Food Service Program, and After School Snacks and Meals.

Contact: U.S. Department of Agriculture, 1400 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20250, Telephone: (202) 720-2791 Fax: E-mail: Web Site: http://www.usda.gov

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Federal programs, Food insecurity, Nutrition and Food, Prevention, Public assistance, School based programs

Annotation: This website describes Maine's childhood obesity prevention program to increase physical activity and healthy eating for children from birth to age 18 through policy and environmental change. The program strives to reinforce the importance of healthy eating and physical activity by reaching families where they live, learn, work, and play. Contents include toolkits for early childhood, K-5, middle and high school, and health care and work place programs. Resources for parents and Spanish translated materials are also provided.

Contact: Barbara Bush Children's Hospital at Maine Medical Center, 22 Bramhall Street, Portland, ME Telephone: (207) 662-0111 Web Site: http://www.bbch.org/Pages/Home.aspx Available from the website.

• Website
• 2012 Annual Report

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Environmental influences, Families, Health policy, Maine, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Prevention programs, Public private partnerships, Spanish language materials, State initiatives

Annotation: This toolkit provides information and resources to help advocates to improve the quality of school meals. It discusses the history of school meals; school meals today; the Healthy, Hunger-Free Kids Act of 2010, and lawsuits over a 2018 U.S. Department of Agriculture rule that weakened sodium, whole grain, and flavored milk standards for school meals. Also discussed are the effect of the COVID-19 pandemic on the importance of school meals, the Center for Science in the Public Interest's vision for school meals, and what advocates can do to help realize this vision. Fact sheets on key priorities are included, along with information on state and local model legislation and policy, messaging guidance, and sample communication materials.

Contact: Center for Science in the Public Interest, 1220 L Street, N.W., Suite 300, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 332-9110 Fax: (202) 265-4954 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cspinet.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Advocacy, Legislation, Nutrition, Public policy, School age children, School health

Annotation: This report presents a national strategy on hunger, nutrition, and health, including oral health, and provides information about ending hunger and increasing healthy eating and physical activity to reduce the incidence of diet-related diseases. It details five pillars of the national strategy: (1) improve food access and affordability, (2) integrate nutrition and health, (3) empower everyone to make and have access to healthy choices, (4) support physical activity for all, and (5) enhance nutrition and food security research, including the interplay between nutrition, oral disease, and overall health.

Contact: White House, 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20500, Web Site: https://www.whitehouse.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Hunger, Nutrition, Oral health, Physical activity, Public policy

Annotation: This updated policy statement addresses infant feeding from a public health perspective, promoting breastfeeding for optimal health and nutrition. Topics covered include epidemiology, health equity, exclusive breastfeeding, and duration of breastfeeding, as well as contraindications and special circumstances that may make breastfeeding difficult. A companion technical report provides the evidence and basis for the recommendations.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org

• Policy Stataement
• Technical Report

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Infant feeding, Infant nutrition, Policy , Public health

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information on the role of public health nutrition in Title V maternal and child health programs and ways to engage with public health nutritionists while working on the five-year needs assessment. It gives examples of connections between MCH outcomes and nutrition. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Federal programs, Needs assessment, Nutrition programs, Public health nutrition, Public health nutritionists, Title V programs

Annotation: This fact sheet provides an overview of Title V needs assessment and of nutrition and Title V. It gives examples of connections between MCH outcomes and nutrition, and how public health nutritionists can participate. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Federal programs, Needs assessment, Nutrition programs, Public health nutrition, Public health nutritionists, Title V programs

Annotation: This brief is designed to help families find care, services, and support and websites about overweight and obesity in children and adolescents. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Bibliographies, Body weight, Child health, Children, Diet, Electronic publications, Exercise, Families, Health behavior, Nutrition, Obesity, Weight gain, Weight management

Annotation: This toolkit contains information that details five high impact opportunities for states and local school districts to support communities through collaboration between the education and health sectors, highlighting best practices and key research in both areas. Contents include resources, programs, and services offered by non-governmental organizations.

Contact: U.S. Department of Education, 400 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20202, Telephone: (800) 872-5327 Secondary Telephone: (800) 437-0833 Web Site: http://www.ed.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Case management, Collaboration, Communities, Community action, Educational reform, Eligibility, Health care reform, Health education, Health insurance, Health services delivery, Hospitals, Medicaid managed care, Needs assessment, Nutrition, Physical activity, Public private partnerships, Reimbursement, Role, School districts, State government, Students

Annotation: This fact sheet describes Building Healthy Communities, a school-based prevention program in Michigan to help children adopt healthy habits at a young age by providing access to healthy food, health education, physical education, and physical activity. Contents include a description of the program's development and implementation process, outcomes, and next steps. Topics include partnering organization efforts to pool funding, resources, and expertise to engage elementary schools and expand to middle and high schools throughout the state.

Contact: National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation, 1225 19th Street, N.W., Suite 710, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 296-4426 Fax: (202) 296-4319 E-mail: http://www.nihcm.org/contact Web Site: http://www.nihcm.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Behavior modification, Children, Collaboration, Curriculum, Elementary schools, Health behavior, Health promotion, High schools, Michigan, Middle schools, Nutrition education, Nutrition services, Obesity, Outcome and process assessment, Physical activity, Physical education, Prevention programs, Program descriptions, Public private partnerships, School health education, School health programs, State programs, Statewide planning

Annotation: This compendium of program summaries describes the approaches of American Academy of Pediatrics' state chapters to develop and implement programs focused on poverty and child health in California, New York City, Oklahoma, and Vermont. Topics include developing and using innovative technologies to address food insecurity, pediatricians promoting food security, ensuring the delivery of health and developmental screening services to young children who are homeless, supporting adolescent parents and their children, and accessing summer meal programs. Each summary includes information about program collaboration, evaluation and measurement, outcomes, barriers and lessons learned, and future plans.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent health, Adolescent parents, Child health, Collaboration, Community action, Community based services, Developmental screening, Food, Health screening, Healthy People 2020, Homeless persons, Low income groups, Model programs, Nutrition, Poverty, Program descriptions, Public private partnerships

Annotation: This website includes resources designed to help primary care health professionals and others understand the etiology of dental caries and caregivers’ role in preventing caries in infants, children, and adolescents from birth to age 21. Contents include a fluoride-application training course for clinics and supplemental materials, a book for children about toothbrushing, fluoride varnish printed materials, and a fluoride varnish video for caregivers. The resources are available in English and some are available in the following non-English languages: Cambodian, French, Karen, Hmong, Oromo, Portuguese, Russian, Somali, Spanish, and Vietnamese. Find the list of languages across the top of the landing page.

Contact: Minnesota Oral Health Project, c/o University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN 55455, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.minnesotaoralhealthproject.com Available from the website.

• English
• Vietnamese

Keywords: Advocacy, Community based services, Dental care, Fluorides, Health promotion, Infants, Local initiatives, Low income groups, Low literacy materials, Minnesota, Multimedia, Non English language materials, Nutrition, Oral health, Outreach, Preventive health services, Primary care, Public awareness campaigns, Public service announcements, Spanish language materials, Young children

Annotation: This report outlines the barriers to breastfeeding that communities of color face, along with policy and practice recommendations to address racial inequity in First Food. The report highlights structural barriers that women face during pregnancy, at the hospital, and in their first weeks and months at home after the baby is born—including access to Baby-Friendly hospitals and certified lactation consultants.

Contact: Center for Social Inclusion, 150 Broadway, Suite 303, New York, NY 10038, Telephone: (212) 248-2785 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.centerforsocialinclusion.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Barriers, Breastfeeding, Case Studies, Environmental influences, Ethnic groups, Infant health, Mothers, Nutrition, Policy development, Public policy

Annotation: This paper discusses the importance of children drinking water. Topics include information about the importance of water consumption in preventing chronic disease; obstacles to ensuring that students have access to clean, safe drinking water in schools; drinking water challenges in communities; and opportunities for funders to increase children’s access to and consumption of free, safe drinking water. Improving access, prioritizing education, funding data collection and research, promoting multisectoral partnerships, and advocating for supportive policies are also discussed. In addition, the paper presents a policy framework to support healthy development in children by investing in accessible, safe drinking water.

Contact: Grantmakers In Health, 1100 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 1200, Washington, DC 20036-4101, Telephone: (202) 452-8331 Fax: (202) 452-8340 Web Site: http://www.gih.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Advocacy, Child health, Child safety, Community role, Environmental health, Environmental pollution, Financing, Fluid intake, Health promotion, Low income groups, Minority groups, Nutrition, Policy development, Public private partnerships, School role, Water

Annotation: This resource focuses on state agency efforts to promote good nutrition in the maternal and child health population. Contents are listed by topic and by state. Topics include: nutrition standards; salad bars in schools; organizational change with multiple agencies; leadership; farm to institution; healthy beverages; home visiting programs; and healthy communities. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of State Public Health Nutritionists, P.O. Box 37094, Tucscon, AZ 85740-7094, Telephone: (814) 255-2829 Secondary Telephone: Fax: Web Site: http://www.asphn.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Child care, Child health, Collaboration, Health promotion, Home visiting, Infant health, Maternal health, Nutrition, Organizational change, Program improvement, Public health nutritionists, State MCH programs, Strategic planning, Systems development, Training

Annotation: This brief summarizes the impact of nutrition on infant mortality and identifies areas where nutrition interventions can make a difference in reducing infant mortality. The brief also describes the role that public health nutritionists play in preventing infant mortality. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of State Public Health Nutritionists, P.O. Box 37094, Tucscon, AZ 85740-7094, Telephone: (814) 255-2829 Secondary Telephone: Fax: Web Site: http://www.asphn.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Infant mortality, Nutrition, Prevention services, Public health nutritionists

Annotation: This document focuses on state policies that have a collective impact on families and young children. The document describes the strength of collective policy support for children and their parents in states and how states can assess policies that collectively influence the strength of two-generation supports for families with young children. Topics include early care and education, health and nutrition, and parenting and family economic supports. Recommendations are included.

Contact: National Center for Children in Poverty, 215 West 125th Street, Third Floor, New York, NY 10027, Telephone: (646) 284-9600 Fax: (646) 284-9623 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nccp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child care, Early childhood education, Families, Family support services, Health policy, Nutrition policy, Parents, Policy analysis, Public policy, Young children

Annotation: This document provides model legislation for states implementing a policy requiring a safety warning on sugar-sweetened beverage (SSB) containers and packaging. Contents include model legislation to assist states seeking to increase consumer awareness about the health risks of consuming SSBs and to help them to make informed choices. An accompanying set of evidence-based facts that support the legislation is also available.

Contact: ChangeLab Solutions, 2201 Broadway, Suite 502, Oakland, CA 94612, Telephone: (510) 302-3380 Web Site: http://changelabsolutions.org Available from the website.

• Model Legislation For States
• Appendix

Keywords: Consumer education, Food labeling, Health behaviors, Health policy, Nutrition, Policy development, Public awareness campaigns, Public policy, Regulations, State legislation, Sugar

Annotation: This guide addresses the need for drinking water in schools and outlines steps for providing adequate numbers of drinking fountains and tap water dispensers in school buildings. The content is organized to mirror typical school organizational structure, providing information about policy and oversight for state and tribal agencies and information focused on implementation and maintenance for schools. Topics include access to free and safe drinking water within a convenient distance of any location on school grounds; factors that impact whether water is safe to drink and appealing to students, teachers, and staff; and campaigns and policies designed to increase student water consumption.

Contact: Harvard University, T.H. Chan School of Public Health, 677 Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA 02115, Telephone: (617) 495-1000 Web Site: https://www.hsph.harvard.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Facility design and construction, Fluid intake, Nutrition, Oral health, Policy development, Public health infrastructure, Safety, School age children, Schools, Water

Annotation: These resources are designed to help people understand that oral disease can be prevented and that good oral health is essential to overall health. Contents include how-to tips on topics such as toothbrushing, flossing, getting oral health checkups, smart snacking, questions to ask the dentist and physician, and finding and paying for oral health care. Additional resources include infographics, posters, a website widget and social media posts, and videos.

Contact: Washington Dental Service Foundation, P.O. Box 75983, Seattle, WA 98175-0983, Telephone: (206) 528-2373 Fax: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.kidsoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Program Website
• Presentation (2016)

Keywords: Disease prevention, Health promotion, Life course, Media campaigns, Nutrition, Oral health, Physical fitness, Public awareness campaigns, Public service announcements