Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: The overall goal of this project was to develop a replicable system of family-centered, community-based case management for children with special health care needs in a frontier State. Targeted communities were under 20,000 in population and served areas at least 50 miles from a level II facility. The project objectives were to: (1) Upgrade case management and assessment skills of local public health nurses; (2) develop family-centered, community-based case management programs that address the needs of the family and the child with special needs; and (3) develop community-based teams that empower families to actively participate in identifying and meeting educational, social, psychological, health, and financial needs for themselves and the child with special needs. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-158640.

Keywords: Case Management, Chronically Ill, Community-Based Health Care, Education of Health Professionals, Families, Family-Centered Health Care, Public Health Nurses, Rural Populations

Annotation: This program-planning guide provides information about how to raise awareness of the importance of oral health during National Children’s Dental Health Month (NCDHM) (February). The guide offers oral health champions resources to help them promote the benefits of good oral health and oral-disease prevention to children. It includes an NCDHM fact sheet, a sample NCDHM proclamation, program planning timetable tips, and ideas for activities. Selected activities include sponsoring a coloring contest, offering school presentations, participating in a health fair, and working with community and civic groups.

Contact: American Dental Association, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Fax: (312) 440-7494 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ada.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: , Consumer education, Health promotion, Oral health, Prevention, Public awareness campaigns

Annotation: These resources are designed to help health professionals promote oral health coverage in Medicaid and the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP) and educate pregnant women and parents and other caregivers about good oral health habits. Contents include links to Medicaid and CHIP benefits for children by state and a tool to help families find a dentist. Additional contents include a fact sheet, a flyer, a poster, tear pads, web banners and buttons, social media messages, images for Facebook and Twitter, and newsletter templates in English and Spanish.

Contact: Insure Kids Now, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Web Site: https://www.insurekidsnow.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Children', Consumer education materials, Medicaid, Oral health, Pregnant women, Public awareness campaigns, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials, Young children, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: These public-awareness-campaign materials are designed for use during Children’s Dental Health Month (February) to encourage good oral health for children of all ages. Contents include activity sheets; a guide for parents; a poster for displaying in an office waiting room; a certificate to present to children; tools for classroom educators (customizable letter and teacher’s guide); and classroom resources, including lesson plans, demos and videos, and frequently asked questions.

Contact: Procter and Gamble Company, Cincinnati, OH Telephone: (800) 543-2577 Web Site: http://www.dentalcare.com Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Consumer education materials, Curriculum development, Learning, Multimedia, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Prevention programs, Primary prevention, Program development, Program planning, Public awareness campaign materials, Teaching

Annotation: This toolkit is designed to help people learn about how to take good care of their oral health and about how oral health is connected to overall health and well-being. Tools include radio public service announcements; social media graphics; social media posts; posters; content to include in e-mails, newsletters, and other outreach materials; and educational materials. A webinar about opportunities for sharing oral health materials and integrating them into health-education efforts is also available.

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 464-4772 Fax: (301) 443-1246 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Oral health, Outreach, Posters, Public awareness campaigns, Public awareness materials, Public service announcements

Annotation: This report recounts the development of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill's (UNC-CH's) dental public health education program from its inception in 1936 through 2016. The report provides an overview of public health education and describes the beginnings of dental public health education at UNC-CH and the launch of the university's Institute of Public Health Dentistry, laying the foundation for a resurgence of training in dental public health, and UNC-CH's short courses in dental public health. Also discussed are the North Carolina Dental Public Health Residency Program, degree programs in public health dentistry at UNC-CH, and oral health research conducted at the Gillings School of Global Public Health.

Contact: University of North Carolina Press, 116 South Boundary Street, Chapel Hill, NC 27514-3808, Telephone: (919) 966-3561 Fax: (919) 966-3829 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://uncpress.unc.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Dental education, Higher education, History, North Carolina, Oral health, Public health, Research, State materials, Training

Annotation: The guide provides an overview of oral health equity and is organized into two sections. The first section describes selected materials published from 2016 through 2022 that reflect current science and practice, as well as seminal materials published before 2016. The second section lists federal agencies, national professional associations, resource centers, and national coalitions that work to promote oral health equity and may serve as resources. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Health education, Health equity, Local programs, Oral health, Public policy, Resource materials, State programs, Statistical data, Surveys, Training

Annotation: This manual provides information about community water fluoridation (CWF) in California. It explains what CWF is and discusses its history in the state. It guides users through a step-by-step process of advocating for CWF. Topics include strategy, education and advocacy, policymaking, preventing or reversing a rollback, capital funding, and communicating with operations.

Contact: California Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health, MS Code 8305, P.O. Box 997377, MS 0500, Sacramento, CA 95899-7377, Telephone: (916) 558-1784 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Programs/CCDPHP/DCDIC/CDCB/Pages/OralHealthProgram/OralHealthProgram.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Advocacy, California, Financing, Fluoride, Health education, Oral health, Prevention, Public policy, State information, Water

Annotation: The Bright Futures Guidelines website provides theory-based and evidence-driven guidance for all preventive care screenings and health supervision visits. Bright Futures content can be incorporated into many public health programs such as home visiting, child care, school-based health clinics and many others. ​Tools and materials are meant for professionals in clinical practice, states and communties, and families, and contain information on topics such as healthy mental and emotional development, health equity, and food security, among others.[Supported by the US Department of Health and Human Services, Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA)​, Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB).]

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org

• Link

Keywords: Child development, Developmental screening, Education materials, Health screening, Preventive health services, Public health education

Annotation: This statement provides data related to reducing opioid prescribing by oral health professionals and highlights policies and strategies, including the introduction, adoption, and promotion of prescribing guidelines by the American Dental Association and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Also discussed are state requirements for dentist participation in prescription drug monitoring programs, continuing education for oral health professionals related to pain management, and inclusion of pain-management approaches in dental education. The statement also highlights how state oral health programs have identified and engaged in promising and effective approaches related to opioid prescription practices.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental education, Health policy, Narcotics, Oral health, Pain management, Prescription drugs, Public policy, State programs

Annotation: These resources provide guidance for oral health professionals on helping their clients quit smoking. Contents include a fact sheet on how to support clients, a handout on reasons to quit, a continuing education training, answers to frequently asked questions such as how quitlines work and how effective they are, an intervention card that lists steps for conducting brief interventions with clients, and supplemental materials.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Division of Oral Health, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/OralHealth Available from the website.

• Link
• Website

Keywords: Continuing education, Intervention, Oral health, Pregnant women, Public awareness campaigns, Public awareness materials, Resource for professionals, Smoking cessation, Tobacco use, Training

Annotation: This resource focuses on three policy areas with the potential to transform early learning experiences and close opportunity gaps: harsh discipline and its disproportionate application; the segregation of children with disabilities in learning settings; and inequitable and inadequate access to bilingual learning opportunities for dual language and English learners. It addresses ages birth through five and grades kindergarten through 5. It is accompanied by briefs for each topic.

Contact: Children's Equity Project, Arizona State University, T. Denny Sanford School of Social and Family Dynamics, Phoenix, AZ Web Site: https://childandfamilysuccess.asu.edu/cep Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Early childhood education, Mental health, Public policy

Annotation: This guide for trainers provides continuing education (CE) to oral health professionals serving infants, children, and adolescents from birth through age 21, including children with special health care needs (CSHCN) and pregnant women. Topics include (1) introduction to public dental health and care coordination; (2) behavioral guidance; (3) motivational interviewing; (4) early childhood oral health care; (5) tooth decay progression, management, diagnosis, and treatment; (6) restorative techniques; (7) cost-effective practice; (8) pediatric anesthetic and behavior management; (9) oral health care for CSHCN and pregnant women; and (10) tobacco, vaping, and oral health.

Contact: Alameda County Public Health Department, Office of Dental Health, 1100 San Leandro Blvd., San Leandro, CA 94577, Telephone: (510) 208-5910 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://dental.acphd.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: , Adolescent health, Children with special health care needs, Continuing education, Infant health, Infants with special health care needs, Oral health, Pregnant women, Public health

Annotation: This report describes a study conducted to examine practice patterns of graduates of primary care dental postgraduate training programs with a history of Health Resources and Services Administration funding. The study aims were to assess the impact of graduates’ training experience on current practice patterns and subsequent patient access to care and to measure the long-term impact of these programs on improving dentists’ capacity to meet the needs of those who are underserved. The report provides background and discusses study methods, findings, and limitations. A discussion of the findings, including information about policy implications, is included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Oral Health Workforce Research Center, New York Center for Health Workforce Studies, University of Albany, SUNY, School of Public Health, 1 University Place, Suite 220, Rensselaer, NY 12144-3445, Telephone: (518) 402-0250 Fax: (518) 402-0252 Web Site: http://www.oralhealthworkforce.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Dental schools, Dentists, Graduate education, Low income groups, Oral health, Public policy, Research

Annotation: This toolkit is intended to help state policy leaders and advocates assess the current status of services for infants, toddlers, and their families, and to set priorities for improvement. A user-friendly format allows users to easily access state information from national sources, assess how their state compares to other states, and gather stakeholder input. Topics include an overview, good health, strong families, positive early learning experiences, and collaboration and system building. Additional resources include stakeholder survey questions in an editable Excel format, family survey template as PDF and Survey Monkey templates in English and Spanish, and a list of suggested stakeholders for completing the self-assessment checklist.This toolkit is intended to help state policy leaders and advocates assess the current status of services for infants, toddlers, and their families, and to set priorities for improvement. A user-friendly format allows users to easily access state information from national sources, assess how your state compares to other states, and gather stakeholder input.

Contact: ZERO TO THREE: National Center for Infants, Toddlers and Families, 1255 23rd Street, N.W., Suite 350, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 638-1144 Fax: (202) 638-0851 Web Site: http://www.zerotothree.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Early childhood education, Families, Infants, Manuals, Program development, Program evaluation, Public health services, Public policies, Toddlers

Annotation: This plan presents priorities for oral health in South Carolina during the period 2015–2020. Priorities discussed include strengthening public health infrastructure; improving access to oral health services for vulnerable populations; education and prevention; supporting the integration of public health priorities, as they relate to oral health, into higher education programs’ dental education; and policy and outreach. For each priority, recommendations are provided.

Contact: South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control, 2600 Bull Street, Columbia, SC 29201, Telephone: (803) 898-3432 Fax: (803) 898-3323 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.scdhec.gov

• PDF
• Entry Page

Keywords: Access to health care, Education, Oral health, Outreach, Prevention, Public health, Public policy, South Carolina, State programs

Annotation: This document is intended for MCH interdisciplinary training programs, national, state, and local health agencies, and other MCH organizations. It is designed to support new and practicing MCH professionals by: (1) defining MCH leadership; (2) describing how the MCH Leadership Competencies can be used by a variety of audiences; (3) providing a conceptual framework for the development of an MCH leader;(4) outlining the knowledge and skill areas required of MCH leaders; and (5) linking to tools for implementation. The website includes the competencies document and links to related resources.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Competency based education, Leadership, MCH programs, MCH training, Professional education, Public health, Standards

Annotation: This action agenda examines major public health systems challenges and issues, how current workforce development approaches are responding to these challenges, what needs to change, and how workforce development approaches can improve.

Contact: National Network of Public Health Institutes, 1515 Poydras Street, Suite 1200, New Orleans, LA 70112, Telephone: (888)996-6744 Secondary Telephone: (504)301-9820 Fax: (504) 301-9820 Web Site: http://www.nnphi.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Continuing education, Health personnel, Public health, Service delivery systems, Training, Work force

Annotation: This document provides standards and indicators in the areas of training setup, learning and application, and user interface.

Contact: National Network of Public Health Institutes, 1515 Poydras Street, Suite 1200, New Orleans, LA 70112, Telephone: (888)996-6744 Secondary Telephone: (504)301-9820 Fax: (504) 301-9820 Web Site: http://www.nnphi.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Continuing education, Health personnel, Public health, Standards, Training

Annotation: This paper describes the lack of published literature analyzing learning taking place in and with communities that has a demonstrated value to that community and the factors attributable to it, and efforts to build the evidence by establishing a common definition for community-engaged health professional education that is relevant to all health professionals in all disciplines in all settings or context. Contents include elements of the definition. Topics include sustainable community-academic partnerships; collaborative design, delivery, and evaluation; and next steps for building the evidence.

Contact: National Academy of Medicine, 500 5th Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20001, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nam.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Collaboration, Equal opportunities, Evaluation, Goals, Health occupations, International health, Leadership, Learning, Policy development, Professional education, Public private partnerships, Strategic plans, Sustainability, Training, Underserved communities, Work force