Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This web page presents a chart of "do and don't" tips for placing baby safely to sleep. Topics include placing baby on their back, alone in a crib with a firm mattress and a fitted sheet, room-sharing, breastfeeding, using a pacifier, and keeping immunizations up-to-date.

Contact: Charlie's Kids Foundation, c/o Pegasus Transportation, P.O. Box 1571, Jeffersonville, IN 47131-1571, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://charlieskids.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Infant death, Prevention programs, Public awareness campaigns, SIDS, Sleep position

Annotation: This program-planning guide provides information about how to raise awareness of the importance of oral health during National Children’s Dental Health Month (NCDHM) (February). The guide offers oral health champions resources to help them promote the benefits of good oral health and oral-disease prevention to children. It includes an NCDHM fact sheet, a sample NCDHM proclamation, program planning timetable tips, and ideas for activities. Selected activities include sponsoring a coloring contest, offering school presentations, participating in a health fair, and working with community and civic groups.

Contact: American Dental Association, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Fax: (312) 440-7494 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ada.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: , Consumer education, Health promotion, Oral health, Prevention, Public awareness campaigns

Annotation: This website presents resources from the National Education Association's (NEA's) campaign against bullying. Contents include a pledge form for parents and other caring adults willing to advocate for measures to stop bullying in their schools and communities. Additional content includes research and tools, tip sheets and stories, NEA's position and actions, prevention and intervention training, multimedia, and resources for education support professionals.

Contact: National Education Association, 1201 16th Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20036-3290, Telephone: (202) 833-4000 Fax: (202) 822-7974 Web Site: http://www.nea.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Bullying, Primary prevention, Public awareness campaigns, Public service announcements, School age children, School health, Training materials

Annotation: These resources are designed to help health professionals promote oral health coverage in Medicaid and the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP) and educate pregnant women and parents and other caregivers about good oral health habits. Contents include links to Medicaid and CHIP benefits for children by state and a tool to help families find a dentist. Additional contents include a fact sheet, a flyer, a poster, tear pads, web banners and buttons, social media messages, images for Facebook and Twitter, and newsletter templates in English and Spanish.

Contact: Insure Kids Now, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Web Site: https://www.insurekidsnow.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Children', Consumer education materials, Medicaid, Oral health, Pregnant women, Public awareness campaigns, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials, Young children, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This website provides strategies and materials from a national outreach and enrollment initiative. The purpose of the initiative is to raise awareness about health coverage available under Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program; create opportunities for families to get their eligible children and adolescents signed up for coverage; motivate parents to enroll their children and adolescents and renew their coverage; and help states, community organizations, schools, health professionals, and others organize and conduct successful outreach activities. Contents include customizable fact sheets, palmcards, posters, public service announcements, webinars, and a newsletter. Links to campaign partners; a video library; tools for using technology to facilitate outreach; and strategies for businesses, community health centers, schools, and youth sports are also included. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Children', Enrollment, Federal initiatives, Health insurance, Medicaid, Multimedia, Outreach, Public awareness campaigns, Spanish language materials, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This website and mobile application provides information and functions to help parents make informed car safety decisions. Features include vehicle crash test ratings, help installing car seats, and safety headlines and alerts including recalls on car seats and tires. Campaign marketing tools are also available. Available in English and Spanish.

Contact: National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, 1200 New Jersey Avenue, S.E., West Building, Washington, DC 20590, Telephone: (888) 327-4236 Secondary Telephone: (800)424-9153 Web Site: http://www.nhtsa.dot.gov Available from the website.

• Link
• Apple App

Keywords: Adolescents, Car seats, Children, Infants, Injury prevention, Mobile applications, Motor vehicle safety, Multimedia, Parent education, Parents, Public awareness campaigns, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This toolkit is designed to help people learn about how to take good care of their oral health and about how oral health is connected to overall health and well-being. Tools include radio public service announcements; social media graphics; social media posts; posters; content to include in e-mails, newsletters, and other outreach materials; and educational materials. A webinar about opportunities for sharing oral health materials and integrating them into health-education efforts is also available.

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 464-4772 Fax: (301) 443-1246 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Oral health, Outreach, Posters, Public awareness campaigns, Public awareness materials, Public service announcements

Annotation: These resources provide guidance for oral health professionals on helping their clients quit smoking. Contents include a fact sheet on how to support clients, a handout on reasons to quit, a continuing education training, answers to frequently asked questions such as how quitlines work and how effective they are, an intervention card that lists steps for conducting brief interventions with clients, and supplemental materials.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Division of Oral Health, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/OralHealth Available from the website.

• Link
• Website

Keywords: Continuing education, Intervention, Oral health, Pregnant women, Public awareness campaigns, Public awareness materials, Resource for professionals, Smoking cessation, Tobacco use, Training

Annotation: These materials and resources are designed to assist state program staff and others interested in promoting birth defects prevention during "January is Birth Defects Prevention Month." Contents include fact sheets, pamphlets, and posters about birth defects, preconception health, infections and immunizations, and healthy lifestyle. Topics include what you should know about birth defects, including congenital heart defects; folic acid and fetal alcohol syndrome; toxoplasmosis, cytomegalovirus, and tips on preventing infections during pregnancy; and diabetes, smoking, and domestic violence. The resources are available in English and Spanish.

Contact: National Birth Defects Prevention Network, 1321 Upland Drive, Suite 1561, Houston, TX 77043, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.nbdpn.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Congenital abnormalities, Gestational diabetes, Preconception care, Prevention, Public awareness campaigns, Reproductive health, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This report summarizes activities and outcomes from a project to integrate and implement preconception care into clinic and community settings. Contents include information about the project's progress toward meeting the goal and objectives, future plans, and dissemination. Topics include reframing and diversifying messages; launching a consumer-facing campaign; partnering with preconception peer educators; implementing a pregnancy intention screening tool; engaging, training, and providing technical assistance to clinics and health care systems; and catalyzing change by convening meetings. Environment, challenges, opportunities, collaboration and observations are discussed.

Contact: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Medicine, Center for Maternal and Infant Health, Old Clinic Building, Room 3018, Campus Box 7181, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7181, Telephone: (919) 843-7865 Fax: (919) 843-7865 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mombaby.org/ Available from the website.

• Word Document
• Program Website

Keywords: Clinics, Communication, Community based services, Men', National initiatives, Organizational change, Outcome and process assessment, Peer education, Preconception care, Prevention programs, Program development, Public awareness campaigns, Public private partnerships, Reproductive health, Screening, Service integration, Technical assistance, Training, Women', s health, s health

Annotation: This report summarizes the impact of a national preconception outreach and education initiative for young men and women and clinicians. Contents include media metrics following the launch of national consumer website and social media platform to increase the visibility of preconception health messages and provide young adults with essential, evidence-based information to improve their health, reduce their risks, and improve birth outcomes. Topics include launch results and analytic snapshot and information about the related grantee and preconception peer educator ambassador programs. Additional contents summarize the impact of a partnership to integrate preconception health into routine clinical care using a learning collaborative, peer-reviewed publications, a website, traditional media, social media, expanded conversations, conferences and webinars, and a national newsletter.

Contact: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Medicine, Center for Maternal and Infant Health, Old Clinic Building, Room 3018, Campus Box 7181, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7181, Telephone: (919) 843-7865 Fax: (919) 843-7865 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mombaby.org/ Available from the website.

• Word Document
• Program Website

Keywords: Clinics, Communication, Community based services, Mass media, Measures, Men', National initiatives, Organizational change, Peer education, Preconception care, Prevention programs, Program evaluation, Public awareness campaigns, Public private partnerships, Reproductive health, Screening, Service integration, Technical assistance, Training, Women', s health, s health

Annotation: These resources are designed to raise awareness of birth defects and expand surveillance, prevention, care, and research worldwide. Contents include a video, social media resources, and partner links.

Contact: National Birth Defects Prevention Network, 1321 Upland Drive, Suite 1561, Houston, TX 77043, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.nbdpn.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child mortality, Congenital anomalies, Infant mortality, Infants, International health, Mass media, Prevention programs, Public awareness campaigns, Public private partnerships, Young children

Annotation: This public health campaign website was launched with the goal of educating and empowering young African American and Latino women (including those ages 15-18), who are most at-risk for developing lupus, to be aware of it signs and symptoms. The campaign uses the web, social media, digital advertising, and audience engagement to reach young women and educate them about the signs and symptoms of lupus. The campaign website also provides tools and resources such as the Lupus Foundation of America’s “Could it Be Lupus?” interactive questionnaire so those with possible symptoms can learn how to take that next step and talk to their health care provider.

Contact: Lupus Foundation of America, 2000 L Street, N.W., Suite 410, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 349-1155 Secondary Telephone: (800) 558-0121 Fax: (202) 349-1156 Web Site: http://www.lupus.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Advocacy, African Americans, Autoimmune diseases, Early intervention programs, Empowerment, Ethnic factors, Hispanic Americans, Lupus erythematosus, Prevention programs, Public awareness campaigns, Reproductive health, Risk factors, Self care, Women', s health

Annotation: These resources for World Oral Health Day, celebrated globally every year on March 20, focus on ways to maintain and protect oral health throughout life. The messages are intended for use by the general public and health professionals who play a key role in educating clients. Contents include an advocacy guide; a brochure on oral health do's and dont's, with sections devoted to oral health of women during pregnancy, children, and older adults; a game; posters; a toolkit for organizing events and social media campaigns; and a video. The materials are available in multiple languages.

Contact: FDI World Dental Federation, Tour de Cointrin, Avenue Louie Casai 51, Case P.O. Box 3, 1216 Cointrin-Geneve, Switzerland Telephone: (41) 22 560 81 50 Fax: (41) 22 560 81 40 E-mail: [email protected] Contact E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.fdiworldental.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Decision making, Disease prevention, Families, Health behavior, Health promotion, International health, Life course, Multimedia, Networking, Non English language materials, Older adults, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Pregnant women, Public awareness campaigns, Risk factors

Annotation: This guide is designed to help communities prevent dental caries and obesity by promoting drinking water as an alternative to sugar- sweetened beverages. Contents include strategies for building a team and defining and spreading the message in child care facilities, clinics, parks, schools, and other community-based settings. A two-page fact sheet is also available.

Contact: National Drinking Water Alliance, University of California, Division of Agriculture and Natural Resources, 6701 San Pablo Avenue, Second Floor, Oakland, CA 94608-1239, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.drinkingwateralliance.org Available from the website.

• Toolkit And Fact Sheet

Keywords: Communities, Dental caries, Disease prevention, Fluid intake, Health promotion, Multimedia, Obesity, Oral health, Prevention programs, Program development, Program planning, Public awareness campaigns, Public health education, Public private partnerships, Water

Annotation: These resources for health professionals and their clients provide information about opioids and describe ways to reduce the risk of opioid addiction and overdose. Information about taking opioids, safe storage and disposal, a help line, and options for sharing personal experiences are also included.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (202) 619-0257 Secondary Telephone: (877) 696-6775 Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Drug addiction, National initiatives, Opiates, Public awareness campaigns, Resources for professionals, Risk factors, Safety, Self help programs

Annotation: This website includes resources designed to help primary care health professionals and others understand the etiology of dental caries and caregivers’ role in preventing caries in infants, children, and adolescents from birth to age 21. Contents include a fluoride-application training course for clinics and supplemental materials, a book for children about toothbrushing, fluoride varnish printed materials, and a fluoride varnish video for caregivers. The resources are available in English and some are available in the following non-English languages: Cambodian, French, Karen, Hmong, Oromo, Portuguese, Russian, Somali, Spanish, and Vietnamese. Find the list of languages across the top of the landing page.

Contact: Minnesota Oral Health Project, c/o University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN 55455, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.minnesotaoralhealthproject.com Available from the website.

• English
• Vietnamese

Keywords: Advocacy, Community based services, Dental care, Fluorides, Health promotion, Infants, Local initiatives, Low income groups, Low literacy materials, Minnesota, Multimedia, Non English language materials, Nutrition, Oral health, Outreach, Preventive health services, Primary care, Public awareness campaigns, Public service announcements, Spanish language materials, Young children

Annotation: This report presents findings from an evaluation to assess the implementation and effectiveness of Text4baby, a free text messaging program for pregnant women and new mothers with an infant up to age one. The program is designed to improve maternal and child health among underserved populations in the United States. Topics include awareness, participation, health information knowledge, and behavior among women receiving prenatal care from four community health centers. The evaluation also addressed the role of the public-private partnership and lessons learned about the use of text messaging to provide health information during pregnancy.

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 464-4772 Fax: (301) 443-1246 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Community health centers, Health behavior, Health promotion, Infant health, Knowledge level, Maternal health, Mobile applications, Outreach, Participation, Preconception care, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Program evaluation, Public awareness campaigns

Annotation: This report summarizes the Pew Charitable Trusts' efforts to support and strengthen advocacy for community water fluoridation. The report examines the impact that Pew's work has had on advancing community water fluoridation and lessons that have emerged from Pew's experiences. Examples from Pew-assisted state campaigns' efforts to initiate water fluoridation or reaffirm its value are included.

• PDF

Keywords: Advocacy, Community based services, Fluorides, Oral health, Policy development, Preventive health services, Public awareness campaigns, State initiatives, Water

Annotation: This guide describes educational and communication tools that can be adapted for human papillomavirus vaccination (HPV) campaigns in local health departments and used in HPV project planning. Contents include brochures, continuing education webinars, fact sheets, guidance documents, infographics, letters and opinions, public service announcements, toolkits, video and audio communications, and websites. The guide includes resources for health care professionals to learn about HPV, the benefits of HPV vaccination, tips for talking to parents and adolescents, and strategies to increase vaccination rates. Resources to increase parents' and adolescents' awareness and knowledge about the HPV vaccine and HPV-related cancers are also included.

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

• Download Requires Registration (free)

Keywords: Adolescents, City health agencies, Communication, County health agencies, Human papillomavirus, Preventive health services, Program planning, Public awareness campaigns, Public health education, Resources for professionals, Vaccines, Young adults