Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This website presents resources from the National Education Association's (NEA's) campaign against bullying. Contents include a pledge form for parents and other caring adults willing to advocate for measures to stop bullying in their schools and communities. Additional content includes research and tools, tip sheets and stories, NEA's position and actions, prevention and intervention training, multimedia, and resources for education support professionals.

Contact: National Education Association, 1201 16th Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20036-3290, Telephone: (202) 833-4000 Fax: (202) 822-7974 Web Site: http://www.nea.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Bullying, Primary prevention, Public awareness campaigns, Public service announcements, School age children, School health, Training materials

Annotation: These resources are designed to help health professionals promote oral health coverage in Medicaid and the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP) and educate pregnant women and parents and other caregivers about good oral health habits. Contents include links to Medicaid and CHIP benefits for children by state and a tool to help families find a dentist. Additional contents include a fact sheet, a flyer, a poster, tear pads, web banners and buttons, social media messages, images for Facebook and Twitter, and newsletter templates in English and Spanish.

Contact: Insure Kids Now, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Web Site: https://www.insurekidsnow.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Children', Consumer education materials, Medicaid, Oral health, Pregnant women, Public awareness campaigns, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials, Young children, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This website provides strategies and materials from a national outreach and enrollment initiative. The purpose of the initiative is to raise awareness about health coverage available under Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program; create opportunities for families to get their eligible children and adolescents signed up for coverage; motivate parents to enroll their children and adolescents and renew their coverage; and help states, community organizations, schools, health professionals, and others organize and conduct successful outreach activities. Contents include customizable fact sheets, palmcards, posters, public service announcements, webinars, and a newsletter. Links to campaign partners; a video library; tools for using technology to facilitate outreach; and strategies for businesses, community health centers, schools, and youth sports are also included. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Children', Enrollment, Federal initiatives, Health insurance, Medicaid, Multimedia, Outreach, Public awareness campaigns, Spanish language materials, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This website and mobile application provides information and functions to help parents make informed car safety decisions. Features include vehicle crash test ratings, help installing car seats, and safety headlines and alerts including recalls on car seats and tires. Campaign marketing tools are also available. Available in English and Spanish.

Contact: National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, 1200 New Jersey Avenue, S.E., West Building, Washington, DC 20590, Telephone: (888) 327-4236 Secondary Telephone: (800)424-9153 Web Site: http://www.nhtsa.dot.gov Available from the website.

• Link
• Apple App

Keywords: Adolescents, Car seats, Children, Infants, Injury prevention, Mobile applications, Motor vehicle safety, Multimedia, Parent education, Parents, Public awareness campaigns, Spanish language materials

Annotation: These public-awareness-campaign materials are designed for use during Children’s Dental Health Month (February) to encourage good oral health for children of all ages. Contents include activity sheets; a guide for parents; a poster for displaying in an office waiting room; a certificate to present to children; tools for classroom educators (customizable letter and teacher’s guide); and classroom resources, including lesson plans, demos and videos, and frequently asked questions.

Contact: Procter and Gamble Company, Cincinnati, OH Telephone: (800) 543-2577 Web Site: http://www.dentalcare.com Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Consumer education materials, Curriculum development, Learning, Multimedia, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Prevention programs, Primary prevention, Program development, Program planning, Public awareness campaign materials, Teaching

Annotation: This toolkit is designed to help people learn about how to take good care of their oral health and about how oral health is connected to overall health and well-being. Tools include radio public service announcements; social media graphics; social media posts; posters; content to include in e-mails, newsletters, and other outreach materials; and educational materials. A webinar about opportunities for sharing oral health materials and integrating them into health-education efforts is also available.

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 464-4772 Fax: (301) 443-1246 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Oral health, Outreach, Posters, Public awareness campaigns, Public awareness materials, Public service announcements

Annotation: These resources provide guidance for oral health professionals on helping their clients quit smoking. Contents include a fact sheet on how to support clients, a handout on reasons to quit, a continuing education training, answers to frequently asked questions such as how quitlines work and how effective they are, an intervention card that lists steps for conducting brief interventions with clients, and supplemental materials.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Division of Oral Health, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/OralHealth Available from the website.

• Link
• Website

Keywords: Continuing education, Intervention, Oral health, Pregnant women, Public awareness campaigns, Public awareness materials, Resource for professionals, Smoking cessation, Tobacco use, Training

Annotation: These materials and resources are designed to assist state program staff and others interested in promoting birth defects prevention during "January is Birth Defects Prevention Month." Contents include fact sheets, pamphlets, and posters about birth defects, preconception health, infections and immunizations, and healthy lifestyle. Topics include what you should know about birth defects, including congenital heart defects; folic acid and fetal alcohol syndrome; toxoplasmosis, cytomegalovirus, and tips on preventing infections during pregnancy; and diabetes, smoking, and domestic violence. The resources are available in English and Spanish.

Contact: National Birth Defects Prevention Network, 1321 Upland Drive, Suite 1561, Houston, TX 77043, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.nbdpn.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Congenital abnormalities, Gestational diabetes, Preconception care, Prevention, Public awareness campaigns, Reproductive health, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This website provides information about the risks electronic cigarette (e-cigarette) use poses to youth and young adults, as well as resources for expanding and sharing knowledge about e-cigarettes and their impact on young people. Contents include the Surgeon General's report on the use of e-cigarettes by youth and young adults and information about the role of parents, health care professionals, and others in preventing harm and reducing young people's exposure to e-cigarettes. Resources include a fact sheet focusing on trends and heath risks, a quiz, a parent tip sheet, a health care provider conversation card, and responses to frequently asked questions. The fact sheet, tip sheet, and conversation card are available in English and Spanish.

Contact: U.S. Office of the Surgeon General, Tower Building, Plaza Level 1, Room 100, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (240) 276-8853 Fax: (240) 453-6141 Web Site: http://www.surgeongeneral.gov/index.html Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Adverse effects, Beliefs, Communication, Consumer education materials, Disease prevention, Federal initiatives, Marketing, Public awareness campaign materials, Risk factors, Smoking, Spanish language materials, Tobacco, Trends, Young adults

Annotation: This infographic and related resources are designed to help health professionals share the message that oral health care is safe and important during pregnancy. Sample images and messages for social media are also available.

• Link
• Infographic Posted To Children's Dental Health Project

Keywords: Dental care, Oral health, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Public awareness campaign materials, Safety

Annotation: These resources for World Oral Health Day, celebrated globally every year on March 20, focus on ways to maintain and protect oral health throughout life. The messages are intended for use by the general public and health professionals who play a key role in educating clients. Contents include an advocacy guide; a brochure on oral health do's and dont's, with sections devoted to oral health of women during pregnancy, children, and older adults; a game; posters; a toolkit for organizing events and social media campaigns; and a video. The materials are available in multiple languages.

Contact: FDI World Dental Federation, Tour de Cointrin, Avenue Louie Casai 51, Case P.O. Box 3, 1216 Cointrin-Geneve, Switzerland Telephone: (41) 22 560 81 50 Fax: (41) 22 560 81 40 E-mail: [email protected] Contact E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.fdiworldental.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Decision making, Disease prevention, Families, Health behavior, Health promotion, International health, Life course, Multimedia, Networking, Non English language materials, Older adults, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Pregnant women, Public awareness campaigns, Risk factors

Annotation: These resources are designed to help health, civic, and community-service organizations make oral health a priority. Contents include information about the burden of oral disease and the need for oral health care in Delaware and a step-by-step guide to developing oral health activities, including best practices, tips for goal setting, referral protocols, team training, monitoring, and evaluation. Additional contents include a presentation, educational brochures, an evaluation and referral worksheet, a resource guide, and sample articles.

Contact: Delaware Department of Health and Social Services, Bureau of Oral Health and Dental Services, Jesse Cooper Building, 417 Federal Street, Dover, DE 19901, Telephone: (302) 744-4554 Fax: (302) 661-7229 Web Site: http://dhss.delaware.gov/dph/hsm/ohphome.html Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Delaware, Oral health, Public awareness campaign materials, Resources for professionals, State initiatives

Annotation: These resources for the public and policymakers provide evidence-based information and tools to promote and protect access to community water fluoridation and other preventive strategies. Contents include a primer on the fluoride debate, answers to fluoridation questions, tools for sustaining or initiating fluoridation in a community, materials to give decision-makers, public education materials, and presentations. Topics include children's oral health and fluoride, communities supporting fluoride, facts about fluoride, fluoride and public health, fluoride in the news, fluoride and access to care, partners, and what the experts say about fluoride. Infographics, posters, and videos are included. Many resources are available in English and Spanish.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, Campaign for Dental Health, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ilikemyteeth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Children, Community health services, Fluorides, Multimedia, Oral health, Preventive health services, Public awareness campaign materials, Public health infrastructure, Spanish language materials, Water

Annotation: This document for primary care health professionals provides tips for promoting the identification of autism spectrum disorders (ASDs) and other developmental disabilities for children from immigrant families or from families whose primary language is not English. Contents include tips for culturally- and linguistically-competent autism screening; the Modified Checklist for Autism in Toddlers (M-CHAT) screening tool in English and in four translations (Chinese, Haitian Creole, Spanish, and Vietnamese); an assortment of materials from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's Learn the Signs. Act Early campaign for use in practice; and resource and referral information.

Contact: Massachusetts Act Early, MA Web Site: https://www.maactearly.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Autism, Culturally competent services, Developmental disabilities, Developmental screening, Early identification, Immigrants, Infants, Massachusetts, Non English language materials, Public awareness campaign materials, Referrals, State initiatives, Young children

Annotation: These resources for health professionals and their clients provide information about opioids and describe ways to reduce the risk of opioid addiction and overdose. Information about taking opioids, safe storage and disposal, a help line, and options for sharing personal experiences are also included.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (202) 619-0257 Secondary Telephone: (877) 696-6775 Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Drug addiction, National initiatives, Opiates, Public awareness campaigns, Resources for professionals, Risk factors, Safety, Self help programs

Annotation: This website includes resources designed to help primary care health professionals and others understand the etiology of dental caries and caregivers’ role in preventing caries in infants, children, and adolescents from birth to age 21. Contents include a fluoride-application training course for clinics and supplemental materials, a book for children about toothbrushing, fluoride varnish printed materials, and a fluoride varnish video for caregivers. The resources are available in English and some are available in the following non-English languages: Cambodian, French, Karen, Hmong, Oromo, Portuguese, Russian, Somali, Spanish, and Vietnamese. Find the list of languages across the top of the landing page.

Contact: Minnesota Oral Health Project, c/o University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN 55455, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.minnesotaoralhealthproject.com Available from the website.

• English
• Vietnamese

Keywords: Advocacy, Community based services, Dental care, Fluorides, Health promotion, Infants, Local initiatives, Low income groups, Low literacy materials, Minnesota, Multimedia, Non English language materials, Nutrition, Oral health, Outreach, Preventive health services, Primary care, Public awareness campaigns, Public service announcements, Spanish language materials, Young children

Annotation: These resources are designed to assist communities in planning, implementing, and evaluating projects and programs to improve health outcomes in children and adults. Contents include information about collaboration and technical support for oral health education, screening, and referral using mobile units. Additional contents include sample forms and promotional materials; templates and toolkits; and videos for community events and presentations.

Contact: National Dental Association, 3060 Mitchellville Road, Suite 215, Bowie, MD 20716, Telephone: (240) 241-4448 Fax: (240) 297-9181 Web Site: http://www.ndaonline.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Program Website

Keywords: Access to health care, Community based services, Consumer education materials, Dental care, Equal opportunities, Interdisciplinary approach, Mobile health units, Multimedia, National initiatives, Oral health, Program development, Program planning, Public awareness campaigns, Public private partnerships, Resources for professionals, Screening

Annotation: These resources for health professionals and pregnant women communicate the meaning of "term" pregnancy and the importance of the last few weeks of pregnancy in infant development. Contents include a poster, tear pad, and postcards. The materials are available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, Information Resource Center, P.O. Box 3006, Rockville, MD 20847, Telephone: (800) 370-2943 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (866) 760-5947 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nichd.nih.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Communication, Consumer education materials, Gestational age, National initiatives, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Public awareness campaigns, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This report describes the results of a nationwide telephone survey of Text4baby participants, in the areas of reminders for appointments and immunizations, accessing health information, informing women of health information and medical issues, facilitating communication with medical providers, and helping women access services and make healthy choices for them and their baby. It also describes the perceived usefulness of Tex4baby and linguistic appropriateness for Spanish speakers,

• PDF

Keywords: Consumer education, Mobile applications, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Program evaluation, Public awareness campaigns, Spanish language materials, Surveys, Technology

Annotation: This toolkit, which is geared toward public health professionals, offers tips for effectively delivering messages about birth defects to a variety of audiences, including state and local public and environmental health professionals, decision makers, and the interested public. The toolkit can be used to help meet the communication goals set by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's Environmental Public Health Tracking Network. Topics include goals and guiding principles, environmental public health before and after tracking, the Environmental Public Health Tracking Network: a timeline, key messages and talking points, facts, a sample article, and social media examples.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Communication, Congenital abnormalities, Educational materials, Mass Media, Prevention, Public awareness campaigns, Public awareness materials, Public heath