Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This document encourages families to partner with health professionals on getting preventive health services and to take a lead role in promoting health at home and where they live, work, and play. Topics include how information sharing between families and health professionals can promote child health, the Affordable Care Act's preventive health services for children, the Bright Futures initiative, and tips for a healthy lifestyle. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Family Voices, IMPACT, 3701 San Mateo Boulevard, N.E., Suite 103, Albuquerque, NM 87110, Telephone: (505) 872-4774 Secondary Telephone: (888) 835-5669 Fax: (505) 872-4780 Web Site: http://www.fv-impact.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Bright Futures, Child health, Children, Families, Family centered care, Health care reform, Health promotion, Parent professional relations, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Preventive health services, Public private partnerships, Special health care needs

Annotation: This toolkit for public health advocates and local health departments demonstrates how the activities contained within it can increase physical activity and improve health equity for young people. It contains guiding principles and policy recommendations that address problems in health equity. Case studies from cities throughout the United States demonstrate how access to recreational space and art projects have tackled issues such as chronic disease, depression and violent crime. [Grant funding was provided by the NEA and the Kresge Foundation.]

Contact: Trust for Public Land , 101 Montgomery Street, #900, San Francisco, CA 94104, Web Site: www.tpl.org

• PDF

Keywords: Community coordination, Community engagement, Green spaces, Health equity, Physical activity, Public health, Recreational services, Recreational spaces, Social determinants of health

Annotation: This report provides information about the importance of oral health throughout the life-span, the economic costs of oral disease and oral health disparities, and efforts to improve access to preventive oral health services in Michigan. Topics include gains made in increasing access statewide through the expansion of Healthy Kids Dental, a public-private partnership between the Michigan Department of Community Health and Delta Dental; maintenance of dental benefits for adults enrolled in Medicaid; community water fluoridation; and dental sealants.

Contact: Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin, 6737 West Washington Street, Suite 1111, West Allis, WI 53214, Telephone: (414) 292-4000 Secondary Telephone: (414) 337-4561 Fax: (414) 231-4972 Web Site: https://www.chawisconsin.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Adults, Barriers, Children, Coalitions, Community action, Dental sealants, Fluorides, Health care disparities, Infants, Life course, Medicaid, Michigan, Older adults, Oral health, Policy development, Preventive health services, Public private partnerships, State programs, Statewide planning, Water, Wisconsin

Annotation: This report examines the evidence on the status of health disparities and the research examining the underlying conditions that lead to poor health and health inequities. It also examines and shares examples of solutions implemented in several communities. Topics include the need to promote health equity, the state of health disparities in the United States, the root cause of health inequity, the role of communities in promoting health equity, examples of communities tackling health inequity, policies to support community solutions, partners in promoting health equity in communities, and community tools to promote health equity.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Communities, Community action, Community based services, Equal opportunities, Health disparities, Health promotion, Health status, Policy development, Public private partnerships

Annotation: This toolkit contains information that details five high impact opportunities for states and local school districts to support communities through collaboration between the education and health sectors, highlighting best practices and key research in both areas. Contents include resources, programs, and services offered by non-governmental organizations.

Contact: U.S. Department of Education, 400 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20202, Telephone: (800) 872-5327 Secondary Telephone: (800) 437-0833 Web Site: http://www.ed.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Case management, Collaboration, Communities, Community action, Educational reform, Eligibility, Health care reform, Health education, Health insurance, Health services delivery, Hospitals, Medicaid managed care, Needs assessment, Nutrition, Physical activity, Public private partnerships, Reimbursement, Role, School districts, State government, Students

Annotation: This fact sheet describes Building Healthy Communities, a school-based prevention program in Michigan to help children adopt healthy habits at a young age by providing access to healthy food, health education, physical education, and physical activity. Contents include a description of the program's development and implementation process, outcomes, and next steps. Topics include partnering organization efforts to pool funding, resources, and expertise to engage elementary schools and expand to middle and high schools throughout the state.

Contact: National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation, 1225 19th Street, N.W., Suite 710, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 296-4426 Fax: (202) 296-4319 E-mail: http://www.nihcm.org/contact Web Site: http://www.nihcm.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Behavior modification, Children, Collaboration, Curriculum, Elementary schools, Health behavior, Health promotion, High schools, Michigan, Middle schools, Nutrition education, Nutrition services, Obesity, Outcome and process assessment, Physical activity, Physical education, Prevention programs, Program descriptions, Public private partnerships, School health education, School health programs, State programs, Statewide planning

Annotation: This report proposes a population-centered framework to guide action and coordination among stakeholders to improve eye and vision health and health equity in the United States. The report also introduces a model for action that highlights different levels of prevention activities across a range of stakeholders and provides specific examples of how population health strategies can be translated into cohesive areas for action at federal, state, and local levels. Topics include the epidemiology of vision loss and impairment; the impact of vision loss; surveillance and research; the role of public health and partnerships to promote eye and vision health in communities; access to clinical vision services (work force and coverage); a high quality clinical eye and vision service delivery system; and improving diagnosis, rehabilitation, and accessibility.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website.

• Link
• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Community action, Eye care, Health care reform, Health disparities, Health insurance, Models, Population surveillance, Prevalence, Prevention services, Program coordination, Public health infrastructure, Public private partnerships, Quality assurance, Research, Service delivery systems, Vision, Vision disorders, Work force

Annotation: This compendium of program summaries describes the approaches of American Academy of Pediatrics' state chapters to develop and implement programs focused on poverty and child health in California, New York City, Oklahoma, and Vermont. Topics include developing and using innovative technologies to address food insecurity, pediatricians promoting food security, ensuring the delivery of health and developmental screening services to young children who are homeless, supporting adolescent parents and their children, and accessing summer meal programs. Each summary includes information about program collaboration, evaluation and measurement, outcomes, barriers and lessons learned, and future plans.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent health, Adolescent parents, Child health, Collaboration, Community action, Community based services, Developmental screening, Food, Health screening, Healthy People 2020, Homeless persons, Low income groups, Model programs, Nutrition, Poverty, Program descriptions, Public private partnerships

Annotation: This white paper provides background on the importance of confidentiality in family planning settings, the role of Title X, and the health care delivery environment, particularly as a result of the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) Privacy Rule and the Affordable Care Act (ACA). The paper discusses disclosure requirements and confidentiality protections in the HIPAA Privacy Rule and state medical privacy laws as well as in the laws related to the primary sources of revenue for Title X-funded health centers—the Ryan White HIV/AIDS Program, Section 330 federally qualified health centers (FQHCs) program, Medicaid, and commercial health insurance. The paper also highlights examples of targeted approaches in several states that may provide confidentiality protection in the billing and health insurance claims process, including existing laws and policies and pending legislation.

Contact: National Family Planning and Reproductive Health Association, 1627 K Street, N.W., 12th Floor, Washington, DC 20006, Telephone: (202) 293-3114 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nfprha.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Program Website

Keywords: Adolescents, Confidentiality, Health care reform, Health insurance, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Public Health Service Act, Title X, Reimbursement, State legislation, Young adults

Annotation: This report provides an analysis of the status of early childhood policies and outlines recommendations for a public health approach to child development. Topics include integrating health and other social support including accountable health communities for children; promoting protective, healthy communities and establishing expert and technical assistance backbone support to help spread and scale programs in every state; and increasing investments in core, effective early childhood policies and programs.

Contact: Trust for America's Health, 1730 M Street, N.W., Suite 900, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-9870 Fax: (202) 223-9871 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://healthyamericans.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Accountability, Child development, Child health, Collaboration, Community action, Financing, Health promotion, Model programs, Policy development, Program development, Program improvement, Protective factors, Public private partnerships, Service integration, Social support, State programs, Strategic plans, Young children

Annotation: This document describes state options, opportunities, and resources for implementing evidence-based oral health interventions. Contents include a summary of select recommendations from the Community Preventive Services Task Force; information about partnerships, issues and considerations, and action steps for translating the recommendations into public health practice and policy; and state experiences.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Program Website

Keywords: Community action, Community based services, Dental sealants, Fluorides, Oral health, Policy development, Preventive health services, Program planning, Public health, Public private partnerships, State initiatives, Water

Annotation: This document provides a framework on sustainability for U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Office of Adolescent Health grantees. Topics include identifying sustainability resources, a concept of sustainability, creating an action strategy, assessing the environment, being adaptable, securing community support, integrating programs and services into local infrastructures, building a team of leaders, creating strategic partnerships, and securing diverse financial opportunities.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Adolescent Health, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite 700, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (240) 453-2846 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov/ash/oah Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Community action, Financing, Planning, Program development, Public health infrastructure, Service integration, Sustainability, Teamwork

Annotation: This self-directed guide is designed to teach individuals and teams how to apply evidence-based strategies to address obesity prevention in settings that influence health including schools, clinics, hospitals, and communities. Contents include strategies for change preceded by an introduction to quality improvement, and a section on sustainability and spread. Topics include forming an effective team and making a clear plan, creating a consistent message, developing a system for assessing weight status and health behaviors, deploying a customized healthy weight plan for all individuals, aligning resources to build community capacity, and influencing polices that enable exercise and healthy eating. An online community connected to the playbook lets participants share ideas, get help, and network with others about improving their community’s health.

Contact: National Institute for Children's Health Quality, 30 Winter Street, Sixth Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 391-2700 Secondary Telephone: (866) 787-0832 Fax: (617) 391-2701 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nichq.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Body weight, Community based services, Health promotion, Local initiatives, Multidisciplinary teams, Networking, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Prevention programs, Program improvement, Program planning, Public health, Quality assurance, Sustainability

Annotation: This fact sheet summarizes statistics on the reproductive health and contraceptive service utilization of U.S. women. Trends in public funding of reproductive health services, particularly Title X-funded programs, as well as a cost-benefit discussion of publicly funded family planning programs are included. Demographic characteristics such as race and marital status are included along with frequency data on sexual activity, contraceptive methods, and pregnancy. A discussion of where women obtain contraceptive services is also included.

Contact: Guttmacher Institute, 125 Maiden Lane, New York, NY 10038, Telephone: (212) 248-1111 Secondary Telephone: (800) 355-0244 Contact Phone: (800) 825-0061 Fax: (212) 248-1951; Washington, D.C. Office (202) 223-5756 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.guttmacher.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to care, Contraception, Family planning, Government financing, Health care financing, Public Health Service Act, Sexual behavior, Statistics, Title X, Trends, Unplanned pregnancy

Annotation: These resources include a description of a community partners pilot project in Illinois, Pennsylvania, and Florida to increase well-baby visits and vaccinations during the first year of life. Additional contents include a resource guide to help families prepare for well-baby visits. Topics include what to expect at each visit, suggestions for questions to ask health professionals, and space to take notes and keep track of important milestones. The guide is available in English and Spanish. A poster is also available.

Contact: National Healthy Mothers, Healthy Babies Coalition, 4401 Ford Avenue, Suite 300***OPERATIONS MOVED TO ZERO TO THREE*** 5/5/2015, Alexandria, VA 22302, Telephone: (703) 837-4792 Fax: (703) 664-0485 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hmhb.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Community action, Consumer education materials, Immunization, Infant health, Infants, Pilot projects, Preventive health services, Public awareness campaigns, Public private partnerships, Spanish language materials, Vaccines, Well child care

Annotation: This report, which is intended for family planning services delivery projects authorized and funded under the Population Research and Voluntary Family Planning Programs (Title X of the Public Health Service Act) within the Office of Population Affairs (OPA), describes the requirements for submitting family planning annual reports to OPA. The report includes general instructions, terms and definitions, and forms and instructions. The report concludes with a list of abbreviations and acronyms, one appendix: collecting and tabulating multi-face responses, and a list of references.

Contact: Office of Population Affairs Clearinghouse, P.O. Box 30686, Bethesda, MD 20824-0686, Telephone: (866) 640-7827 Fax: (866) 592-3299 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov/opa/order-publications/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Annual reports, Family planning programs, Public Health Service Act, Title X

Annotation: This report presents the results of an independent evaluation of the Title X program (which provides grants to public and nonprofit private entities to assist in establishing and operating family planning clinics, training service providers, conducting research, and engaging in community-based education and outreach) performed by a committee convened by the Institute of Medicine. The report provides an overview of family planning in the United States; discusses Title X goals, priorities, and accomplishments; and provides information about program management and administration and collection of data to measure program outcomes.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-309-13117-9.

Keywords: Education, Family planning, Family planning clinics, Federal programs, Grants, Outreach, Program evaluation, Public Health Service Act, Title X, Research, Training

Annotation: This issue brief provides information about the Maternal and Child Health (MCH) Services Block Grant, established under Title V of the Social Security Act, and about the importance and relevance of the block grant to private funders. The report recaps a dialogue between Grantmakers in Health and Rosalyn Bacon, senior director of the Office of Birth Outcomes in the Georgia Department of Human Resources and Terri Wright, program director for health at the W. K. Kellogg Foundation. The report presents these two individuals' perspectives on the connections that Title V creates between services and systems, opportunities for foundations, Title V's flexibility and its limitations, how philanthropic involvement strengthens Title V, and emerging MCH priorities. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Grantmakers In Health, 1100 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 1200, Washington, DC 20036-4101, Telephone: (202) 452-8331 Fax: (202) 452-8340 Web Site: http://www.gih.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Block grants, Children, Children with special health care needs, Families, Financing, Health care systems, Health services, Low income groups, Public health, Public private partnerships, Social Security Act, Title V, State MCH programs

Annotation: This report presents the results of a survey of FY 2006 public expenditures for family planning client services, family planning education and outreach activities, sterilization services, and abortion services. It looks at expenditures nationally, for each state, and for each of the following funding sources: Title X of the Public Health Service Act, Medicaid, federal block grants (maternal and child health, social services, and Temporary Assistance for Needy Families), and state appropriations. Comparisons are made between FY 2006 data for family planning services with those from a series of prior surveys conducted between FY 1980 and FY 2001. The report also looks at data on abortion utilization. Contents include an executive summary, an introduction, and a discussion of the methodology and key findings. Tables, figures, and a list of references are also provided.

Contact: Guttmacher Institute, 125 Maiden Lane, New York, NY 10038, Telephone: (212) 248-1111 Secondary Telephone: (800) 355-0244 Fax: (212) 248-1951; Washington, D.C. Office (202) 223-5756 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.guttmacher.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Abortion, Block grants, Family planning, Family planning education, Health care financing, Medicaid, National surveys, Public Health Service Act Title X, Statistical data, Sterilization, Trends

Annotation: This report, which is part of a larger effort by the Guttmacher Institute, examines the potential impact of increased public spending for contraceptive services for low-income women, specifically to estimate the expected impact of expanded funding on the numbers of unintended pregnancies, abortions, and unintended births that would be averted, as well as the cost savings that would be generated. The first component of the effort looked at the potential of various scenarios for expanding Medicaid coverage for contraceptive services. This report looks at the potential impact of expanding funding for Title X of the Public Health Services Act, the only federal program devoted solely to providing publicly supported contraceptive services to women who otherwise would not be able to afford them. The report includes an introduction, methodology, key findings, a discussion, and references. Statistical information is presented in tables throughout the report.

Contact: Guttmacher Institute, 125 Maiden Lane, New York, NY 10038, Telephone: (212) 248-1111 Secondary Telephone: (800) 355-0244 Fax: (212) 248-1951; Washington, D.C. Office (202) 223-5756 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.guttmacher.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Abortion, Childbirth, Contraception, Costs, Family planning, Federal programs, Low income groups, Medicaid, Pregnancy, Public Health Service Act, Research, Title X, Unplanned pregnancy, Unwanted pregnancy, Women', s health