Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Sign up for MCHalert eNewsletter

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 11 (11 total).

Lorenzo SB. 2014. Emotional, behavioral, and mental health challenges in kids and teens: Family resource brief (2nd ed., upd.). Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, 1 p.

Annotation: This brief is designed to help families find mental health care, services, and support and websites about emotional, behavioral, and mental health challenges in kids and teens. A separate section presents websites about babies and young kids. Another lists websites for teens. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Affective disorders, Behavior development, Behavior disorders, Bibliographies, Children, Electronic publications, Emotional development, Family support services, Mental health, Psychological needs, Social behavior

Mathis J, Lilly B, Alfano E, Bernstein R. 2014. Making the connection: Meeting requirements to enroll people with mental illnesses in healthcare coverage. Washington, DC: Judge David L. Bazelon Center for Mental Health Law, 29 pp.

Boyd LW. 2013. Theraeputic foster care: Exceptional care for complex, trauma-impacted youth in foster care. Washington, DC: First Focus, State Policy and Advocacy Reform Center, 13 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information about best practices in therapeutic or treatment foster care (TFC), a clinical intervention for youth from birth to age 18 who have severe mental, emotional, or behavioral health needs. Topics include essential partners; building relationships among provider agencies and child advocates; example practices in Connecticut, Illinois, Michigan, Oklahoma, Nebraska; efforts to expand the focus beyond safety and permanency to well-being for youth in therapeutic foster care; and public policy challenges.

Contact: First Focus, 1400 Eye Street, N.W., Suite 650, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 657-0670 Fax: (202) 657-0671 Web Site: http://www.firstfocus.net Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents with special health care needs, Advocacy, Behavioral medicine, Children with special health care needs, Foster care, Foster parents, Health services delivery, Intervention, Medically fragile children, Mental health, Policy development, Psychological needs, Reimbursement, Relationships, Therapeutics, Training, Trauma care, Youth

Brendtro LK, Brokenleg M, Van Bokern S. 2002. Reclaiming youth at risk: Our hope for the future (Rev. ed.). Bloomington, IN: National Educational Service, 160 pp.

Annotation: This book focuses on the interactions between high risk adolescents and their environments rather than the traits of the troubled youths. There are three sections. The first focuses on destructive relationships; feelings of insecurity, inadequacy, and failure; powerlessness and learned irresponsibility, and the sense of lost purpose. The second section summarizes a Native American philosophy of child rearing. The final section outlines principles and approaches for working with high risk adolescents.

Contact: National Educational Service, 1610 West Third Street, P.O. Box 8, Bloomington, IN 47402, Telephone: (800) 733-6786 Secondary Telephone: (812) 336-7700 Fax: (812) 336-7790 Available in libraries.

Keywords: Adolescent psychology, Adolescents, American Indians, High risk populations, Philosophy, Psychological needs

National Institute of Child Health and Human Development. 2001, reprinted 2003. Genetics and fetal antecedents of disease susceptibility. Rockville, MD: National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, 17 pp. (From cells to selves)

Annotation: This publication discusses the interaction of the genotype with socioeconomic, environmental, and psychological factors in the fetal and postnatal environment that contribute to an individual's health or susceptibility to disease. Report contents include the strategic planning process, goals and objectives, scope of the plan, scientific context and opportunities, research priorities, infrastructure priorities, and priority methodology and policy issues. The appendix includes the roster of advisors.

Contact: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, Information Resource Center, P.O. Box 3006, Rockville, MD 20847, Telephone: (800) 370-2943 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (866) 760-5947 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nichd.nih.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Congenital abnormalities, Environmental health, Genetics, Hereditary diseases, Morbidity, Mortality, Patient education materials, Psychological needs, Socioeconomic factors

American Dental Association, Council on Access, Prevention and Interprofessional Relations. [1999]. Proceedings: Dentists C.A.R.E. (Child Abuse Recognition and Education) conference, July 31–August 1, 1998. [Chicago, IL]: American Dental Association, Council on Access, Prevention and Interprofessional Relations, 76 pp.

Annotation: These conference proceedings are from the Dentists C.A.R.E. (Child Abuse Recognition and Education) Conference held in 1998 in Chicago, Illinois. Included are presentations on the following aspects of child abuse: clinical signs of child abuse and neglect specific to dentistry; forensic dentistry and case management; legal and liability issues related to reporting suspected abuse; ethical issues related to child abuse and family violence; psychological and patient management considerations in treating pediatric patients; dentistry's interventions and perspectives in preventing child abuse and neglect; the American Medical Association's perspective; and family violence as a public health issue. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, Contact Fax: xxx E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Case management, Child abuse, Child neglect, Child protective services, Children, Coalitions, Conference proceedings, Dentists, Ethics, Family violence, Legal responsibility, Liability, Oral health, Parents, Psychological needs

Pawl JH, St. John M. 1999. How you are is as important as what you do...in making a positive difference for infants, toddlers and their families. Washington, DC: Zero to Three, 44 pp.

Annotation: This training material focuses on the importance of human relationships and on how the professional or paraprofessional approaches and acts in his or her interactions with infants, toddlers, and families. The authors offer suggestions for using the material and identify and explain the six principles for "being" and "doing." The approach the authors use to help participants change thinking involves presentation of story vignettes with contrasting approaches, scenarios, and "stumpers" or challenging situations. Following each story, they provide questions for discussion. The examples focus on home visits.

Contact: ZERO TO THREE: National Center for Infants, Toddlers and Families, 1255 23rd Street, N.W., Suite 350, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 638-1144 Contact Phone: (800) 899-4301 Fax: (202) 638-0851 Web Site: http://www.zerotothree.org $10.00 plus $4.50 shipping. Document Number: 175.

Keywords: Affection, Emotions, Families, Home visiting, Infants, Problem solving, Professional training, Psychological needs, Toddlers, Training materials

Cohon J. [1997]. Fragile Infant Special Care Program [Final report]. San Francisco, CA: Edgewood Children's Center, 44 pp.

Annotation: This program: (1) Offered direct interventions with infants and their biological and foster families; (2) created a partnership between the private-sector Edgewood Children's Center and the public-sector SFDSS; (3) supported SFDSS Baby Moms and Licensing Unit staff in recruiting foster homes that were racially similar to the population of infants being served and that are located in San Francisco; (4) increased the medical and developmental knowledge of newly recruited Baby Moms foster parents by organizing monthly training and support meetings; (5) assessed the medical and developmental status of 100 percent of Baby Moms infants; and (6) continued psychological assessments of foster parent applicants. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Children with Special Health care Needs, Developmental Evaluation, Early Intervention, Foster Care, Foster Children, Psychological Evaluation, Public Private Partnerships

Partridge S, Devine D, Hornstein J, Marsh J, Curtis AP. 1992. Strengthening the foundations of emotional health in early childhood: A handbook for practitioners. Portland, ME: University of Southern Maine, Project AIMS,, ca. 125 pp.

Annotation: This manual provides key information about the young child and family emotional health as it relates to using the AIMS (Attachment, Interaction, Mastery, Support) Developmental Indicators of Emotional Health. The topics are: (1) the sociocultural background of health care providers as they relate to emotional health, and why AIMS was developed, and how it can improve professional practice; (2) what professionals need to know about early childhood emotional development and the psychology of parenthood and parent child relationships; (3) basic professional skills needed to make use of the guidelines; (4) additional issues of social change and policy; and (5) encouragement to the users. The manual also contains a bibliography and an appendix containing AIMS forms, the AIMS instrument, and professional guidelines. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Edmund S. Muskie Institute of Public Affairs, University of Southern Maine, PO Box 9300, Portland, ME 04104, Telephone: (207) 780.4430 Fax: (207) 780-4417 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://muskie.usm.maine.edu Available from the website. Document Number: Stock no.: B050103.

Keywords: Child mental health, Early intervention, Emotional development, Infant care, Psychological needs, Psychosocial development

Marsh JDB, ed. 1992. Training manual for health professionals in well-child care settings. Portland, ME: University of Southern Maine, Project AIMS, 71 pp.

Annotation: This manual provides training material for the AIMS: Developmental Indicators of Emotional Health program. The AIMS materials are designed to be used by professionals in child health supervision in physician's offices, well child clinics, and early intervention screening situations. The topics for the training program are: introduction to the infant mental health field and the emotional development of children ages zero to five; clinical assessment; observational skills; interviewing skills; therapeutic communication skills; attachment problems/failure to thrive; temperament issues/colic; attention deficit disorder; teen pregnancy and parenting; and child abuse. Also included in the manual are a sample of the filled-in AIMS instrument, a seminar evaluation form, and overheads. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Edmund S. Muskie Institute of Public Affairs, University of Southern Maine, PO Box 9300, Portland, ME 04104, Telephone: (207) 780.4430 Fax: (207) 780-4417 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://muskie.usm.maine.edu Available from the website. Document Number: Stock no.: B50104.

Keywords: At risk children, Child mental health, Community based services, Data collection, Early intervention, Emotional development, Infant care, Parent child relations, Psychological needs, Psychosocial development, Screening, Service coordination

Herzog, E. 1960. Children of working mothers . Washington, DC: U.S. Dept. of Health, Education, and Welfare, Social Security Administration, Children's Bureau, 38 pp. (Children's Bureau Publication Number 382-1960 )

Annotation: This research paper was presented at the Seminars for State Field Representatives conducted by the Bureau of Public Assistance, Social Security Administration, in February-March 1960. It presents data on mothers who work, including the number of women, types of women (color, marital status, income, and ages of children), the reasons for working, and how many hours worked. The paper also discusses child care arrangements, receiving help from employers and the community, and the psychological and emotional effects on preschool children, school age children, and the family.

Contact: HathiTrust Digital Library, University of Michigan, Telephone: (734) 764-8016 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.hathitrust.org/digital_library Available from Hathitrust via participating libraries.

Keywords: Child care, Child welfare, Emotional development, Family economics, Psychological needs, School age children, Statistics, Working mothers, Young children
   

The MCH Digital Library is one of six special collections at Geogetown University, the nation's oldest Jesuit institution of higher education. It is supported in part by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under award number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy with an award of $700,000/year. The library is also supported through foundation and univerity funding. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.