Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 11 (11 total).

Pumariega AJ, Winters NC, eds. 2003. The handbook of child and adolescent systems of care: The new community psychiatry. San Francisco, CA: Jossey-Bass, 547 pp.

Annotation: This book, a publication of the Work Group on Community-Based Systems of Care of the American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, discusses helping at-risk children and adolescents with community-based systems of care that incorporate an interagency integration of services based on a client-centered and family-empowering orientation. Written for mental health professionals, the book is divided into four parts: (1) conceptual foundations of systems of care, (2) integrating clinical modalities into systems of care, (3) working across populations and settings, and (4) administration and evaluation of systems of care. Topics include community children's mental health care, family advocacy, collaboration, pharmacotherapy, case management, youth in the juvenile justice system, school-based mental health services, foster children in the child welfare system, managed care, demonstration projects, and training child and adolescent mental health professionals for systems of care. The book concludes with name and subject indexes.

Contact: Jossey-Bass Publishers, John Wiley & Sons, Inc. Corporate Headquarters, 111 River Street, Hoboken, NJ 07030, Telephone: (201) 748-6000 Fax: (201) 748-6088 E-mail: info@wiley.com Web Site: http://www.JosseyBass.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-7879-6239-2.

Keywords: Adolescents, Advocacy, Case studies, Children, Community based services, Interagency cooperation, Interdisciplinary training, Mental health, Psychiatry, Service delivery systems

National Coalition for Health Professional Education in Genetics. 2002. Genetics and major psychiatric disorders: A program for genetic counselors. Lutherville, MD: National Coalition for Health Professional Education in Genetics, 1 CD-ROM.

Annotation: This program provides an introduction to psychiatric genetics, with a focus on the genetics of common complex disease, for genetics professionals. It provides an introduction to complex disease and an overview of psychiatry, then discusses research in psychiatric genetics, unipolar (major) depression, bipolar disorder, schizophrenia, issues in psychiatric genetic counseling, and the future. The CD-ROM can be used on Windows and Macintosh computers.

Contact: National Coalition for Health Professional Education in Genetics, 2360 West Joppa Road, Suite 320, Lutherville, MD 21093, Telephone: (410) 583-0600 Fax: (410) 583-0520 E-mail: info@nchpeg.org Web Site: http://www.nchpeg.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Bipolar disorder, CD-ROMs, Depression, Genetics, Genetics counseling, Psychiatry, Research, Schizophrenic disorders

Boehnlein JK, ed. 2000. Psychiatry and religion: The convergence of mind and spirit. Washington, DC: American Psychiatric Press, 196 pp.

Annotation: This book, written for psychiatric educators and practitioners, centers on the proposition that psychiatry and religion are parallel and complimentary frames of reference for understanding and describing the human experience and human behavior. The book is divided into three sections: general theoretical principles and historical trends; pragmatic treatment issues at the interface of religion and psychiatry; and consideration of issues that will affect the future relationship between psychiatry and religion. Each chapter is independently authored and contains a summary or conclusion and references. The book concludes with an index.

Contact: American Psychiatric Publishing, 1000 Wilson Boulevard, Suite 1825, Arlington, VA 22209, Telephone: 703-907-7322 Secondary Telephone: 800-368-5777 Fax: 703-907-1091 E-mail: appi@psych.org Web Site: http://www.appi.org Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-88048-920-0.

Keywords: Behavior, Cultural factors, Interdisciplinary training, Mental health services, Psychiatry, Religion, Trends

American Psychiatric Association. 1998. Electronic DSM-IV plus (3.0). Washington, DC: American Psychiatric Association Publishing Group, 1 CD-ROM.

Annotation: This CD-ROM contains electronic versions of Practice Guidelines of the American Psychiatric Association, American Psychiatric Glossary (7th ed.), and Principles of Medical Ethics with Annotations Especially Applicable to Psychiatry, and Opinions of the Ethics Committee.

Contact: American Psychiatric Publishing, 1000 Wilson Boulevard, Suite 1825, Arlington, VA 22209, Telephone: 703-907-7322 Secondary Telephone: 800-368-5777 Fax: 703-907-1091 E-mail: appi@psych.org Web Site: http://www.appi.org $129.99. Document Number: ISBN 0-88048-952-9.

Keywords: American Psychiatric Association, CD-ROMs, Classification, Diagnosis, Ethics, Guidelines, Mental disorders, Psychiatry

Goodyer IM, ed. 1995. The depressed child and adolescent: Development and clinical perspectives. Port Chester, NY: Cambridge University Press, 354 pp. (Cambridge monographs in child and adolescent psychiatry)

Annotation: This book, aimed at clinical psychologists and psychiatrists, discusses the etiology, diagnosis, and treatment of depression in children and adolescents. Chapters mention etiology, such as the effects of emotional development in infancy, life events and genetics; physiology; diagnosis; treatment, including psychopharmacology and psychotherapy; and suicidal behavior and its prevention. The final chapter covers research into the affected child's subsequent development.

Contact: Cambridge University Press, 32 Avenue of the Americas, New York, NY 10013-2473, Telephone: 212-924-3900 Secondary Telephone: (914) 937-9600 Fax: 212-691-3239 E-mail: information@cup.org Web Site: http://www.cambridge.org/us/ Document Number: ISBN 0-521-43326-6.

Keywords: Adolescent development, Child development, Depression, Drug therapy, Etiology, Incidence, Psychiatry, Psychological characteristics, Psychological development, Psychotherapy, Suicide

Schaefer CE, Millman HL, Sichel SM, Zwilling JR. 1986. Advances in therapies for children. San Francisco, CA: Jossey-Bass Publishers, 450 pp. (Jossey-Bass social and behavioral science series)

Annotation: This book provides summaries of literature on the latest developments in therapy for children with emotional and behavioral problems. Topics include neurotic behaviors (such as nightmares, depression, and school phobias); habit disorders (such as eating difficulty, sleep disturbance, and self-injurious behavior); antisocial behaviors (such as temper tantrums, aggressiveness, and stealing); hyperkinetic behavior; and disturbed relationships with other children and with parents (such as hostility, sibling rivalry, and noncompliance).

Contact: Jossey-Bass Publishers, John Wiley & Sons, Inc. Corporate Headquarters, 111 River Street, Hoboken, NJ 07030, Telephone: (201) 748-6000 Fax: (201) 748-6088 E-mail: info@wiley.com Web Site: http://www.JosseyBass.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 1-55542-010-9.

Keywords: Affective disorders, Behavior disorders, Child psychiatry, Child psychology, Parent child relations

Steinhauer PD, Rae-Grant Q, eds. 1983. Psychological problems of the child in the family. (2nd ed.). New York, NY: Basic Books, 784 pp.

Annotation: This introductory textbook on child and adolescent psychiatry discusses normal child development and family relationships; classification and assessment; common syndromes (such as developmental disorders, depression and suicide, and psychiatric aspects of mental retardation); psychological crises for the child and family (such as chronic illness, hospitalization, and the dying child); and principles of intervention.

Keywords: Child psychiatry, Family relations, Mental disorders

Greenspan SI. 1981. Psychopathology and adaptation in infancy and early childhood: Principles of clinical diagnosis and preventive intervention. Madison, CT: International Universities Press, 263 pp. (Clinical infant reports series; no. 1)

Begab MJ, Richardson SA, eds. 1975. The mentally retarded and society: A social science perspective. Baltimore: University Park Press, 491 pp.

Annotation: This book contains articles on mental retardation and human development, psychology, psychiatry, sociology, mental health, developmental disabilities, pediatrics, maternal and child health, education, public health, law, anthropology, and epidemiology. The articles are based upon material presented to an interdisciplinary conference sponsored by the National Institute for Child Health and Human Development and the Rose Kennedy Center for Research in Mental Retardation and Human Development. The book also includes the background papers disseminated in advance of the conference, as well as summaries of the debates and discussions that concluded each of the five main sessions.

Keywords: Anthropology, Child health, Children with developmental disabilities, Conferences, Education, Epidemiology, Human development, Legislation, Maternal health, Mental disorders, Mental retardation, National Institute for Child Health and Human Development, Pediatrics, Psychiatry, Psychology, Public health, Rose Kennedy Center for Research in Mental Retardation and Human Development, United States

Garell DC, ed. 1973. Symposium on adolescent medicine. Philadelphia, PA: W. B. Saunders, 314 pp. (Pediatric clinics of North America; v. 20, no. 4, November, 1973)

Annotation: This volume includes a selection of papers on various aspects of adolescent medicine. The volume includes papers discussing (1) youth and society, (2) growth and development in adolescence, (3) genetic disorders in adolescents and young adults, (4) new dimensions in adolescent psychotherapy, and (5) health care for the economically disadvantaged adolescent, as well as many other topics. Each paper is written by a different author.

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent medicine, Adolescent psychiatry, Adolescents, Adolescents with special health care needs, Mental health

Galdston I, ed. 1949. Social medicine: Its derivations and objectives. New York, NY: Commonwealth Fund, 294 pp.

Annotation: This book discusses changing concepts of the relation of medicine to society, social medicine's differentiation from and relation to clinical and preventive medicine, epidemiology in social medicine, the place of nutrition in social medicine, social psychiatry and social medicine, social medicine's appeal for the common man, and social applications of psychiatry.

Keywords: Epidemiology, Medicine, Preventive medicine, Psychiatry, Public health, Social factors

   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.