Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This document presents findings and recommendations from an evaluation of the projected health effects of legislation to reauthorize integration funding and guide how schools use it. Topics include health impact assessment; school integration; historical context; school integration and segregation in Minnesota; baseline demographics and health in Minnesota; and impacts of school integration on educational achievement, health, and equity. Recommendations are included.

Contact: Pew Charitable Trusts, Health Impact Project, 901 E Street, N.W., 10th Floor, Washington, DC 20004, Telephone: (202) 540-6012 Fax: (202) 552-2299 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthimpactproject.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: Academic achievement, Discrimination, Equal opportunities, Health status, Minnesota, Outcome and process assessment, Policy analysis, Proposed legislation, Public policy, Schools, State legislation

Annotation: This document provides findings on pro-choice policy, threats to reproductive choice, and the political landscape. It summarizes the status of anti-choice and pro-choice legislation, and provides profiles of each state.

Contact: NARAL, Pro-Choice America , 1156 15th Street, N.W., Suite 700, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 973-3000 Fax: (202) 973-3096 Web Site: http://www.naral.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Abortion, Adolescents, Proposed legislation, Reproductive health, Sexuality education, State legislation, Women

Annotation: This paper describes the organization's desired policy reforms regarding issues of pay equality and discrimination of women in the workplace, women's access to high quality child care, the retirement and tax system role in creating economic security for women and their families, accessible, comprehensive care for women, equal opportunity for education, and the equality of rights for women at all levels.

Contact: National Women's Law Center, 11 Dupont Circle. N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 588-5180 Fax: (202) 588-5185 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nwlc.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Legal issues, Proposed legislation, Public policy, Reform, Women', Women', s rights, s studies

Annotation: This policy brief provides information about who is eligible for oral health services through Medicaid and about who is "optional" (i.e., may be selected to receive benefits at each state's discretion). The fact sheet explains how oral health benefits under Medicaid are handled and describes how the proposed changes to Medicaid could impact dental services.

• Full Report
• Website

Keywords: Advocacy, Children, Dental care, Medicaid, Oral health, Program descriptions, Proposed legislation

Annotation: This policy brief discusses the proposed changes to transfer Head Start program oversight to several demonstration states, giving them the authority to determine the range of services provided to children, including oral health care services. Topics include the impact on the oral health of children from families with low incomes who are served by Head Start programs, a review of Head Start oral health care service requirements, suggested congressional opportunities to improve oral health services in Head Start, and lessons learned about the association between oral health care and school readiness. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

• Full Report
• Website

Keywords: Access to health care, Demonstration programs, Dental care, Federal programs, Head Start, Oral health, Preschool children, Proposed legislation, Young children

Annotation: This hearing, held October 6, 1993, focused on whether state and local governments would have the ability to implement health care and welfare reform as proposed in pending legislation introduced by the Clinton administration. The hearing focused on an analysis by the U.S. Government Accounting Office on the financial conditions of state and local governments; and it considered statements and documents submitted by members of the House of Representatives and representatives from the National Association of Governors, the National League of Cities, and the National Association of Counties.

Contact: Congressional Information Service, 403 Cottonwood Parkway, California, MD 20619, Telephone: (800) 852-6077 Secondary Telephone: (301) 863-9404 Contact Phone: (800) 638-8380 $31.80 plus $4.32 shipping and handling and $5.00 invoicing fee. Document Number: ISBN 0-16-046601-6.

• Link

Keywords: Congressional hearings, Federal legislation, Government financing, Health care reform, Local governments, Proposed legislation, State governments, Welfare reform

Annotation: This loose-leaf binder contains copies of newsletters, reports, policy statements, and fact sheets pertaining to recent federal government activities related to the delivery of maternal and child health services, welfare, and other policy areas affecting them such as block grants, Supplemental Security Income, and HIV and AIDS services. The materials were prepared for the August 24, 1995 meeting of the MCH Partnership for Information and Communication (PIC) Interorganizational Work Group. The briefing book focuses on legislative proposals initiated after the May 1995 PIC Work Group meeting which also centered on this issue in addition to social marketing. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available for loan.

Keywords: Block grants, Child health, Federal government, Maternal health, National health care reform, Policy development, Proposed legislation, Welfare reform

Annotation: This loose-leaf binder is a collection of articles and reports on welfare and education reform prepared for a February, 1995 meeting of the MCH Partnership for Information and Communication (PIC) Interorganizational Work Group. The background materials focus on the potential impact of proposed federal legislation on state programs, lessons learned from state reform efforts, the use of block grants to cap federal spending, and misconceptions about current welfare programs. Sections of the manual concentrate on the possible end of entitlement programs and the corresponding shifting of costs to the states, the relationship of health coverage to welfare dependency, the potential effect of current proposals on immigrant populations, and the adoption of national standards for education. The manual includes a summary of the findings of a National Governors' Association (NGA) survey on state initiatives to reduce reliance on welfare programs as an appendix. Bibliographies on both topics contain citations and abstracts to materials in the reference collection at the National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available for loan.

Keywords: Aid to Families with Dependent Children, Educational change, Employment, Employment programs, Federal government, Immigrants, Program evaluation, Proposed legislation, State programs, Training, Welfare programs, Welfare reform

Annotation: This bill was introduced during the 104th Congress to strengthen the capacity of state or tribal governments to carry out eight of the core functions of the public health block grants. It contains three titles that outline how states would apply for formula grants, how the activities of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention would be correspondingly revised, and how existing provisions of the Public Health Service Act would be repealed as a result of the passage of this bill. A summary and the floor statement of Senator N. Kassenbaum, who introduced the bill, are also available separately.

Contact: U.S. Congress, Senate, Senate Document Room, B-04, Hart Senate Office Building , Washington, DC 20510-7106, Telephone: (202) 224-7701 Fax: (202) 228-2815 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.senate.gov/legislative/common/generic/Doc_Room.htm Price unknown.

• Link

Keywords: Block grants, Federal government, Federal legislation, Government financing, National health care reform, Proposed legislation, Public health, State programs

Annotation: This fact sheet summarizes the beneficial activities of the Maternal and Child Health Services Block Grant since Title V of the Social Security Act was revised in 1981. It provides estimates of the numbers of women, infants, children, and adolescents who have received assistance from programs funded by the block grant, and it encourages members of Congress to approve the appropriations request for fiscal year 1996.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Price unknown.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Block grants, Child health, Federal MCH programs, Federal government, Government financing, Infant health, Maternal health, Proposed legislation, Social Security Act, Title V

Annotation: This loose-leaf notebook contains articles and reports on the potential impact of proposed federal legislation on state programs and on social marketing. The materials on the proposed legislation cover issues such as changing the funding mechanism for certain programs to block grants and related policy issues, health care reform, and welfare reform. The materials on social marketing include media relations, coalition building, and developing effective preventive health programs. Each section provides suggestions for further readings and bibliographies. These materials were prepared for a meeting of the MCH Partnership for Information and Communication (PIC) Interorganizational Work Group in May 1995. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available for loan.

Keywords: Advocacy, Block grants, Coalitions, Federal government, Health promotion, Media campaigns, National health care reform, Prevention programs, Proposed legislation, Public education, Public health, Public policy, Publicity, Welfare reform

Annotation: This fact sheet presents a counter-proposal to the Republican Contract with America. It describes how these alternatives differ from those in the Contract with America, includes brief descriptions of social conditions that resulted in the specific proposal, and indicates how the conditions would be altered by the proposed legislative action. The proposals include budget reforms, welfare reform, reducing adolescent pregnancy, cutting the size of the bureaucracy in Washington, D.C., and reforming the health care market, among others.

Contact: Democratic Leadership Council, 600 Pennsylvania Avenue, S.E., Suite 400 , Washington, DC 20003, Telephone: (202) 546-0007 Fax: (202) 544-5002 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.dlcppi.org Price unknown.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Health care reform, Proposed legislation, Welfare reform

Annotation: This two volume report analyzes the incidence and impact of violence among youth in Maine. This first part describes available data, includes findings from current literature, reports the results of written surveys conducted with professionals and young people, and explores opinions from in-depth interviews with professionals working with youth. In addition to homicide, suicide and assault, attention is paid to hate violence, sexual violence, risk taking behavior, and arrests for violent crime among the young. The second volume has a sub-title, Part Two: Recommendations; it outlines possible activities at the state and local levels to respond to violent behavior among young people in Maine. It contains draft legislation to obtain legislative authority to continue interdepartmental work on the prevention of youth violence. The report calls for increased interdepartmental coordination and collaboration in planning and implementing prevention and intervention programs, coordination of data collection activities, and more aggressive public education strategies.

• Part I
• Part II

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Data, Homicide, Maine, Policy development, Proposed legislation, Public policy, Suicide, Violence

Annotation: This publication presents the text of a hearing before the Subcommittee on Children, Family, Drugs and Alcoholism of the Committee on Labor and Human Resources, U.S. Senate, 101st Congress, on September 27, 1990. The hearing examined proposed legislation to authorize funds for certain child abuse and neglect programs, and contains the testimony and prepared statements of both experts and those who have personal experience of abuse and neglect.

Contact: U.S. Government Publishing Office, 732 North Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20401, Telephone: (202) 512-1800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 512-1800 Fax: (202) 512-2104 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gpo.gov $4.25.

• Link

Keywords: Child abuse, Child care, Child neglect, Child sexual abuse, Congressional hearings, Family life education, Family preservation, Family support programs, Family violence, Parent education, Prevention, Proposed legislation, Substance abuse

Annotation: This 20-page report is part of a series of monthly seminars entitled Family-Centered Social Policy: The Emerging Agenda, conducted by the Family Impact Seminar. The publication provides meeting highlights and a background briefing report. The report recaps major findings presented at earlier seminars on the nature of the crisis in child care and implications for proposed legislation, and provides a summary of trends in current federal and state child care and early education programs. Issues involved in the implementation of the child care assistance provided in the Family Support Act of 1988 are discussed, and legislation under consideration in Congress at the time of publication is described.

• PDF

Keywords: Child care, Economic factors, Family support services, Federal government, Legislation, Proposed legislation, Public policy

Annotation: This document presents witness testimonies and material submitted for the record about President Ford's proposal for revisions of the old-age, survivors, and disability insurance program with particular emphasis on strengthening the financing of the program.

• Link

Keywords: Federal legislation, Proposed legislation, Social security

Annotation: This committee print summarizes twelve proposed national health insurance bills in the Senate and the House of Representatives.

• Link

Keywords: Federal health insurance programs, Proposed legislation

Annotation: This committee print summarizes twelve proposed national health insurance bills in the Senate and the House of Representatives. Comments from the public are included.

• Link

Keywords: Federal health insurance programs, Proposed legislation

Annotation: This report, published in the "DPC Legislative Bulletin," examines the major provisions of the Unfunded Mandate Reform Act, Senate Bill 1 of the 104th Congress. The act focuses on the reform of the federal government's policies regarding unfunded mandates affecting state, local, and tribal governments. The report discusses the major provisions of the act, includes definitions, reviews exclusions, considers the major titles of the act, and provides a legislative history. It also includes a cost estimate, notes potential House actions, indicates the administration's position, and notes possible amendments to the Act.

Contact: U.S. Congress, Senate, Democratic Policy Committee, Washington, DC 20510, Telephone: (202) 224-1414 Web Site: http://dpc.senate.gov/ Available at no charge. Document Number: Publication: LB-2-General Government.

Keywords: Federal government, Government financing, Government role, Intergovernmental relations, Local government, Proposed legislation, Reform, State government, Unfunded mandates

Annotation: This article considers the possible impact at the state level if the 104th Congress passes legislation to convert welfare from an entitlement to a block grant program. It describes proposed funding for the affected programs, and it focuses particularly on Aid to Families with Dependent Children. The article includes reactions from a number of state governors to the proposed legislation.

Keywords: Aid to Families with Dependent Children, Block grants, Federal legislation, Proposed legislation, State programs, Welfare reform