Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This article from Grantmakers In Health (GIH) describes a collaborative effort by funders to address gaps in postpartum care following the extension of Medicaid coverage from 60 days to 12 months after birth. The piece discusses how a workgroup of funders—including Pritzker Children's Initiative, Merck for Mothers, and Community Health Acceleration Partnership—formed in 2023 to identify opportunities for improving postpartum care systems. The article includes a visual diagram that illustrates the multi-layered challenges in postpartum care on three levels: individual, community, and system. This concentric circle diagram shows how issues such as standards of care, access to quality care, care fragmentation, and policy misalignment (at the system level) interact with community-level challenges like administrative burden and workforce shortages, as well as individual-level factors including awareness of needs, social and economic barriers, and fear of medical debt. Through stakeholder interviews, the workgroup discovered significant fragmentation of services and the absence of comprehensive care standards beyond the traditional six-week postpartum period. In response, the funders issued a request for proposals aimed at creating a centralized hub to catalog and connect postpartum care initiatives, with the goal of developing comprehensive standards and addressing what they term the "postpartum cliff."

Contact: Grantmakers In Health, 1100 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 1200, Washington, DC 20036-4101, Telephone: (202) 452-8331 Fax: (202) 452-8340 Web Site: http://www.gih.org

• Link

Keywords: Access to healthcare, Barriers, Collaboration, Funding, Health care reform, Library collection development, Medicaid, Policy, Postpartum care, Requests for proposals, Service delivery systems, Standards

Annotation: The proposal development guide is designed to assist community planners in developing programs that meet the grant requirements of the Healthy Tomorrows Partnership for Children Program (NTPCP), a collaboration between the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) and the Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB); The guide provides suggestions for assessment and planning activities along with tips for promoting pediatrician involvement; creating an advisory board; developing an evaluation plan; and creating a budget. Listings of resources of use in community-based initiatives are also included.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Community programs, Evaluation, Fundraising, Grants, Manuals, Program development, Proposal writing, Proposals

Annotation: This document summarizes information gathered during a public workshop hosted by the Institute of Medicine in July 2010 to discuss the best use of federal funds allocated for research on the short and long term impacts of WIC -- the Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants, and Children, which provides services to low-income, nutritionally at-risk individuals. The document summarizes workshop sessions on research topics including birth outcomes, obesity, breastfeeding protection, food insecurity and hunger, dietary intake and nutritional status, nutritional education, families, and the health care system in general. Proposals for future research include concerns related to methodology as well as data considerations. The full workshop agenda is included as an appendix.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website after registration.

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Infant health, Meetings, Nutrition, Reports, Research, Research methodology, Research proposals, Resource allocation, WIC Program, Women', s health

Annotation: This issue brief summarizes dangers and challenges that young people face as they transition towards adulthood and current areas of research and activity being pursued by large foundations and grantmakers. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Grantmakers In Health, 1100 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 1200, Washington, DC 20036-4101, Telephone: (202) 452-8331 Fax: (202) 452-8340 Web Site: http://www.gih.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, MCH research, Research proposals, Risk factors, Youth

Annotation: This manual provides a self-assessment tool for primary health care providers to determine if they and their facilities have a need to increase their information technology level so their organizations become more efficient. It covers all aspects of the organization, including scheduling, claims processing, records, and marketing. The tool is also designed to help health care providers create a request for proposal (RFP) to vendors so they more accurately determine a facility's need for increased technology. It is largely divided into 10 steps: 1) administrative site/satellites, 2) functional process map, 3) process dimension, 4) physical space, 5) projections of change, 6) the compelling salesperson, 7) the discovery RFP, 8) cost/benefit analysis, 9) the final RFP, and 10) results analysis. Appendices include sample RFP's, employee readiness surveys, sample status reports, and definitions of terms.

Keywords: Evaluation methods, Health facility administrators, Health facility planning, Information networks, Information services, Information systems, Needs assessment, Primary care facilities, Requests for proposals, Self evaluation, Technology

Annotation: This guide is designed to assist providers of services to maternal and child health (MCH) and children with special health needs (CSHN) populations to contract with managed care organizations (MCOs) for health and health related services. It provides suggestions and a range of approaches to providers by guiding them through the process of developing contractual relationships with MCOs. Topics include the following: 1) understanding your state's Medicaid managed care program, 2) understanding managed care organizations, 3) evaluating and selecting the most appropriate contracting arrangement, 4) selecting services to offer an MCO, 5) how to develop a managed care proposal, and 6) proposing, marketing, and negotiating a managed care contract. Each area summarizes the subject areas covered and provides a checklist of the key steps to follow to achieve the goals of each topic. An appendix provides three sample contracts, a glossary of managed care terms, and a listing of state Medicaid agencies. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Administrative policy, CSHCN programs, Contract services, MCH programs, MCH services, Medicaid managed care, Proposal writing, Proposals

Annotation: This is a report of assistance to the Indiana State Department of Health (ISDH) from Health Systems Research, Inc. (HSR). ISDH officials identified two primary objectives in their request for technical assistance: 1) enhancing the capacity of the Title V Children's Special Health Care Services (CSHCS) program to provide comprehensive primary care to special needs children; and 2) defining and clarifying the future role of Indiana's Title V program, which includes the Maternal and Child Health (MCH) and CSHCS programs, in the context of the state's implementation of a Medicaid managed care system. Site visits led to the development of the following two products which are described in the report: 1) a comprehensive proposal for adopting and implementing a Medicaid-financed care coordination system for children with special health care needs; and 2) draft addenda to contracts with managed care providers outlining appropriate protocols and quality standards for delivery of services for children with special health care needs. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Altarum Institute, 3520 Green Court, Suite 300, Ann Arbor, MI 48105, Telephone: (734) 302-4600 Secondary Telephone: (800) 879-6505 Fax: (734) 302-4991 Web Site: http://www.altarum.org/contact Price unknown.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Contract services, Indiana, Managed care, Medicaid, Program proposals, Standards, Title V programs

Annotation: This report highlights and summarizes recently funded research projects that examine differences and similarities among Latino groups, in order to better understand contemporary Latino life and knowledge of public policy issues that are salient to them. The projects are divided into three time periods—new research, works in progress, and completed projects. The first two summarize the proposal and describe the policy implications; the third section in addition gives findings and recommendations of the completed projects.

Contact: University of Texas, Center for Mexican American Studies, 1 University Station, WMB 5.102, Austin, TX 78712, Telephone: (512) 471-4557 Fax: (512) 471-9639 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.utexas.edu/depts/cmas Available in libraries.

Keywords: Hispanic Americans, Minority health, Policy development, Public policy, Research projects, Research proposals