Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Sign up for MCHalert eNewsletter

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 9 (9 total).

Association of University Centers on Disabilities. 2014. Grant writing and grant management tool kit for self-advocates. Silver Spring, MD: Association of University Centers on Disabilities, 42 pp.

American Academy of Pediatrics, Healthy Tomorrows Partnership for Children Program. [2013]. Healthy Tomorrows Partnership for Children: A guide to developing your program proposal. Elk Grove Village, IL: American Academy of Pediatrics,, 30 pp.

Annotation: The proposal development guide is designed to assist community planners in developing programs that meet the grant requirements of the Healthy Tomorrows Partnership for Children Program (NTPCP), a collaboration between the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) and the Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB); The guide provides suggestions for assessment and planning activities along with tips for promoting pediatrician involvement; creating an advisory board; developing an evaluation plan; and creating a budget. Listings of resources of use in community-based initiatives are also included.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Community programs, Evaluation, Fundraising, Grants, Manuals, Program development, Proposal writing, Proposals

[Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors]. [2005]. The art of grantwriting: Tips for state oral health programs. [New Bern, NC: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors], 4 pp.

Annotation: This document provides tips on successful grantwriting. It discusses where grantwriting fits in the overall mission of an agency, time and organization needs, finding and collecting data, creating the narrative/application, tips for keeping it concise, tips on budget and appendices, and managing the project post award. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Grants, Oral health, Proposal writing

Ireland J. 1997. Resource guide and workbook for MCH /CSHCN providers: How to negotiate and contract for services with Medicaid managed care organizations. Rockville, MD: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, 60 pp.

Annotation: This guide is designed to assist providers of services to maternal and child health (MCH) and children with special health needs (CSHN) populations to contract with managed care organizations (MCOs) for health and health related services. It provides suggestions and a range of approaches to providers by guiding them through the process of developing contractual relationships with MCOs. Topics include the following: 1) understanding your state's Medicaid managed care program, 2) understanding managed care organizations, 3) evaluating and selecting the most appropriate contracting arrangement, 4) selecting services to offer an MCO, 5) how to develop a managed care proposal, and 6) proposing, marketing, and negotiating a managed care contract. Each area summarizes the subject areas covered and provides a checklist of the key steps to follow to achieve the goals of each topic. An appendix provides three sample contracts, a glossary of managed care terms, and a listing of state Medicaid agencies. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Administrative policy, CSHCN programs, Contract services, MCH programs, MCH services, Medicaid managed care, Proposal writing, Proposals

Haughton B, Smith G, Peyton M, McGrath M. 1994. Winning the grant game! A computer-aided instruction operating manual and workbook for hospitality educators and students. Knoxville, TN: University of Tennessee, College of Human Ecology, Hotel and Restaurant Administration, 58 pp.

Annotation: This computer-aided instruction software and operating manual guides a novice grant writer step-by-step through the process of writing a grant. Some of the topics covered in this workbook are developing the problem statement, objectives, planning the methodology, evaluation, budgeting, summarizing the proposal, and packaging your proposal. It is almost identical to one published in 1988 for public health nutritionists. This computer-aided software is designed to operate with an IBM PC with a 256K or higher main memory or equivalent microcomputer. Several versions are available depending on the computer to be used. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: University of Tennessee, Department of Nutrition, Jessie Harris Building, Room 229, 1215 W. Cumberland Avenue, Knoxville, TN 37996-1920, Telephone: (865) 974-5445 Fax: (865) 974-3491 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nutrition.utk.edu

Keywords: Grants, Proposal writing

U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Division of Maternal, Infant, Child and Adolescent Health. 1993. Maternal and Child Health Improvement Projects (MCHIP) for mothers, infants, children and adolescents: Demonstration grant application guidance: Spring 1993. [Rockville, MD]: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, ca. 80 pp.

Annotation: These guidelines describe the process of applying for a Maternal and Child Health Improvement Projects (MCHIP) grant. They include a description of the program and explanations of what is required in each section of the grant proposal. The guidelines also list program priorities for Fiscal Year 1993 and give practical information on the application procedure, such as deadlines, copies required, etc. The appendices required to accompany the application are listed. A statement on the title page stresses that this is not a complete application kit.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Price unknown.

Keywords: Applications, Federal MCH programs, Federal grants, Guidelines, Proposal writing, SPRANS

Ferguson J. 1993. The grants development kit. Alexandria, VA: Capitol Publications, ca. 100 pp.

Annotation: This manual includes a set of forms, charts, outlines, checklists, tips, and strategies to streamline the grantseeking process. Sections cover the following topics: developing project ideas, researching funders, preparing to write proposals, writing proposals, and completing and submitting proposals.

Contact: Aspen Publishers, 76 Ninth Avenue, Seventh Floor, New York, NY 10011, Telephone: (800) 234-1660 Secondary Telephone: (212) 771-0600 Contact Phone: (800) 655-5597 Fax: (212) 771-0885 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.aspenpublishers.com $45.00 plus $3 shipping and handling.

Keywords: Development, Fundraising, Grants, Proposal writing

Center for the Study of Social Policy. 1988. The Annie E. Casey Foundation's New Futures initiative: Strategic planning guide = A strategic planning guide for the New Futures initiative. (Rev. ed.). Greenwich, CT: Annie E. Casey Foundation, ca. 300 pp.

Annotation: This guide is aimed at those communities that have been invited to develop proposals under The Annie E. Casey Foundation's New Futures initiative. The guide is organized into three general chapters, each divided into subsections. These chapters correspond to the activities the Foundation expects candidate communities to follow as they develop their plans for a local New Futures initiative. The first chapter describes important planning tasks that candidate sites must undertake before designing any new interventions. The second chapter describes the kinds of programmatic strategies that are likely to help at risk adolescents mature into productive and successful adults. And the third chapters offers guidance on the planning process, administrative structures and information systems mechanisms needed to launch and sustain a successful local initiative.

Contact: Annie E. Casey Foundation, 701 Saint Paul Street, Baltimore, MD 21202, Telephone: (410) 547-6600 Fax: (410) 547-6624 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aecf.org Available in libraries.

Keywords: High risk adolescents, Intervention, Program planning, Proposal writing, Strategic plans

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, Region X. 1983 (ca.). Guidelines for nutrition services in ambulatory care settings in Region X = Nutritional guidelines. Seattle, WA: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Region X, ca. 160 pp.

Annotation: The purpose of these guidelines for use in health programs is to be useful to a variety of health workers, such as nurses, community health workers, physicians, social workers, and health educators; to integrate nutrition as a component of comprehensive health promotion and clinical health services; to deliver quality nutritional care; to assist with determining the cost of nutrition services when developing fee-for-service instruments; and to focus and streamline the delivery of nutritional care and in that way make the service cost effective. These guidelines were designed as a model to be adapted to the protocols by those utilizing the tool. They may also be used as model standards, for monitoring, proposal writing, and evaluating.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Region X, 2201 Sixth Avenue, Room 1036, Mail Stop -01, Seattle, WA 98121-1831, Telephone: (206) 615-2010 Fax: (206) 615-2087 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://directory.psc.gov/os/880.html Price unknown.

Keywords: Cost effectiveness, Costs, Evaluation, Guidelines, Health personnel, Health programs, Model programs, Monitoring, Nutrition, Proposal writing, Services, Standards
   

The MCH Digital Library is one of six special collections at Geogetown University, the nation's oldest Jesuit institution of higher education. It is supported in part by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under award number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy with an award of $700,000/year. The library is also supported through foundation and univerity funding. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.