Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (36 total).

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Health. [2020]. Healthy People 2020: An end of decade snapshot. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Health, 36 pp.

Annotation: This report provides a snapshot of the progress that the Healthy People 2020 initiative has achieved in the past decade and highlights areas that need improvement. It includes background information about the initiative and covers the following topics: tracking progress of objectives; status of leading health indicators; status of objectives, including oral health objectives, by population subgroup; and transition to Healthy People 2030.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Health, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Room 715-G, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (202) 690-7694 E-mail: ash@hhs.gov Web Site: https://www.hhs.gov/ash Available from the website.

Keywords: Healthy People 2020, Initiatives, Oral health, Progress reports, Statistical data

U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality. 2020. Chartbook on healthcare for Asians and Native Hawaiians/Pacific Islanders. Rockville, MD: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 42 pp., 79 slides. (National Healthcare Quality & Disparities Report chartbooks)

Annotation: This chartbook on Asians and Native Hawaiians/Pacific Islanders (NHPIs) is part of a family of documents and tools that support the National Healthcare Quality and Disparities Report (QDR), which was published in 2018. This chartbook includes a summary of trends across measures of healthcare for Asians and NHPIs from the QDR and figures illustrating select measures of healthcare access and quality. A PowerPoint version is also available that users can download for presentations.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website. Document Number: AHRQ Pub. No. 20-0043..

Keywords: Access to health care, Asian Americans, Ethnic groups, Health care disparities, Measures, Native Hawaiians, Pacific Islanders, Program improvement, Progress reports, Quality assurance, Trends

U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality. 2018. National healthcare quality and disparities report. Rockville, MD: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, multiple items.

Annotation: The National Healthcare Quality and Disparities Report assesses the performance of our healthcare system and identifies areas of strengths and weaknesses, as well as disparities, for access to healthcare and quality of healthcare. Quality is described in terms of six priorities: patient safety, person-centered care, care coordination, effective treatment, healthy living, and care affordability. The report is based on more than 250 measures of quality and disparities covering a broad array of healthcare services and settings. State snapshots, chartbooks on specific topics, and data tools are also available.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Ethnic groups, Health care disparities, Measures, Program improvement, Progress reports, Quality assurance, Trends

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. 2016. 2015 annual report on the quality of care for children in Medicaid and CHIP. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 42 pp.

Annotation: This report shows the progress made by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and states to systematically measure and report on the quality of care that children enrolled in Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) receive. Contents include information about state-specific findings on quality and access in Medicaid and CHIP and monitoring and improving care for children enrolled in managed care. Topics include primary care access and preventive care, management of acute and chronic conditions, childhood obesity, oral health care, prenatal and postpartum care, and adolescent well care.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent health, Child health, Children's Health Insurance Program, Federal programs, High risk children, Managed care, Measures, Medicaid, Nutrition, Oral health, Perinatal health, Preventive health services, Primary care, Program improvement, Progress reports, Quality assurance, State programs

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. 2016. 2015 annual report on the quality of health care for adults in Medicaid. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 43 pp.

Annotation: This report summarizes information on the quality of health care provided to adults covered by Medicaid, including pregnant women. The report discusses the status of quality measurement and reporting efforts using the Medicaid Adult Core Set and summarizes information on managed care performance measures and performance-improvement projects reported in external quality-review technical reports that states submitted to the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. Topics include diabetes care, hospital readmissions, emergency department visits, and substance use disorders.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adults, Federal programs, Managed care, Measures, Medicaid, Pregnant women, Program improvement, Progress reports, Quality assurance, Reports, State programs

Michigan Department of Health and Human Services, Oral Health. 2016. Michigan state oral health plan implementation progress report. Lansing, MI: Michigan Department of Health and Human Services, Oral Health, 13 pp.

Annotation: This report summarizes successful activities and initiatives to improve oral health in Michigan. Contents include success stories about the oral health surveillance system, the Boyne city water fluoridation vote, connecting oral health to diabetes management, the Michigan Oral Health Coalition mini-grant program, increasing age 1 dental visits, the Healthy Kids Dental expansion, the Seal! Michigan Dental Sealant Program, donated dental services, an older adult oral health assessment pilot, and strengthening oral health programs.

Contact: Michigan Department of Health and Human Services, Oral Health, 201 Townsend Street, Box 30195, Lansing, MI 48913, Telephone: (517) 373-3740 Web Site: http://www.michigan.gov/mdch/0,1607,7-132-2942_4911_4912_6226---,00.html Available from the website.

Keywords: Assessment, Children, Coalitions, Dental sealants, Disease management, Fluorides, Grants, Infants, Michigan, Older adults, Oral health, Population surveillance, Pregnant women, Preventive health services, Progress reports, State programs, Statewide planning, Water

U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau. 2016. Discretionary grant performance measures. Rockville, MD: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, 25 pp.

Annotation: This document for recipients of the federal Maternal and Child Health Bureau's Discretionary Grant Program contains instructions and forms for submitting performance measure data. Contents include information about the goals, definitions, benchmark and grantee data sources, and significance for each measure by domain; instructions and forms for collecting budget and expenditure data and project abstract and summary data; and forms for tracking project performance and outcome measures.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Data collection, Federal grants, Forms, MCH programs, MCH research, MCH training, Measures, Outcome and process assessment, Program evaluation, Program improvement, Program planning, Progress reports

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. 2016. 2015 annual report on the quality of care for children in Medicaid and CHIP: Chart pack. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 75 pp.

Annotation: This document summarizes state reporting on the quality of health care service for children covered by Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) during the fiscal year. which generally covers care delivered during the calendar year. Contents include detailed analyses of state performance on publicly reported measures. Topics include the child core set, primary care access and preventive care, perinatal care, care of acute and chronic conditions, behavioral health care, oral health services, and trends in state performance. Reference tables and additional resources are also included. The information presented is abstracted from the Annual Secretary's Report on the Quality of Care for Children in Medicaid and CHIP.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Acute care, Adolescent health, Child health, Children's Health Insurance Program, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, High risk children, Measures, Medicaid, Mental health, Oral health, Perinatal care, Perinatal health, Preventive health services, Primary care, Program improvement, Progress reports, Quality assurance, State programs, Statistical data, Trends

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. 2016. 2015 annual report on the quality of care for adults in Medicaid: Chart pack. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 42 pp.

Annotation: This document summarizes state reporting on the quality of health care furnished to adults covered by Medicaid during the fiscal year, which generally covers care delivered in the calendar year. Contents include detailed analyses of state performance on publicly-reported measures. Topics include the adult core set, primary care access and preventive care, perinatal care, care of acute and chronic conditions, and behavioral health care. Reference tables and additional resources are also included. The information presented is abstracted from the Annual Secretary's Report on the Quality of Care for Adults in Medicaid.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Acute care, Adults, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, High risk groups, Low income groups, Measures, Medicaid, Mental health, Perinatal care, Preventive health services, Primary care, Program improvement, Progress reports, Quality assurance, State programs, Statistical data

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. 2016. Perinatal care in Medicaid and CHIP. Baltimore, MD: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, [52 pp.].

Annotation: This report provides state-specific findings on perinatal care in Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program. Contents include state-specific performance data on 5 of the 10 perinatal care measures in the Child and Adult Core Sets. The report also summarizes information on managed care quality monitoring and improvement efforts related to prenatal and postpartum care that were reported in states' external quality review technical reports. Topics include timeliness of prenatal care, frequency of ongoing prenatal care, postpartum care rate, live births weighing less than 2,500 grams (low birthweight), and central-line-associated blood stream infections in neonatal intensive care units.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Children's Health Insurance Program, Health care utilization, Measures, Medicaid managed care, Perinatal care, Postpartum care, Prenatal care, Program improvement, Progress reports, Quality assurance, State programs, Statistical data, Utilization review

State Health Access Data Assistance Center. 2016. Study of the impact of the ACA implementation in Kentucky. Louisville, KY: Foundation for a Healthy Kentucky, 5 pp.

Annotation: This report presents findings from a study to evaluate the impact of implementation of the Affordable Care Act in Kentucky. The report documents performance in five domains: health insurance coverage, access, cost, quality, and health outcomes. The report also provides preliminary findings from the Kentucky Health Reform Survey. Data sources, methods, and indicators are included.

Contact: Foundation for a Healthy Kentucky, 1640 Lyndon Farm Court, Suite 100, Louisville, KY 40223, Telephone: (502) 326-2583 Web Site: https://www.healthy-ky.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Health care reform, Kentucky, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Progress reports, Research, State surveys

U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality. 2015–. National healthcare quality and disparities reports. Rockville, MD: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, annual.

Annotation: These annual reports focuses on the success of efforts to achieve better health and health care and reduce disparities. The reports measure trends in effectiveness of care, patient safety, timeliness of care, patient centeredness, and efficiency of care. Findings on quality of and access to health care are presented in chart form. The 2015 report also addresses progress at the five-year anniversary of the National Quality Strategy.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Federal initiatives, Health care disparities, Measures, Progress reports, Quality assurance, Safety, Statistical data, Strategic plans, Trends

Isbell M, Simpson I. 2015. Saving lives, protecting futures: Progress report on the Global Strategy for Women's and Children's Health. New York, NY: Every Woman Every Child, 109 pp.

Annotation: This report describes the Global Strategy for Women's and Children's Health, an international initiative to promote partnership, coordinate, and coherence in efforts to prevent women's and children's deaths and improve lives, advances made over the past five years, and how they have been achieved. Topics include progress in reducing maternal and child mortality and morbidity, catalyzing innovation to improve women's and children's health, accountability for results for women and children, mobilizing essential resources for women's and children's health, lessons learned, and building on gains to date in the post-2015 era.

Contact: Every Woman Every Child, United Nations Foundation, 801 Second Avenue, Suite 900, New York, NY 10017, Web Site: http://www.everywomaneverychild.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child health, International health, Maternal health, Morbidity, Mortality, Prevention, Program improvement, Progress reports, Quality assurance, Strategic plans

Barrett M, Breen N, Casale C, Fingar K, Gomez M, Heslin K, Moy E, Velasco J, Wilson-Frrederick S. 2015. 2014 national healthcare quality and disparities report: Chartbook on Hispanic health care. Rockville, MD: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 116 pp.

Annotation: This report commemorates the 30th anniversary of the Report of the Secretary's Task Force on Black and Minority Health (Heckler Report), highlights progress for Hispanics on priorities of the Heckler Report, summarizes trends in health care for Hispanic populations related to access to health care and National Quality Strategy priorities, and presents information on health care received by residents of the U.S.-Mexico border. Topics include cancer; diabetes; HIV/AIDS; injury prevention; maternal, infant, and child health; mental health; oral health; and respiratory diseases.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Ethnic groups, Health care disparities, Hispanic Americans, Measures, Program improvement, Progress reports, Quality assurance, Rural health, Trends

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation. 2015. HHS action plan to reduce racial and ethnic health disparities: Implementation progress report 2011–2014. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation, 32 pp.

Annotation: This document reports the nation’s progress toward addressing racial and ethnic disparities in health and health care. The report outlines the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services' (HHS) disparities action plan goals and strategies, describes a sample of the specific actions being taken across HHS agencies to reduce these disparities, and highlights major accomplishments to date.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation, Hubert H. Humphrey Building, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Room 415 F, Washington, DC 20201, Web Site: http://aspe.hhs.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Barriers, Community action, Federal agencies, Federal initiatives, Goals, Health care disparities, Health objectives, Progress reports

U.S. Office of Minority Health. 2015. Report to Congress on minority health activities as required by the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (P.L. 111-148). Rockville, MD: U.S. Office of Minority Health, 77 pp.

Annotation: This report responds to the reporting requirements of section 10334(a) of the Affordable Care Act and provides an update to Congress on U.S. Department of Health and Human Services' (HHS) programs and activities related to minority health. Contents include background; a summary of minority health activities by agency; and information about coordination, integration, and accountability.

Contact: U.S. Office of Minority Health, The Tower Building, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite 600, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (240) 453-2882 Secondary Telephone: (240) 453-2883 Fax: (240) 453-2883 E-mail: info@minorityhealth.hhs.gov Web Site: http://www.minorityhealth.hhs.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Accountability, Coordination, Federal agencies, Federal initiatives, Federal programs, Health care reform, Minority health, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Progress reports, Service integration

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. 2014. The health consequences of smoking: 50 years of progress–A report of the Surgeon General. Atlanta, GA: National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Office on Smoking and Health, 943 pp., exec. summ. (22 pp.).

Annotation: This report chronicles the consequences of 50 years of tobacco use in the United States. Topics include the relationship between smoking and health outcomes; smoking-attributable morbidity, mortality, and economic costs; patterns of tobacco use among children, adolescents, and adults; status of and future directions in tobacco control; and a vision for ending tobacco-caused death and disease.

Contact: National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Office on Smoking and Health, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: E-mail: cdcinfo@cdc.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/tobacco Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Cause of death, Children, Costs, Disease prevention, Morbidity, Mortality, Progress reports, Smoking, Spanish language materials, Tobacco use

U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion. 2014. Healthy People 2020 leading health indicators: Progress update. Washington, DC: U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 4 pp.

Annotation: This document summarizes progress toward achieving national health objective targets for 26 leading health indicators (LHIs). Contents include the number and percentage of LHIs meeting or exceeding their Healthy People 2020 targets, and those that are improving, showing little or no detectable change, or getting worse. Topics include access to health services; clinical preventive services; environmental quality; injury and violence; maternal, infant, and child health; mental health; nutrition, physical activity, and obesity; oral health; reproductive and sexual health; social determinants; substance abuse; and tobacco. Information about the data sources is included.

Contact: U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL100, Rockville, MD 20852, Fax: (240) 453-8282 E-mail: odphpinfo@hhs.gov Web Site: https://health.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Data sources, Health objectives, Healthy People 2020, National initiatives, Progress reports

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. 2014. Let's make the next generation tobacco-free: Your guide to the 50th anniversary Surgeon General's report on smoking and health. Atlanta, GA: National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Office on Smoking and Health, 20 pp.

Annotation: This consumer guide details the effects of smoking including nicotine addiction and serious disease. It also contains facts on the benefits of quitting smoking and free resources that are available to smokers who want to quit. The guide is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Office on Smoking and Health, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: E-mail: cdcinfo@cdc.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/tobacco Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Cause of death, Children, Consumer education materials, Costs, Disease prevention, Morbidity, Mortality, Progress reports, Smoking, Smoking cessation, Spanish language materials, Tobacco use

American Dental Association. 2014. Action for Dental Health: Year one–2014: A report to Congress. [Chicago, IL]: American Dental Association, 19 pp.

Annotation: This report describes progress toward meeting the goals of the American Dental Association's Action for Dental Health, an initiative to remove barriers to good oral health in communities. Programmatic descriptions include providing care to people with untreated oral disease, strengthening and expanding the public/private safety net, and bringing disease prevention and education into communities.

Contact: American Dental Association, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Fax: (312) 440-7494 E-mail: info@ada.org Web Site: http://www.ada.org Available from the website.

Keywords: National initiatives, Barriers, Collaboration, Community based services, Dental societies, Disease prevention, Health care delivery, Interdisciplinary approach, Oral health, Program descriptions, Progress reports, Public health education

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.