Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This document for recipients of the federal Maternal and Child Health Bureau's Discretionary Grant Program contains instructions and forms for submitting performance measure data. Contents include information about the goals, definitions, benchmark and grantee data sources, and significance for each measure by domain; instructions and forms for collecting budget and expenditure data and project abstract and summary data; and forms for tracking project performance and outcome measures.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: Data collection, Federal grants, Forms, MCH programs, MCH research, MCH training, Measures, Outcome and process assessment, Program evaluation, Program improvement, Program planning, Progress reports

Annotation: This practice guide provides information to help state Title V maternal and child health programs in their implementation of the national performance measure on preventive dental visit. It also provides sample evidence-based or evidence-informed strategy measures (ESMs), possible data sources for ESMs, and a list of resources. Programs can also use this information to assist in the implementation of oral-health-related state performance measures. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Oral health, Pregnant women, Prevention, Quality improvement, State programs, Telehealth, Title V programs

Annotation: This report presents a roadmap of California's Birthing Care Pathway initiative launched by the Department of Health Care Services (DHCS) to address maternal health disparities and improve outcomes for pregnant and postpartum Medi-Cal members. It describes the current state of maternal health in California, highlighting concerning trends in pregnancy-related mortality and severe maternal morbidity with significant racial disparities affecting Black, American Indian/Alaska Native, and Pacific Islander individuals. The document outlines DHCS' strategic approach to improve maternal health through policy solutions developed with input from diverse stakeholders, including Medi-Cal members. Key components include strengthening provider access, enhancing clinical care coordination, providing whole-person care, and modernizing maternity care payment systems. The report details recent Medi-Cal policy enhancements for perinatal care and describes California's participation in the federal Transforming Maternal Health Model to further strengthen delivery systems in selected Central Valley counties.

Contact: California Department of Health Care Services, P.O. Box 997413, MS 4400, Sacramento,, CA 95899-7413 , Fax: E-mail: https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/Pages/contact_us.aspx Web Site: https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/

• PDF

Keywords: California, Health care disparities, Maternal health, Maternal morbidity, Maternal mortality, Model programs, Perinatal care, Policy development, Postpartum care, Quality improvement, State initiatives, Trends

Annotation: This report examines the critical impact of mental health and substance use disorders on maternal mortality and morbidity in the United States, highlighting how suicide and substance use-related overdoses account for over 20 percent of postpartum deaths. It presents promising approaches from states including Massachusetts, New Jersey, Oregon, New Hampshire, and California that integrate maternity care with behavioral health services and social supports. The report outlines six key recommendations for improving care: supporting dedicated multidisciplinary care teams, centering people with lived experience to drive health equity, normalizing substance use care, training all staff on bias and stigma, expanding the community-based workforce including doulas and peer recovery specialists, and implementing harm reduction and street medicine approaches. The authors emphasize that with nearly every state now providing 12 months of postpartum Medicaid coverage, there are unprecedented opportunities to implement integrated, trauma-informed, non-punitive care models that can significantly reduce maternal mortality and improve outcomes for families.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 300 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 125, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org

• Link

Keywords: Substance abusing pregnant women, Community participation, Disorders, Health care reform, Initiatives, Maternal morbidity, Maternal mortality, Medicaid, Mental health, Model programs, Perinatal addiction, Perinatal care, Postpartum care, Quality improvement, Risk factors, Service integration, Substance use disorders

Annotation: This action brief discusses the importance of prioritizing respectful maternity care, calling attention to the need to support dignity, autonomy, and companionship in pregnancy, birth, and postpartum care. The brief highlights five anti-discriminatory action steps highlighted in the White House blueprint for addressing the maternal crisis and links to a wide variety of programs and resources aimed at improving maternal health outcomes. Statistical data related to maternal maltreatment and a description of factors affecting progress are included

Contact: Maternal Health Learning and Innovation Center , University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill, NC Web Site: https://maternalhealthlearning.org/

• Link

Keywords: , Barriers, Federal programs, Health care disparities, Health equity, Initiatives, Maternal health, Models, Perinatal care, Quality improvement, Racial discrimination

Annotation: This manual is designed to assist professionals in planning, launching, implementing, and sustaining school-based dental sealant programs. This edition pairs the manual with a training that further prepares professionals to plan and operate programs. In addition to offering a step-wise approach for planning and implementing school-based dental sealant programs, the Seal America manual addresses issues related to referring students with unmet oral health needs to a dental clinic or office. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Seal In A Smile Video

Keywords: Dental sealants, Disease prevention, Model programs, Oral health, Preventive health services, Program improvement, Program planning, Referrals, School age children, Schools, Sustainability, Training

Annotation: This summary discusses changes to the Title V Maternal and Child Health Services Block Grant application, needs assessment, and reporting process and resulting opportunities to promote oral health in states. It describes the national performance measure on oral health, a national outcome measure for oral health, and recommended strategies for action. State performance measures are also discussed.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Block grants, Community action, Measures, Needs assessment, Oral health, Outcome and process assessment, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Title V programs

Annotation: This progress report details the Minnesota Perinatal Quality Collaborative's initiative to address hypertension in pregnancy and the postpartum period. It outlines the collaborative's structure, methodology, and quality improvement approach using a hybrid model that incorporates both the Institute for Healthcare Improvement framework and Project ECHO telehealth education. The document presents results from six participating hospitals showing improvements in key metrics, including an increase from 57% to 71% in patients with severe hypertension treated within 60 minutes, and positive trends in discharge education and follow-up care within 3-5 days. The report discusses challenges encountered, including data collection difficulties during the COVID-19 pandemic, and offers recommendations for sustaining improvements, such as continued data reporting and expanding focus to the postpartum period. Charts display performance data with statistical analysis of trends and special cause variations, illustrating the initiative's impact on maternal health outcomes in Minnesota.

Contact: Minnesota Perinatal Quality Collaborative, MN E-mail: https://mnpqc.org/about/# Web Site: https://mnpqc.org/

• PDF

Keywords: Hypertension, Minnesota, Model programs, Perinatal care, Quality improvement, State initiatives

Annotation: This packet provides the best strategies for participating practices so pediatric providers across the country can benefit from their learning from a quality improvement framework with 18 pediatric primary care practices to test and refine strategies to improve their effectiveness in fostering patients’ social and emotional development from birth to age 3. These core practices and strategies serve as a roadmap for the participating pediatric providers and includes additional resources developed as part of this initiative or identified as useful. The document summaries strategies for each core element and lists additional resources. Sample forms are included.

Contact: National Institute for Children's Health Quality, 30 Winter Street, Sixth Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 391-2700 Secondary Telephone: (866) 787-0832 Fax: (617) 391-2701 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nichq.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Emotional development, Model programs, Parent professional relations, Pediatric care, Pediatrics, Quality improvement, Social development, Young children

Annotation: This document provides case studies on how communities are using their early childhood data to tailor more effective interventions and yield better results. The case studies include: (1) Indianola, MS: organizing the community around the collective goal of having children ready to learn when entering kindergarten; (2) Ventura, CA: improving the quality of early childhood services, focusing on the overall family experience and engaging a consultant to help work with neighborhood partners to achieve data-driven change; and (3) Philadelphia, PA: informing critical public policy decisions by using data to decide which neighborhoods would get new pre-kindergarten slots under a new funding stream.

Contact: National Institute for Children's Health Quality, 30 Winter Street, Sixth Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 391-2700 Secondary Telephone: (866) 787-0832 Fax: (617) 391-2701 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nichq.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: California, Data, Early childhood education, Local programs, Mississippi, Pennsylvania, Program improvement, Young children

Annotation: This tutorial provides an overview of Medicaid and the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP), populations these programs serve, changes the programs are undergoing under health care transformation, and opportunities to improve services for children with special health care needs (CSHCN) through communication and collaboration with Medicaid and CHIP staff. The tutorial begins with an overview of how definitions of CSHCN may vary by agency or program, followed by major topic areas, including recommendations for Title V programs to build successful partnerships with public insurance programs. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Catalyst Center, the National Center for Health Insurance and Financing for Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs, Boston University School of Public Health, Center for Advancing Health Policy and Practice, 801 Massachusetts Avenue, Boston, MA 02218-2526, Telephone: (617) 638-1930 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://ciswh.org/project/the-catalyst-center/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Children, Children with special health care needs, Children', EPSDT, Financing, Health care reform, Medicaid, Oral health, Program improvement, Resources for professionals, Title V programs, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This toolkit is a collection of resources that aims to assist states as they integrate Title V data into Early Childhood Integrated Data Systems (ECIDS). The toolkit consists of tip sheets, data integration use cases, and state examples.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Case studies, Data linkage, Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Integrated information systems, Interagency cooperation, Program coordination, Program improvement, State programs, Systems development, Title V programs

Annotation: This guide for primary care health professionals provides four strategies they can adopt to improve patient safety, as well as materials to support adoption. Topics include supporting adoption of teach-back, a technique to ensure health care professionals that they have explained medical information clearly so that patients and their families understand what is communicated to them; helping patients and their families prepare for and become more fully engaged in their medical appointments; engaging with patients and caregivers to create a complete and accurate medical list for addressing medication reconciliation and management issues; and the warm handoff, a transfer of care from one clinician to another, where the handoff occurs in front of the patient and family. Contents include implementation guides, interactive learning modules, posters and handouts, fact sheets, sample processes and procedures, staff checklists, and videos.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Family centered care, Health literacy, Participation, Patient care, Physician patient relations, Prevention programs, Primary care, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Resources for professionals, Role, Safety programs

Annotation: This report shows the progress made by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and states to systematically measure and report on the quality of care that children enrolled in Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) receive. Contents include information about state-specific findings on quality and access in Medicaid and CHIP and monitoring and improving care for children enrolled in managed care. Topics include primary care access and preventive care, management of acute and chronic conditions, childhood obesity, oral health care, prenatal and postpartum care, and adolescent well care.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (800) 633-4227 Secondary Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• Current Report
• Earlier Editions

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent health, Child health, Children', Federal programs, High risk children, Managed care, Measures, Medicaid, Nutrition, Oral health, Perinatal health, Preventive health services, Primary care, Program improvement, Progress reports, Quality assurance, State programs, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This report provides state-specific findings on children's use of dental services in Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program. It includes state-specific performance data for two measures: preventive dental services and dental treatment services. The report also summarizes information on managed care quality-monitoring and qaulity-improvement efforts related to oral health care that were reported in states' external quality review technical reports.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (800) 633-4227 Secondary Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Children’s Health Insurance Program, Health care utilization, Managed care, Medicaid, Oral health, Preventive health services, Program improvement, Quality assurance, State programs, Statistical data, Trends

Annotation: This document outlines a strategic plan to improve population health outcomes of New Mexico residents through an engaged, empowered, and high-performing health work force and simple and effective processes that support health status improvement. Topics include mission and vision; guiding principles; strategic planning process and membership; external trends, events, and other factors affecting the work; strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, and challenges; results, priorities, and indicators; and results-based accountability and strategy execution. Strategies and actions include promoting access to person- and community-centered health and wellness by aligning and integrating public health, behavioral health, oral health, and primary care.

Contact: New Mexico Department of Health, 1190 South Saint Francis Drive, Santa Fe, NM 87505, Telephone: (505) 827-2613 Fax: (505) 827-2530 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://nmhealth.org Available from the website.

• FY17-FY19

Keywords: Accountability, Fiscal management, Health care systems, Health promotion, Health status, New Mexico, Outcome and process assessment, Program improvement, Public health agencies, Quality assurance, State programs, Strategic plans, Work force, Work force

Annotation: This guide for Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program Nutrition Education and Obesity Prevention Grant Program (SNAP-Ed) administrators, evaluators, and others identifies and explains the indicators, outcome measures, and preferred methodologies for tracking success; developing state- and local-level objectives; and reporting program results. Contents include outcome indicators relevant to individuals, environmental settings, sectors of influence, population results, and social norms and values.

Contact: U.S. Food and Nutrition Service, 3101 Park Center Drive, Alexandria, VA 22302, Web Site: http://www.fns.usda.gov/fns Available from the website.

• Link
• Program Website

Keywords: Disease prevention, Economic factors, Food consumption, Food habits, Intervention, Low income groups, Model programs, Nutrition education, Obesity, Physical activity, Prevention programs, Prevention services, Program evaluation, Program improvement, State programs, Weight management

Annotation: This report summarizes information on the quality of health care provided to adults covered by Medicaid, including pregnant women. The report discusses the status of quality measurement and reporting efforts using the Medicaid Adult Core Set and summarizes information on managed care performance measures and performance-improvement projects reported in external quality-review technical reports that states submitted to the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. Topics include diabetes care, hospital readmissions, emergency department visits, and substance use disorders.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (800) 633-4227 Secondary Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• Current Report
• Earlier Editions

Keywords: Access to health care, Adults, Federal programs, Managed care, Measures, Medicaid, Pregnant women, Program improvement, Progress reports, Quality assurance, Reports, State programs

Annotation: This guide provides information, strategies, and resources to help communities support and strengthen families and promote the well-being of children and youth. It focuses on protective factors that build on family strengths and promote optimal child and youth development. Topics include implementing a protective factors approach, working with families using protective factors, and using protective factors as a framework for community partnerships. Contents include tools and strategies to assist service providers in integrating protective factors into community programs and systems. Tips sheets for parents and caregivers are provided.

Contact: Child Welfare Information Gateway, Administration on Children, Youth, and Families, Children's Bureau, 1250 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Eighth Floor, Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: (800) 394-3366 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childwelfare.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Community based services, Community programs, Consumer education materials, Families, Program improvement, Protective factors, Public private partnerships, Resources for professionals, Service delivery systems, Systems development, Youth

Annotation: This fact sheet describes state strategies for improving population health and controlling costs. Topics include asthma control; tobacco control; and prevention of tooth decay through fluoride varnish, dental sealants, and community water fluoridation.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Asthma, Costs, Dental caries, Oral health, Policy development, Prevention, Program improvement, State programs, Tobacco