Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 20 (141 total).

Bogenschneider K, Small S, Riley D. n.d.. An ecological, risk-focused approach for addressing youth-at-risk issues. Chevy Chase, MD: National 4-H Center, 24 pp.

Annotation: This paper presents a prevention model to reduce problem behavior in adolescents by identifying risk factors and protective factors in an adolescent's environment and targeting gaps between the two at all stages of the adolescent's environmental system—individual, family, peers, school, work, and community. The paper reviews current research on risk and protective factors that influence the well being of youth and suggests implications of this research for developing comprehensive community based prevention programs.

Contact: National 4-H Council, 7100 Connecticut Avenue, Chevy Chase, MD 20815, Telephone: (301) 961-2800 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.fourhcouncil.edu Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Community programs, Environmental influences, Models, Prevention programs, Protective factors, Risk factors

Healthy Teen Network and ETR Associates. n.d.. Weaving science & practice: Frequently asked questions about science-based approaches. Baltimore, MD: Healthy Teen Network, 20 pp.

Annotation: This document describes seven science-based approaches in adolescent pregnancy, HIV, and sexually transmitted infection prevention. Topics include assessment, health education and behavior change theory, logic models, science-based programs, adaptation and fidelity, characteristics of promising programs, and process and outcome evaluation. Additional topics include the benefits of using science-based approaches, ten steps for getting to outcomes, and training and technical assistance.

Contact: Healthy Teen Network, 1501 Saint Paul Street, Suite 124, Baltimore, MD 21202, Telephone: (410) 685-0410 Fax: (410) 687-0481 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthyteennetwork.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy prevention, Assessment, Behavior modification, HIV, Health behavior, Health education, Methods, Models, Outcome evaluation, Prevention programs, Process evaluation, Sexually transmitted diseases

Institute for Educational Leadership, Coalition for Community Schools. n.d.. Community schools: Promoting student success–A rationale and results framework. Washington, DC: Institute for Educational Leadership, Coalition for Community Schools, 11 pp.

Annotation: This document for local policymakers and practitioners provides guidance on implementing a community school strategy. It outlines a rationale for the community school as a primary vehicle for increasing student success and strengthening families and community. The document also defines specific results that community schools seek -- both in terms of how they function and in relationship to the well being of students, families, and communities. Contents include the community schools vision, guiding principles, logic model, and framework for student success. Conditions for learning and indicators of capacity are also addressed.

Contact: Institute for Educational Leadership, 4301 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 100, Washington, DC 2008-2304, Telephone: (202) 822-8405 Fax: (202) 872-4050 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.iel.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Communities, Development, Education, Families, Leadership, Learning, Models, Program improvement, Schools, Students, Teaching

New Mexico Department of Health . n.d.. New Mexico Maternal Mortality Review Committee annual report: Pregnancy-associated deaths 2015-2018. Santa Fe: New Mexico Department of Health, 34 pp.

Annotation: This report describes the maternal mortality review process in the state of New Mexico, presents key findings on pregnancy-associated deaths in the state for the period 2015-2018, and provides recommendations from the Review Committee aimed at reducing maternal deaths. The data indicates cause of death, race/ethnicity, place of birth, type of insurance, and other factors.

Contact: New Mexico Department of Health, 1190 South Saint Francis Drive, Santa Fe, NM 87505, Telephone: (505) 827-2613 Fax: (505) 827-2530 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://nmhealth.org

Keywords: Committees, Maternal death, Maternal mortality, Models, Prevention, Research, State programs, Statistics

Nijagal MA, Khoong EC, Sherwin EB, Lance E, Saleeby E, Williams AP, Thomas MR. 2024. Perinatal community health workers: Lessons From California. Washington, DC: Health Affairs ,

Annotation: This article from Health Affairs Forefront examines lessons learned from California's experience with perinatal community health workers (CHWs) and provides recommendations for policy makers designing similar programs. It discusses how perinatal CHWs can help address disparities in maternal health outcomes by providing culturally appropriate support throughout pregnancy and postpartum periods. The authors, drawing from 15 years of experience in California's Medicaid system, outline key considerations including adequate reimbursement rates, payment flexibility for services provided in both clinical and community settings, program coordination to prevent inefficiencies, standardized data collection methods, and support systems to prevent CHW burnout. The document includes specific examples from programs at San Francisco General Hospital and Los Angeles County, and discusses implications for state Medicaid programs participating in CMS's new Transforming Maternal Health Model.

Contact: Health Affairs, 1220 19th Street, NW, Suite 800, Washington, DC 20036, E-mail: [email protected]

Link

Keywords: Barriers, California, Community health workers, Maternal health, Models, Payment, Perinatal care, Policy development, Postpartum care, Reimbursement, State programs

Maternal Health Learning and Innovation Center. 2023 . Ensure those giving birth are heard and are decisionmakers in accountable systems of care. Chapel Hill, NC: Maternal Health Learning and Innovation Center, 14 pp. (White House blueprint evidence to action briefs)

Annotation: This action brief discusses the importance of prioritizing respectful maternity care, calling attention to the need to support dignity, autonomy, and companionship in pregnancy, birth, and postpartum care. The brief highlights five anti-discriminatory action steps highlighted in the White House blueprint for addressing the maternal crisis and links to a wide variety of programs and resources aimed at improving maternal health outcomes. Statistical data related to maternal maltreatment and a description of factors affecting progress are included

Contact: Maternal Health Learning and Innovation Center , University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill, NC Web Site: https://maternalhealthlearning.org/

Link

Keywords: , Barriers, Federal programs, Health care disparities, Health equity, Initiatives, Maternal health, Models, Perinatal care, Quality improvement, Racial discrimination

McGlynn A, Nimako N, Moore JE. 2023. Maternal health equity in Medicaid: Prenatal-to-3. Washington, DC: Institute for Medicaid Innovation, 10 pp.

Annotation: This issue brief outlines policy issues and opportunities related to the prenatal-to-3 period in Medicaid coverage. It examines models of care that address both parent and child health needs during this critical developmental period, including home visiting programs, group care, and dyadic services. The brief focuses on four key policy areas: workforce development for community-based workers, payment reforms to expand coverage and reimbursement models, data collection and quality measurement needs, and delivery system innovations to integrate services. It provides specific recommendations for creating a national 5-year strategic plan to increase access to evidence-based maternal health services through Medicaid while reducing inequities and centering care in communities.

Contact: Institute for Medicaid Innovation, 1250 Connecticut Ave., Suite 700, PMB 5135, Washington, DC 20036, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.medicaidinnovation.org

Keywords: Child health, Health equity, Infant health services, MCH Services, Medicaid, Models, National programs, Policy, Strategic plan

Mayer BD, Agolini I, Wright R, Casamassimo P. 2022. Value-based care in pediatric dentistry. Chicago, IL: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, Pediatric Oral Health Research and Policy Center, 15 pp.

Annotation: This brief includes information on the value-based care (VBC) model. Under this model, health professionals are paid based on the overall quality of care they provide, not on the number of services rendered or the number of patients served. The brief describes three models (fee for service, capitation or managed care, and VBC) and presents recommendations for VBC programs that provide children with oral health care. Challenges to developing a VBC system are addressed.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, Research and Policy Center, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 1600, Chicago, IL 60611-2637, Telephone: (312) 337-2169 Secondary Telephone: (800) 544-2174 Fax: (312) 337-6329 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.aapd.org/research/policy-center/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Child health, Health programs, Managed care, Models, Oral health, Quality assurance, Service delivery systems

Texas Health and Human Services, Department of State Health Services . 2022. Texas Maternal Mortality and Morbidity Review Committee and Department of State Health Services joint biennial report 2022. Austin, TX: Texas Department of State Health Services, 61 pp.

Annotation: This joint report presents key findings on cases of pregnancy-related deaths in the state of Texas, including health conditions and factors that disproportionately affect the most at-risk populations. It reports underlying causes of death and disparities in maternal deaths based on race/ethnicity, socioeconomic factors, demographics, and other variables. Descriptions of best practices and programs aimed at reducing pregnancy-related deaths in other states are included.

Contact: Texas Department of State Health Services, 1100 West 49th Street, Austin, TX 78756, Telephone: (512) 458-7111 Secondary Telephone: (512) 458-7708 Fax: (512) 458-7750 Web Site: http://www.dshs.state.tx.us

Keywords: Committees, Data Statistics, Maternal death, Maternal mortality, Models, Prevention, Research, State programs, Trends

National Mentoring Resource Center. 2022. Workforce development guide for opportunity youth. Boston, MA: National Mentoring Resource Center, 8 pp.

Annotation: This guide serves as a resource to encourage models of workforce development that promote mentorship and holistic development for disconnected (opportunity) youth ages 16-24. It discussing the challenges that these young people face; the types of workforce skills needed; and best programs and practices to help youth succeed as they transition to adulthood.

Contact: National Mentoring Resource Center, 201 South Street, Suite 615, Boston, MA 02111, Telephone: (617) 303-4600 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://nationalmentoringresourcecenter.org/

Keywords: Adolescents, Best practices, Mentors, Models, Program development, Work force, Young adults, Youth

Arkansas Maternal Mortality Review Committee . 2021. Arkansas Maternal Mortality Review Committee legislative report . Little Rock, AR: Arkansas Department of Health , Arkansas Maternal Mortality Review Committee, 38 pp.

Annotation: This report presents findings from a review of statewide maternal deaths for the year 2018, conducted by the Arkansas Maternal Mortality Review Committee. Statistics on the timing, causes, and contributing factors are presented for deaths that occurred during pregnancy, or within one year of the end of pregnancy. Pregnancy-associated deaths according to race/ethnicity, insurance type, and age are also delineated. Background information on the Review Committee's work, definitions of key terms, and recommendations to help lower the rate of maternal mortality in Arkansas are included.

Contact: Arkansas Department of Health , Arkansas Maternal Mortality Review Committee, 4815 W. Markham, Little Rock , AR 72205-3867, Telephone: (800) 462-0599 E-mail: https://healthy.arkansas.gov/resources/about-adh/contact-us/adh-contact-form/ Web Site: https://www.healthy.arkansas.gov/programs-services/topics/arkansas-maternal-mortality-review-committee

Keywords: Committees, Maternal death, Maternal mortality, Models, Research, State programs, Statistics

Maternal and Child Health Section, Center for Prevention & Health Promotion,Oregon Health Authority. 2021. Oregon Maternal Mortality and Morbidity Review Committee biennial report. Portland, OR: Oregon Health Authority, 30 pp.

Annotation: This report provides background information on the Oregon Maternal Mortality and Morbidity Review Committee, introduces processes that have been created to operationalize the committee, and presents key findings from case reviews performed in 2020. Based on the data analysis and review, the report includes Committee recommendations on action steps to help eliminate preventable pregnancy-related and pregnancy-associated deaths in Oregon.

Contact: Oregon Health Authority, Public Health Division , 800 NE Oregon Street, Portland , OR 97232, Telephone: 971-673-0252 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (503) 947-2341 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.oregon.gov/OHA/PH/Pages/index.aspx

Keywords: Committees, Maternal death, Maternal morbidity, Maternal mortality, Models, Prevention, Research, State programs, Statistics

Commonwealth Fund . 2021. Community-based models to improve maternal health outcomes and promote health equity. New York, New York: Commonwealth Fund ,

Annotation: This issue brief reviews the evidence for new maternity care models and discusses how policy makers, payers, providers, and health care systems can help to advance effective models that will improve maternal health outcomes and promote health equity.

Contact: Commonwealth Fund, One East 75th Street, New York, NY 10021, Telephone: (212) 606-3800 Fax: (212) 606-3500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.commonwealthfund.org

Link

Keywords: Childbirth, Community programs, Community services, Health equity, Maternal health, Minority health, Models, Perinatal care

Minnesota Maternal Mortality Review Committee . [2020]. Minnesota maternal mortality report (2017-2018). St. Paul, MN: , 26 pp.

Annotation: This report includes the findings of the Minnesota Department of Health’s Maternal Mortality Review Committee (MMRC) on birthing people who died during or within one year after the end of a pregnancy in 2017-2018. The review includes statistics on pregnancy-related and pregnancy-associated deaths based on race/ethnicity, cause of death, location of death, and pregnancy timing/status (death before, during, or after birth). Based on the data analysis and review, recommendations on action steps that can help prevent maternal mortality are included.

Contact: Minnesota Department of Health, Women & Infant Health Unit, 625 Robert Street North, P.O. Box 64882, St. Paul, MN 55164-0975, Telephone: 651-201-3650 Fax: (651) 201-3590 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.health.state.mn.us/divs/cfh/program/mch/index.cfm

Keywords: Committees, Maternal death, Maternal mortality, Models, Research, State programs, Statistics

Maselli D, Merrian A, McCarthy T, VanHouten C. 2020. Maternal mortality in Connecticut: Maternal Mortality Review Committee data 2015-2017. Hartford: Connecticut Department of Health , 44 pp.

Annotation: This report presents findings from a review of statewide maternal deaths for the years 2015-2017 conducted by the Connecticut Maternal Mortality Review Committee. Background information on the state's population, including income and racial disparities, are provided, together with statistics on pregnancy-related and pregnancy-associated deaths. The data is presented by race, insurance type, cause of death, and other variables. Sections on mental health, substance use, and intimate partner violence are included. The report concludes with the Review Committee's recommendations on action that can be taken to help prevent pregnancy-related deaths in Connecticut.

Contact: Connecticut Department of Public Health, 410 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT 06134-0308, Telephone: (860) 509-8000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ct.gov/dph

Keywords: Committees, Maternal death, Maternal mortality, Models, Prevention, Research, State programs, Statistics

Indiana Mortality Review Committee . 2020. Indiana Maternal Mortality Review Committee: 2020 annual report. Indianapolis, IN: Indiana Department of Health , 58 pp.

Annotation: This annual report from Indiana Maternal Mortality Review Committee describes the state of maternal mortality in Indiana, including the social factors associated with poor maternal health outcomes. Based on a review of all pregnancy-related and pregnancy-associated deaths that occurred in the state in 2018, the report presents maternal mortality statistics based on the cause of death, race/ethnicity, insurance status, and other variables and contributing factors. Based on the data analysis and review, Committee recommendations on ways to help reduce the rate of preventable maternal deaths are included.

Contact: Indiana Department of Health, 2 North Meridian Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204, Telephone: (317) 233-1325 Web Site: https://www.in.gov/health/

Keywords: Committees, Data, Maternal death, Maternal mortality, Models, Prevention, State programs, Statistics

U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. 2019 . Lessons learned about payment strategies to improve postpartum care in Medicaid and CHIP. Baltimore, MD: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7 pp.

Annotation: This issue brief describes payment strategies and state model programs aimed at improving postpartum care in Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP). Included are state examples of fee-for-service programs and alternate payment models linked to quality metrics.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (800) 633-4227 Secondary Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov

Keywords: Children', Health insurance, Medicaid, Models, State initiatives, s Health Insurance Program

National Partnership for Women and Families. 2019. Tackling maternal health disparities: A look at four local organizations with innovative approaches . Washington, DC: National Partnership for Women and Families, 18 pp.

Annotation: This issue brief highlights four community-based maternal care programs from across the country and describes how these model programs can help reduce maternal health disparities. The brief includeds background information, a description of the care model, and outcome measures for each of the model programs and offers recommendations to support and expand such programs.

Contact: National Partnership for Women and Families, Childbirth Connection , 1725 Eye Street, Suite 950 , Washington, DC 20006, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://nationalpartnership.org/childbirthconnection/

Keywords: Community based services, Community programs, Health care disparities, Health equity, Initiatives, Maternal health, Models , Perinatal care

Hill I, Dubay L, Courtot B, Benatar S, Garrett B, Blavin F, Howell E, Johnston E, Allen E, Thornburgh S, Markell J, Morgan J, Silow-Carroll S, Bitterman J, Rodin D, Odendah R, Paez K, Thompson L, Lucado J, Firminger K, Sinnarajah B, Paquin L, Rouse M . 2018. Strong Start for Mothers and Newborns evaluation: Year five project synthesis, Vol 1: Cross-cutting findings . Washington, DC: The Urban Institute , 554 pp.

Annotation: This report summarizes findings from the Strong Start for Mothers in Newborns Initiative, a U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HRSA) program that aims to prevent preterm births and improve outcomes for newborns and pregnant women. The five-year program evaluation describes the populations served, the model programs and interventions implemented, and the maternal and infant outcomes for participants covered by Medicaid and the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP) during pregnancy. Outcome measures compare preterm births and cesarean section rates across race, ethnicity, and program models, including birth centers, group prenatal care, maternity care homes, and intensive education and psychosocial support.

Contact: Urban Institute, 500 L'Enfant Plaza, SW, Washington, DC 20024, E-mail: https://www.urban.org/about/contact-us Web Site: http://www.urban.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Federal programs, Infant health, Initiatives, Low income groups, Maternal health, Models, Mothers, Newborn infants, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Preterm birth, Prevention, Program evaluation

Chazin S, Glover J. 2017. A community framework for addressing social determinants of oral health for low-income populations. Hamilton, NJ: Center for Health Care Strategies, 11 pp. (Technical assistance brief)

Annotation: This brief describes a framework for assessing social determinants related to oral health and creating partnerships to improve oral health among children from families with low incomes. It discusses identifying the social determinants of oral health in a community, mapping and mobilizing community resources through partnership, selecting approaches to take action, and evaluating implementation and impact. Example indicators potentially related to oral health, intervention metrics, and a description of how the framework was applied to select an intervention are included.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 300 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 125, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Case studies, Collaboration, Community coordination, Community participation, Low income groups, Models, Needs assessment, Oral health, Outcome evaluation, Process evaluation, Program planning, Public private partnerships, Relationships, Resource allocation