Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (439 total).

Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin. n.d.. Wisconsin's roadmap to improving oral health: 2020-2025. Milwaukee, WI: Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin, 13 pp.

Annotation: This report presents a 5-year strategic plan to improve oral health in Wisconsin. The report presents the plan's development process and explains how the plan should be used. Topics include prevalence of disease and unmet needs among children and adolescents in the state, risk and protective factors affecting oral diseases, and the state's dental workforce and capacity. Goals and potential activities for the following strategic areas are provided: infrastructure, prevention and health promotion, access, workforce.

Contact: Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin, 620 South 76th Street, Suite 120, Milwaukee, WI 53214, Telephone: (414) 292-4000 Secondary Telephone: (414) 337-4561 Fax: (414) 231-4972 Web Site: https://www.chawisconsin.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Barriers, Health status, Oral health, Program improvement, State initiatives, Strategic plans, Wisconsin

Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs. n.d.. Adolescent health system capacity assessment tool. Washington, DC: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 98 pp.

National Network of Public Health Institutes. n.d.. Quality improvement. New Orleans, LA: National Network of Public Health Institutes,

Annotation: This toolkit features a variety of resources and tools -- including presentations, samples, and guides -- on the topic of quality improvement (QI). The items are grouped into the following categories: Introduction to QI, QI plans, QI leadership, managing QI collaboratives, building QI cultures, data and measurement, and QI tools and frameworks,

Contact: National Network of Public Health Institutes, 1515 Poydras Street, Suite 1200, New Orleans, LA 70112, Telephone: (888)996-6744 Secondary Telephone: (504)301-9820 Fax: (504) 301-9820 Web Site: http://www.nnphi.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Program improvement, Public health, Quality assurance

Institute for Educational Leadership, Coalition for Community Schools. n.d.. Community schools: Promoting student success–A rationale and results framework. Washington, DC: Institute for Educational Leadership, Coalition for Community Schools, 11 pp.

Annotation: This document for local policymakers and practitioners provides guidance on implementing a community school strategy. It outlines a rationale for the community school as a primary vehicle for increasing student success and strengthening families and community. The document also defines specific results that community schools seek -- both in terms of how they function and in relationship to the well being of students, families, and communities. Contents include the community schools vision, guiding principles, logic model, and framework for student success. Conditions for learning and indicators of capacity are also addressed.

Contact: Institute for Educational Leadership, 4301 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 100, Washington, DC 2008-2304, Telephone: (202) 822-8405 Fax: (202) 872-4050 E-mail: iel@iel.org Web Site: http://www.iel.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Communities, Development, Education, Families, Leadership, Learning, Models, Program improvement, Schools, Students, Teaching

U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality. 2020. Chartbook on healthcare for Asians and Native Hawaiians/Pacific Islanders. Rockville, MD: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 42 pp., 79 slides. (National Healthcare Quality & Disparities Report chartbooks)

Annotation: This chartbook on Asians and Native Hawaiians/Pacific Islanders (NHPIs) is part of a family of documents and tools that support the National Healthcare Quality and Disparities Report (QDR), which was published in 2018. This chartbook includes a summary of trends across measures of healthcare for Asians and NHPIs from the QDR and figures illustrating select measures of healthcare access and quality. A PowerPoint version is also available that users can download for presentations.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website. Document Number: AHRQ Pub. No. 20-0043..

Keywords: Access to health care, Asian Americans, Ethnic groups, Health care disparities, Measures, Native Hawaiians, Pacific Islanders, Program improvement, Progress reports, Quality assurance, Trends

Holt K, Kolo S, Louie R. 2020. Title V national performance measure 13 (oral health): Strategies for success (2nd ed.). Washington, DC: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, 25 pp.

Annotation: This practice guide provides information to help state Title V maternal and child health programs in their implementation of the national performance measure on oral health (NPM 13) and oral-health-related state performance measures. It provides sample strategies for addressing NPM 13.1 (preventive dental visit for pregnant women) and 13.2 (preventive dental visit for children and adolescents). For all strategies, the report presents sample evidence-based or evidence-informed strategy measures (ESMs), possible data sources for ESMs, and a comprehensive list of resources. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Telephone: (202) 784-9771 E-mail: OHRCinfo@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Oral health, Pregnant women, Prevention, Quality improvement, State programs, Telehealth, Title V programs

Pediatrics Supporting Parents Learning Community. 2020. Core practices, strategies, and resources for supporting social emotional development in pediatric care. Boston, MA: National Institute for Children's Health Quality, 26 pp.

Annotation: This packet provides the best strategies for participating practices so pediatric providers across the country can benefit from their learning from a quality improvement framework with 18 pediatric primary care practices to test and refine strategies to improve their effectiveness in fostering patients’ social and emotional development from birth to age 3. These core practices and strategies serve as a roadmap for the participating pediatric providers and includes additional resources developed as part of this initiative or identified as useful. The document summaries strategies for each core element and lists additional resources. Sample forms are included.

Contact: National Institute for Children's Health Quality, 30 Winter Street, Sixth Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 391-2700 Secondary Telephone: (866) 787-0832 Fax: (617) 391-2701 E-mail: info@nichq.org Web Site: http://www.nichq.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Emotional development, Model programs, Parent professional relations, Pediatric care, Pediatrics, Quality improvement, Social development, Young children

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Adolescent Health. 2019. Adolescent health: Think, Act, Grow–2019 playbook. Rockville, MD: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Adolescent Health, 27 pp.

Annotation: This document presents an action-oriented framework for ensuring adolescent health and development and improving adolescent health outcomes. The document outlines roles for health care professionals; public health professionals; out-of-school and community based program professionals; education professionals; faith-based community professionals; social service professionals; parents, grandparents, families, and caregivers; and adolescents. Topics include creating positive connections with supportive people; safe and secure places to live, learn, and play; access to high-quality, adolescent-friendly health care including oral health care; opportunities for adolescents to engage as learners, leaders, team members, and workers; and coordinated adolescent- and family-centered services, as needed.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Adolescent Health, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite 700, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (240) 453-2846 E-mail: oah.gov@hhs.gov Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov/ash/oah Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent health, Adolescents, Health promotion, Program improvement, Protective factors, Quality assurance, Risk factors, Role

American Academy of Pediatrics, Bright Futures™. 2019. Bright Futures™ preventive services quality improvement measures (upd. ed.). Elk Grove Village, IL: American Academy of Pediatrics, Bright Futures™, 2 pp. (Bright Futures implementation tip sheet)

Annotation: This document provides information about quality improvement (QI) measures that reflect components of the Bright Futures™ guidelines. The list combines nationally endorsed measures and measures tested in, or adopted from, previous QI preventive services projects. Contents include measures for infancy and early childhood, middle childhood and adolescence, and office-based system measures for both groups. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Bright Futures™ at AAP, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (847) 434-7785 E-mail: BrightFutures@aap.org Web Site: https://brightfutures.aap.org/Pages/default.aspx Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child development, Child health, Health promotion, Infant health, Measures, Organizational change, Pediatric care, Preventive health services, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Service delivery systems

McManus M, White P, Borden C. 2019. Incorporating pedatric-to-adult transition into NCQA patient-centered medical home recognition: 2019 update. Washington, DC: Got Transition™/Center for Health Care Transition Improvement, 13 pp. (Practice resource)

Annotation: This resource is intended to facilitate the application of nationally-recognized transition tools to address specific criteria developed by the National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA) in their 2017 Patient-Centered Medical Home standards. Contents include NCQA criteria and guidance cross-walked with relevant sample tools. Topics include team-based care and practice organization, knowing and managing patients, patient-centered access and continuity, care management and support, care coordination and care transitions, and performance measurement and quality improvement. Descriptions of the tools are also provided. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Got Transition™/Center for Health Care Transition Improvement, National Alliance to Advance Adolescent Health, 1615 M Street, N.W., Suite 290, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-1500 Fax: (202) 429-3957 E-mail: info@GotTransition.org Web Site: http://gottransition.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Children, Measures, Medical home, Patient care management, Patient care teams, Program coordination, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Special health care needs, Standards, Transitions, Youth

National Network for Oral Health Access. 2019. OHI toolkit. Denver, CO: National Network for Oral Health Access, 1 web resource.

Annotation: This toolkit is a guide for community health centers (CHCs) to use in their efforts toward infrastructure improvements to integrate new oral health services or enhance existing services. It helps CHCs assess their readiness to integrate new oral health services or enhance existing services; provides links to Health Resources and Services Administration requirements, regulations, and resources; and offers infrastructure enhancement strategies.

Contact: National Network for Oral Health Access, 181 East 56th Avenue, Suite 501, Denver, CO 80216, Telephone: (866) 316-4995 Fax: (866) 316-4995 E-mail: info@nnoha.org Web Site: http://www.nnoha.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Community health centers, Oral health, Primary care, Program improvement, Service integration

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. 2018. About the Technical Assistance and Analytic Support Program. Baltimore, MD: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 1 p. (Medicaid/CHIP health care quality measures)

Annotation: This fact sheet describes a program to support states in collecting, reporting, and using datafrom three core sets of quality measures in Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program. Topics include technical assistance and analytic support vehicles such as issue briefs, fact sheets, analytic reports, and toolkits; one-on-one support; virtual learning opportunities; and hands-on information and networking opportunities.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Adults, Children, Children's Health Insurance Program, Data analysis, Measures, Medicaid, Medical home, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Technical assistance

Murphy, C., Cohen, S., Lambiaso, B., Chavez, S. . 2018. Early childhood data in action: Stories from the field. Boston, MA: National Institute for Children's Health Quality; Washington, DC: Center for the Study of Social Policy, 37 pp.

Annotation: This document provides case studies on how communities are using their early childhood data to tailor more effective interventions and yield better results. The case studies include: (1) Indianola, MS: organizing the community around the collective goal of having children ready to learn when entering kindergarten; (2) Ventura, CA: improving the quality of early childhood services, focusing on the overall family experience and engaging a consultant to help work with neighborhood partners to achieve data-driven change; and (3) Philadelphia, PA: informing critical public policy decisions by using data to decide which neighborhoods would get new pre-kindergarten slots under a new funding stream.

Contact: National Institute for Children's Health Quality, 30 Winter Street, Sixth Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 391-2700 Secondary Telephone: (866) 787-0832 Fax: (617) 391-2701 E-mail: info@nichq.org Web Site: http://www.nichq.org Available from the website.

Keywords: California, Data, Early childhood education, Local programs, Mississippi, Pennsylvania, Program improvement, Young children

Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs and Adolescent and Young Adult Health National Resource Center. 2018. Transforming heath care for adolescents and young adults: Change package concepts, strategies, and materials to improve access to and quality of preventive service visits. Washington, DC: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs and Adolescent and Young Adult Health National Resource Center,

Annotation: This set of slides describes change concepts and implementation strategies for increasing awareness, knowledge and perceived benefit of the annual well-visit (AWV) for adolescents and young adults. Initial slides are narrated via audio, rest are visual only.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: info@amchp.org Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

Keywords: Adolescents, Health supervision, Program improvement, Young adults

U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality. 2018. National healthcare quality and disparities report. Rockville, MD: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, multiple items.

Annotation: The National Healthcare Quality and Disparities Report assesses the performance of our healthcare system and identifies areas of strengths and weaknesses, as well as disparities, for access to healthcare and quality of healthcare. Quality is described in terms of six priorities: patient safety, person-centered care, care coordination, effective treatment, healthy living, and care affordability. The report is based on more than 250 measures of quality and disparities covering a broad array of healthcare services and settings. State snapshots, chartbooks on specific topics, and data tools are also available.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Ethnic groups, Health care disparities, Measures, Program improvement, Progress reports, Quality assurance, Trends

Kilpatrick SJ, Papile LA, Macones GA eds. 2017. Guidelines for perinatal care (8th ed.). Elk Grove Village, IL: American Academy of Pediatrics; Washington, DC: American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 691 pp.

Annotation: This guide for personnel involved in the care of pregnant women, their fetuses, and their neonates in community programs, hospitals, and medical centers provides information on obstetric and neonatal care. Topics include the organization of perinatal health care, inpatient perinatal care services, quality improvement and patient safety, maternal and neonatal interhospital transfer, preconception and antepartum care, intrapartum and postpartum care, obstetric and medical complications, care of the newborn, neonatal complications and management of high-risk infants, perinatal infections, and infection control. The guide is a companion document to Guidelines for Women's Health Care.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available in libraries.

Keywords: Guidelines, Infant health, Infection control, Maternal health, Newborn infants, Patient care management, Perinatal care, Postpartum care, Prenatal care, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Resources for professionals, Safety

Rosenthal J, Henderson M, Dolatshahi J, Hess C, Tobias C, Bachman S, Comeau M. 2017. Public insurance programs and children with special health care needs: A tutorial on the basics of Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) (upd.). Boston, MA: Catalyst Center; Portland, ME: National Academy for State Health Policy, 55 pp.

Annotation: This tutorial provides an overview of Medicaid and the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP), populations these programs serve, changes the programs are undergoing under health care transformation, and opportunities to improve services for children with special health care needs (CSHCN) through communication and collaboration with Medicaid and CHIP staff. The tutorial begins with an overview of how definitions of CSHCN may vary by agency or program, followed by major topic areas, including recommendations for Title V programs to build successful partnerships with public insurance programs. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Catalyst Center, the National Center for Health Insurance and Financing for Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs, Boston University School of Public Health, Center for Advancing Health Policy and Practice, 801 Massachusetts Avenue, Boston, MA 02218-2526, Telephone: (617) 638-1930 E-mail: mcomeau@bu.edu Web Site: http://cahpp.org/project/the-catalyst-center Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Children, Children with special health care needs, Children's Health Insurance Program, EPSDT, Financing, Health care reform, Medicaid, Oral health, Program improvement, Resources for professionals, Title V programs

Byrne J. 2017. Perinatal and infant oral health community of practice: Quality improvement toolkit. Sacramento, CA: California Department of Public Health, Oral Health Program, multiple items. (Version 3: April 10, 2017)

Annotation: This toolkit provides guidance on assessing the effectiveness of a project to improve the delivery of oral health care services provided to pregnant women, infants, and young children by integrating oral health care into primary care. Contents include worksheets and guides for identifying, planning, implementing, and interpreting the effectiveness of a quality-improvement project. Topics include plan, do, study, act cycles and process mapping. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: California Department of Public Health, Oral Health Program, MS Code 8305, P.O. Box 997377, MS 0500, Sacramento, CA 95899-7377, Telephone: (916) 558-1784 E-mail: mchinet@cdph.ca.gov Web Site: https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Programs/CCDPHP/DCDIC/CDCB/Pages/OralHealthProgram/OralHealthProgram.aspx

Keywords: Organizational change, Data collection, Forms, Infant health, Infants, Oral health, Perinatal health, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Program improvement, Qualitative evaluation, Quality assurance, Quantitative evaluation, Records management

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Division of Oral Health. 2017. CDC DentalCheck: Infection prevention & control checklist application. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Division of Oral Health, 1 v.

Annotation: This checklist is a companion to Summary of Infection Prevention Practices in Dental Settings: Basic Expectations for Safe Care. The checklist is divided into two categories: (1) policies and practices and (2) direct observation of personnel and patient-care practices. Each category is broken into subcategories, and each subcategory includes checkboxes to indicate whether an assessment has been done and space to record notes and areas for improvement.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Division of Oral Health, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: cdcinfo@cdc.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/OralHealth Available from the website.

Keywords: Clinic administration, Disease prevention, Health facilities, Health service delivery, Infection control, Injury prevention, Mobile applications, Oral health, Patient care, Policy development, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Records management, Safety

Hall E. 2017. Identifying a school quality/student success indicator for ESSA: Requirements and considerations. Washington, DC: Council of Chief State School Officers, 12 pp.

Annotation: This brief describes the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) requirements for the inclusion of a school quality or student success indicator (referred to as the "5th indicator), including requirements to ensure that the indicator contributes to a state's system of school and district accountability. Highlights include key factors to consider when identifying, evaluating, and implementing a school quality or student success indicator for inclusion in a state's accountability system. Examples of school quality and student success indicators and research supporting those indicators are included.

Contact: Council of Chief State School Officers, One Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Suite 700, Washington, DC 20001-1431, Telephone: (202) 336-7000 Fax: (202) 408-8072 E-mail: info@ccsso.org Web Site: http://www.ccsso.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Accountability, Evaluation, Limited English speakers, Measures, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Regulations, School districts, Schools, Students, Systems development

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.