Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report provides an introduction to the Head Start-State Collaboration Projects, which involve Head Start in state planning and policy making efforts that affect low income children and families. It includes some fact sheets on the Collaboration Projects, project profiles and contact list, legislation regarding Head Start-State Collaboration Projects, and an excerpt from the report of the Advisory Committee on Head Start Quality and Expansion.

Contact: U.S. Administration for Children and Families, 370 L'Enfant Promenade, S.W., Washington, DC 20447, Telephone: (202) 401-9215 Secondary Telephone: (800) 422-4453 Web Site: http://www.acf.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Early childhood education, Family support, Head Start, Low income groups, Policy development, Program descriptions, Public private partnerships, State initiatives, Statewide planning

Annotation: This paper presents an analytical method using rudimentary Boole-Schroder algebra for solving decision making problems in the establishment of policies and implementation of procedures. This paper is part of the documentation and assessment of the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title V. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Adolescent health programs, Child health programs, Children and Youth Projects, Federal MCH programs, Policy analysis, Policy development

Annotation: The goal of this project was to improve coordination and continuity of early intervention and health related services to infants and young children who have, or are at risk for, developmental disabilities or delays. The project developed a collaborative mechanism via computer linkage for referring, tracking, and evaluating these children. A microbased computerized identification, referral, and tracking system has been developed for use at the local level. Through the merged database and tracking system, the project sought to improve child find, service coordination, follow-along, and program evaluation. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-161974.

Keywords: Case Management, Collaboration of Care, Computer Linkage, Data Bases, Data Collection, Developmentally Delayed/Disabled, EPDST, Early Intervention, Families, High risk infants, Medicaid, Referrals, WIC Program

Annotation: The project provided training experiences to enable health professionals in schools to work together and with school colleagues to provide developmentally appropriate, comprehensive health care. This enhanced the healthy development and academic success of school children. Additionally, the project providef training ot enable school health professionals to serve as effective preceptors for future student professionals. Twenty Maryland schools with school-based health programs established interdisciplinary teams consisting of health and education professionals. Each school-based team identified a health need in its school and designed, implemented, and evaluated a team project. Process evaluation was implemented following key activities. Outcome evaluation focused on outcomes related to specific project objectives. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB97-121974.

Keywords: Adolescents, Interdisciplinary Approach, Professional Education in Adolescent Health, School Health Programs, State Staff Development

Annotation: This book presents the Voices Reading program, which combines systematic, comprehensive literacy instruction with character development. The program uses multicultural trade books as its basis and leveled books to match individual needs. The program addresses six themes: identity awareness, perspective taking, conflict resolution, social awareness, love and friendship, and freedom and democracy. In addition to explaining these themes, the book presents program components and a literacy overview, addresses the achievement gap, and discusses research and methods and scope and sequence.

Contact: Zaner-Bloser, 1201 Dublin Road, Columbus, OH 43215-3018, Telephone: (800) 421-3018 Secondary Telephone: (614) 486-0221 Web Site: http://zaner-bloser.com

Keywords: Character, Child development, Cultural competence, Educational attainment, Literacy education, Programs, Reading, Research

Annotation: This document is designed to assist individuals and organizations in exploring the possible use of an intervention. Contents include questions on key topics and space for notes. Topics include implementations, adaptations, staffing, quality assurance mechanisms, training and technical assistance, and costs.

Contact: National Registry of Evidence-Based Programs and Practices, Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Adminstration, One Choke Cherry Road, Rockville, MD Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 Web Site: http://www.nrepp.samhsa.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Intervention, Program development, Program planning

Annotation: This document for local policymakers and practitioners provides guidance on implementing a community school strategy. It outlines a rationale for the community school as a primary vehicle for increasing student success and strengthening families and community. The document also defines specific results that community schools seek -- both in terms of how they function and in relationship to the well being of students, families, and communities. Contents include the community schools vision, guiding principles, logic model, and framework for student success. Conditions for learning and indicators of capacity are also addressed.

Contact: Institute for Educational Leadership, 4301 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 100, Washington, DC 2008-2304, Telephone: (202) 822-8405 Fax: (202) 872-4050 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.iel.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Communities, Development, Education, Families, Leadership, Learning, Models, Program improvement, Schools, Students, Teaching

Annotation: This report provides information on a 5-year comprehensive program evaluation of Cavity Free at Three. The report offers background information on Cavity Free at Three as well as on the program’s infrastructure development. Methods related to the data-collection process and evaluation-question development are discussed, and results are presented for the following four areas: training data, pre/post data, technical assistance data, and impact data.

Contact: Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment, Oral Health Unit, 4300 Cherry Creek Drive, South, Denver, CO 80246, Telephone: (303) 692-2000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 886-7689 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://cdphe.colorado.gov/health/prevention-and-wellness/oral-health Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Data, Dental caries, Oral health, Prevention, Program development, Program evaluation, Young children

Annotation: This report presents a roadmap of California's Birthing Care Pathway initiative launched by the Department of Health Care Services (DHCS) to address maternal health disparities and improve outcomes for pregnant and postpartum Medi-Cal members. It describes the current state of maternal health in California, highlighting concerning trends in pregnancy-related mortality and severe maternal morbidity with significant racial disparities affecting Black, American Indian/Alaska Native, and Pacific Islander individuals. The document outlines DHCS' strategic approach to improve maternal health through policy solutions developed with input from diverse stakeholders, including Medi-Cal members. Key components include strengthening provider access, enhancing clinical care coordination, providing whole-person care, and modernizing maternity care payment systems. The report details recent Medi-Cal policy enhancements for perinatal care and describes California's participation in the federal Transforming Maternal Health Model to further strengthen delivery systems in selected Central Valley counties.

Contact: California Department of Health Care Services, P.O. Box 997413, MS 4400, Sacramento,, CA 95899-7413 , Fax: E-mail: https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/Pages/contact_us.aspx Web Site: https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/

• PDF

Keywords: California, Health care disparities, Maternal health, Maternal morbidity, Maternal mortality, Model programs, Perinatal care, Policy development, Postpartum care, Quality improvement, State initiatives, Trends

Annotation: This research brief provides an overview of funding mechanisms for state paid family and medical leave (PFML) programs in the United States. The brief explains that PFML programs are self-sustaining, funded through payroll contributions (premiums) from workers, employers, or both, with no ongoing state funding required. The document features diagrams showing funding flows, premium rates across states, and historical premium trends, highlighting that PFML premiums remain affordable, typically below 1% of wages. The brief details key policy decisions states must make regarding start-up funding, premium responsibility, contribution wage bases, small business exemptions, and premium caps. It includes several state policy spotlights, such as California's elimination of wage thresholds for premium collection and Minnesota's scaled premium reductions for small businesses. The document includes additional resources for policymakers considering PFML programs.

Contact: Prenatal-to-3 Policy Impact Center , Vanderbilt University , Peabody College of Education and Human Development, Nashville, TN 37203, E-mail: https://pn3policy.org/contact/ Web Site: https://pn3policy.org/

• Link

Keywords: California, Employee assistance programs, Employee benefits, Family leave, Funding, Initiatives, Minnesota, Parental leave, Policy development, State programs

Annotation: This guide for health center staff describes a set of interprofessional oral health core clinical competencies designed to foster integration of oral health care into primary care. The guide also provides information about three pilot projects’ experiences related to implementing the competencies. Contents include recommendations to inform planning, training systems, health information systems, clinical care systems, and evaluation systems.

Contact: National Network for Oral Health Access, 181 East 56th Avenue, Suite 410, Denver, CO 80216, Telephone: (303) 957-0635 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nnoha.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Barriers, Clinics, Community health centers, Interdisciplinary approach, Oral health, Primary care, Program development, Service integration, Systems development

Annotation: This roadmap provides detailed information on policies and strategies that foster nurturing environments for infants and toddlers and reduce disparities in access and outcomes. Published annually, the roadmap is designed to help state leaders (1) Assess the wellbeing of its infants and toddlers and prioritize state policy goals; (2) Identify evidence-based policy solutions proven to impact policy goals; (3) Monitor states’ adoption and implementation of effective policies and strategies; and (4) Track the impact that policy changes have on improving the wellbeing of children and families and reducing disparities between racial and ethnic groups. A summary of each state’s progress is included.

Contact: Prenatal-to-3 Policy Impact Center , Vanderbilt University , Peabody College of Education and Human Development, Nashville, TN 37203, E-mail: https://pn3policy.org/contact/ Web Site: https://pn3policy.org/

• 2024
• 2023

Keywords: Child health, Data collection, Early childhood development, Family leave, Health care access, Health status disparities, Home visits, Infant health, MCH programs, Policy, Prenatal care, State initiatives, State policy

Annotation: This report highlights the common threads between housing and reproductive justice, emphasizing the importance of policy solutions that de-silo maternal health and address social and structural barriers. The first section describes how structural racism and structural disinvestment—including residential segregation, poor housing access and conditions, residential instability and gentrification, and the carceral apparatus—contribute to deleterious health outcomes among Black women and birthing people. The second section outlines how Black pregnancy is policed across the reproductive lifespan through forced evictions and displacement during pregnancy, double jeopardy of racism and discrimination in health care settings, and threatened Child Protective Services (CPS) involvement after birth. The third section highlights the status of housing reform in Washington, D.C. and potential opportunities for change. The report ends with Mamatoto Village’s housing justice framework, a summary of federal housing programs and policies, and links to annotated bibliography of key articles.

Contact: Georgetown University , Health Justice Alliance , 600 New Jersey Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 662-9000 Web Site: https://www.law.georgetown.edu/health-justice-alliance/

• Link

Keywords: Barriers, Blacks, Civil rights, Federal programs , Housing, Housing programs, Maternal health, Policy development, Pregnancy, Racism, Social factors, Underserved communities

Annotation: This report provides information about how fluoride varnish (FV) can be used to prevent or reverse the early states of tooth decay. It presents background, explains what FV is, and discusses state FV quality-improvement (QI) projects. It also discusses how states have partnered to improve the success of QI projects, sustaining and spreading improvement through program and policy changes, and peer-to-peer knowledge sharing.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (800) 633-4227 Secondary Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Dental caries, Fluoride, Oral health, Policy development, Prevention, Programs, Quality assurance

Annotation: This resource guide features materials on policy; professional education, tools, and training; program development; and public education. Examples of materials include a report offering guiding principles that can help Head Start staff promote health literacy, a paper discussing challenges in integrating oral health care and primary care for populations with low health literacy, and a guide describing a program that encourages parents to have a nighttime routine that includes helping their young child brush their teeth and reading a book to their child before bed. A list of relevant organizations is included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Consumer education, Health literacy, Oral health, Professional education, Program development, Resources for professionals, Training

Annotation: This article from Health Affairs Forefront examines lessons learned from California's experience with perinatal community health workers (CHWs) and provides recommendations for policy makers designing similar programs. It discusses how perinatal CHWs can help address disparities in maternal health outcomes by providing culturally appropriate support throughout pregnancy and postpartum periods. The authors, drawing from 15 years of experience in California's Medicaid system, outline key considerations including adequate reimbursement rates, payment flexibility for services provided in both clinical and community settings, program coordination to prevent inefficiencies, standardized data collection methods, and support systems to prevent CHW burnout. The document includes specific examples from programs at San Francisco General Hospital and Los Angeles County, and discusses implications for state Medicaid programs participating in CMS's new Transforming Maternal Health Model.

Contact: Health Affairs, 1220 19th Street, NW, Suite 800, Washington, DC 20036, E-mail: [email protected]

• Link

Keywords: Barriers, California, Community health workers, Maternal health, Models, Payment, Perinatal care, Policy development, Postpartum care, Reimbursement, State programs

Annotation: This issue brief examines the implementation of Medicaid/CHIP postpartum coverage extensions from 60 days to 12 months after pregnancy in five states. Based on interviews with 37 maternal health stakeholders, the authors identify key challenges and opportunities to maximize the impact of these extensions on maternal health outcomes. The report finds that while eligibility systems are functioning, limited communication about extended coverage and barriers to accessing care may reduce effectiveness. The authors recommend specific actions to improve implementation, including expanding education about extended coverage, improving quality of postpartum care, supporting continuity of care with a focus on equity, strengthening managed care organization accountability, and monitoring implementation progress. This policy analysis emphasizes that while extending coverage is necessary for improving maternal health outcomes, additional delivery system reforms are needed to address persistent racial and ethnic disparities and ensure coverage translates into access to quality care throughout the postpartum year.

Contact: Urban Institute, 500 L'Enfant Plaza, SW, Washington, DC 20024, E-mail: https://www.urban.org/about/contact-us Web Site: http://www.urban.org

• PDF

Keywords: Barriers, Children', Health care delivery, Health care reform, Health equity, Maternal health, Medicaid, New Jersey, New Mexico, Ohio, Policy development, Postpartum care, Quality Assurance, Quality improvement, South Carolina, State initiatives, and Virginia, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: These public-awareness-campaign materials are designed for use during Children’s Dental Health Month (February) to encourage good oral health for children of all ages. Contents include activity sheets; a guide for parents; a poster for displaying in an office waiting room; a certificate to present to children; tools for classroom educators (customizable letter and teacher’s guide); and classroom resources, including lesson plans, demos and videos, and frequently asked questions.

Contact: Procter and Gamble Company, Cincinnati, OH Telephone: (800) 543-2577 Web Site: http://www.dentalcare.com Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Consumer education materials, Curriculum development, Learning, Multimedia, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Prevention programs, Primary prevention, Program development, Program planning, Public awareness campaign materials, Teaching

Annotation: This handout outlines a set of maternal and child health quality indicators to monitor oral health services delivered in public health programs and systems of care. Indicators for women of childbearing age and pregnant women are broken into three categories: access, utilization, and outcomes. Indicators for children are broken into four categories: access, utilization, process, and outcomes.[Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: , Data collection, Oral health, Pregnant women, Program development, Public health services, Quality assurance, Young children

Annotation: This report presents an overview of important elements to consider when incorporating social determinants of health (SDoH)--defined as the nonmedical factors that influence health outcomes--into a community health strategy. It describes SDoH factors, including education access, quality healthcare, strong neighborhood and built-environment, economic stability, and social and community context, and it explains how data provides an additional layer of valuable information. Principles for the ethical use of SDoH, importance of SDoH in identifying barriers to care, tracking the policy landscape, assessing SDoH programs, and common challenges are among the topics addressed.

Contact: Executives for Health Innovation, One Thomas Circle, NW, Suite 700, Washington , DC 20005, Telephone: 202-624-3270 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ehidc.org

• Link

Keywords: Community programs, Health equity, Initiatives, Model programs, Program development, Public health, Social factors