Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report examines the development, capabilities, and potential applications of generative artificial intelligence (AI) technology. It explains how generative AI differs from conventional AI in its ability to create novel content, requirements for vast training data, and model complexity. The report describes various model architectures like transformers and diffusion models, discusses factors enabling commercial development including computing advances and new refinement techniques, and explores potential applications across software engineering, business, education, and healthcare sectors. Based on literature reviews and interviews with leading AI companies, it provides an overview of commercially developed generative AI products and their capabilities as of April 2024, while noting both opportunities and risks associated with this rapidly evolving technology.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Artificial intelligence, Technology, Learning, Problem solving

Annotation: This capstone report offers recommendations for strengthening and advancing deliberation and education to improve policymaking in bioethics. The report provides a justification for the value and use of democratic deliberation in bioethics, sets forth a roadmap for conducting democratic deliberation, and outlines recommendations for advancing and improving its use in solving complex bioethics and health policy problems. The report also outlines recommendations for how ethics education can be enhanced at all stages and in different educational contexts with the goal of increasing ethical readiness for engagement in civil deliberation about bioethical concepts.

Contact: Presidential Commission for the Study of Bioethical Issues, 1425 New York Avenue, N.W., Suite C-100, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 233-3960 Fax: (202) 233-3990 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://bioethics.gov Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Deliberation For Better Health, Science, And Technology Policy: Five Steps For Effective Deliberation

Keywords: Bioethics, Decision making, Education, Health policy, Policy development, Problem solving

Annotation: This tool is designed to help health and health care professionals at all stages of professional development explore the determinants underlying health problems faced by patients and communities. It simulates a 6-step process for leading change to improve the community's health. The tool incorporates a big-picture visual with supporting materials including data cards, group dialogue exercises, and facilitator tips to identify and engage collaborators in addressing asthma, obesity, and gang violence. It also includes tips on using the materials, resources for hosting an event, a fact sheet for sharing information about the tool, and a webinar describing it's use.

Contact: CDC Foundation, 600 Peachtree Street, N.E., Suite 1000, Atanta, GA 30308, Telephone: (404) 653-0790 Secondary Telephone: (800) CDC-INFO Fax: (404) 653-0330 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http;//www.cdcfoundation.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Asthma, Behavior change, Collaboration, Facilitated communication, Interpersonal violence, Learning, Obesity, Problem solving, Program improvement, Role playing, Social change, Training

Annotation: This website provides resources and tools to assist individuals and groups in working together to build healthier communities. Contents include how-to information for learning a skill, taking action, linking with others, and supporting collective impact. The website is available in English and Spanish. Topics include community assessment; communications to promote interest and participation; developing a strategic plan and organizational structure; leadership and management; analyzing community problems and designing community interventions; implementing promising community interventions; cultural competence and spirituality in community building; organizing effective advocacy; evaluating community programs and initiatives; maintaining quality and rewarding accomplishments; generating, managing, and sustaining financial resources; and social marketing and sustainability of the initiative.

Contact: University of Kansas, Work Group for Community Health and Development, 1000 Sunnyside Avenue, Dole Center, Room 4082, Lawrence, KS 66045-7555, Telephone: (785) 864-0533 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://communityhealth.ku.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Community action, Community participation, Community role, Databases, Model programs, Non English language materials, Planning, Policy development, Problem solving, Program development, Social change, Spanish language materials, Systems development

Annotation: These resources draw from the first nationally representative survey of individual state health agency workers about work force development priorities, the workplace environment, and key national initiatives. Topics include systems thinking; communicating persuasively; and change management, flexibility, and adaptability. Contents include key survey findings, access to the data and a journal supplement, an infographic, and additional resources.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

• Link
• 2017 Survey Findings

Keywords: Attitudes, Communication skills, Decision making skills, Environmental influences, Measures, National surveys, Organizational change, Problem solving, Professional development, State health agencies, Transitions, Work force, Workplace

Annotation: This website provides information about initiatives that are using the collective impact approach to address social and environmental problems. Users can search for existing initiatives by state/locality, social issue, region, and country. Users can also create a page to highlight the work they are doing; submit information about their progress; hold discussions; and share reports, photos, news, and more.

Contact: Collective Impact Forum, 500 Boylston Street, Suite 600, Boston, MA 02116, Telephone: (866) 351-8484 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.collectiveimpactforum.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Communities, Community action, Community programs, Directories, Interdisciplinary approach, International programs, Local initiatives, National initiatives, Networking, Problem solving, Social interaction, State initiatives, Teamwork

Annotation: This guide describes the process of action learning, which supports learning with and from peers in a team, or “set.” It provides guidance for leaders who want to apply the action learning process to organizational problem solving. Contents include sample questions and agendas for leaders and their teams. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National MCH Workforce Development Center, University of North Carolina Gillings School of Global Public Health, Department of Maternal and Child Health, Campus Box 7445, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7445, Telephone: (919) 966-6290 Fax: (919) 966-0458 Web Site: http://mchwdc.unc.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Leadership, Learning activities, Organizational change, Problem solving, Program improvement, Teamwork

Annotation: This booklet is designed to help parents who have children with disabilities improve their children's decision-making skills and help them help their children to make more choices for themselves. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Child development, Children with developmental disabilities, Children with special health care needs, Decision making, Decision making skills, Problem solving

Annotation: The kit, which is geared for health science librarians, contains a series of cards, each presenting a promotional problem to be solved, tools that can be used to solve the problem, and a reality-based example of how the problem was solved. The initial package includes the box and the first four cards of the ongoing series. Additions to the series are mailed with issues of the Journal of the Medical Library Association. Information contained on the cards will also be available on MLANET.

Contact: Medical Library Association, 225 East Wacker Place, Suite 650, Chicago, IL 60606, Telephone: (312) 419-9094 Fax: (312) 419-8950 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mlanet.org/

Keywords: Health sciences libraries, Library services, Problem solving

Annotation: This kit is designed to provide materials for substance abuse programs so that they can initiate educational support programs for the children of their clients in substance abuse treatment. The program is designed to teach children skills such as solving problems, coping, social competence, autonomy and a sense of purpose and future. The toolkit has activities for children in elementary school, in middle school and in high school. It contains information for therapists to distribute to their clients to help parents understand the needs of their children, and training materials including posters and videos for substance abuse treatment staff who plan to offer support groups for children plus a diskette containing letters and forms.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Coping, Family support, Parents, Problem solving, Social skills, Substance abuse, Substance abuse treatment services, Support groups, Training materials

Annotation: This training material focuses on the importance of human relationships and on how the professional or paraprofessional approaches and acts in his or her interactions with infants, toddlers, and families. The authors offer suggestions for using the material and identify and explain the six principles for "being" and "doing." The approach the authors use to help participants change thinking involves presentation of story vignettes with contrasting approaches, scenarios, and "stumpers" or challenging situations. Following each story, they provide questions for discussion. The examples focus on home visits.

Contact: ZERO TO THREE: National Center for Infants, Toddlers and Families, 1255 23rd Street, N.W., Suite 350, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 638-1144 Contact Phone: (800) 899-4301 Fax: (202) 638-0851 Web Site: http://www.zerotothree.org $10.00 plus $4.50 shipping. Document Number: 175.

Keywords: Affection, Emotions, Families, Home visiting, Infants, Problem solving, Professional training, Psychological needs, Toddlers, Training materials

Annotation: In this book, Covey shows how his seven habits create a framework of principles to enable family members to effectively communicate about their problems and resolve them. The author also shows how families can move from a problem solving to a creative mind set, focusing on accomplishing goals and contributing together in meaningful ways.

Contact: Franklin Covey, 2200 West Parkway Blvd., Salt Lake City, UT 84119, Telephone: (800) 827-1776 Secondary Telephone: (801) 975-1776 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.franklincovey.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-307-44008-7.

Keywords: Communication, Families, Parent child relations, Problem solving

Annotation: This book explains the concepts and methods of working through a policy analysis. It is designed for the beginning practitioner. The book talks about defining the problem, assembling the evidence, constructing alternatives and criteria, projecting the outcomes, confronting the tradeoffs, and deciding. Methods of gathering data for a policy analysis are provided in an appendix.

Keywords: Policy analysis, Policy development, Problem solving

Annotation: This paper discusses techniques that can be used to resolve conflict and solve problems within organizations. It reviews the cycle of conflict, the dynamics of situations that lead to conflict, and various methods for resolving conflict. It discusses personal styles of reacting to conflict and describes methods of developing constructive conflict management skills. An insert called Strengthening Coalitions: Managing Conflict Strategies for Conflict Communication discusses communication skills involved in conflict resolution.

Contact: Organization Design and Development, HRD Quarterly, 2002 Renaissance Boulevard, Suite 100, King of Prussia, PA 19406-2756, Telephone: (800) 633-4533 Secondary Telephone: (610) 279-2002 Fax: (610) 279-0524 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hrdq.com/home.htm Available in libraries.

Keywords: Communication skills, Conflict resolution, Problem solving

Annotation: This teaching guide explains how to lead study circles in which the participants discuss public education and schools. It provides a rationale for focusing on schools, offers guidance for four discussion sessions, and includes an overview of using the study circle method promote communication and problem solving in small groups. Supplemental materials include case studies of five schools and resources for further discussion and action. A companion publication for the participants is called " The Busy Citizen's Discussion Guide: Education in Our Communities."

Contact: Everyday Democracy, 111 Founders Plaza, Suite 1403, East Hartford, CT 06108, Telephone: (860) 928-2616 Fax: (860) 928-3713 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.everyday-democracy.org $5.00 plus $2.00 shipping and handling; discounts available for bulk orders.

Keywords: Case studies, Communication, Community action, Conflict resolution, Education, Group dynamics, Problem solving, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This study guide is for the use of participants in study circles that are discussing public education and community schools. It provides an overview of challenges that are facing schools and educational systems, includes discussion topics for four sessions, and contains ground rules for discussing these problems in groups. This guide is a companion to the study circle leader's guide, "Education: How Can Schools and Communities Work Together to Meet the Challenge."

Contact: Everyday Democracy, 111 Founders Plaza, Suite 1403, East Hartford, CT 06108, Telephone: (860) 928-2616 Fax: (860) 928-3713 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.everyday-democracy.org $1.00 plus $2.00 shipping and handling; discounts available for bulk orders.

Keywords: Communication, Community action, Conflict resolution, Education, Educational materials, Group dynamics, Problem solving

Annotation: This teaching guide helps educators prepare adolescents in grades 7–12 to make decisions about topics that will affect their lives. It covers the skills and information adolescents need to make transitions from school to adulthood. The guide uses exercises and activities that rely on the experiences of the participants to reinforce the lesson. Chapters cover these topics: self perception and self image; personal, family, and community values; communication; relationships; sexuality; community participation; goal setting; decision making; gender roles; parenting; responding to violence; health care; reducing sexual risks, and employment. The guide includes an evaluation form and lists sources of videotapes. An earlier edition of this title was released in 1989 by the Center for Population Options, which was the publisher's name at that time. It is being revised in 2015. It is also available in Polish, Portuguese, and Spanish.

Contact: Advocates for Youth, 2000 M Street, N.W., Suite 750, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 419-3420 Fax: (202) 419-1448 Web Site: http://www.advocatesforyouth.org $44.95 plus 20 percent shipping and handling.

• Link

Keywords: AIDS, Adolescent parents, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents, Communication skills, Decision making, Educational materials, Employment, Family planning, HIV, Health, Interpersonal relations, Life skills, Non English language materials, Parenting, Planning, Problem solving, Resources for professionals, Risk factors, Self concept, Sex role, Sexuality education, Sexually transmitted diseases, Social values, Spanish language materials, Violence prevention

Annotation: This information package contains a resource guide for teachers, two videotapes and twenty-five handouts for students. It assists educators in developing and teaching programs that will help adolescents learn to solve conflict using non-violent means. Part one covers understanding conflict, communication skills, conflict resolution, and peer mediation. Part two covers implementing conflict resolution programs in schools. The program uses sixteen lessons to cover these subjects. The resource guide also includes resource lists for information and training, other curricula, and further readings.

Contact: Discovery Education, 1560 Sherman Avenue, Suite 100, Evanston, IL 60201, Telephone: (800) 323-9084 Secondary Telephone: (800) 421-2363, ext. 7201 Fax: (847) 328-6706 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.discoveryeducation.com/ 15 day preview available at no charge. Document Number: ISBN 1-56007-375-6.

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Conflict resolution, Materials for adolescents, Mediation, Negotiation, Problem solving, Training materials, Videotapes, Violence prevention

Annotation: This book contains papers presented at an institute held in San Diego, California, November 18–19, 1992. Developed for administrators of county maternal, child, and adolescent health services, the institute focused on using quantitative problem-solving techniques to enhance the capacity for taking community needs assessments. Topics covered by the institute include turning data into information, turning data into good policy, understanding the importance of data in driving public health policy, using vital statistics, using injury surveillance in problem solving, planning effective data strategies, and identifying methods that counties can use to carry out community health assessments. [Planning of the institute was supported in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health services, Child health services, Conferences, Local MCH programs, Maternal health services, Needs assessment, Problem solving, Quality assurance

Annotation: This manual describes how to develop written materials for use with study circles; which use group discussions to promote learning between the participants and to promote communication and understanding. The manual discusses suggestions on creating materials, describes the process of determining the goals of the study circle as a component of developing materials, covers steps involved in developing materials, reviews common questions, and includes models and samples of materials.

Contact: Everyday Democracy, 111 Founders Plaza, Suite 1403, East Hartford, CT 06108, Telephone: (860) 928-2616 Fax: (860) 928-3713 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.everyday-democracy.org Available at no charge.

Keywords: Communication, Conflict resolution, Educational materials, Group dynamics, Manuals, Problem solving, Resources for professionals