Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This fact sheet examines the provision of the Affordable Care Act that requires private insurance plans to cover recommended preventive services without client cost-sharing. Topics include cost barriers to use of preventive services for women and men; categories of clinical preventive services including evidence-based screenings and counseling, immunizations, and other preventive services for children, youth, and women; coverage rules and implementation challenges; and impact of the preventive services rule. Tables summarize selected preventive services for adults and children covered by non-grandfathered private plans without cost-sharing.

Contact: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 2400 Sand Hill Road, Menlo Park, CA 94025, Telephone: (650) 854-9400 Secondary Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (650) 854-4800 Web Site: http://www.kff.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Barriers, Children, Costs, Counseling, Financing, Health care reform, Health care utilization, Health insurance, Immunization, Men, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Preventive health services, Private sector, Regulations, Screening, Women, Young adults

Annotation: This paper examines how public and private partnerships can improve the public health system by defining public health and its essential services, examining its infrastructure and barriers to efficiency, and exploring the fundamentals of partnership and how partnership acts as a a strategic tool to leverage a communities resources for the improvement of the public health system. The paper provides case studies for illustration of its recommendations.

Contact: Grantmakers In Health, 1100 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 1200, Washington, DC 20036-4101, Telephone: (202) 452-8331 Fax: (202) 452-8340 Web Site: http://www.gih.org Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Executive Summary

Keywords: Collaboration, Community programs, Grants, Model programs, Private sector, Public health programs, Strategic plans

Annotation: This brochure provides information about the National Institute for Health Care Management Research and Educational Foundation (NIHCM). The brochure discusses the contributions NIHCM has made over the past decade, the link it provides between the private and public sectors, and its directions for the future. It also includes a comprehensive list of NIHCM's conferences, forums, and publications. The brochure includes color photos.

Contact: National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation, 1225 19th Street, N.W., Suite 710, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 296-4426 Fax: (202) 296-4319 E-mail: http://www.nihcm.org/contact Web Site: http://www.nihcm.org Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Brochures, Education, Foundations, Health, Management, Private sector, Research

Annotation: This final report describes findings on patterns of service use and cost of care for a large sample of children with special health care needs enrolled in employer-based managed care plans in order to clarify their service needs and measure progress toward the Healthy People 2010 objectives. The report contains five sections including an executive summary, an introduction on the need for the study, the methodology, the results, conclusions, and recommendations for the next steps. The two appendices describe the selection of UnitedHealth Group as a study partner and service use variable definitions. References are provided. Statistical information is provided in table format throughout the report. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Mathematica , P.O. Box 2393, Princeton, NJ 08543-2393, Telephone: (609) 799-3535 Fax: (609) 799-0005 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mathematica-mpr.com Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Costs, Final reports, Health care utilization, Health insurance, Health services delivery, Healthy People 2010, Managed care, Private sector, Research

Annotation: This report presents testimony from William J. Scanlon, Director, Health Care Issues, before the Senate Committee on Finance, on potential approaches for increasing private or public health coverage to reach significant numbers of the uninsured. Topics include tax incentives; expansions in Medicaid and State Children's Health Insurance Programs (SCHIP); and the potential unintended consequences of expansions on existing private coverage. The appendix charts selected Medicaid and SCHIP eligibility standards among the states.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO-01-481T.

• PDF

Keywords: Health care financing, Health insurance, Medicaid, Private sector, State Children', Uninsured persons, s Health Insurance Programs

Annotation: This report provides employee benefits managers and purchasers with guidance on how to purchase mental health insurance benefits that promote cost-effectiveness, access to treatment, and high-quality care. Sections include: mental disorders in the workplace: prevalence, impact and treatment; typical benefits packages for mental health treatment; improving mental health insurance benefit design; and mental health benefits packages that incorporate the design recommendations. The appendices provide information on a case study and advisors and consultants to the report. Tables throughout the report illustrate a variety of benefit package features.

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane , Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 E-mail: Web Site: https://www.samhsa.gov Available at no charge; also available from the website. Document Number: DHHS SMA 03-3542.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Cost effectiveness, Costs, Employee benefits, Employer initiatives, Health insurance, Health maintenance organizations, Mental health, Mental health services, Preferred provider organizations, Private sector

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO/GGD-00-28.

• PDF

Keywords: Federal government, Personnel management, Private sector

Contact: Annie E. Casey Foundation, 701 Saint Paul Street, Baltimore, MD 21202, Telephone: (410) 547-6600 Fax: (410) 547-6624 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aecf.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Education, Grants, Health services, Human services, Interviews, Life skills, Policy development, Private sector, Program descriptions, Psychosocial development, Public policy, Urban environment, Urban population

Annotation: This loose-leaf binder is a collection of articles and reports on child care issues prepared for a May, 1998 meeting of the MCH Partnership for Information and Communication (PIC) Interorganizational Work Group. Sections concentrate on an overview of child care issues; federal child care programs; President Clinton's Child Care Initiative; health and safety in child care; welfare reform and employment issues; child care for children with special health care needs; special populations and special situations; infants, toddlers, and brain development; private sector investments in child care; and international perspectives of child care. A bibliography on the topic contains citations and abstracts of materials from the Reference Collection of the National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health as well as resources from the Internet and electronic publications. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available for loan.

Keywords: Bibliographies, Child care, Child development, Children, Children with special health care needs, Employment, Federal MCH programs, Federal legislation, Private sector, Safety, Welfare reform

Annotation: This report summarizes the DC Family Policy Seminar on using education vouchers in the District of Columbia schools. It includes a District community and school system profile, voucher proposals, advantages and disadvantages of vouchers, case studies of vouchers in other settings, other educational change efforts in the District, and policy considerations. Appendices list local and national resources. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Series Archives

Keywords: Case studies, District of Columbia, Educational change, Government financing, Policy analysis, Private sector, Public schools

Annotation: This report describes how employer provided health insurance has eroded over the last decade, as premiums have gone up, and employers have raised the cost to employees, limited insured benefits, or stopped providing health insurance benefits to employees. It mentions the switch to managed care programs and the loss of insurance for dependents. There is a brief mention of Medicare and the increase in the number of people who have neither public nor private health insurance.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO/HEHS-97-35.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Employee benefits, Health care financing, Health insurance, Private sector, Statistics, Uninsured persons

Annotation: This report is designed to provide an overview of child abuse prevention research and program and policy strategies. Parts I and II discuss how child abuse and neglect are defined and measured, what the incidence rates and trends are, and what has been learned about the causes of child maltreatment. Part III defines the scope of preventive services and some promising models, including several home visiting programs that have demonstrated promising results. Parts IV and V describe the federal role in prevention and state and local efforts that are pointing towards a new vision of prevention and child protection. Part VI describes community partnerships between public and private funders.

Contact: Policy Institute for Family Impact Seminars, University of Wisconsin-Madison/Extension, 1305 Linden Drive, Third Floor, Madison, WI 53706, Telephone: (608) 263-2353 Fax: (608) 265-6048 Web Site: http://familyimpactseminars.org/ $15.00, including shipping.

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Child protective services, Community role, Family support, Government financing, Model programs, Prevention programs, Private sector, Reports

Annotation: In this collection of essays, each author examines one component of the restructuring of the health care system currently underway in the United States and suggests issues that should be considered as reform strategies are developed and implemented. The collection of essays covers these topics: controlling health care spending, defining a role for the private insurance industry, rationing health care, reorganizing health care delivery systems, assuring a diverse and adequate future physician work force, implementing state initiatives, accommodating quality assessment in a competitive marketplace, providing a legal basis for the competitive market, integrating technological change, and providing for the needs of the elderly and people with special health needs including children with chronic and disabling conditions.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Health care delivery, Health care financing, Health care reform, Health care systems, Health insurance, Medical research, Mental disorders, Older adults, Planning, Policy development, Private sector, Quality assurance, Special health care needs, State initiatives

Annotation: This report focuses on state and privately funded programs that were established to provide health insurance for children who do not qualify for Medicaid but whose families cannot afford private policies. The report reviews the context, presents the results in brief, and includes detailed analysis on the financial aspects of these programs, the strategies used to manage costs, and the design elements used to implement the programs. Similarities and the unique features of six programs are highlighted. Appendices provide information on other state programs, detailed description of the programs in the report, and limited evaluations of the children's increased use of health care services as a result of the programs.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO/HEHS-96-35.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Data, Health insurance, Private sector, Program descriptions, State programs, Uninsured persons

Annotation: This white paper is based on an October 18, 1995, meeting held in Washington, D.C., of federal and state health officials and health plan representatives. The meeting focused on the delivery of quality health services to children through the Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic and Treatment (EPSDT) program as principles of Medicaid managed care are applied to them. The report describes the attributes of EPSDT and Medicaid managed care and identifies areas of concern where they overlap. Included in the report are perspectives from the U.S. Health Care Financing Administration, state governments, and health plans on the delivery of EPSDT services. The focus is on developing systems to collect data and assure the delivery of quality services.

Contact: National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation, 1225 19th Street, N.W., Suite 710, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 296-4426 Contact Phone: (202) 296-4426 Fax: (202) 296-4319 E-mail: http://www.nihcm.org/contact Web Site: http://www.nihcm.org $15.00.

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Children with special health care needs, EPSDT, Early intervention programs, Federal government, Health insurance, Health insuring organizations, Health services delivery, Medicaid managed care, Policy development, Private sector, Quality assurance, State government

Annotation: This report examines factors affecting the provision of health insurance to children during 1994, particularly decreased coverage by the private sector; the expanding coverage for low-income children through Medicaid; and the increase in the number of uninsured families who do not qualify for Medicaid but who cannot afford private insurance either. The report presents the results in brief, provides background information, describes the methodology, and presents and analyzes the results of the study.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO/HEHS-96-129.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Children, Health insurance, Low income groups, Medicaid, Private sector, Uninsured persons

Annotation: This loose-leaf notebook contains materials on children with special health needs and their access to care within managed health care systems. Prepared for an August 1996 meeting of the MCH Partnership for Information and Communication (PIC) Interorganizational Work Group, the manual's primary topics include: an overview of the topic; the activities of the U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau; quality assurance; the experiences of various state programs; the perspectives of families, consumers, and providers; the provision of mental health services; and initiatives in the private sector. Other topics include organizational policy statements, child welfare, and risk adjustment. Supporting materials include bibliographies, a glossary, lists of listservs (online discussion groups) and World Wide Web sites, and program descriptions. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available for loan.

Keywords: Access to health care, Child welfare, Children with special health care needs, Federal programs, Managed care, Mental health services, Private sector, Quality assurance, Risk management, State programs

Annotation: This report presents the results of a survey taken to determine what states are doing to provide health insurance coverage for uninsured children who are not eligible for Medicaid. It outlines the nature of the problem, reviews other recent studies of uninsured children, and describes the design and methodology of the survey. It highlights the findings, provides profiles of specific programs, and presents lessons learned that would be useful to state policymakers. Data tables are used to present the findings of the survey. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Governors Association, 444 North Capitol Street, Suite 267, Washington, DC 20001-1512, Telephone: (202) 624-5300 Secondary Telephone: Contact Phone: (202) 624-5851 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nga.org Price unknown.

Keywords: Children, Data, Employee benefits, Health insurance, Medicaid, Private sector, Program descriptions, Public health programs, Public private partnerships, State initiatives, Surveys, Uninsured persons

Annotation: This report describes the technical assistance Louisiana received in developing strategies for coordinating traditional public health activities with both the private medical delivery system and the Medicaid managed care system and with the development of local community health councils. The report includes background information, workshop summaries, and new steps for technical assistance. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Altarum Institute, 3520 Green Court, Suite 300, Ann Arbor, MI 48105, Telephone: (734) 302-4600 Secondary Telephone: (800) 879-6505 Fax: (734) 302-4991 Web Site: http://www.altarum.org/contact Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Community health services, Health care delivery, Louisiana, Medicaid managed care, Private sector, Systems development, Technical assistance

Annotation: This set of three-ringed binders contains conference materials for the "Looking Forward" conference, which is held periodically. The conference focuses on the state role in national health care reform, promotion of healthy families, and financing in the public and private sector. Later volumes address rural health, the State Children's Health Insurance Program (SCHIP), Medicaid, and trends in the private market. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Contact Phone: (703) 525-7802 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available for loan.

Keywords: Child health, Conferences, Families, Financing, Government financing, Health care reform, Maternal health, Private sector, State legislatures