Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This public awareness campaign provides information and resources for health professionals, families, and other caregivers on how to put infants to sleep safely to reduce the risk of sudden unexpected infant death (including deaths attributed to overlaying, accidental suffocation, wedging, and sudden infant death syndrome). Contents include a tip sheet, brochure, and poster in English and Spanish. Additional resources include a sample safe sleep policy for child care facilities; a safe sleep quiz for parents and other caregivers; a bookmark with tips on comforting a crying infant; and a flyer, poster, insert, and billboard about suffocation.

Contact: Baby Blossoms Collaborative, Douglas County Health Department, 1111 South 41st Street, Omaha, NE 68105, Telephone: (402) 444-7471 E-mail: http://babyblossomsomaha.org/about-bbc/contact-us Web Site: http://babyblossomsomaha.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Blacks, Campaigns, Crying, Infant death, Local initiatives, Primary prevention, SIDS, Safety, Sleep position, Spanish language materials, Suffocation, Unintentional injuries

Annotation: This report provides suggestions for how states that choose to implement programs to advance prevention of oral disease in primary care for beneficiaries of Medicaid and the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP) can select a family of measures to assess progress. It explains what the different measures in the family of measures are (outcome measures, process measures, and balancing measures) and provides measurement strategies for each type of measure.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• Link
• Program Website

Keywords: Dental caries, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral heath, Prevention, Primary care, Programs, State Children', s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This report provides ideas for how states can use a driver diagram on oral health produced by Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) to advance prevention of oral disease in primary care, plan a quality-improvement (QI) project, and determine how to improve outcomes. The report offers background, presents the driver diagram, explains the driver diagram, and provides ideas for activities to promote change.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• Link
• Program Website

Keywords: Dental caries, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral heath, Prevention, Primary care, Programs, State Children', s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This video discusses how children who are Medicaid or Children's Health Insurance Program beneficiaries can benefit from having fluoride varnish applied to their teeth in the primary care setting. The video shares quality-improvement methods that can help states improve the provision of oral health care to these children by primary care health professionals. Topics include developing an aim statement, using a driver diagram, identifying drivers to consider for achieving the aim, starting small to test whether change ideas are working, and using the plan-do-sudy-act method.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• Link
• Program Website

Keywords: Dental caries, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral heath, Prevention, Primary care, Programs, State Children', s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This brief provides information about MORE Care, an Ohio program conducted by Health Ohio and CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, in partnership, to improve children's oral health and reduce costly, invasive dental procedures by advancing value-based care and integrating oral health care into primary care. The brief describes how the program works, offers information about Health Ohio and CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, and presents an example of how MORE Care is being implemented.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Costs, Health care delivery, Low income groups, Ohio, Oral health, Oral health equity, Prevention, Primary care, Service integration, State programs

Annotation: This Q&A-style fact sheet for parents and caregivers explains the importance of annual adolescent well visits for youth ages 11-21, distinguishing them from sports physicals. It describes what occurs during well visits, including physical examinations, behavioral health screenings, preventive health guidance, and immunizations, while emphasizing how these visits help young people develop healthcare management skills and improve family communication about health issues. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Adolescent and Young Adult Health Information Center, University of California, San Francisco, LHTS Suite 245, Box 0503, San Francisco, CA 94143-0503, Telephone: (415) 502-4856 Fax: (415) 502-4858 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nahic.ucsf.edu

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Health promotion, Parent education, Prevention programs, Primary care, Young adults

Annotation: This website provides information from various government agencies on what bullying is, what cyberbullying is, who is at risk, and how to prevent and respond to bullying. Contents include a blog, newsroom, videos, policies and laws, and other resources. A section of the website is devoted to content for children and adolescents. The site is also available in Spanish. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 464-4772 Fax: (301) 443-1246 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Bullying, Children, Community action, Families, Federal initiatives, Parents, Primary prevention, Schools, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This website presents resources from the National Education Association's (NEA's) campaign against bullying. Contents include a pledge form for parents and other caring adults willing to advocate for measures to stop bullying in their schools and communities. Additional content includes research and tools, tip sheets and stories, NEA's position and actions, prevention and intervention training, multimedia, and resources for education support professionals.

Contact: National Education Association, 1201 16th Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20036-3290, Telephone: (202) 833-4000 Fax: (202) 822-7974 Web Site: http://www.nea.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Bullying, Primary prevention, Public awareness campaigns, Public service announcements, School age children, School health, Training materials

Annotation: These public-awareness-campaign materials are designed for use during Children’s Dental Health Month (February) to encourage good oral health for children of all ages. Contents include activity sheets; a guide for parents; a poster for displaying in an office waiting room; a certificate to present to children; tools for classroom educators (customizable letter and teacher’s guide); and classroom resources, including lesson plans, demos and videos, and frequently asked questions.

Contact: Procter and Gamble Company, Cincinnati, OH Telephone: (800) 543-2577 Web Site: http://www.dentalcare.com Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Consumer education materials, Curriculum development, Learning, Multimedia, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Prevention programs, Primary prevention, Program development, Program planning, Public awareness campaign materials, Teaching

Annotation: This national campaign website presents information and resources about ways to reduce the risk for sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS) and other sleep-related causes of infant death such as suffocation. Topics include answers to common questions about SIDS, the importance of sharing safe sleep messages with everyone who cares for infants under age 1, and crib-safety guidelines. Contents include a video; a general outreach brochure (in English and Spanish); brochures for outreach to African Americans, American Indians, and Alaska Natives; and a handout that illustrates a safe infant sleep environment. The website covers safe infant sleep basics,printable and shareable resources, research, and activities and initiatives.

Contact: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, P.O. Box 3006, Rockville, MD 20847, Telephone: (800) 370-2943 Secondary Telephone: (888) 320-6942 Fax: (866) 760-5947 Web Site: https://www.nichd.nih.gov/Pages/index.aspx Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Alaska Natives, American Indians, Blacks, Campaigns, Infant death, National initiatives, Primary prevention, SIDS, Safety, Sleep position, Spanish language materials, Unintentional injuries

Annotation: These instructions explain how to access two online trainings: Oral Health in the Well Child Visit and Condensed Smiles for Life: National Oral Health Curriculum, modules 2 and 6, intended for use by the Midwest Network for Oral Health Integration project, part of the federally funded Networks for Oral Health Integration (NOHI) Within the Maternal and Child Health Safety Net program. The well child training focuses on five clinical competencies for children ages 6–11. The Smiles for Life: National Oral Health Curriculum modules focus on child oral health, caries risk assessment, fluoride varnish, and counseling. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Instructions
• Training Modules

Keywords: Collaboration, Communication, Community health centers, Counseling, Dental caries, Fluoride, Health education, Oral health, Prevention, Primary care, Risk assessment, School age children, Service integration, Training

Annotation: This statement provides recommendations for primary care clinicians about how to prevent tooth decay in infants and children under age 5. Recommendations include prescribing oral fluoride supplements starting at age 6 months for infants and children whose water supply is deficient in fluoride, applying fluoride varnish to the teeth of all infants and children starting at the age of primary tooth eruption, and routinely screening infants and children under age 5 for caries lesions.

Contact: U.S. Preventive Services Task Force, 540 Gaither Road, Rockville, MD 20850, Telephone: (301) 427-1584 Web Site: http://www.uspreventiveservicestaskforce.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Dental caries, Fluoride, Health screening, Infants, Oral health, Prevention, Primary care, Young children

Annotation: This website provides recommendations, evidence, and related items for primary care clinicians to provide interventions, including education or brief counseling, to prevent initiation of tobacco use in school-aged children and adolescents. It updates the 2013 recommendations and reviews the evidence on the effectiveness of primary care interventions on the rates of initiation or cessation of tobacco use in school-aged children and adolescents and on health outcomes, such as respiratory health, oral health, and adult smoking. It also provides new recommendations for interventions and identifies research needs and gaps.

Contact: U.S. Preventive Services Task Force, 540 Gaither Road, Rockville, MD 20850, Telephone: (301) 427-1584 Web Site: http://www.uspreventiveservicestaskforce.org Available from the website.

• 2020
• 2013

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Intervention, Prevention, Primary care, School age children, Tobacco use

Annotation: This Grantee Lessons Learned brief highlights common themes and unique examples gathered by grantees during Children's Bureau-led site visits to other jurisdictions with promising approaches to community-based primary prevention.

Contact: Child Welfare Information Gateway, Administration on Children, Youth, and Families, Children's Bureau, 1250 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Eighth Floor, Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: (800) 394-3366 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childwelfare.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child abuse, Child welfare, Evidence based programs, Maltreated children, Model programs, Primary prevention

Annotation: These four videos offer information for primary care health professionals to help them provide preventive oral health care in their practices. The video focus on the knee-to-knee position, fluoride varnish application, palpitation of the temporomandibular joint, and palpitation of the floor of the mouth. The videos can be viewed online or downloaded.

Contact: Smiles for Life: A National Oral Health Curriculum, Web Site: https://www.smilesforlifeoralhealth.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Disease prevention, Fluoride, Oral health, Primary care, Videotapes, Young children

Annotation: This guide is designed to help individuals and organizations in every community strengthen families and prevent child abuse and neglect. Topics include strengthening individuals, families and communities; working with families using the protective factors; using protective factors as a framework for a community partnership; protecting children from abuse and maltreatment; tip sheets for parents and caregivers; and resources. The tip sheets are presented in English and Spanish.

Contact: Child Welfare Information Gateway, Administration on Children, Youth, and Families, Children's Bureau, 1250 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Eighth Floor, Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: (800) 394-3366 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childwelfare.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child abuse, Child welfare, Community participation, Families, Maltreated children, Materials for consumers, Primary prevention, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This set of national standards describe evidence-based best practices in nutrition, physical activity, and screen time for early care and education programs. Contents include intervention strategies to prevent excessive weight gain in young children. The standards detail opportunities for facilities to work with families. Topics include nutrition requirements for infants, toddlers and preschoolers, and school-age children; meal service and supervision; food brought from home; nutrition education; food and nutrition service policies and plans; infant feeding policy; active opportunities for physical activity; playing outdoors; protection from air pollution while children are outside; caregivers/teachers' encouragement of physical activity; policies and practices that promote physical activity; and limiting media and computer time. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Resource Center for Health and Safety in Child Care and Early Education, University of Colorado Denver, 13120 East 19th Avenue, Mail Stop F541, P.O. Box 6511, Aurora, CO 80045, Telephone: (800) 598-5437 (598-KIDS) Fax: (303) 724-0960 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nrckids.org Order from the website for a charge (3rd ed); available from the website (2nd ed).

• 3rd Edition
• 2nd Edition

Keywords: Child care, Early childhood education, Infants, National initiatives, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Policy development, Preschool children, Primary prevention, Program development, School-age children, Standards, Toddlers

Annotation: This report presents findings and recommendations from an evaluation of a program to increase awareness of oral health among health professionals, facilitate the incorporation of oral health into well-child visits, and increase access to preventive care for young children at high risk for dental caries. Topics include a project overview, purpose, key questions, and evaluation methods. Additional topics include findings on health professionals reached, training, confidence in program delivery, program fidelity, health professional satisfaction, supply of fluoride varnish, children reached, and benefits and barriers.

Contact: Michigan Department of Health and Human Services, Oral Health, 333 South Grand Avenue, P.O. Box 30195, Lansing, MI 48909, Telephone: (517) 373-3740 Web Site: https://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs/adult-child-serv/childrenfamilies/familyhealth/oralhealth Available from the website.

• 2019 Report
• 2014-2015 Annual Report

Keywords: Dental care, Dental caries, Disease prevention, Fluorides, Infants, Medicaid, Michigan, Oral health, Parent education, Preventive health services, Primary care, Program descriptions, Program evaluation, Provider participation, Reimbursement, Screening, State programs, Training, Work force, Young children

Annotation: This template letter is designed for pediatricians or pediatric practices to place on their own letterhead for use in appealing denials for coverage of and payment for fluoride varnish application by pediatricians. The letter provides an explanation for why such denials are inappropriate, including that they violate the intent of current procedure terminology (CPT) guidelines and Affordable Care Act requirements.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• Word Document

Keywords: Fluoride, Health Insurance, Oral health, Oral health care, Prevention, Primary care

Annotation: This video discusses the importance of healthy primary teeth to children’s overall health and how health professionals can play a role in preventing oral disease in infants and young children by administering fluoride varnish as soon as the first tooth emerges. The video also discusses other ways that health professionals can encourage good oral health at well-child visits, including providing information about toothbrushing, proper use of bottles, good nutrition, how to establish a dental home, and the importance of establishing a dental home.

• Link

Keywords: Dental care, Fluoride, Infants, Nutrition, Oral health, Prevention, Primary Care, Videotapes, Young children