Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: The goal of this project was to improve the knowledge base from which policymakers and program directors make decisions regarding implementation of community-based and home-based services for children with long-term health care needs. Strategies included a literature review, a review of current innovative home and community-based programs, and the dissemination of findings and recommendations by means of publications and a state-of-the-art conference. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB94-106358.

Keywords: Children, Chronically Ill, Community-Based Health Services, Data Collection from, Home-Based Health Care, Primary Care Centers, Technology Dependence

Annotation: This guide for health center staff describes a set of interprofessional oral health core clinical competencies designed to foster integration of oral health care into primary care. The guide also provides information about three pilot projects’ experiences related to implementing the competencies. Contents include recommendations to inform planning, training systems, health information systems, clinical care systems, and evaluation systems.

Contact: National Network for Oral Health Access, 181 East 56th Avenue, Suite 410, Denver, CO 80216, Telephone: (303) 957-0635 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nnoha.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Barriers, Clinics, Community health centers, Interdisciplinary approach, Oral health, Primary care, Program development, Service integration, Systems development

Annotation: This chartbook provides information on facilitators of and barriers to integrating oral health care into primary care for pregnant women and children in Arizona. The chartbook provides data related to scope of practice for oral health professionals and other health professionals, Medicaid billing and reimbursement, dental hygienists, dental therapists, community health workers, and teledentistry. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Arizona, Community health centers, Fluoride, Oral health, Pregnant women, Primary care, Service integration, State information

Annotation: This chartbook provides information on facilitators of and barriers to integrating oral care into primary care for pregnant women and children in Colorado. The chartbook presents information on fluoride varnish application; fluoride varnish billing; dental hygienist, therapist, and assistant scopes of practice; teledentistry; community water fluoridation; state strengths related to allowable activities for dental hygienists; and opportunities. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Colorado, Community health centers, Fluoride, Oral health, Pregnant women, Primary care, Service integration, State information

Annotation: This chartbook provides information on facilitators of and barriers to integrating oral health into primary care for pregnant women and children in Montana. It provides information on fluoride varnish application; fluoride varnish billing; dental hygienist, therapist, and assistant scopes of practice; teledentistry; community water fluoridation; state strengths related to allowable activities for dental hygienists; and opportunities. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Community health centers, Fluoride, Montana, Oral health, Pregnant women, Primary care, Service integration, State information

Annotation: This chartbook provides information on facilitators of and barriers to integrating oral health care into primary care for pregnant women and children in Wyoming. The chartbook provides data related to scope of practice for oral health professionals and other health professionals, Medicaid billing and reimbursement, dental hygienists, dental therapists, community health workers, and teledentistry. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Community health centers, Fluoride, Oral health, Pregnant women, Primary care, Service integration, State information, Wyoming

Annotation: This assessment provides information for community health centers (CHCs) to help them determine their readiness for integrating oral health care and primary care. The assessment poses questions for CHC staff to answer and score. Questions relate to leadership vision and support, an integrated executive team, team member buy-in, champions, co-location, quality improvement, and integrated electronic health records. A scoring guide is included.

Contact: National Network for Oral Health Access, 181 East 56th Avenue, Suite 410, Denver, CO 80216, Telephone: (303) 957-0635 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nnoha.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Community health centers, Oral health, Primary care, Quality assurance, Service integration

Annotation: This report describes an environmental scan focused on identifying areas of opportunity to advance the integration of oral health care into primary care in community health centers in the Transforming Oral Health for Families project, part of the federally funded Networks for Oral Health Integration (NOHI) Within the Maternal and Child Health Safety Net program. Topics include access to oral health care, oral health scope of practice, fluoride varnish, community water fluoridation, and strategies for the future. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Community health centers, District of Columbia, Fluoride, Oral health, Primary care, Service integration, State programs

Annotation: This report describes an environmental scan focused on identifying areas of opportunity to advance the integration of oral health care into primary care in community health centers in Maryland participating in the Transforming Oral Health for Families project, part of the federally funded Networks for Oral Health Integration (NOHI) Within the Maternal and Child Health Safety Net program. Topics include access to oral health care, oral health scope of practice, teledentistry, fluoride varnish, community water fluoridation, and strategies for the future. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Community health centers, Fluoride, Maryland, Oral health, Primary care, Service integration, State programs, Teledentistry

Annotation: This report describes an environmental scan focused on identifying areas of opportunity to advance the integration of oral health care into primary care in community health centers in New York participating in the Transforming Oral Health for Families project, part of the federally funded Networks for Oral Health Integration (NOHI) Within the Maternal and Child Health Safety Net program. Topics include access to oral health care; oral health scope of practice, licensing, and medical setting rules; teledentistry; fluoride varnish; community water fluoridation; and strategies for the future. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Community health centers, Fluoride, New York, Oral health, Primary care, Service integration, State programs, Teledentistry

Annotation: This report describes an environmental scan focused on identifying opportunities to integrate oral health care into primary care in community health centers in Virginia participating in the Transforming Oral Health for Families project, part of federally funded Networks for Oral Health Integration (NOHI) Within the Maternal and Child Health Safety Net program. Topics include oral health care in Virginia, oral health scope of practice, teledentistry, and strategies for the future. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Community health centers, Oral health, Primary care, Service integration, State programs, Teledentistry, Virginia

Annotation: These instructions explain how to access two online trainings: Oral Health in the Well Child Visit and Condensed Smiles for Life: National Oral Health Curriculum, modules 2 and 6, intended for use by the Midwest Network for Oral Health Integration project, part of the federally funded Networks for Oral Health Integration (NOHI) Within the Maternal and Child Health Safety Net program. The well child training focuses on five clinical competencies for children ages 6–11. The Smiles for Life: National Oral Health Curriculum modules focus on child oral health, caries risk assessment, fluoride varnish, and counseling. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Instructions
• Training Modules

Keywords: Collaboration, Communication, Community health centers, Counseling, Dental caries, Fluoride, Health education, Oral health, Prevention, Primary care, Risk assessment, School age children, Service integration, Training

Annotation: These dental quality measures were developed by AZARA DRVS (Data Reporting and Visualization System) and the Michigan Primary Care Association for the Midwest Network for Oral Health Integration project, part of the federally funded Networks for Oral Health Integration (NOHI) Within the Maternal and Child Health Safety Net program. Each measure includes the name, description, numerator, denominator, exclusions, oral health care vs. primary care, and structured clinical data. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Community health centers, Health care delivery, Oral health, Primary care, Quality assurance, School age children, Service integration

Annotation: This toolkit is a guide for community health centers (CHCs) to use in their efforts toward infrastructure improvements to integrate new oral health services or enhance existing services. It helps CHCs assess their readiness to integrate new oral health services or enhance existing services; provides links to Health Resources and Services Administration requirements, regulations, and resources; and offers infrastructure enhancement strategies.

Contact: National Network for Oral Health Access, 181 East 56th Avenue, Suite 410, Denver, CO 80216, Telephone: (303) 957-0635 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nnoha.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Community health centers, Oral health, Primary care, Program improvement, Service integration

Annotation: This report provides information about results of a survey of health centers that focused on two different models of primary care and oral health care integration: health professionals engaging in oral health activities and oral health professionals embedded in medical clinics to provide oral health care. Topics include general integration, embedded oral health professionals, and focus groups.

Contact: National Network for Oral Health Access, 181 East 56th Avenue, Suite 410, Denver, CO 80216, Telephone: (303) 957-0635 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nnoha.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Community health centers, Focus groups, Oral health, Primary care, Survey integration

Annotation: This document offers information about federal programs that provide funding to health centers, states, academic institutions, and other entities to recruit, train, and retain health professionals, including dentists and dental hygienists, in efforts to increase access to oral health care. The document also highlights program efforts to establish benchmarks for the nation’s oral health status and for oral health care and to ensure that oral health care is available to people living with HIV/AIDS; mothers, children, and adolescents, including those with special health care needs; and those who receive care at health centers.

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 464-4772 Fax: (301) 443-1246 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Benchmarking, Children, Community health centers, Federal programs, HIV infected patients, Health care delivery, Health occupations, Health status, Low income groups, MCH services, Mothers, Oral health, Primary care, Quality assurance, Recruitment, Service integration, Special health care needs, State MCH programs, Training, Work force, Young adults

Annotation: This fact sheet describes how health centers increase access to oral health care in the communities they serve. Contents include information about oral health services provided and the number of visits and patients served. Topics include activities to increase access to oral health care for underserved populations, modernize the safety net infrastructure and delivery system, improve oral health outcomes, and promote an innovative organizational culture. Links to resources for general information and technical assistance for health centers are also included.

Contact: U.S. Bureau of Primary Health Care, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 489-4772 Fax: (301) 480-4098 Web Site: https://bphc.hrsa.gov/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Community health centers, Comprehensive health care, Oral health, Organizational change, Primary care, Public health infrastructure, Service delivery systems, Technical assistance, Underserved communities

Annotation: This policy brief provides information about the state of children's oral health in California, an overview of federally qualified health centers' (FQHCs') role in providing primary care and oral health care services to children, and recommendations for expanding the capacity of FQHCs to improve access to quality oral health care for children in California. The brief outlines recommendations for expanding programs to increase co-location of dental and medical clinics at FQHC sites; supporting programs to improve FQHCs' oral health capacity through medical-dental integration; and expanding investments in information technology and personnel to enhance care coordination.

Contact: Children Now, 1212 Broadway, Fifth Floor, Oakland, CA 94612, Telephone: (510) 763-2444 Fax: (510) 763-1974 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childrennow.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, California, Children, Community based services, Community health centers, Dental care, Health care delivery, Medicaid, Oral health, Pediatric care, Policy development, Preventive health services, Primary care, Program coordination, Public health infrastructure, Quality assurance, Service integration, State programs, Statewide planning

Annotation: This policy brief describes a project to improve oral health care for young children at 12 federally qualified health center clinic sites with co-located oral health and primary care services in Los Angeles County, California. Contents include program goals to reduce barriers to obtaining oral health care for infants and young children from birth through age 5 and strategies and interventions to meet program goals. Topics include infrastructure, practice-management technical assistance, training, quality-improvement learning collaboratives, community systems development, and policy analysis. Additional topics include the location and characteristics of participating clinics, the number of visits for children by project year and quarter, and policy implications.

Contact: UCLA Center for Health Policy Research, 10960 Wilshire Boulevard, Suite 1550, Los Angeles, CA 90024, Telephone: (310) 794-0909 Fax: (310) 794-2686 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthpolicy.ucla.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, California, Clinics, Community health centers, County programs, Dental care, Infants, Local initiatives, Oral health, Policy development, Primary care, Program improvement, Public health infrastructure, Quality assurance, Service integration, Systems development, Technical assistance, Training, Work force, Young children

Annotation: This brief presents findings from a study to assess oral health care capacity in community health centers (CHCs) in California. Topics include the geographic distribution of CHCs with co-located oral health care and primary care; size, productivity, and revenues of co-located sites compared to those without on-site oral health care capacity; and opportunities to improve access to oral health care in CHCs.

Contact: UCLA Center for Health Policy Research, 10960 Wilshire Boulevard, Suite 1550, Los Angeles, CA 90024, Telephone: (310) 794-0909 Fax: (310) 794-2686 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthpolicy.ucla.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: California, Community health centers, Dental care, Geographic factors, Oral health, Policy development, Primary care, Program improvement, State surveys