Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (59 total).

National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation. 2017. Giving more babies a healthy start in life: An Anthem Foundation & March of Dimes collaboration to reduce preterm births. Washington, DC: National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation, 4 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet describes national and state initiatives to scale up and implement programs that encourage and facilitate first trimester prenatal care and help at-risk mothers commit to behaviors that reduce the numbers of low birthweight infants. Topics include a group prenatal care model called CenteringPregnancy®, smoking cessation programs, quality improvement initiatives related to the elimination of early elective deliveries, and Healthy Babies Are Worth the Wait Community Programs®.

Contact: National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation, 1225 19th Street, N.W., Suite 710, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 296-4426 Fax: (202) 296-4319 E-mail: http://www.nihcm.org/contact Web Site: http://www.nihcm.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Childbirth, Collaboration, Community based programs, Community based services, Evidence based medicine, Financing, Health behavior, Health promotion, High risk infants, High risk mothers, High risk pregnancy, Low birthweight, Models, National initiatives, Peer support programs, Prenatal care, Preterm birth, Prevention programs, Smoking cessation

March of Dimes Perinatal Data Center. 2015. 2015 premature birth report card. [White Plains, NY]: March of Dimes, 4 pp.

Annotation: This annual report card measures the progress in reducing the nation's preterm birth rate by comparing each state's rate to the goal. Topics include prevention strategies and recommendations. Topics include women who are uninsured, late preterm birth, women who smoke, and preterm birth rates by race and ethnicity. Indicators, definitions, and data sources for the 50 states, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico are included. Information about the grading methodology is also provided. State fact sheets are also available.

Contact: March of Dimes, 1275 Mamaroneck Avenue, White Plains, NY 10605, Telephone: (914) 997-4488 Secondary Telephone: Web Site: http://www.marchofdimes.com Available from the website.

Keywords: Data sources, Ethnic factors, Premature infants, Prematurity, Preterm birth, Prevention, State surveys, Statistical data, Trends

Michigan Department of Health and Human Services. 2015. Cost savings to Medicaid from the Maternal infant Program due to reduction in preterm birth rate. Lansing, MI: Michigan Department of Health and Human Services, 1 p. (Return on investment fact sheet series, volume 1, issue 1)

Annotation: This fact sheet describes the cost effectiveness of a program to supplement medical (prenatal and infant) care for Medicaid-eligible mothers in Michigan. Topics include how the program works, the program's effectiveness in reducing preterm birth, how much the program's prenatal services cost, how much preterm birth costs, and Medicaid's potential return on investment from the reduction in preterm and very preterm births and other savings..

Contact: Michigan Department of Health and Human Services, Capitol View Building, 201 Townsend Street, Lansing, MI 48913, Telephone: (517) 373-3740 Web Site: http://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs Available from the website.

Keywords: Cost effectiveness, Costs, High risk mothers, Infant health, Medicaid, Prenatal care, Preterm birth, State MCH programs, Women's health

[Connecticut Coalition to Improve Birth Outcomes]. 2015. Connecticut plan to improve birth outcomes. [no place: Connecticut Coalition to Improve Birth Outcomes], 87 pp.

Annotation: This document provides recommendations and strategies for improving birth outcomes in Connecticut. Contents include the list of organizations represented on the Connecticut Coalition to Improve Birth Outcomes and how they used policy analysis tools to identify priorities and recommendations, and the Collaborative Improvement and Innovation Network that supports the strategies outlined in the plan. Topics include addressing socioeconomic factors, making the healthy choices the easy choice, protecting individuals, implementing evidence-based interventions in clinical settings, and providing individual or public educational messages and support. Information about the perinatal landscape, emerging issues, and suggestions for using the plan are also included.

Contact: Community Foundation of Greater New Haven, 70 Audubon Street, New Haven, CT 06510-9755, Telephone: (203) 777-2386 Fax: (203) 787-6584 E-mail: contactus@cfgnh.org Web Site: http://www.cfgnh.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Coalitions, Collaboration, Connecticut, Ethnic groups, Health disparities, Infant mortality, Infants, Low birthweight, Networking, Outcome and process assessment, Perinatal care, Pregnant women, Preterm birth, Program improvement, Service integration, Statewide planning, Systems development

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials. 2014. 17 alpha-hydroxyprogesterone caproate (17P). Arlington, VA: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about preterm birth (PTB) rates and racial disparities in PTB in the United States, the use of 17 alpha-hydroxyprogesterone caproate (17P) to prevent PTB, and the role of state and territorial health agencies in promoting access to 17P. Contents include state examples of 17P interventions in Louisiana, North Carolina, and Ohio. The fact sheet also discusses costs, quality, and other challenges related to the availability of and access to 17P.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Louisiana, North Carolina, Ohio, Pharmaceutical fees, Pregnant women, Preterm birth, Preventive medicine, State agencies

Ohio Department of Health. (2013). Preventing infant mortality. [Columbus, OH]: Ohio Department of Health, 5 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet focuses on efforts to prevent infant mortality in Ohio. It provides information about the Ohio Department of Health's (ODH's) safe sleep campaign, its progesterone prematurity project, its prenatal smoking-cessation initiative, and its decision to add severe combined immune deficiency and critical congenital heart disease to its list of newborn screening items. ODH's project to reduce elective deliveries before 39 weeks' gestation, its institute for equity in birth outcomes, and its support for select communities to participate in an initiative to improve black infant mortality and prematurity rates are also discussed.

Contact: Ohio Department of Health, 246 North High Street, Columbus, OH 43215, Telephone: (614) 466-3543 Web Site: http://www.odh.ohio.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Blacks, Infant death, Infant mortality, Neonatal screening, Ohio, Prematurity, Prenatal care, Preterm birth, Prevention services, Public awareness campaigns, Safety, Sleep position, Smoking cessation, Smoking during pregnancy, State initiatives

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Healthy People 2020. 2013. Healthy People 2020 leading health indicator webinar: Maternal, infant, and child health. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Healthy People 2020, 1 video (ca. 35 min.).

Annotation: This webinar discusses Healthy People 2020 indicators for maternal, infant, and child health; specifically lowering rates of infant mortality and preterm or premature birth.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (202) 619-0257 Secondary Telephone: (877) 696-6775 Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Child health, Infant health, Infant mortality, Maternal health, Prematurity, Preterm birth

U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. 2013. Strong Start for Mothers and Newborns: Testing approaches to prenatal care. [Baltimore, MD]: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 2 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about the Strong Start for Mothers and Newborns initiative, a U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HRSA) program that aims to prevent preterm births and improve outcomes for newborns and pregnant women. The fact sheet provides an overview of the initiative and discusses three evidence-based maternity care approaches that it will test; lists award recipients, their locations, and their award amounts; provides information about length of awards, eligibility criteria, eligibility; program requirements; and provides information about the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Innovation Center, which is partnering with HRSA to evaluate a fourth method for preventing preterm births.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Eligibility, Federal programs, Infant health, Initiatives, Mothers, Newborn infants, Pregnant women, Preterm birth, Prevention, Program evaluation, Women's health

ECRI Institute. 2013. AHRQ healthcare horizon scanning system: Potential high-impact interventions report–Priority Area 12: Pregnancy, including preterm birth. Rockville, MD: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 12 pp.

Annotation: This report describes the Healthcare Horizon Scanning System as a systematic process to identify and monitor target technologies and innovations in health care and to create an inventory of target technologies that have the highest potential for impact on clinical care, the health care system, patient outcomes, and costs. It also describes its role as a tool for the public to identify and find information on new health care technologies and interventions. This report discusses two topics, the Preconception Care System for improving health outcomes in pregnancy (Gabby) and the use of vending machine dispensers for emergency oral contraceptive (Plan B One-Step) to prevent pregnancy.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Contraceptive use, Medical technology, Medical technology, Oral contraception, Pregnancy, Preterm birth, Research methodology

National Perinatal Association. [2012]. Multidisciplinary guidelines for the care of late preterm infants. Alexandria, VA: National Perinatal Association, 38 pp.

Annotation: This document presents guidelines for what the health care team should do in caring for late preterm infants and for specific education to be provided to the families of these infants. The guidelines are divided into four sections: (1) in-hospital assessment and care, (2) transition to outpatient care, (3), short-term follow-up care, and (4) long-term follow-up care. Within each section, the guidelines are further subdivided into four subsections: (1) stability, (2) screening, (3) safety, and (4) support. Each guideline includes recommendations for the health care team and for family education. It closes with a list of collaborative partners and endorsing organizations.

Contact: National Perinatal Association, 457 State Street, Binghampton, NY 13901, Telephone: (888) 971-3295 Fax: (703) 684-5968 E-mail: info@nationalperinatal.org Web Site: http://www.nationalperinatal.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Education, Families, Guidelines, Health care, Health services, Hospital services, Parent support services, Premature infants, Preterm birth, Safety, Screening

Howson CP, Kinney MV, eds. 2012. Born too soon: The global action report on preterm birth. Geneva, Switzerland: World Health Organization, 113 pp.

Annotation: This report discusses what is known about preterm birth and its causes and trends. The report, which includes national, regional, and global estimates of preterm birthrates, including rates by country, presents a plan for the actions needed to reduce the incidence of death and disability resulting from preterm birth, provide care for infants born preterm, and reduce the numbers of preterm births.

Contact: World Health Organization, 20, Avenue Appia, Geneva, Switzerland , Telephone: (+ 41 22) 791 21 11 Fax: (+ 41 22) 791 3111 E-mail: info@who.int Web Site: http://www.who.int/en Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 9789241503433.

Keywords: Geographic factors, High risk infants, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Infant death, Infant health, Infant mortality, International health, Neonatal intensive care, Postpartum care, Preconception care, Prenatal care, Preterm birth, Prevention

Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, Association of State and Territorial Health Officials. 2012. Improving birth outcomes in the U.S.: State efforts to reduce prematurity. [Washington, DC]: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 62 pp.

Annotation: These presentation slides provide examples of how states can move forward in achieving the goal of prematurity reduction. The webinar, held on July 12, 2012, outlines the Healthy Babies Initiative to decrease prematurity in the United States by 8 percent by 2014. Presenters highlight the experience and strategies of two states that have met the challenge goal (Alaska and Vermont) and one state currently working toward that goal (Oklahoma).

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: info@amchp.org Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Alaska, Oklahoma, Premature infants, Prematurity, Preterm birth, Prevention programs, State initiatives, Vermont

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. 2012. Public health approaches to reducing U.S. infant mortality. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1 video (60 min.). (Public health grand rounds)

Annotation: This 60-minute webcast explores public health approaches to reducing U.S. infant mortality. Topics include addressing racial disparities that still persist, especially in the African American and American Indian/Alaska Native populations, and preventable infant deaths continue to occur. Approaches discussed include addressing the social, behavioral, and health risk factors that affect birth outcomes, such as preterm birth, unsafe sleeping environments for infants, and tobacco smoke.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: cdcinfo@cdc.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Child death review, Infant death, Infant mortality, Neonatal death, Prematurity, Preterm birth, Research, Risk factors, SIDS, Sleep position, Smoking during pregnancy, Statistical data, Tobacco use

National Healthy Mothers, Healthy Babies Coalition. 2012. NPHIC webinar: Oklahoma Infant Alliance's later preterm infant toolkit. Alexandria, VA: National Healthy Mother, Healthy Babies Coalition, 1 podcast (49 min., 50 sec.). (Maternal and child health webinar series: Webinar 15)

Annotation: This webinar discusses the Oklahoma Infant Alliance Late Preterm Infant Toolkit and its role in addressing the high rate of preterm deliveries in the state. The toolkit is meant for hospitals and agencies who work with the late preterm infant and discusses the development of a clinical practice guideline based on current evidence-based resources and research in reducing morbidities associated with late preterm birth.

Contact: National Coalition for Infant Health, Alliance for Patient Access, 1275 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W., Suite 1100A, Washington, DC 20004, Telephone: (202) 499-4114 E-mail: info@infanthealth.org Web Site: http://www.infanthealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Guidelines, Infant health, Oklahoma, Pregnancy complications, Prematurity, Preterm birth, State initiatives

Illinois Department of Public Health, Perinatal Advisory Committee. 2012. Preterm birth in Illinois: Understanding the problem, forging a solution—House Joint Resolution 111. Chicago, IL: Illinois Maternal and Child Health Coalition, 36 pp.

Annotation: This report presents an overview of preterm birth and its consequences in the state of Illinois and provides recommendations on proven strategies that could move Illinois towards the reduction of premature births. The report describes the extent and costs of preterm births; identifies the medical and social risk factors associated with preterm birth; and provides recommendations for evidence-based medical and public health strategies, as well as state system and policy changes. The report was prepared by the Perinatal Advisory Committee, Illinois Department of Public Health in response to Illinois General Assembly House Joint Resolution 111, which stipulated that the Committee submit findings and recommendations on reducing preterm births in the state.

Contact: Illinois Maternal and Child Health Coalition, 1256 West Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60642, Telephone: (312) 491-8161 Fax: (312) 491-8171 E-mail: ilmaternal@ilmaternal.org Web Site: http://www.ilmaternal.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Advisory committees, Illinois, Perinatal care, Preterm birth, Risk reduction, State initiatives, State legislation

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials. 2012. Texas and Louisiana: Healthy Start for more infants. Arlington, VA: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 10 pp.

Annotation: This report presents case studies from Texas and Louisiana that illustrate innovative approaches that states are employing to help ensure that more children get a healthy start in life. The report provides background information on the complications often resulting from premature birth and discusses the essential features of Texas's Healthy Babies Initiative and Louisiana's Birth Outcomes Initiative. Resources for more information about the programs are provided.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child health, Infant health, Initiatives, Louisiana, Premature infants, Prematurity, Prenatal care, Pregnant women, Preterm birth, Prevention, State programs, Texas

Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, Maternal and Infant Health Program. 2012. Maternal and infant health priorities and opportunities in home visiting. [Lincoln, NE]: Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, 12 pp.

Annotation: This resource is a printout of presentation slides that provide information about maternal and infant health priorities and opportunities in home visiting. The presentation discusses opportunities for preventing premature birth. obesity, and maternal depression in the context of home visiting, Best practices for safe sleep, infant illness care, and infant feeding problems are also discussed.

Contact: Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, P.O. Box 95026, Lincoln, NE 68509-5026, Telephone: (402) 471-3121 E-mail: dhhs.helpline@nebraska.gov Web Site: http://www.hhs.state.ne.us Available from the website.

Keywords: Depression, Feeding disorders, Health care, Home visiting, Infant feeding, Infant health, Mental health, Obesity, Postpartum depression, Preterm birth, Prevention, SIDS, Safety, Sleep position, Women's health

Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development. 2011. Scientific Vision Workshop on Pregnancy and Pregnancy Outcomes: Workshop white paper. Rockville, MD: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, 15 pp.

Annotation: This white paper summarizes the findings of a workshop organized to address the challenge of improving pregnancy and birth outcomes in the United States.Topics include understanding the biology of pregnancy, applying biology in clinical settings, viewing pregnancy as a lifecourse event, and developing tools needed to advance research. Breakout group discussions on the following issues are presented: new methodologies, balancing maternal and fetal risks and timing of delivery, preventing Cesarean deliveries, pregnancy and future health, placental medicine and syndromes, and preterm birth.

Contact: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, P.O. Box 3006, Rockville, MD 20847, Telephone: (800) 370-2943 Secondary Telephone: (888) 320-6942 Fax: (866) 760-5947 Web Site: https://www.nichd.nih.gov/Pages/index.aspx Available from the website.

Keywords: Cesarean section, Childbirth, Infant health, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Preterm birth, Prevention, Reproductive health, Research, Risk factors, Women's health

March of Dimes. 2011. Healthy Babies are Worth the Wait: Preventing preterm births through community-based interventions--An implementation manual. White Plains, NY: March of Dimes, 125 pp.

Annotation: This manual guides individuals and organizations in implementing the Healthy Babies are Worth the Wait (HBWW) initiative, a multi-dimensional, community-based approach to preventing preventable preterm births. It is designed for use by perinatal providers across disciplines and organizational settings through development of interdisciplinary, interagency collaborations. It focuses on partnerships and collaborations; provider initiatives; patient support; public engagement; and progress measurement. It also describes lessons learned from a pilot project of the HBWW in Kentucky.

Contact: March of Dimes, 1275 Mamaroneck Avenue, White Plains, NY 10605, Telephone: (914) 997-4488 Secondary Telephone: Web Site: http://www.marchofdimes.com Available from the website.

Keywords: Infants, Kentucky, Manuals, Prematurity, Preterm birth, Prevention programs, State initiatives

National Child and Maternal Health Education Program. 2010-. Resources on preterm birth. Rockville, MD: National Child and Maternal Health Education Program,

Annotation: This web site provides resources related to preterm birth, including a bibliography of research articles from PubMed, recent reports, and other resources. Most materials are 2009 or earlier.

Contact: National Child and Maternal Health Education Program, Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute for Child Health and Human Development, Rockville, MD Telephone: (301) 435-3458 E-mail: fowlerlt@mail.nih.gov Web Site: http://www.nichd.nih.gov/ncmhep/Pages/index.aspx Available from the website.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Preterm birth, Resources for professionals

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.