Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Sign up for MCHalert eNewsletter

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 4 (4 total).

Oral Health America. 2006. Communications guide for state oral health programs: Media outreach materials. Chicago, IL: Oral Health America, 15 pp.

Annotation: This resource assists oral health programs in creating and disseminating press releases and other communication tools to the media. It provides tips on writing techniques and provides sample press releases for national and local distribution.

Contact: CDC Stacks, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://stacks.cdc.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Children, Communication, Mass media, Media campaigns, Oral health, Press releases

Communities in Charge. [2004]. CIC compendium of products. [Cleveland, OH]: Communities in Charge, 8 pp.

Annotation: This compendium of products lists products, strategies, and byproducts that the Communities in Charge communities have developed in their efforts to improve and expand community-based health coverage. The compendium includes sample enrollment forms, applications, patient authorization forms, media materials, fact sheets, press releases, surveys and summary survey results, legislative and policy advisories, planning and community consensus-building tools, articles and bylaws, and member materials. The compendium is organized in tabular form, with one column listing the community, one describing the product, and one listing links and/or contact information.

Contact: Communities in Charge, c/o Medimetrix, 1100 Republic Building, 25 West Prospect Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44115, Telephone: (216) 736-7940 Fax: (216) 523-1811 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.communitiesincharge.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Applications, Communities, Health insurance, Mass media, Planning, Press releases, Resource materials, Surveys

American Public Health Association. 2004. Eliminating health disparities: Communities moving from statistics to solutions—Toolkit. Washington, DC: American Public Health Association, 40 pp.

Annotation: This tool kit contains information and materials for promoting National Public Health Week, April 4-11, 2004. The overview provides a general overview of public health and public health week, gives examples of community solutions, and suggests activities and approaches. The tools for planning events include tips for creating town hall meetings, press conferences, and arranging on-site visits. The section on media advocacy provides key messages and sample news releases and radio spots. Tools for legislative advocacy include sample letters, telephone scripts, talking points, and meeting pointers. Facts sheets are provided on general health disparities, cancer, diabetes, the environment, disparities by gender, health literacy, heart disease, HIV/AIDS, infant mortality, racial or ethnic disparities and rural area disparities. Additional resources and an evaluation are also included.

Contact: American Public Health Association, 800 I Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20001-3710, Telephone: (202) 777-2742 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (202) 777-2534 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.apha.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Community participation, Ethnic factors, Geographic factors, Health literacy, Health observances, Health promotion, Local initiatives, Mass media, Press releases, Public awareness campaigns, Public awareness materials, Public health, Public service announcements, Racial factors, Resource materials

Wise J. 1997. Pounding the pavement: Getting the media to work for you. Washington, DC: Emergency Medical Services for Children National Resource Center, 52 pp.

Annotation: This manual gives step-by-step guidance on how to use media effectively; it is intended for use either by organizations or individuals concerned with disseminating information about emergency medical services for children to the general public. The manual discusses locating the media in a community; making connections with them; and writing media advisories, press releases, pitch letters, and letters to the editor. It also describes how to set up press conferences and media events and how to make and use public service announcements. Appendices offer sample and model contact sheets, letters of introduction, media advisories, press releases, pitch letters, press conference checklists, letters to the editor, and scripts for public service announcements. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Emergency Medical Services for Children (EMSC) National Resource Center, 801 Roeder Road, Suite 600, Silver Spring, MD 20910, Telephone: (301) 244-6300 Fax: (301) 244-6301 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.emscnrc.org Contact for cost information.

Keywords: Emergency medical services for children, Information dissemination, Manuals, Mass media, Media campaigns, Press releases, Public service announcements
   

The MCH Digital Library is one of six special collections at Geogetown University, the nation's oldest Jesuit institution of higher education. The library is supported through foundation, univerity, state, and federal funding. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by the U.S. Government. Note: web pages whose development was supported by federal government grants are being reviewed to comply with applicable Executive Orders.