Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: The goal of this demonstration project was to develop and implement a comprehensive health and safety curriculum in child day care settings to improve the health status of children. A comprehensive educational program was developed and presented in the day care setting with a positive parenting component, a children's component, and a day care worker component. This educational curriculum demonstrated positive changes in child health indicators, day care environment, and safety, and increased knowledge of child development, health, and safety issues on the part of parents and day care workers. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB96-182811.

Keywords: Caregivers, Child Care, Child safety, Health Education, Immunization, Parents, Preschoolers, Rural Populations, Urban Populations

Annotation: This book provides a framework for understanding the relationship between early childhood education and the capacity to function effectively in a democracy. It offers guidance, examples, methods, and language to help prepare young children to grow within the culture of democracy. Topics include education and democracy; the child-centered classroom; creating a plan for the child-centered classroom; equality; skills, talent, and creativity; encouragement of positive behavior; development of healthy habits; communication with other children, parents, and others; family and community involvement, and the transition to elementary school.

Keywords: Child behavior, Communication, Communities, Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Elementary school children, Families, Parents, Preschool children, Young children

Annotation: This set of national standards describe evidence-based best practices in nutrition, physical activity, and screen time for early care and education programs. Contents include intervention strategies to prevent excessive weight gain in young children. The standards detail opportunities for facilities to work with families. Topics include nutrition requirements for infants, toddlers and preschoolers, and school-age children; meal service and supervision; food brought from home; nutrition education; food and nutrition service policies and plans; infant feeding policy; active opportunities for physical activity; playing outdoors; protection from air pollution while children are outside; caregivers/teachers' encouragement of physical activity; policies and practices that promote physical activity; and limiting media and computer time. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Resource Center for Health and Safety in Child Care and Early Education, University of Colorado Denver, 13120 East 19th Avenue, Mail Stop F541, P.O. Box 6511, Aurora, CO 80045, Telephone: (800) 598-5437 (598-KIDS) Fax: (303) 724-0960 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nrckids.org Order from the website for a charge (3rd ed); available from the website (2nd ed).

• 3rd Edition
• 2nd Edition

Keywords: Child care, Early childhood education, Infants, National initiatives, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Policy development, Preschool children, Primary prevention, Program development, School-age children, Standards, Toddlers

Annotation: This video provides information about how successful consultation strategies can help child care health consultants address children’s oral health in Head Start and other early childhood education and care programs. The video discusses why good oral health in early childhood is important and includes a scenario in which a child care health consultant advises teachers in a Head Start program on how to determine whether a child with behavior issues may have an underlying health problem—specifically, an oral health problem—and how they can address it.

Contact: National Center on Early Childhood Health and Wellness, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (888) 227-5125 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov/ncechw Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consultation, Head Start, Oral healthy, Preschool children, Preschool education, Teachers, Young children

Annotation: This packet is designed to help educators integrate oral health education into Connecticut's school health curricula. The packet comprises 6 lesson modules for educating students in pre-kindergarten through grade 12 about oral health and healthy behaviors. Each module lists objectives, questions, and related subject areas and can be used individually or in combination with recommended supportive activities and classroom materials. The revised online curriculum has modules for pre-kindergarten, kindergarten and grade 1, grades 2-3, grades 4-5, and grades 6-8.

Contact: Connecticut State Dental Association, 835 West Queen Street, Southington, CT 06489, Telephone: (860) 378-1800 Fax: (860) 378-1807 Web Site: http://www.csda.com Available from the website.

• 2008 Edition

Keywords: Connecticut, Curricula, Oral health, Preschool education, School age children, School health education, State initiatives, Young children

Annotation: This booklet for parents provides information on how to care for an infant’s or child’s oral health from birth through the elementary school years. The booklet also includes information about how to find and pay for oral health care and activities that parents can do with their child to help them learn together about the importance of good oral health. The booklet is available in Arabic, English, and Spanish. A brochure and a video are also available.

Contact: Delta Dental Foundation, 4100 Okemos Road, Okemos, MI 48864, Telephone: (800) 524-0149 Web Site: http://www.deltadentalmi.com Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Dental care, Infants, Michigan, Non English language materials, Nutrition, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Pregnant women, Preschool children, Preventive health services, School age children, State programs

Annotation: This web resource presents the Community Preventive Services Task Force (CPSTF) recommendations on center-based early childhood education programs to improve educational outcomes that are associated with long-term health as well as social- and health-related outcomes. Center-based early childhood education programs aim to improve the cognitive or social development of children ages three or four years. The CPSTF recommendations are based on evidence from a 2014 systematic review of 49 studies of center-based preschool programs for low-income children. The website provides a summary of results divided by education-related outcomes and social- and health-related outcomes. In addition, there are links to relevant publications.

Contact: Community Preventive Services Task Force, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Community Guide Branch, 1600 Clifton Road, N.E., MSE69, Atlanta, GA 30329, Telephone: (404) 498-6595 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.thecommunityguide.org/task-force/community-preventive-services-task-force-members

• Link

Keywords: Child care centers, Early childhood education, Family support programs, Health status, Health status disparities, Literature reviews, Low income groups, Preschool children, Social factors, Socioeconomic factors, Young children

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Cultural competence, Early childhood education, Hispanic Americans, Models, Parenting, Preschool education, Program evaluation

Annotation: This guide provides information and resources to help school-age children understand the importance of good oral health and preventive oral health care. The guide is divided into two sections. The first section is designed for students in preschool through second grade and the second for students in third through fifth grades. Each section contains goals, objectives, and age-appropriate games and puzzles.

Contact: California Dental Association Foundation, 1201 K Street, Suite 1511, Sacramento, CA 95814, Telephone: (800) 232-7645 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdafoundation.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental care, Dental hygiene, Oral health, Preschool education, Resource materials, School age children, School health education, Young children

Annotation: This guide for early childhood educators focuses on oral health in young children. The activities in the guide were developed in accordance with the skill areas and child outcomes contained within the Head Start Child Outcomes Framework. Contents include five lesson plans, a coloring page, a maze, and a family pledge and certificate. Topics include toothbrushing with fluoridated toothpaste, eating healthy snacks, and visiting the dentist regularly. Additional resources are available.

Contact: Colgate Bright Smiles, Bright Futures™, 300 Park Avenue, New York, NY 10022, Telephone: (800) 468-6502 Secondary Telephone: (212) 310-2000 Web Site: https://www.colgate.com/en-us/mission/oral-health-commitment/bsbf Available from the website.

• Overview
• Program Website

Keywords: Early childhood education, Educational materials, Head Start, Kindergarten, Oral health, Preschool education, School health education, Young children

Annotation: This publication updates information provided by state coordinators on state policies, programs, and practices under the Preschool Grants Program (Section 619 of Part B) of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA). Information includes: program administration, funding, interagency coordination, personnel, transition, monitoring, use of IEPs/ IFSPs, family-centered services, standards and outcomes, pre-kindergarten initiatives, initiatives for special populations, and services in least restrictive environments (LRE). The volume also includes a compilation of information on the Section 619 program from other sources: federal and state policies, data from www.ideadata.org, state training and TA systems, data on changes in children served by the program, and contact information for state and jurisdictional program coordinators.

Contact: Early Childhood Technical Assistance Center, Campus Box 8040, UNC-CH, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-8040, Telephone: (919) 962-2001 Secondary Telephone: (919) 843-3269 Fax: 919.966.7463 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://ectacenter.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF
• PDF

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Data, Early childhood education, Early intervention, Educational change, Federal grants, Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, Part B, Preschool children, State programs

Annotation: This report evaluates the implementation stage of the Community Connections preschool program developed by the Illinois Action for Children (IAFC) to help prepare children in home-based child care for later success in school and in life. The report describes the methodology used in the evaluation of the Community Connections model (which aims to make state preschool programs available to families whose children are cared for in home settings) and presents the findings of Phase 1 of the evaluation based on interviews, observation, and other evaluative components. The report includes a discussion of the respondents' perceptions of benefits and targeted effects of the program and an analysis of respondents’ descriptions of the key activities of the Community Connections model. The report concludes with recommendations to IAFC for strengthening the Community Connections model and its implementation. Appendices include interview protocol and materials used to record observations.

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child care, Illinois, Models, Preschool children, Program evaluation, Public education, State programs

Annotation: This policy brief provides an overview of the federal law requiring states to ensure that homeless children have equal access to the same free, appropriate, public education, including a public preschool education, as provided to other children. The brief also discusses the law's limitations and barriers to pre-kindergarten (pre-k) attendance and describes policies that can help increase the number of homeless children included in pre-k programs. The brief is intended to serve as a resource for state policymakers and advocates seeking to maximize participation in pre-k programs.

Contact: Education Law Center, 60 Park Place, Suite 300, Newark, NJ 07102, Telephone: (973) 624-1815 Secondary Telephone: (973) 624-4618 Fax: (973) 624-7339 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.edlawcenter.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Legislation, Advocacy, Children, Cultural barriers, Early childhood education, Financial barriers, Homeless persons, Homelessness, Language barriers, Low income groups, Poverty, Preschool children, Public policy, Young children

Annotation: This report examines the degree to which key players in child welfare, early intervention and preschool special education, and early care and education systems (such as Head Start, preschool, child care centers, and family child care homes) collaborate to meet the developmental needs of infants and children from birth through age 5 who are involved in the child welfare system. The report discusses of major findings, implications for program and policy, methodology, and the research questions used.

Contact: Catherine E. Cutler Institute for Child and Family Policy, Edmund S. Muskie School of Public Service, University of Southern Maine, P.O. Box 9300, Portland, ME 04104-9300, Telephone: (207) 780-4141 Secondary Telephone: (800) 800-4876 Fax: (207) 780-5817 Web Site: http://muskie.usm.maine.edu/schoolreadiness Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-9708327-5-7.

• PDF

Keywords: Child care centers, Child welfare, Collaboration, Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Early intervention, Head Start, Infant development, Infants, Preschool children, Public policy, Special education, Young children

Annotation: This paper presents the case for investing more in young American children who grow up in disadvantaged environments. It discusses early intervention efforts and their impact on adverse environments and their role in reversing some of the harm of disadvantage and having a high economic return. Topics include human capital and economic performance, crime, education, trends in children's home environments and the consequences of adverse environments, the importance of cognitive and noncognitive ability in early economic life, evidence from enriched preschool programs, and the case for early intervention. References are provided along with footnotes and statistical information provided in tables and figures.

Contact: National Bureau of Economic Research, 1050 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02138-5398, Telephone: (617) 868-3900 Fax: (617) 868-2742 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nber.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adverse effects, Case studies, Cognitive development, Crime, Early childhood education, Early intervention, Educational factors, Family characteristics, Low income groups, Preschool children, Program descriptions, Social policy, Socioeconomic factors, Statistical data, Young children

Annotation: This brief provides highlights of basic issues that permeate public policy discussions of pre-kindergarten programs. The brief also includes references to detailed guides and reports that provide more in-depth information on these topics. The brief provides background information about children and preschool programs and discusses public policy for early education, data relevant to the cost-benefit debate, and three sets of overlapping issues: (1) benefits vs. costs, (2) public financing of pre-kindergarten programs, and (3) universal preschool. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Center for Mental Health in Schools, UCLA School Mental Health Project, Box 951563, Los Angeles, CA 90095-1563, Telephone: (310) 825-3634 Secondary Telephone: (866) 846-4843 Fax: (310) 206-8716 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://smhp.psych.ucla.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Cost effectiveness, Costs, Early childhood education, Financing, Preschool children, Public policy, Young children

Annotation: These resources are designed to help students in preschool through eighth grade develop good oral hygiene habits. Contents include the following lesson plans: Shining Smiles! for students ages 4–7, A Lifetime of Healthy Smiles! for students in second and third grade, Teeth to Treasure! for students in fourth through sixth grade, and Watch Your Mouth! for students in seventh and eighth grade. Additional contents include hands-on classroom demonstrations, videos, and other activities and materials to support the lesson plans. Information about careers in dentistry, presentations, and other resources for educators are also available. The lesson plans were written in 2005; the Oral Health and You presentation and crossword puzzle were added or updated in 2021.

Contact: American Dental Association, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Fax: (312) 440-7494 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ada.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Curricula, Disease prevention, Educational materials, Health promotion, Multimedia, Oral health, Preschool children, School age children, School health education

Annotation: This handbook assists parents, families, and early childhood personnel working with children with disabilities and chronic health conditions to recognize the child first before the disability or condition. The goals of the handbook are to (1) care for young children with disabilities and chronic conditions and meet their special needs in child care and other out-of-home settings; (2) share information with health and education professionals and build partnerships in meeting the needs of children with disabilities and chronic conditions and their families; and (3) promote quality care in inclusive child care and preschool settings for young children with disabilities and chronic conditions. Section topics include early learning, social, emotional, speech, and language development; an outline of common chronic and disabling conditions; care needs including assistive devices, behavior support, infection control, oral health, and other needs; and communication and community support. The book also contains a supplemental section on invasive procedures and care, and a glossary. Extensive figures and tables provide statistical and other information throughout the book.

Contact: Pro-Ed, 8700 Shoal Creek Boulevard, Austin, TX 78757-6897, Telephone: (512) 451-3246 Secondary Telephone: (800) 897-3202 Fax: 512-451-8542 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.proedinc.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-89079-922-9.

Keywords: Child care, Child care workers, Children, Children with special health care needs, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Disabilities, Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Families, Infants, Preschool children, Toddlers, Young children

Annotation: This paper reviews the Head Start program and describes the limited educational progress for children in Head Start and the problems resulting from a fragmented approach to early childhood programs and services. It also present evidence from early childhood research and documents state efforts that have successfully addressed these problems and explains the President's proposal for Head Start reauthorization. Section topics include a review of program shortfalls, the achievement gap faced by disadvantaged children, barriers to program improvement with fragmented service delivery, a review of research on elements of successful programs in improving children' school readiness, and conclusions. The appendix provides an overview of major federal and state spending for preschool and child care programs for 2003 and 2004. The paper concludes with endnotes and references.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (202) 619-0257 Secondary Telephone: (877) 696-6775 Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Early childhood education, Head Start, Preschool children, Program evaluation, Research, School readiness, Young children

Annotation: The goal of this report is to review evidence to determine the likelihood that states can meet the challenge of providing high-quality, comprehensive early childhood education and whether states would be dedicated to this effort. It examines the role that states play in comprehensive early childhood education by reviewing the following: (1) states' level of support for pre-kindergarten programs, (2) the quality and effectiveness of state-funded pre-kindergarten, and (3) state efforts to build integrated, comprehensive early childhood systems for children from birth through age 5 that focus on school readiness. The report includes one table, and notes to that table appear in an appendix. The report also includes endnotes.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation, Hubert H. Humphrey Building, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Room 415 F, Washington, DC 20201, Web Site: http://aspe.hhs.gov Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Financing, Head Start, Preschool children, Program evaluation, School readiness, State programs, Young children