Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This publication summarizes presentations and discussions from a two-day workshop held in January 2020. Topics include macronutrient requirements; one-carbon metabolism micronutrients; iron, vitamin D, calcium, antioxidants, and iodine; dietary supplements; new developments and emerging topics; implications for maternal and infant health of maternal intakes and nutritional status during lactation; maternal nutrient intake and early-life programming; and the role of systems and policies in providing solutions to nutrition access and equity during pregnancy and lactation.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website.

• Link
• Brief

Keywords: Infant nutrition, Lactation, Maternal nutrition, Pregnancy, Prenatal nutrition

Annotation: This report describes prenatal Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants, and Children (WIC) receipt in the United States in 2016 by state and by maternal age, race and Hispanic origin, and education. For each topic, key points are provided, and bar graphs illustrate statistical information.

Contact: National Center for Health Statistics, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 3311 Toledo Road, Room 5419, Hyattsville, MD 20782, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (301) 458-4020 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nchs Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Age factors, Educational factors, Hispanic Americans, Maternal nutrition, Nutrition programs, Pregnant women, Prenatal nutrition, Racial factors, Statistical data, WIC program

Annotation: This state program guide for the California Diabetes and Pregnancy Program contains these chapters: (1) overview; (2) preconception and interconception care for preexisting diabetes; (3) medical management and education for preexisting diabetes during pregnancy; (4) medical management and education for gestational diabetes mellitus; (5) impact of maternal diabetes on fetal development and neonatal care; (6) exercise; (7) medical nutrition therapy; (8) breastfeeding; (9) behavioral and psychosocial components of care; and (10) cultural competency. The program website contains additional program information and professional and consumer information including materials in Spanish.

• 2012

Keywords: Diabetes mellitus, Gestational diabetes, Maternal Nutrition, Maternal health, Nutrition education, Pregnancy, Prenatal care, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This report summarizes a March 2013 workshop to discuss issues related to encouraging behavior change that would reflect updated guidelines on weight gain during pregnancy, such as charting weight gain during pregnancy, improving choices concerning nutrition and physical activity, and receiving adequate pre- or post-conception advice about weight and pregnancy weight gain. Contents include communicating the pregnancy weight gain guidelines, discussing efforts to support behavior change, implementing the guidelines, reviewing the First Thousand Days Program, and collaborating for action, as well as final thoughts. Appendices include the workshop agenda, list of participants, speaker biographies, and the workshop statement of task.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-309-28966-5.

• Link

Keywords: Gestational weight gain, Guidelines, Nutrition, Physical activity, Weight management, Postnatal care, Preconception care, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This videorecording provides information about preconception health. It discusses birth control, avoiding smoking and illegal drugs, abstaining from alcohol consumption during pregnancy, vaccinations, receiving regular checkups, taking multivitamins and folic acid, nutrition, and physical activity. Vignettes with women at different stages in their life are presented.

Contact: National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd Available from the website.

• Script Only

Keywords: Alcohol consumption, Birth control, Folic acid, Illicit drugs, Immunizations, Multimedia, Nutrition, Physical activity, Preconception care, Prenatal care, Prevention, Smoking, Vitamin supplements, Women', s health

Annotation: [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: University of Washington Libraries, ResearchWorks, Box 352900, Seattle, WA 98195-2900, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://digital.lib.washington.edu/dspace Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Nutrition, Pregnant women, Prenatal influences, Reproductive health, Vitamin deficiencies, Vitamin supplements, Women', s health

Annotation: This toolkit, for health care professionals in Vermont, provides evidence-based care topics for improving the health and prenatal care of pregnant women. It describes the Improving Prenatal Care in Vermont (IPCV) project and identifies "best practice" prenatal guidelines and assists obstetric service providers in incorporating these guidelines in to their office systems. Topics include practice assessment, patient satisfaction, tobacco cessation, nutrition, breastfeeding readiness, gestational diabetes, psychosocial/behavioral, substance abuse, intimate partner violence, depression, preterm labor, infectious disease, environmental exposure, and genetic screening. This is a companion document to the "State Guide for Improving Prenatal Care".

Contact: Vermont Child Health Improvement Program, University of Vermont College of Medicine, St. Josephs 7, UHC Campus, One South Prospect Street, Burlington, VT 05401, Telephone: (802) 656-8210 Fax: (802) 656-8368 Web Site: http://www.med.uvm.edu/vchip Available from the website.

• Practice Toolkit Main Page

Keywords: Genetic screening, Guidelines, Nutrition, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Prenatal education, Resources for professionals, Sexually transmitted diseases, State programs, Vermont

Annotation: This report provides 70 specific recommendations for reducing childhood obesity. The recommendations fall into the following categories: (1) giving children a healthy start in life, (2) empowering parents and caregivers, (3) providing healthy food in schools, (4) improving access to healthy, affordable food, (5) helping children become more physically active.

Contact: Let's Move, Web Site: http://www.letsmove.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Breastfeeding, Child health, Communities, Costs, Early childhood education, Hunger, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Prenatal care, Programs, Schools, Young children

Annotation: This research brief brings together findings from a variety of research resources to identify 10 actionable, feasible goals involving non-school factors that affect educational outcomes and can be addressed through out-of-school-time programs. The goals include (1) reduce unintended pregnancies, (2) improve prenatal and postnatal maternal health, (3) improve parenting practices among parents of infants and young children, (4) improve young children's nutrition and encourage mothers to breastfeed, (5) enhance the quality and availability of educational child care, preschool, pre-kindergarten, and full-day kindergarten, (6) connect children and adolescents with long-term mentors, (7) improve parenting practices among parents of school-age children and adolescents, (8) provide family and couples counseling to improve family functioning, (9) provide high-quality educational after-school and summer programs, and (10) develop positive social skills and reduce delinquency among adolescents. The brief describes research findings related to each goal and types of programs that effectively address each goal.

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents, Breastfeeding promotion, Child care, Children, Early childhood education, Educational attainment, Families, Family support services, Infants, Nutrition, Parenting skills, Prenatal care, Prevention, Programs, Unwanted pregnancy, Women', Young children, s health

Annotation: This publication is a collection of resources on nutrition during pregnancy. Topics covered include general nutrition during pregnancy, folic acid, food safety, and gestational or preexisting diabetes. Pamphlets, booklets, Web sites, audiovisual materials, and books published in 2008 or later are included in the resource list. Resource descriptions, ordering information, and electronic links (where available) are provided.

Contact: U.S. Food and Nutrition Information Center, National Agricultural Library, 10301 Baltimore Avenue, Room 105, Beltsville, MD 20705-2351, Telephone: (301) 504-5719 Secondary Telephone: (301) 504-5248 Fax: (301) 504-6409 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://fnic.nal.usda.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Bibliographies, Nutrition, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Prenatal nutrition, Resource materials

Annotation: This fact sheet recommends that all women of childbearing age maintain a proper level of folic acid since statistics indicate that folic acid can prevent 50 to 70 percent of neural tube defects (NTD's) and that 50 percent of pregnancies are unplanned. The fact sheet offers general recommendations on the amount of folic acid women need based on their health history and provides answers to commonly asked questions about folic acid supplementation.

Contact: Minnesota Department of Health, P.O. Box 64975, St. Paul, MN 55164-0975, Telephone: (651) 201-5000 Secondary Telephone: (888) 345-0823 Web Site: http://www.health.state.mn.us Available from the website.

• Reviewed In 2018

Keywords: Folic acid, Guidelines, Minnesota, Pregnancy, Prenatal care, Prenatal nutrition, Prevention programs, State initiatives, Women', s health

Annotation: This focus report complements an annual update on trends in the overall quality of life for U.S. children and adolescents issued by the Foundation for Child Development and Youth Well-Being Index Project. The present report focuses on trends in indicators of well-being for two infant and child age groups -- birth through age 5 and 6-11 -- and makes comparisons with corresponding trends for adolescents ages 12-17 over the period 1994-2006. The report covers four main topics: (1) trends in age-specific composite well-being indices, (2) trends in domain-specific composite indices for childhood ages, (3) positive trends in specific indicators, and (4) areas of concern for specific indicators.

Contact: Foundation for Child Development, 295 Madison Avenue, 40th Floor, New York, NY 10017, Telephone: (212) 867-5777 Fax: (212) 867-5844 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.fcd-us.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Child health, Child mortality, Children, Education, Family income, Infant health, Infant mortality, Infants, Lead poisoning, Low birthweight, Motor vehicle safety, Nutrition, Obesity, Pregnancy, Prenatal care, Safety, Trends, Vaccination

Annotation: This annual report shows which countries are succeeding or failing to save the lives of mothers and children up to age five. It examines how investments in health care and nutrition can make a difference for children, mothers, communities, and society as a whole. It also points to proven, low-cost solutions that could save the majority of these young lives. Contents include a summary of key findings and recommendations, reducing the child death toll, child survival progress ranking, low-cost solutions to saving children under age five, a report card on five ways to save lives under age five, changing the world by investing in children, child deaths in the industrialized world and the U.S. ranking, and recommendations on actions to improve the health and mortality of women and children around the world. The appendix includes the index and country rankings. The report concludes with the survey methodology.

Contact: Save the Children, 501 Kings Highway East, Fairfield, CT 06825, Telephone: (203) 221-4000 Web Site: http://www.savethechildren.org Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 1-888393-19-X.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Developing countries, Health care, Infant death, Infant health, Infant morbidity, Infant mortality, International health, Mothers, Newborn infants, Nutrition, Prenatal care, Statistical data, Women', s health

Annotation: This background paper explores the relationship between maternal nutrition and infant mortality, with an emphasis on the relationality - the concept of relationships and their associated effects upon maternal and infant well-being - have generated a new understanding of the infant mortality challenge. Chapter contents include (1) maternal nutrition and infant mortality with regard to birth defects, low birthweight, sudden infant death syndrome, complications of pregnancy, child health, growth, and development; (2) nutritional status and behaviors of pregnant women in the United States; (3) prenatal nutritional interventions and evidence of effectiveness; and (4) rethinking nutrition and infant mortality in the context of relationality over the life course. The paper discusses the strength of the evidence that these different factors are related. The final chapter includes recommendations on research, policy, and practice.

Contact: Joint Center for Political and Economic Studies, 805 15th Street, 2nd Floor, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 789-3500 Fax: (202) 789-6390 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.jointcenter.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Infant feeding, Infant mortality, Maternal health, Maternal nutrition, Nutrition, Pregnant women, Prenatal care

Annotation: This self-care guide has two parts: one providing information about pregnancy, labor, and delivery and the other about health problems and common complaints during pregnancy. The sections present the problem or complaint, list the causes, list the treatments, present a list of questions to ask when visiting a health care provider, list symptoms when a health care provider should be called, and list self care tips. The guide ends with a glossary of necessary terms. It is illustrated with drawings.

Contact: American Institute for Preventive Medicine, 30445 Northwestern Highway, Suite 350, Farmington Hills, MI 48334-3102 , Telephone: (800) 345-2476 Secondary Telephone: (810) 539-1800 Fax: (810) 539-1808 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthylife.com/ $5.95, plus shipping and handling.

Keywords: Childbirth, Exercise, Labor, Nutrition, Pregnancy, Pregnancy complications, Prenatal care, Prenatal development, Prenatal education, Therapeutics

Annotation: This report discusses the successes and failures of various countries in saving the lives of mothers and their newborn infants. The report examines the ways that investments in health care, nutrition, education, and communication can make a difference for newborns, mothers, communities, and society. The report also suggests solutions that could save infants' lives. The report includes key findings and recommendations and discusses why newborns die, the costs to society of newborn death and disease, the link between mothers and newborns, the relationship between poverty and the death of mothers and newborns, the continuum of care for mothers and newborns, countries' investments in saving newborns' lives, the building blocks of newborn survival, and how countries rank in terms of newborn survival, and newborn mortality in the industrialized world. The report also includes an index that presents detailed statistical information on the status of mothers and children in a variety of countries. Endnotes are included.

Contact: Save the Children, 501 Kings Highway East, Fairfield, CT 06825, Telephone: (203) 221-4000 Web Site: http://www.savethechildren.org Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 1-888393-18-1.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Communication, Communities, Developing countries, Education, Health care, Infant death, Infant health, Infant morbidity, Infant mortality, International health, Mothers, Newborn infants, Nutrition, Poverty, Prenatal care, Women', s health

Annotation: This paper provides an overview of data on selected conditions influencing women's morbidity and mortality, discusses disease prevention and detection, and presents recent guidelines. Sections review broad categories of diseases and conditions, health behaviors, special issues related to prenatal care and sexually transmitted diseases, programs and initiatives, and conclusions and future directions. References are provided. Appendices include U.S. Preventive Services Task Force recommendations and a resource table of programs and initiatives in women's health providing program names, descriptions, and contact information. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation, 1225 19th Street, N.W., Suite 710, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 296-4426 Fax: (202) 296-4319 E-mail: http://www.nihcm.org/contact Web Site: http://www.nihcm.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Cardiovascular diseases, Disease prevention, Health promotion, Initiatives, Mental health, Nutrition, Prenatal care, Program descriptions, Sexually transmitted diseases, Smoking, Women', s health

Annotation: This curriculum provides a guide to the Baby Basics program, a collaboration between prenatal care/prenatal education programs and adult literacy education providers that is designed to provide prenatal health literacy classes for low income populations. The program aims to foster healthier pregnancies and safer deliveries, effective communication and partnership between providers and their patients, and literate parents who can read to their children. The curriculum discusses the importance of literacy, the content of the Baby Basics book and other program materials, using the program to fulfill Medicaid prenatal care requirements, health literacy strategies during checkups, readings and activities for other professionals (outreach workers, WIC counselors, literacy providers, etc.). The curriculum concludes with sources for more information.

Contact: What to Expect Foundation, 211 West 80th Street, Lower level, New York, NY 10024, Telephone: (212) 712-9764 Fax: (212) 712-9741 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.whattoexpect.org Contact for cost information.

Keywords: Childbirth, Curricula, Guidelines, Health literacy, Literacy education, Nutrition, Postnatal care, Postpartum care, Pregnancy, Prenatal care

Annotation: This brochure for parents focuses on the importance of good oral health care at any age. Topics include dental caries, periodontal disease, fluoride, dental sealants, oral health care for infants and young children, self-care and prevention, and visiting the dentist. The brochure is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Child health, Dental care, Dental hygiene, Educational materials, Fluorides, Infant health, Nutrition, Oral health, Prenatal care, Spanish language materials, Young children

Annotation: This guide provides general guidelines for pregnant women with gestational diabetes for keeping healthy during pregnancy and for promoting the best outcome for the baby. It describes gestational diabetes, its causes and its features, includes a general treatment plan to help control the condition in making informed decisions about care with their health care providers, dietitians, and family members. Appendices provide information on high-fiber foods, a sample menu, and sample record sheets for monitoring glucose, food, and physical activity.

Contact: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, P.O. Box 3006, Rockville, MD 20847, Telephone: (800) 370-2943 Secondary Telephone: (888) 320-6942 Fax: (866) 760-5947 Web Site: https://www.nichd.nih.gov/Pages/index.aspx Available at no charge; also available from the website. Document Number: NIH Pub. No. 04-2788.

• PDF

Keywords: Blood glucose self monitoring, Gestational diabetes, Nutrition, Patient education materials, Physical activity, Pregnancy complications, Pregnant women, Prenatal care