Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This electronic resource (1) explains why group prenatal care is an effective state strategy to impact access to needed maternal and child health care; (2) explains how and why group prenatal care varies widely across states; and (3) describes how state leaders can promote financial support for group prenatal care, provide enhanced reimbursement rates for group prenatal care through Medicaid, and serve pregnant women in a large number of group prenatal care sites across the state.

Contact: Prenatal-to-3 Policy Impact Center , Vanderbilt University , Peabody College of Education and Human Development, Web Site: https://pn3policy.org/

• Link

Keywords: Access to prenatal care, Peer groups, Policy development, Prenatal care, State initiatives

Annotation: This brief uses data from the State of Babies Yearbook: 2020 to examine state-level differences in how infants and toddlers living in rural areas are faring. It includes key findings on health care utilization among pregnant women and select infant/toddler outcome measures such as infant mortality, preterm birth, breastfeeding, vaccine uptake, and preventive checkups) Several recommendations for policy makers to help ensure equitable health care access for infants and toddlers living in rural areas are also provided.

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org

• Link
• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Birthing centers, Data, Health insurance, Home births, Infant health, Outcome evaluation, Policy development, Prenatal care, Rural health, Toddlers

Annotation: This brief provides information about the importance of timely, quality, affordable, and adequate health care coverage during pregnancy and the role of Title V in improving coverage and access to care for pregnant women. Topics include covered preventive health services for pregnant women or women who may become pregnant under the Affordable Care Act; coverage options available for pregnant women through public, private, and safety net programs; issues and gaps in coverage; policy options and state strategies; and considerations for states.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Barriers, Costs, Health care reform, Health insurance, Low income groups, Medicaid, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Policy development, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Role, State MCH programs, Title V programs

Annotation: This report provides information on how federal agencies have addressed opioid use by pregnant women and neonatal abstinence syndrome (NAS). Topics include federally funded research, federal programs, and other federal agency efforts related to prenatal opioid use or NAS; gaps identified by federal agency officials and experts in efforts to address prenatal opioid use or NAS; and how federal efforts to address prenatal opioid use or NAS are planned and coordinated.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Analgesic drugs, Federal agencies, Infant health, Newborn infants, Prenatal influences, Prevention, Program coordination, Program development, Program planning, Referrals, Research, Screening, Substance use

Annotation: This document provides information about the costs and benefits of high quality home visiting programs for families with children from birth to age 5 in Virginia. Topics include the impact of home visiting on student performance, family health, and community economic well-being.

Contact: Virginia Home Visiting Consortium, James Madison University, The Institute for Innovation in Health and Human Services, Harrisonburg, VA , Telephone: (540) 568-5251 Fax: (540) 568-6409 E-mail: homevisitingconsortium.jmu.edu Web Site: http://www.homevisitingva.com Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Cost effectiveness, Early childhood development, Family health, Financing, Home visiting, Prenatal care, Preventive health services, Quality assurance, School readiness, State MCH programs, Virginia, Young children

Annotation: This resource provides information to help state and territorial health agencies address the goal of decreasing prematurity in the United States. The resources are categorized in two ways: by life stage, including Preconception, Prenatal, Birth to 28 Days, and First Year; and by scope of resources, including Policy Resources, Community Resources, Organizational Resources, Health IT Resources, Healthcare Provider Resources, and Self-Management Resources.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Infant care, MCH programs, Policy development, Preconception care, Pregnancy outcome, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Prevention programs, Program improvement, Resources for professionals, State initiatives

Annotation: This supplement to Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report examines the use of selected clinical preventive services for infants, children, and adolescents in the United States. Topics include breastfeeding counseling; screening for hearing loss and provision of follow-up services; screening for developmental delays, lead poisoning, vision impairment, and hypertension; vaccination against human papillomavirus; tobacco use and tobacco cessation counseling and medication; screening for chlamydia infection; and provision of reproductive health services. Additional topics include the potential benefits of selected services, the challenges related to their underuse, and effective collaborative strategies to improve use.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website. Document Number: ISSN 1546-0738.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Breastfeeding, Children, Chlamydia infections, Clinics, Counseling, Developmental screening, Health care utilization, Health services delivery, Hearing screening, Human papillomavirus, Hypertension, Infants, Lead poisoning screening, Oral health, Prenatal care, Prevention services, Reproductive health, Smoking cessation, Tobacco use, Vision screening

Annotation: This brief provides information about the Oral Health Advocacy for Pregnant Women and Children project, a collaboration between Maternal and Child Health Access (MCHA) and the Community Clinics Association of Los Angeles County (CCALAC). Topics include the importance of and need for oral health care during pregnancy, changing dental coverage for women with pregnancy-only Medi-Cal, issues pregnant women face related to obtaining oral health care, issues health professionals face related to providing oral health care to pregnant women, the MCHA and CCALAC partnership, and policy recommendations.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Access, 1111 West Sixth Street, Fourth Floor, Los Angeles, CA 90017-1800, Telephone: (212) 749-4261 Fax: (213) 745-1040 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mchaccess.org/index.php Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Barriers, California, Dental care, Guidelines, Health care delivery, Health education, Health insurance, Information dissemination, Local initiatives, Low income groups, Oral health, Policy development, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Service integration, Technical assistance, Young children

Annotation: This report provides a plan to reduce infant mortality in the United States. The report includes an outline of strategic directions and recommendations, background on the problem of infant mortality in the United States, principles for a national strategy, and details related to six strategic directions for reducing infant mortality. Also discussed is information on services to improve women's health, birth outcomes, infant health, and infant survival; opportunities to decrease infant mortality through implementation of the Affordable Care Act; a crosswalk between an action plan to reduce racial and ethnic health disparities and recommendations to reduce infant mortality; and specific actions to increase breastfeeding.

Contact: Secretary's Advisory Committee on Infant Mortality, U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Parklawn Building, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov/advisorycommittees/mchbadvisory/InfantMortality/index.html Available from the website.

• Report

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Ethnic factors, Federal initiatives, Health care reform, Infant health, Infant mortality, National programs, Postpartum care, Pregnancy, Prenatal care, Prevention services, Program development, Racial factors, Statistical data, Strategic plans, Women', s health

Annotation: This document outlines goals, outcome measures, and strategies to reduce infant mortality and improve infant health in Jackson County, Mississippi. Contents include data on infant mortality, adolescent and unintended pregnancy, racial disparities, prenatal care, smoking during pregnancy, infant death due to positional asphyxia, and infant sleep position and environment. The plan presents strategies to improve women's sexual health and experience of care before, during, and after pregnancy, as well as strategies to reduce the number of infant deaths due to positional asphyxia.

Contact: Jackson County Prenatal Task Force, One Jackson Square, 9th Floor, Jackson, MI Telephone: (517) 780-7306 Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Community action, County programs, Fetal death, Goals, Infant care, Infant death, Infant health, Infant mortality, Local initiatives, Measures, Mississippi, Prenatal care, Program development, Program improvement, Strategic plans

Annotation: This fact sheet summaries research findings related to substance use during pregnancy. It discusses the prevalence of substance use among pregnant women; examines the social and psychological issues; and looks at the biological and developmental effects of in-utero drug exposure on children. The effects from using tobacco, alcohol, marijuana, cocaine, heroine, methamphetamine, and prescription drugs each are discussed. The fact sheet also explores the societal impact of prenatal substance exposure and the various interventions for pregnant and parenting substance abusers and newborn infants. Relevant public policies are also discussed. An online training tutorial on this topic is also available.

Contact: National Abandoned Infants Assistance Resource Center, Center for Child & Youth Policy , University of California, Berkeley, 1950 Addison Street, Suite 104, , Berkeley, CA 94720-7402, Telephone: (510) 643-8390 Fax: (510) 643-7019 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://aia.berkeley.edu/ Available from the website.

• PDF
• Online Tutorial

Keywords: Environmental exposure, Infant health, Newborn infants, Policy, Pregnant women, Prenatal development, Research, Substance abuse, Substance abusing pregnant women, Training

Annotation: This report reviews national and local trends in infant mortality, the factors affecting infant mortality and prenatal care, and policy recommendations for reducing infant mortality and improving prenatal care in Nevada. The report also presents data and data sources, suggested readings, and community resources including prenatal health services.

Contact: University of Nevada, Las Vegas Libraries, Web Site: http://digitalscholarship.unlv.edu Available from the website.

• Report
• Program Website

Keywords: Data, Infant mortality, Nevada, Policy development, Prenatal care, Risk factors, State surveys, Trends

Annotation: This 5-year needs assessment for West Virginia discusses the needs-assessment process, partnership building and collaboration efforts, strengths and needs of maternal and child health population groups and desired outcomes, maternal and child health program capacity, selection of state priority needs, and state and federal outcome measures.

Contact: West Virginia Department of Health, Office of Maternal, Child and Family Health, State Capitol Complex, Building 3, Room 206, Charleston, WV 25305, Telephone: (304) 558-0684 Fax: (304) 558-1130 Web Site: http://www.wvdhhr.org/mcfh Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child development, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Collaboration, Families, Infant health, Infant mortality, MCH programs, Needs assessment, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Prevention, Reproductive health, State programs, Title V programs, West Virginia, Women', s health

Annotation: This report identifies community-level fetal alcohol spectrum disorder (FASD) interventions and policies that can prevent fetal alcohol-exposed pregnancies (AEDs) and reduce the prevalence of physical, mental, behavioral, and learning disabilities due to prenatal alcohol exposure. Topics also include an epidemiological overview, screening for women at risk, current evidence, prevention interventions, and recommendations and future research directions.

Contact: National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Alcohol, Early intervention, Fetal alcohol effects, Fetal alcohol syndrome, Fetal development, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Prevention, Screening, Substance abusing pregnant women

Annotation: This purpose of this curriculum development guide is to enhance the knowledge and skills of health care providers to recognize and prevent fetal alcohol spectrum (FAS) disorders by aiding in the development of educational programs and materials. The guide is organized by three types of learning outcomes: competencies, learning goals, and learning objectives, allowing educators or trainers to select goals and objectives appropriate for participants' learning needs and skill levels, along with university or organization criteria. Chapter contents include seven competency topics: foundation; screening and brief interventions; models of addiction; biological effects of alcohol on the fetus; screening, diagnosis, and assessment of FAS; treatment across the lifespan for persons with FASDs; and ethical, legal, and policy issues.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Alcohol use during pregnancy, CD-ROMs, Fetal alcohol effects, Fetal alcohol syndrome, Fetal development, Prenatal addiction, Prenatal care, Professional education, Resources for professionals, Screening, Substance abusing pregnant women

Annotation: This fact sheet lists some of the consequences of unplanned pregnancy related to child health and development; parents and relationships; preconception care, prenatal care, and infant health; child health and development and family environment; and mothers.

Contact: National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy = Power to Decide, 1776 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 478-8500 Fax: (202) 478-8588 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.thenationalcampaign.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Abortion, Child development, Child health, Families, Infant health, Mental health, Mothers, Parent child relations, Parents, Postpartum depression, Preconception care, Prenatal care, Relationships, Unplanned pregnancy

Annotation: This paper reviews cost-benefit evidence to identify four areas of investment that merit expanded federal funding. The four areas are (1) high-quality early childhood education programs for 3- and 4-year-olds, (2) nurse home-visiting programs to promote prenatal care and infant and early childhood development, (3) school reform with an emphasis on programs in high-poverty elementary schools that improve the acquisition of basic skills for all students, and (4) programs that reduce the incidence of adolescent pregnancy. The paper includes a summary as well as a detailed discussion of each of these areas. Endnotes are included. Statistical information is presented in tables throughout the paper. The paper includes one appendix: a detailed descripiton of reforms to improve teacher quality.

Contact: Brookings Institution, 1775 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 797-6000 Fax: (202) 797-6004 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.brookings.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Academic achievement, Adolescent pregnancy, Costs, Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Elementary schools, Federal programs, Financing, Home visiting, Poverty, Prenatal care, Prevention, Young children

Annotation: This compendium includes a summary of oral presentations made at the 2007 CityMatCH Urban Maternal and Child Health Leadership Conference held on August 26-28, 2007, in Denver, Colorado. An abstract is included for oral and poster presentations. Oral presentation topics include adolescent health, community involvement and partnerships, urban women's health, preconception health and health care, effective and promising teen pregnancy prevention programs, healthy weight in women of reproductive age - action learning collaborative, child development, mental health, and health disparities. Descriptions are provided for 43 posters presented at the conference. Two additional abstracts are included for fetal alcohol spectrum disorders. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Conferences, Leadership, Adolescent health, Adolescent pregnancy, Child development, Child health, Community programs, MCH programs, Preconception care, Prenatal care, Prevention programs, Urban health

Annotation: This report describes a pilot project that sought to entrust young parents in New Zealand with empowering their communities to understand and use available knowledge to reduce infant mortality, improve infant health, and create a better future. The report presents the project's guiding principles; describes the project; and presents methods, results, and a discussion.

Contact: Change for Our Children, P.O. Box 36406, Christchurch, NZ 8146, Telephone: (03) 379-6686 Fax: (03) 353-9269 E-mail: http://www.changeforourchildren.co.nz/contact/enquiry_form Web Site: http://www.changeforourchildren.co.nz Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-9582884-0-8 (print); 978-0-9582884-1-5 (pdf).

• PDF

Keywords: Breastfeeding promotion, Communities, Education, Infant development, Infant health, Infant mortality, International health, Low income groups, Parents, Pilot projects, Pregnancy, Prenatal care, Prevention, Reproductive health, SIDS, Safety, Secondhand smoke, Sleep position, Smoking, Smoking cessation

Annotation: This self-care guide has two parts: one providing information about pregnancy, labor, and delivery and the other about health problems and common complaints during pregnancy. The sections present the problem or complaint, list the causes, list the treatments, present a list of questions to ask when visiting a health care provider, list symptoms when a health care provider should be called, and list self care tips. The guide ends with a glossary of necessary terms. It is illustrated with drawings.

Contact: American Institute for Preventive Medicine, 30445 Northwestern Highway, Suite 350, Farmington Hills, MI 48334-3102 , Telephone: (800) 345-2476 Secondary Telephone: (810) 539-1800 Fax: (810) 539-1808 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthylife.com/ $5.95, plus shipping and handling.

Keywords: Childbirth, Exercise, Labor, Nutrition, Pregnancy, Pregnancy complications, Prenatal care, Prenatal development, Prenatal education, Therapeutics